Third month of downtime: Russia deprived Latvia of coal transit


The decrease in the volume of freight rail traffic in Latvia in 2020 is associated with the COVID-19 pandemic and the redirection of the transit of Russian coal to Russian ports, said the head of the Latvian Railway (LDz) Maris Kleinbergs in an interview with the Diena newspaper.


The functionary noted that in the fourth quarter of this year, the company actually did not transport coal from Russia. At present, Russians prefer to load their capacities, and Latvian ports can receive some of this cargo only if Russian coal exports are so high that there are not enough terminals in Russia for transshipment.

December is the third month of downtime. The transit of Russian coal through Latvia has actually been stopped

- clarified Kleinbergs.

He explained that the Russians have built modern coal terminals in the port of Ust-Luga and are now loading these capacities, redirecting transit to them.

The situation is as it is, and it is necessary to take it into account

- stated Kleinbergs.

He added that the company cannot rely on Russian coal in the future. The countries of the European Union are gradually abandoning this type of fuel like coal. Therefore, the supply of this energy raw material to Europe will only decline in the future. According to the forecast of the International Energy Agency (IEA), the export of Russian coal in 2020 will decrease by 4,5% due to falling demand in Europe and South Korea, but will hardly change in 2021.

At the same time, Klenbergs drew attention to the growth of grain transit from Russia and Belarus. In addition, he hopes that Latvia will be able to take back a part of the Belarusian cargo that used to go through Lithuania. The competition between the Baltic countries has not yet been canceled. Vilnius persistently worries Minsk with various problems, so why can't Riga take advantage of the opportunity and offer its transit services. Moreover, the Belarusians practically do not care what territory to use for transit, Lithuanian or Latvian.

We will offer faster, more flexible and cheaper cooperation solutions

He summed up.

Note that this year LDz has cut 1,5 thousand employees. Following the results of 9 months, cargo transportation fell by 14,192 million tons, or 44,9%. The company received a loss of 2,2 million euros. In November, the Latvian authorities asked Moscow to stop the redirection of transit cargo.
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Afinogen Offline Afinogen
    Afinogen (Afinogen) 19 December 2020 10: 37
    +7
    "Summer sang the whole whole."
    "Did you all sing? This is the case:
    So go and dance! "


    I.A. Krylov.

    To the point lol Less had to yap at mother Russia. Now there is only one thing left to rush at the feet of the owner and ask for food.
    1. boriz Offline boriz
      boriz (boriz) 19 December 2020 12: 09
      +3
      Now there is only one thing left to rush at the feet of the owner and ask for food.

      Who will give?
      Now the grain terminals will start working "and - aha" (C) ...
      1. Afinogen Offline Afinogen
        Afinogen (Afinogen) 19 December 2020 14: 23
        +3
        It is clear even to a hedgehog in the Baltic forests that no one will give lol But she yapped at the order of the owner from America, so even if it contains. But for some reason it seems to me that it will be so laughing

  2. Fourth Horseman Offline Fourth Horseman
    Fourth Horseman (Fourth Horseman) 19 December 2020 11: 09
    +1
    This is the path of the Limitrophes.
  3. Russian Bear_2 Offline Russian Bear_2
    Russian Bear_2 (Russian bear) 19 December 2020 11: 38
    +4
    The good news is, the less transit there will be through sprat the better.
  4. ODRAP Offline ODRAP
    ODRAP (Alexey) 19 December 2020 12: 14
    -7
    So I understood that the export of coal to Europe simply fell.
    Collapsed.
    1. Dear sofa expert. 19 December 2020 13: 24
      +4
      So I understood that the export of coal to Europe simply fell.
      Collapsed.

      All the time I hesitate to ask, and where do you "understand" all this?)

      Based on your posts and their ratings, are you not the most authoritative user on this site? Here, before you, there was already one "user" of your intellectual level. He even had "followers" ("Arkharovtsy"). Are you and this user related by chance?)
    2. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 19 December 2020 18: 48
      +1
      Both, as a result, cuts, layoffs and losses for the Tribals ...
  5. RFR Offline RFR
    RFR (RFR) 20 December 2020 01: 35
    +3
    Another would be to put the squeeze on Luka so that he would stop feeding the Labus, and it would be okay ...

Третий месяц простоя: Россия лишила Латвию транзита угля


Сокращение объемов грузовых железнодорожных перевозок в Латвии в 2020 году связано с пандемией COVID-19 и перенаправлением транзита российского угля на порты России, заявил руководитель «Латвийской железной дороги» (LDz) Марис Клейнбергс в интервью газете Diena.


