Gazprom will have to find an answer to Poland's gas plans in Eastern Europe


Poland continues to squeeze Gazprom out of Europe whenever possible. This country has consistently opposed the supply of Russian gas through the Nord Stream 2 pipeline, which should turn Germany into the largest regional hub. The fact is that Warsaw itself has similar ambitions and may well overtake Berlin. What gives reason to believe so?


Today it is Russia that is the key supplier of natural gas to Poland. The annual consumption of "blue fuel" in this Eastern European country is at the level of 15 billion cubic meters. Under a contract signed back in 1996, Gazprom is to supply up to 10 billion cubic meters per year, of which 8,7 billion - on a take-or-pay basis. The rest of the total consumption is covered by imports and domestic production. But Warsaw intends to radically change all this.

It is profitable for Poland to buy Russian gas, but a large policy... The Rubicon was the so-called Munich speech of Vladimir Putin, where the president sharply criticized the concept of a unipolar world under the dictates of the "hegemon" in the person of the United States. Among other things, the thesis about Russia's refusal to recognize the EU diktat in the energy sector was voiced there:

Russia is not opposed to agreeing on the principles of relations with the EU in the field of energy resources. The principles of the Energy Charter are generally acceptable, but the very essence of the Charter does not suit Russia.

In the West, Vladimir Vladimirovich was heard and made their own conclusions. In particular, Warsaw decided to get rid of its dependence on Gazprom for the supply of "blue fuel" by returning to the Baltic Pipe project. Through this pipeline, Poland will receive from Norway through Denmark up to 10 billion cubic meters per year, that is, it will be able to replace the volumes received from Russia. The contract with the domestic monopolist ends in 2022, and the Polish authorities do not intend to renew it. Instead, preparations have already been made for the construction of an alternative gas pipeline from Scandinavia, which will begin next summer and will end approximately by October 2022. Since no one is going to interfere with Warsaw, most likely, the "Baltic Pipe" will be able to work in two years by the beginning of the heating season, finally ousting "Gazprom" from the Polish market.

But these are not all problems. As you know, Warsaw has made a serious stake on LNG by building a receiving terminal in Swinoujscie. For the next two decades, Poland has contracted with several LNG suppliers from the USA and Great Britain, and its plans are not limited to its own consumption. The capacity of the existing terminal will be expanded to 7,5 billion cubic meters per year, plus a second floating LNG terminal is planned to be built in Gdansk. Its capacity can range from 4,5 billion cubic meters to 9-12 billion cubic meters per year through modular expansion.

It is expected that in the next ten years the consumption of "blue fuel" in Poland will grow to 29 billion cubic meters, but there will still be an excess of gas, which Warsaw intends to resell to its neighbors, turning its country into a regional hub. Thus, the construction of the GIPL (Gas Interconnection Poland-Lithuania) pipeline between Lithuania and Poland is being completed at an accelerated pace. It is assumed that it will become part of the infrastructure designed to diversify supplies in Eastern Europe. Theoretically, it can carry "Lithuanian" gas from the floating LNG terminal in Klaipeda in volumes of up to 1,9 billion cubic meters per year. As you know, Vilnius is very proud of its “energy independence from Russia”. However economic the efficiency of this project is so low that the scenario of supplies of "Polish" gas to Lithuania is more likely.

