Russia prepares to reshape the international helium market


The construction of a large-scale production facility in Siberia is nearing completion in Russia. According to experts, the activities of the enterprises being built may in the near future undermine the international market for helium, which is increasingly important in medicine. technology, space exploration and national security. StarTribune writes about Russia's "helium" ambitions.


The United States and Qatar together produce the vast majority of helium in the world. But from 2021, Russia plans to take high export positions for this gas. Russia's ambitions coincide with America's withdrawal from the global helium business. In this regard, many fear that Moscow will use the same methods of political pressure when trading helium as it does against consumers of Russian natural gas and crude oil.

According to Michael Dall, an economist at the IHS Markit research company, in the early stages, helium supplies from Russia could lower world prices. But in the "long game", the dynamics of prices and supplies may become more politically motivated, as is the case in OPEC when trading oil.

One of the world's largest untapped natural gas fields with a high helium content is located in Siberia. The Kremlin is preparing to seriously reshape the global helium market with the launch of Gazprom's specialized enterprises next year. The Russian gas concern will sell to the world market canisters with cryogenically cooled liquid helium from Vladivostok, which has good opportunities for transporting gas to China and the western United States.

According to the helium market analyst Phil Kornbluth, having reached the peak of its gas production capacity in the mid-20s, Russia plans to produce from 25% to 30% of all helium used in the world.
  • Photos used: https://www.gazprom.ru/
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Just a cat Offline Just a cat
    Just a cat (Bayun) 21 December 2020 16: 55
    -1
    On September 23, 2020, at the Lakhta Center site in St. Petersburg, a presentation of the helium production and marketing project was held as part of the Eastern Gas Program implemented by Gazprom.

    The event was attended by Alexey Miller, Chairman of the Management Board of PJSC Gazprom, Anton Inyutsyn, Deputy Minister of Energy of the Russian Federation, Vitaly Markelov, Deputy Chairman of the Management Board of PJSC Gazprom, Sergei Kogogin, General Director of KAMAZ, and Lyubov Brish, General Director of Gazprom Helium Service ...

    In the East of Russia, Gazprom is building the Amur Gas Processing Plant (GPP, project implementation status - 66%). Here, from the multicomponent gas of the Chayandinskoye and, in the future, the Kovykta fields, transported through the Power of Siberia gas pipeline, helium will be released and liquefied, among other valuable components. It is in demand in high-tech industries. The demand for helium is growing, primarily in the Asia-Pacific region. By the volume of helium production - 60 million cubic meters. m per year - the Amur GPP will become the world leader.

    "Fresh" news however laughing
  2. Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 21 December 2020 17: 38
    -2
    Gazprom, however.
    With all the consequences
  3. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 22 December 2020 11: 12
    -1
    will sell cryogenically cooled liquid helium canisters to the world market

    - why, it's convenient ...
  4. Bulanov Offline Bulanov
    Bulanov (Vladimir) 23 December 2020 13: 39
    0
    Maybe after this the development of airship building will begin? These can be good competitors for Boeing and Airbus. And for cargo and small aircraft - the Klondike in general!

Россия готовится перекроить международный рынок гелия


В России завершается строительство масштабного производственного объекта на территории Сибири. По мнению экспертов, деятельность возводимых предприятий может в недалеком будущем подорвать международный рынок гелия, имеющего все более важное значение в медицине, технике, освоении космоса и национальной безопасности. О «гелиевых» амбициях России пишет StarTribune.


Соединенные Штаты и Катар вместе производят подавляющий объем гелия в мире. Но с 2021 года Россия планирует занять высокие экспортные позиции по этому газу. Российские амбиции совпадают с уходом Америки из глобального гелиевого бизнеса. В связи с этим многие опасаются, что Москва при торговле гелием будет использовать те же методы политического давления, что и в отношении потребителей российского природного газа и сырой нефти.

По словам Майкла Далла, экономиста исследовательской компании IHS Markit, на первых порах поставки гелия из России могут снизить мировые цены. Но при «игре в долгую» динамика цен и поставок может стать более политически мотивированной, как это происходит в ОПЕК при торговле нефтью.

На территории Сибири находится одно из крупнейших мировых неиспользованных месторождений природного газа с высоким содержанием гелия. Кремль готовится серьезно перекроить мировой гелиевый рынок с запуском в следующем году профильных предприятий «Газпрома». Российский газовый концерн будет продавать на мировой рынок канистры с криогенно охлажденным жидким гелием из Владивостока, имеющего хорошие возможности для транспортировки газа в КНР и на запад США.

По мнению аналитика гелиевого рынка Фила Корнблута, достигнув в середине 20-х годов этого века пика мощности по добыче газа, Россия планирует производить от 25% до 30% всего используемого в мире гелия.
  • Использованы фотографии: https://www.gazprom.ru/
4 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Просто Кот Офлайн Просто Кот
    Просто Кот (Баюн) 21 декабря 2020 16:55
    -1
    23 сентября 2020 года в Санкт-Петербурге на площадке Лахта Центра состоялась презентация проекта производства и маркетинга гелия в рамках Восточной газовой программы, реализуемой «Газпромом».

    В мероприятии приняли участие председатель правления ПАО «Газпром» Алексей Миллер, заместитель министра энергетики Российской Федерации Антон Инюцын, заместитель председателя правления ПАО «Газпром» Виталий Маркелов, генеральный директор ПАО «КАМАЗ» Сергей Когогин и генеральный директор компании «Газпром гелий сервис» Любовь Бриш.

    На Востоке России «Газпром» строит Амурский газоперерабатывающий завод (ГПЗ, статус реализации проекта – 66%). Здесь из многокомпонентного газа Чаяндинского и, в перспективе, Ковыктинского месторождений, транспортируемого по газопроводу «Сила Сибири», в числе других ценных компонентов будет выделяться и сжижаться гелий. Он востребован в высокотехнологичных отраслях промышленности. Спрос на гелий растет, в первую очередь в странах Азиатско-Тихоокеанского региона. По объему производства гелия – 60 млн куб. м в год – Амурский ГПЗ станет мировым лидером.

    "Свежая" новость однако laughing
  2. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 21 декабря 2020 17:38
    -2
    Газпром, однако.
    Со всеми вытекающими
  3. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 22 декабря 2020 11:12
    -1
    будет продавать на мировой рынок канистры с криогенно охлажденным жидким гелием

    - а чё, удобно...
  4. Буланов Офлайн Буланов
    Буланов (Владимир) 23 декабря 2020 13:39
    0
    Может быть после этого начнется развитие дирижаблестроения? Это могут быть хорошие конкуренты Боингам и Аэрбасам. А уж для грузовой и малой авиации - вообще Клондайк!