Функционер отметил, что в IV квартале этого года компания фактически не транспортировала уголь из России. В настоящее время россияне предпочитают загружать свои мощности, и латвийские порты могут получить часть этого груза, только если экспорт российского угля будет настолько высоким, что терминалов в России будет недостаточно для перевалки.

Декабрь – третий месяц простоя. Транзит российского угля через Латвию фактически остановлен

– уточнил Клейнбергс.

Он пояснил, что россияне построили современные угольные терминалы в порту Усть-Луга и теперь загружают эти мощности, перенаправляя транзит на них.

Ситуация такая, какая она есть, и необходимо учитывать её

– констатировал Клейнбергс.

Он добавил, что компания не может делать ставку на российский уголь в дальнейшем. Страны Евросоюза постепенно отказываются от такого вида топлива как уголь. Поэтому поставки этого энергетического сырья в Европу будут только снижаться в перспективе. Согласно прогнозу Международного энергетического агентства (IEA), экспорт российского угля в 2020 году уменьшится на 4,5% из-за падения спроса в Европе и Южной Корее, но практически не изменится в 2021 году.

При этом Кленбергс обратил внимание на рост транзита зерновых из России и Белоруссии. Кроме того, он надеется, что Латвия сумеет забрать себе часть белорусских грузов, которые раньше шли через Литву. Конкуренцию между странами Прибалтики ещё никто не отменял. Вильнюс настойчиво беспокоит Минск различными проблемами, так почему Риге не воспользоваться удобным случаем и не предложить свои транзитные услуги. Причем белорусам практически без разницы, какую территорию использовать для транзита, литовскую или латвийскую.

Мы будем предлагать более быстрые, гибкие и дешевые решения сотрудничества

– подытожил он.

Заметим, что в этом году LDz сократила 1,5 тыс. работников. По итогам 9 месяцев грузоперевозки упали на 14,192 млн тонн, или на 44,9%. Компания получила убыток в 2,2 млн евро. В ноябре власти Латвии обратились к Москве с просьбой остановить перенаправление транзитных грузов.
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
8 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Афиноген Офлайн Афиноген
    Афиноген (Афиноген) 19 декабря 2020 10:37
    +7
    "Лето целое все пела".-
    "Ты все пела? Это дело:
    Так поди же попляши!"


    И.А. Крылов.

    В точку lol Меньше надо было тявкать на Россию мать. Теперь остается одно бросится в ноги хозяину и просить на пропитание.
    1. boriz Офлайн boriz
      boriz (boriz) 19 декабря 2020 12:09
      +3
      Теперь остается одно бросится в ноги хозяину и просить на пропитание.

      Кто же даст?
      Теперь ещё зерновые терминалы начнут работать "и - ага" (С) ...
      1. Афиноген Офлайн Афиноген
        Афиноген (Афиноген) 19 декабря 2020 14:23
        +3
        Понятно даже ежику в прибалтийских лесах что никто не даст lol Но тявкала она по приказу хозяина из америкосии, вот пусть и содержит. Но почему то мне кажется что будет так laughing

  2. Четвертый Всадник (Четвертый Всадник) 19 декабря 2020 11:09
    +1
    Таков путь лимитрофов.
  3. Русский Медведь_2 (Русский Медведь) 19 декабря 2020 11:38
    +4
    Хорошая новость чем меньше транзита будет через шпротию тем лучше.
  4. ODRAP Офлайн ODRAP
    ODRAP (Алексей) 19 декабря 2020 12:14
    -7
    Так понял, просто упал экспорт угля в Европу.
    Рухнул.
    1. Так понял, просто упал экспорт угля в Европу.
      Рухнул.

      Всё время стесняюсь спросить, а каким местом вы всё это «понимаете»?)

      Судя по вашим постам, и их оценкам, вы не самый авторитетный пользователь на этом сайте? Здесь, до вас, уже был один «пользователь» вашего интеллектуального уровня. У него даже «последователи» были(«Архаровцы»). Вы с этим «пользователем не родственники случайно?)
    2. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 19 декабря 2020 18:48
      +1
      И то и другое, в итоге кранты, увольнения и убытки для трибалтов...
  5. RFR Офлайн RFR
    RFR (РФР) 20 декабря 2020 01:35
    +3
    Еще бы Луку дожать, чтобы прекратил лабусов кормить, и было бы ладушки...