"Should Japan be the first to strike at enemy targets": Japanese press discusses new missile defense directive


Former Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe has made great efforts to strengthen the country's defenses. Before leaving his post for health reasons in September 2020, he called for the development of a new doctrine (directive) in the field of missile defense. On December 18, Yoshihide Suga's cabinet approved the document, but it left one extremely important issue aside, writes the Japanese edition of The Asahi Shimbun.


Should Japan be the first to strike enemy targets?

- the authors are interested.

Shinzo Abe made the strengthening of deterrence one of the main directions of his policy... But in June of this year, he announced that Tokyo would not buy the expensive Aegis Ashore ground-based missile defense system from the Americans. Japan would be better off expanding its fleet, which will have more capabilities, including through missile defense. At the same time, he raised a discussion of the issue in society, whether Japan needs the opportunity to strike first.

The ABM document approved by Yoshihide Suga is vague. It does not specifically say whether Japan should have a first strike capability on the enemy, but it does say that Tokyo will continue to develop a domestic longer-range cruise missile (1000 km).

Despite the lack of clarity in the document, the prime minister assured that the government will hold further discussions on ways to strengthen the deterrent. However, he did not set a deadline for when this could happen.

Changes to the National Security Strategy are planned to be made in 2021. Perhaps there will be a similar wording. It should be remembered that the development of such documents is a reflection of the internal political balance. There are many pacifists in the government. Therefore, the issue of re-equipping two destroyers under the missile defense system was also postponed to the next year, the publication concluded.
  • Photos used: https://www.mod.go.jp
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Akuzenka Offline Akuzenka
    Akuzenka (Alexander) 20 December 2020 18: 20
    +1
    The samurai are showing their teeth again!
  2. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 20 December 2020 18: 59
    0
    Maybe Kim got them, always firing missiles just near Japan?
  3. Cyril Offline Cyril
    Cyril (Kirill) 20 December 2020 19: 55
    -1
    On the one hand, the desire of the Japanese to continue adhering to the country's pacifist course is commendable, on the other, Japan should have the right to self-defense, including preventive ones. The country is small, there is no special tactical depth (although the mountainous terrain delays the enemy's advance), therefore, defending only when an invasion of the territory of the Islands is made is a risky strategy.

«Должна ли Япония первой наносить удар по вражеским целям»: Японская пресса обсуждает новую директиву ПРО


Бывший премьер-министр Японии Синдзо Абэ приложил большие усилия для укрепления обороноспособности страны. Перед уходом со своего поста по состоянию здоровья в сентябре 2020 года он призвал к разработке новой доктрины (директивы) в области ПРО. 18 декабря Кабинет Ёсихидэ Суга одобрил упомянутый документ, однако он оставил в стороне один крайне важный вопрос, пишет японское издание The Asahi Shimbun.


Должна ли Япония первой наносить удар по вражеским целям?

– интересуются авторы.

Синдзо Абэ сделал усиление потенциала сдерживания одним из основных направлений своей политики. Но в июне этого года он сообщил, что Токио не станет покупать у американцев дорогостоящую систему ПРО наземного базирования Aegis Ashore. Япония лучше увеличит свой флот, у которого будет больше возможностей, в том числе благодаря ПРО. При этом он поднял обсуждение вопроса в обществе, нужна ли Японии возможность нанесения первого удара.

В одобренном Ёсихидэ Суга документе по ПРО указаны расплывчатые формулировки. В нем конкретно не сказано, должна ли Япония иметь возможность первого удара по противнику, но говорится, что Токио продолжит разработку отечественной крылатой ракеты большей дальности (1000 км).

Несмотря на отсутствие чёткости в документе, премьер заверил, что в правительстве будут проведены дальнейшие обсуждения способов усиления потенциала сдерживания. Однако он не установил крайних сроков, когда это может произойти.

Изменения в Стратегию национальной безопасности планируют внести в 2021 году. Возможно там появится подобная формулировка. Нужно помнить, что разработка подобных документов – это отражение внутриполитического баланса. В правительстве много пацифистов. Поэтому на следующий год также был перенесен вопрос о переоборудовании двух эсминцев под систему ПРО, подытожило издание.
  • Использованы фотографии: https://www.mod.go.jp
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. AKuzenka Офлайн AKuzenka
    AKuzenka (Александр) 20 декабря 2020 18:20
    +1
    Снова самураи скалят зубы!
  2. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 20 декабря 2020 18:59
    0
    Может, их достал Ким, вечно пуляющий ракеты именно рядом с Японией?
  3. Cyril Офлайн Cyril
    Cyril (Кирилл) 20 декабря 2020 19:55
    -1
    С одной стороны, похвально желание японцев по-прежнему придерживаться пацифистского курса страны, с другой - Япония должна иметь право на самозащиту, в том числе превентивную. Страна небольшая, тактической глубины особой нет (хотя гористая местность задерживает продвижение неприятеля), поэтому защищаться лишь когда совершено вторжение на территорию Островов - стратегия рискованная.