The British media noted in what Russia is trying to repeat the success of the USSR


Smallpox has been known to mankind for a very long time - it is a contagious viral infection that causes an especially dangerous and often fatal disease. She has tortured and killed people all over the planet for centuries, writes the British magazine The New Statesman.


But in the 60s of the twentieth century, the USSR transferred 450 million doses of smallpox vaccine and technology freeze drying. By the 80th year, as a result of the implementation of the WHO program, which was coordinated by the USA and the USSR, smallpox was practically eradicated. The number of infections in the world has dropped from millions of confirmed cases to zero in less than 20 years.

Thanks to Soviet health diplomacy, or rather, “vaccine diplomacy,” as it is called, Moscow then acquired a huge number of friends. India, Mali, Afghanistan and many other countries praised the USSR at WHO meetings, from the rostrum of the UN and other international platforms. Moreover, this was done absolutely sincerely. The Russians have saved millions of lives.

Today, the COVID-19 pandemic is raging on the planet, and modern Russia is trying to repeat the success of the USSR. The Russians have the Sputnik V vaccine, which by its name seems to indicate the geopolitical importance of Moscow's epidemiological efforts.

Distributing hundreds of millions of doses of this vaccine around the world could help Moscow achieve what it wants, because the West is unlikely to share medicines with developing countries. The countries of Europe, Asia, Africa, North and South America have already lined up for Sputnik-V.

The price at which the vaccine will be offered to developing countries also matters. Even at $ 10 per dose (i.e. $ 20 for two shots), not every country will be able to buy enough. If Moscow wants to provide discounts, installments, or even give away for free, it will face a very tough reaction from the West.

Therefore, Russian "vaccine diplomacy" pursues three goals: commercial, political and humanitarian. If the vaccine is effective against the coronavirus, then Russia will repeat the success of the USSR, which defeated smallpox.
  • Photos used: https://pixabay.com
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. beeper Offline beeper
    beeper 13 December 2020 18: 50
    +2
    Are the impudent jealous "jealous" ?! wink
  2. Xuli (o) Tebenado 13 December 2020 22: 30
    -6
    One might think that only one Russia in the whole world is developing a vaccine against covid, while others are

    The countries of Europe, Asia, Africa, North and South America have already lined up for Sputnik-V.

    So they stand upright and wait, coughing and holding out their hands with a fever.

    I have heard about this vaccine for 4 months already and even read that about 200.000 people in Russia have already been vaccinated. But they say different things about her, I haven't heard any enthusiasm yet. There are a lot of varieties of crowns, they constantly mutate, and I very much doubt that domestic virology, headed by Popova, Golikova and the Gamaleya center, will be able to keep up with them not only on the scale of planet Earth, but also within Russia itself.
    1. Dear sofa expert. 15 December 2020 15: 38
      +1
      I haven't heard any enthusiasm yet.

      What do you think the excitement of a vaccine should sound like?)

В британском СМИ отметили, в чём Россия пытается повторить успех СССР


Оспа известна человечеству очень давно – это заразная вирусная инфекция, вызывающая особо опасную и зачастую смертельную болезнь. Она веками мучила и убивала людей по всей планете, пишет британский журнал The New Statesman.


Но в 60-х годах ХХ века СССР передал развивающимся странам 450 млн доз вакцины против оспы и технологию сублимационной сушки. К 80-му году, в результате реализации программы ВОЗ, которая координировалась США и СССР, оспа была практически искоренена. Количество заражений в мире сократилось с миллионов подтвержденных случаев до нуля менее чем за 20 лет.

Благодаря советской дипломатии здоровья, вернее, «вакцинной дипломатии», как её называют, Москва тогда обзавелась огромным количеством друзей. Индия, Мали, Афганистан и много других стран расхваливали СССР на заседаниях ВОЗ, с трибуны ООН и других международных площадок. Причем делалось это абсолютно искренне. Русские спасли миллионы жизней.

Сегодня на планете бушует пандемия COVID-19, и современная Россия пытается повторить успех СССР. У русских имеется вакцина «Спутник-V», которая своим названием как бы указывает на геополитическую важность эпидемиологических усилий Москвы.

Распространение сотен миллионов доз этой вакцины по всему миру может помочь Москве добиться желаемого, ведь Запад вряд ли станет делиться с развивающимися странами медпрепаратами. В очередь за «Спутник-V» уже выстроились страны Европы, Азии, Африки, Северной и Южной Америк.

Цена, по которой вакцина будет предлагаться развивающимся странам, также имеет значение. Даже при цене $10 за дозу (т.е. $20 за две прививки) не каждая страна сможет купить достаточное количество. Если Москва захочет предоставить скидки, рассрочки или вообще раздать бесплатно, она столкнется с очень жесткой реакцией Запада.

Поэтому российская «вакцинная дипломатия» преследует три цели: коммерческую, политическую и гуманитарную. Если вакцина окажется действенной против коронавируса, то Россия повторит успех СССР, который победил оспу.
  • Использованы фотографии: https://pixabay.com
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. пищак Офлайн пищак
    пищак 13 декабря 2020 18:50
    +2
    Наглы завидчески "ревнуют"?! wink
  2. Xuli(o)Tebenado Офлайн Xuli(o)Tebenado
    Xuli(o)Tebenado 13 декабря 2020 22:30
    -6
    Можно подумать, только одна Россия во всем мире разрабатывает вакцину от ковида, прочие же -

    В очередь за «Спутник-V» уже выстроились страны Европы, Азии, Африки, Северной и Южной Америки.

    Так прямо стоят и ждут, кашляя и протягивая ручонки с повышенной температурой.

    Про эту вакцину я слышу уже 4 месяца и даже читал, что порядка 200.000 чел в России уже вакцинированы. Но говорят про неё разное, восторгов пока не слышал. Разновидностей корон очень много, они постоянно мутируют, и я очень сомневаюсь, что отечественная вирусология во главе с Поповой, Голиковой и центром Гамалеи смогут за ними угнаться не то, чтобы в масштабах планеты Земля, но и в пределах самой России.
    1. восторгов пока не слышал.

      А как, по вашему, должен звучать восторг от вакцины?)