Expert: Russia undermines the energy security of NATO and Israel


The energy security of NATO and Israel largely depends on the success in the implementation of the recent ceasefire agreement between Azerbaijan and Armenia, according to a new article on the website of the Washington-based Middle East Institute think tank.


According to the publication's author, senior researcher Alex Vatanka, “the conflict between Armenia and Azerbaijan, fueled by Russian weapons,” does not reflect well on the plans of Europe, which has long sought to reduce its energy dependence on Moscow.

It is no secret, the researcher notes, that Russia remains determined to weaken NATO. Not so long ago, "Moscow used gas exports to Europe as a weapon." To address these threats, the United States supported the creation of a new energy infrastructure passing through Azerbaijan.

The expert notes that the oil and gas pipelines through which the Transcaucasian state trades with other countries, as it turned out, are under the threat of a military attack. The events of the current year have clearly demonstrated this.

Years of progress in separating NATO allies from Russian gas can be erased overnight with just one attack on the South Caucasus gas pipeline, the article says.

Energy supplies to Israel could also be severely disrupted. Azerbaijani oil transported through the Baku-Tbilisi-Ceyhan pipeline accounts for about 40% of all black gold consumed by the Israelis. As a result, the risks for some US allies are too great to be ignored.

As an active member of the OSCE Minsk Group, the researcher believes that the United States can still play a role in negotiations on a long-term political settlement between Armenia and Azerbaijan.

In the short term, it should be ensured that the leaders of Armenia do not yield to the demands of the population calling for the continuation of the war. Maintaining the ceasefire is critical to strengthening NATO's energy security

- the author of the publication approves.

If Armenia decides to resume the conflict, then "the United States must give a clear signal" that actions that threaten the energy infrastructure of Azerbaijan are unacceptable, the author of the analyst sums up.
  • Photos used: SASOL / wikimedia.org
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Binder Online Binder
    Binder (Miron) 19 December 2020 08: 37
    +1
    Armenians will attack Azerbaijanis' oil and gas pipelines today? Come on, don't be ridiculous, they should now sit on the priest evenly and be silent like mice under a broom.
  2. Tramp1812 Offline Tramp1812
    Tramp1812 (Tramp 1812) 19 December 2020 08: 47
    +2
    The continuation of military actions by Armenia now is a suicide. With a very predictable result. Until the disappearance of Armenia as a state. Individual outbreaks in the form of terrorist acts are not excluded, but nothing more. In the next decade, at least, the status quo will be respected. If Armenia restores the fighting efficiency of the army, stabilizes the economy, the internal situation and the situation in the country, aggravation is possible. But not now. Armenia and Azerbaijan seem to have changed places.
  3. updidi Offline updidi
    updidi (Alexander Kazakov) 19 December 2020 08: 49
    0
    fueled by Russian weapons

    Further, in principle, you can not read this "objective" opinion
  4. Bulanov Offline Bulanov
    Bulanov (Vladimir) 21 December 2020 10: 41
    +2
    Armenia will be able to restore its economy only if it joins Russia. Russia will no longer equip foreign republics. Everyone saw what this resulted in in the Baltics and Ukraine. In the meantime, in Armenia, even road signs in Russian are not visible.
  5. The comment was deleted.
  6. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 23 December 2020 18: 01
    0
    At Vatanka you will not spoil! Tell me how to cut ... !!!

Эксперт: Россия подрывает энергетическую безопасность НАТО и Израиля


От успеха в реализации недавнего соглашения по прекращению огня между Азербайджаном и Арменией во многом зависит энергетическая безопасность НАТО и Израиля, утверждается в новой статье на сайте вашингтонского аналитического центра Middle East Institute.


По мнению автора публикации, старшего научного сотрудника Алекса Ватанки (Alex Vatanka), «конфликт между Арменией и Азербайджаном, подпитываемый российским оружием», не слишком хорошо отражается на планах Европы, которая давно стремится к уменьшению энергетической зависимости от Москвы.

Не секрет, отмечает исследователь, что Россия по-прежнему полна решимости ослабить НАТО. Не так давно «Москва использовала экспорт газа в Европу в качестве оружия». Для устранения этих угроз Соединенные Штаты поддержали создание новой энергетической инфраструктуры, проходящей через Азербайджан.

Эксперт отмечает, что нефтяные и газовые трубопроводы, по которым закавказское государство торгует с другими странами, как выяснилось, находятся под угрозой военной атаки. События текущего года это наглядно продемонстрировали.

Годы прогресса в вопросах отлучения союзников по НАТО от российского газа могут быть перечеркнуты в одночасье одним лишь нападением на Южно-Кавказский газопровод, утверждается в статье.

Снабжение энергоносителями Израиля также может быть серьезно нарушено. Азербайджанская нефть, транспортируемая по трубопроводу Баку-Тбилиси-Джейхан, составляет примерно 40% от всего потребляемого израильтянами черного золота. В итоге риски для некоторых союзников США слишком велики, чтобы их можно было просто игнорировать.

В качестве действующего члена Минской группы ОБСЕ Соединенные Штаты, по мнению исследователя, все еще могут играть роль в переговорах по долгосрочному политическому урегулированию между Арменией и Азербайджаном.

В ближайшей перспективе следует гарантировать, чтобы лидеры Армении не уступали требованиям населения, призывающего к продолжению войны. Сохранение режима прекращения огня имеет решающее значение для укрепления энергетической безопасности НАТО

– утверждает автор публикации.

Если же Армения решит возобновить конфликт, то «Соединенные Штаты должны дать четкий сигнал», что действия, ставящие под угрозу энергетическую инфраструктуру Азербайджана, недопустимы, подводит итог автор аналитики.
  • Использованы фотографии: SASOL/wikimedia.org
5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Биндюжник Офлайн Биндюжник
    Биндюжник (Мирон) 19 декабря 2020 08:37
    +1
    Армяне сегодня станут атаковать нефте и газопроводы азербайджанцев? Бросьте, не смешите, им сейчас следует сидеть на попе ровно и молчать как мышки под веником.
  2. Бродяга1812 Офлайн Бродяга1812
    Бродяга1812 (Бродяга1812) 19 декабря 2020 08:47
    +2
    Продолжение сейчас военных действий со стороны Армении- самоубийство. С весьма прогнозируемым результатом. Вплоть до исчезновения Армении как государства. Не исключены отдельные вспышки в виде террористических актов , но не более того. В ближайшее десятилетие ,как минимум, статус кво будет соблюдаться. В случае ,если Армения восстановит боеспособность армии, стабилизирует экономику , внутреннее и положение в стране - возможно обострение. Но только не сейчас. Армения и Азербайджан как бы поменялись местами.
  3. updidi Офлайн updidi
    updidi (Александр Казаков) 19 декабря 2020 08:49
    0
    подпитываемый российским оружием

    Дальше, в принципе, можно и не читать это "объективное" мнение
  4. Буланов Офлайн Буланов
    Буланов (Владимир) 21 декабря 2020 10:41
    +2
    Армения сможет восстановить экономику только в случае вхождения в Россию. Больше Россия не будет обустраивать чужие республики. Все видели, во что это вылилось по Прибалтике и Украине. А пока в Армении даже дорожных знаков на русском языке не видно.
  5. Комментарий был удален.
  6. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 23 декабря 2020 18:01
    0
    У Ватанки не забалуешь! Скажет, как отрежет...!!!