And not only there, Warsaw quite reasonably expects to enter the markets of neighboring Latvia, Estonia and Finland. Since Poland, as an ally, enjoys the most favored treatment of the United States, there is no reason to believe that it will not be able to carry out its plans. How Gazprom will answer all this is a big question.
Ad
The publication is looking for authors in the news and analytical departments. Requirements for applicants: literacy, responsibility, efficiency, inexhaustible creative energy, experience in copywriting or journalism, the ability to quickly analyze text and check facts, write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. The work is paid. Contact: [email protected]
7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Bakht Offline Bakht
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 25 December 2020 13: 03
    +8
    There is no need to answer. The contract ends in 2022. So there is no need to renew it. Norwegian gas (is there any) plus LNG. Gas price will rise at the Dutch hub. And since many consumers are demanding a release from the oil basket and the Stockholm arbitration agreed with this, the prospects for Gazprom are not very bad. Poor prospects for the EU economy, but this should not worry GazProm.
    The price for the TTF hub in Holland is now about $ 150-160 per thousand cubic meters.
  2. SASS Offline SASS
    SASS (Sass) 25 December 2020 21: 37
    +1
    Empty, incompetent scribble for a fee ... and that's it ... the author is not in the subject.))
    1. The comment was deleted.
    2. Marzhecki Online Marzhecki
      Marzhecki (Sergei) 26 December 2020 08: 54
      0
      Oooh !!! So refute "competently" and reasonably, if "in the subject" wink
      1. oderih Offline oderih
        oderih (Alex) 26 December 2020 13: 24
        +1
        The question is in the pipe. Will the "beloved" brother let you build a pipe? This is ridiculous in today's reality. And in terms of LNG, look at the growth in our volumes. He and Novatek will crush the hegemon. It has long been proven that Gazprom is much more stable than shale producers
  3. boriz Online boriz
    boriz (boriz) 26 December 2020 00: 08
    +3
    So there is no official confirmation that joint venture and joint venture 2 have given permission to cross their routes.
    Norway's gas affairs are rather sad. The end result is that the Baltic Pipe (when and if it is built) will pump Russian gas to Norway.
  4. bratchanin3 Offline bratchanin3
    bratchanin3 (Gennady) 27 December 2020 14: 17
    +2
    Yes, listen to the author, so at the time of the "guard" to shout! Our LNG will be cheaper than the American one in any case, and the light has not converged like a wedge in Poland, especially since the Poles are no longer friends and cannot be traded with them.
  5. Dust Offline Dust
    Dust (Sergei) 1 January 2021 17: 29
    +1
    Poland is just an intermediary, whatever one may say. That she sells Norwegian or American but, reseller. She will NEVER beat Russia with intermediary gas. In the long term, this is a dummy. In Norway, gas reserves are being depleted, the American one is 25% more expensive than the Russian one due to transportation. The shale revolution does not justify itself either. Even in the United States, public organizations are sounding the alarm that mining is harmful to nature. It seems to me that the main supplier of gas to Southeast Asia is the United States. The gas market there has always been more expensive than in Europe. But, in the last ten years, Russia has been "climbing" with its gas to Southeast Asia. The USA really doesn't like it. So they decided to answer in Europe. Where Russia mainly sold gas.
  6. Sergey Demin_2 Offline Sergey Demin_2
    Sergey Demin_2 (Sergey Dyomin) 2 January 2021 08: 48
    0
    The author of this opus is aware of the cost of lng? In Lithuania, a terminal for receiving LPG was built now, they do not know where to rush because no one needs gas because it is ROAD, now the Poles are stepping on the same rake.

«Газпрому» придется искать ответ на газовые планы Польши в Восточной Европе


Польша продолжает по мере возможностей выдавливать «Газпром» из Европы. Эта страна последовательно выступает против поставок российского газа через трубопровод «Северный поток-2», который должен превратить Германию в крупнейший региональный хаб. Дело в том, что сама Варшава имеет аналогичные амбиции и вполне может обскакать Берлин. Что же дает основания так полагать?


На сегодняшний день именно Россия является ключевым поставщиком природного газа в Польшу. Ежегодное потребление «голубого топлива» в этой восточноевропейской стране находится на уровне в 15 миллиардов кубометров. По контракту, подписанному еще в 1996 году, «Газпром» должен поставлять до 10 миллиардов кубов в год, из которых 8,7 миллиарда – по принципу «бери или плати». Остальной объем от общего потребления закрывается за счет импорта и собственной добычи. Но Варшава намерена все это кардинально изменить.

Закупать российский газ Польше выгодно, однако в дело вмешалась большая политика. Рубиконом стала так называемая Мюнхенская речь Владимира Путина, где президент резко раскритиковал концепцию однополярного мира под диктатом «гегемона» в лице США. В том числе, там прозвучал тезис об отказе России признавать диктат ЕС в сфере энергетики:

Россия не против согласовать принципы отношений с ЕС в сфере энергоносителей. Принципы Энергетической хартии в целом приемлемы, но сама суть Хартии Россию не устраивает.

На Западе Владимира Владимировича услышали и сделали свои собственные выводы. В частности, Варшава решила избавиться от зависимости от «Газпрома» в вопросе поставок «голубого топлива», вернувшись к проекту Baltic Pipe («Балтийская труба»). По данному трубопроводу Польша будет получать из Норвегии через Данию до 10 миллиардов кубов в год, то есть, сможет заменить объемы, получаемые из России. Контракт с отечественным монополистом заканчивается в 2022 году, и польские власти не намерены его продлевать. Вместо этого уже проведена подготовка к строительству альтернативного газопровода из Скандинавии, которое начнется уже следующим летом, а закончится ориентировочно к октябрю 2022-го. Поскольку никто Варшаве мешать не собирается, по всей видимости, «Балтийская труба» сможет заработать через два года к началу отопительного сезона, окончательно вытеснив «Газпром» с польского рынка.

