"Tempest" weighing 100 tons: The Drive recalled the heaviest cruise missile in the world


The growing arms race between the leading world powers goes back to the last century, when the post-war USSR and the USA divided spheres of influence on the planet and created weapons that amaze the imagination of their contemporaries. In this regard, the American edition of The Drive recalled the Soviet development of the 50-60s called "The Tempest", which became the heaviest cruise missile in the world - its mass was about 100 tons.


In 1956, the Soviet military adopted the first in the Soviet Union liquid-propellant single-stage medium-range ballistic missile with a nuclear warhead R-5M, known in NATO as the SS-3 Shyster. However, even with the direct deployment of these missiles in satellite countries, the R-5M with a range of about 1200 km could not hit many important targets, including the US Air Force bombers in the UK or in the Pacific. The Soviet industry was tasked with developing a missile system that would have an intercontinental range.

By August 1, 1957, several prototypes of the B-350 "Tempest" cruise missile were made, one of which on that day passed the first flight tests, which ended in failure. From 1957 to 1960, 19 test launches were carried out, 14 of which were successful. In a test conducted in March 1960, the Tempest covered a distance of about 6,5 thousand km before hitting a target with an accuracy of 10 km thanks to its astronavigation guidance system. Given the power of the nuclear charge carried by the rocket, the hit accuracy achieved was quite acceptable.


By 1960, however, Soviet intercontinental ballistic missiles had become a reality, and the mighty "Tempest" with ramjet engines became an anachronism. Despite all its technical power, it was potentially vulnerable to American air defenses due to its relatively low final speed. In a modified form, the Tempest was used to launch experimental satellites into orbit.
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. The comment was deleted.
  2. Sapsan136 Offline Sapsan136
    Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 16 December 2020 16: 35
    +3
    The storm today is interesting only as part of history, but it would not be bad to revive the N-1 rocket on a new technological base
    1. Tektor Offline Tektor
      Tektor (Tektor) 16 December 2020 17: 41
      0
      Well, not really "history". Onyx became the heir to the Tempest. And now also Zircon.
      1. Sapsan136 Offline Sapsan136
        Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 16 December 2020 21: 56
        +5
        Well, then you made a blunder. Onyx can be called the heir of the Termit anti-ship missile system, a late modification, the wings of which opened after leaving the launch container, and if you look even further, you can call one of the first Soviet anti-ship missiles of the Pike type ... The storm was originally developed for space flight, as a launch vehicle, or a strategic missile, not as an anti-ship missile. The rival of the Tempest was the royal P-7, which they could bring to mind before the Tempest. The designer of the Buri was the famous Soviet aircraft designer Lavochkin.

«Буря» массой в 100 тонн: The Drive напомнил о самой тяжелой крылатой ракете в мире


Набирающая силу гонка вооружений между ведущими мировыми державами уходит корнями в прошлый век, когда послевоенные СССР и США делили сферы влияния на планете и создавали оружие, поражающее воображение современников. В связи с этим американское издание The Drive напомнило о советской разработке 50-60-х годов под названием «Буря», ставшей самой тяжелой крылатой ракетой в мире – ее масса составляла около 100 тонн.


В 1956 году советские военные приняли на вооружение первую в Советском Союзе жидкостную одноступенчатую баллистическую ракету средней дальности с ядерной БЧ Р-5М, известную в НАТО как SS-3 Shyster. Однако даже при прямом развертывании этих ракет в странах-сателлитах Р-5М с дальностью действия порядка 1200 км не могла поразить многие важные цели, включая базы бомбардировщиков ВВС США в Великобритании или на Тихом океане. Перед советской промышленностью была поставлена задача разработать ракетный комплекс, который обладал бы межконтинентальной дальностью.

К 1 августа 1957 года было сделано несколько прототипов крылатой ракеты B-350 «Буря», один из которых в этот день прошел первые летные испытания, закончившиеся неудачей. С 1957 по 1960 годы было проведено 19 испытательных пусков, 14 из которых были успешными. В ходе испытания, проведенного в марте 1960 года, «Буря» преодолела расстояние около 6,5 тыс. км, прежде чем поразила цель с точностью до 10 км благодаря своей астронавигационной системе наведения. Учитывая мощность ядерного заряда, которую несла ракета, достигнутая точность попадания была вполне приемлемой.


Однако к 1960 году реальностью стали советские межконтинентальные баллистические ракеты, и могучая «Буря» с прямоточными воздушно-реактивными двигателями стала анахронизмом. Несмотря на всю свою техническую мощь, она была потенциально уязвимой для американской ПВО из-за своей относительно низкой конечной скорости. В модифицированном виде «Буря» использовалась для запуска на орбиту экспериментальных спутников.
3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Комментарий был удален.
  2. Sapsan136 Офлайн Sapsan136
    Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 16 декабря 2020 16:35
    +3
    Буря сегодня интересна только как часть истории, а вот возродить ракету Н-1, на новой технологической базе, было бы не дурно
    1. Tektor Офлайн Tektor
      Tektor (Tektor) 16 декабря 2020 17:41
      0
      Ну, не совсем - "история". Наследником Бури стал Оникс. А теперь ещё и Циркон.
      1. Sapsan136 Офлайн Sapsan136
        Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 16 декабря 2020 21:56
        +5
        Ну тут вы дали маху. Оникс можно назвать наследником ПКР Термит,поздней модификации,крылья которой открывались после выхода из пускового контейнера,а если заглянуть еще дальше,то можно назвать одну из первых советских ПКР типа Щука....Буря изначально разрабатывалась для полета в космос,как ракетоноситель,или стратегическая ракета,а не как ПКР. Конкурентом Бури была королевская Р-7,которую смогли довести до ума раньше Бури. Конструктором Бури был знаменитый советский авиаконструктор Лавочкин.