Cyberwar on the doorstep: Biden is considering a large-scale hacker attack on Russia


Recently, American government departments have been subjected to massive hacker attacks from abroad. Local media and a number politicians blamed Moscow for everything, but no real evidence of Russia's participation has yet been found. At the same time, the team of the winning US presidential candidate Joseph Biden is thinking about how to punish the Kremlin for hacking computer systems.


A large-scale cyber espionage campaign has been announced by several United States government agencies, including the Department of State, as well as the Treasury and Energy Departments. According to their representatives, the incident was the result of the activities of Russian hackers. Attackers infiltrated computer networks using a widely used software product from the Texas-based company SolarWinds. SolarWinds said an "external nation state" was behind the hack, but Moscow denies any involvement in the attacks.

The future chief of staff for the newly elected president, Ron Klein, told CBS that you need to think about more than restrictive and the economy measures, but also on how to prevent similar attacks in the future. It is necessary to create a mechanism that would prevent such hacks, options for retaliatory actions are also possible. He blamed the incident on the Donald Trump administration.

Biden said last week that the incursions caused "serious concern" and promised to punish those responsible.

As President, Biden is going to take certain steps to reduce the ability of foreign players to carry out such attacks on our country.

Klein stressed on Sunday December 20, adding that the reaction of the new presidential administration could go beyond the sanctions.

That is, Joe Biden is considering the option of a retaliatory large-scale hacker attack on Russia, which indicates the possible start of a real cyber war.

The response must be strong enough that the attackers will have high economic, financial or technological losses. At the same time, it is necessary to avoid an escalation of the conflict between the two nuclear powers.

- shared with Reuters on condition of anonymity one of the politicians familiar with the options for Russia's response discussed in Biden's circle.
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. vik669 Offline vik669
    vik669 (vik669) 21 December 2020 13: 01
    +2
    At this age, schizophrenia cannot be treated and therefore you will not be bored with this hacker!
  2. GRF Online GRF
    GRF 21 December 2020 16: 04
    0
    At the same time, it is necessary to avoid an escalation of the conflict between the two nuclear powers.

    Malefactors are banging out, terribly wanting to do little dirty tricks ...

Кибервойна на пороге: Байден рассматривает вариант масштабной хакерской атаки на Россию


Недавно американские государственные ведомства подверглись масштабным хакерским атакам из-за рубежа. Местные СМИ и ряд политиков обвинили во всем Москву, однако реальных доказательств участия России пока не найдено. При этом команда победившего кандидата в президенты США Джозефа Байдена думает о том, как наказать Кремль за взлом компьютерных систем.


О масштабной кампании кибершпионажа заявили несколько правительственных агентств Соединенных Штатов, в том числе Госдеп, а также министерства финансов и энергетики. По мнению их представителей, случившееся стало результатом деятельности российских хакеров. Злоумышленники проникли в компьютерные сети с помощью широко используемого программного продукта техасской компании SolarWinds. В SolarWinds заявили, что за взломом стояло «внешнее национальное государство», однако Москва отрицает свою причастность к атакам.

Будущий глава администрации новоизбранного президента Рон Клейн отметил в эфире CBS, что нужно думать не только об ограничительных и затрагивающих экономику мерах, но и о способах предотвращения подобных атак в будущем. Необходимо создать механизм, который помешал бы подобным взломам, возможны также варианты ответных подобных действий. Вину за произошедшее он возложил на администрацию Дональда Трампа.

На прошлой неделе Байден заявил о том, что вторжения вызвали «серьезную озабоченность», и пообещал наказать виновных.

На посту президента Байден собирается предпринять определенные шаги для того, чтобы снизить возможности иностранных игроков совершать подобные атаки на нашу страну

– подчеркнул Клейн в воскресенье 20 декабря, добавив, что реакция новой президентской администрации может выйти за рамки санкций.

То есть, Джо Байден рассматривает вариант ответной масштабной хакерской атаки на Россию, что говорит о возможном начале настоящей кибервойны.

Ответ должен быть достаточно сильным, который обернется злоумышленникам высокими экономическими, финансовыми или технологическими потерями. При этом необходимо избежать эскалации конфликта между двумя ядерными державами

– поделился с агентством Reuters на условиях анонимности один из политиков, знакомых с обсуждающимися в окружении Байдена вариантами ответа России.
2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. vik669 Офлайн vik669
    vik669 (vik669) 21 декабря 2020 13:01
    +2
    В таком возрасте щизофрения не лечиться и потому с этим хакером скучать не придётся!
  2. GRF Офлайн GRF
    GRF 21 декабря 2020 16:04
    0
    При этом необходимо избежать эскалации конфликта между двумя ядерными державами

    бздят злоумышленники, жутко желая мелко пакостить...