Но это далеко не все проблемы. Как известно, Варшава сделала серьезную ставку на СПГ, построив приемный терминал в Свиноуйсьце. На ближайшие два десятилетия Польша законтрактована с несколькими поставщиками СПГ из США и Великобритании, и ее планы не ограничиваются только собственным потреблением. Мощность уже имеющегося терминала будет расширена до 7,5 миллиарда кубометров в год, плюс планируется строительство второго плавучего СПГ-терминала в Гданьске. Его мощность может составить от 4,5 миллиарда кубометров до 9-12 миллиардов кубов в год за счет расширения модульным путем.

Ожидается, что в ближайшие десять лет потребление «голубого топлива» в Польше вырастет до 29 миллиардов кубометров, но все равно образуется избыток газа, который Варшава намерена перепродавать соседям, превратив свою страну в региональный хаб. Так, ускоренными темпами достраивается трубопровод GIPL (Gas Interconnection Poland-Lithuania) между Литвой и Польшей. Предполагается, что он станет частью инфраструктуры, предназначенной для диверсификации поставок в Восточной Европе. Теоретически по нему может пойти «литовский» газ с плавучего СПГ-терминала в Клайпеде в объемах до 1,9 миллиарда кубов в год. Как известно, Вильнюс очень гордится своей «энергонезависимостью от России». Однако экономическая эффективность данного проекта столь низка, что более вероятен сценарий поставок «польского» газа в Литву.

И не только туда, Варшава вполне обоснованно рассчитывает выйти на рынки соседних Латвии, Эстонии и Финляндии. Поскольку Польша на правах союзника пользуется режимом максимального благоприятствования со стороны США, нет оснований считать, что ей не удастся осуществить задуманное. Как на все это будет отвечать «Газпром», большой вопрос.
7 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Bakht Офлайн Bakht
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 25 декабря 2020 13:03
    +8
    Никак не надо отвечать. Контракт заканчивается в 2022 году. Вот и не надо его продлевать. Норвежский газ (есть ли он), плюс СПГ. Цена на газ вырастет на голландском хабе. А так как многие потребители требуют отвязки от нефтяной корзины и Стокгольмский арбитраж с этим согласился, то перспективы ГазПрома не самые плохие. Плохие перспективы для экономики ЕС, но это ГазПром не должно волновать.
    Цена на хабе в Голландии TTF сейчас порядка 150-160 долларов за тысячу кубов.
  2. SASS Офлайн SASS
    SASS (Sass) 25 декабря 2020 21:37
    +1
    Пустая, не компетентная писанина за гонорар... и всё-ё... автор не в теме.))
    1. Комментарий был удален.
    2. Маржецкий Офлайн Маржецкий
      Маржецкий (Сергей) 26 декабря 2020 08:54
      0
      УУУ!!! Так опровергните "компетентно" и аргументированно, коли "в теме" wink
      1. oderih Офлайн oderih
        oderih (Алекс) 26 декабря 2020 13:24
        +1
        Вопрос в трубе. Даст ли "любимый" брат построить трубу? В нынешних реалиях это смешно. И по СПГ посмотрите на рост объемов у нас. Они с Новатэком задавят гегемона. Давно доказано что газпром намного устойчивей сланцевиков
  3. boriz Офлайн boriz
    boriz (boriz) 26 декабря 2020 00:08
    +3
    Так и нет официального подтверждения, что сп и сп 2 дали разрешение на пересечение Baltic Pipe своих трасс.
    А газовые дела у Норвегии достаточно печальны. Кончится тем, что по Baltic Pipe (когда и если его построят) будут качать российский газ в Норвегию.
  4. bratchanin3 Офлайн bratchanin3
    bratchanin3 (Геннадий) 27 декабря 2020 14:17
    +2
    Да уж, послушать автора, так в пору "караул" кричать! Наш СПГ дешевле американского будет в любом случае, да и свет клином на Польше не сошёлся, тем более поляки давно уже не друзья и торговать с ними нельзя.
  5. Dust Офлайн Dust
    Dust (Сергей) 1 января 2021 17:29
    +1
    Польша, это всего лишь посредник, как не крути. Что она продаёт Норвежский или Американский но, посредник. Ей НИКОГДА не переплюнуть с посредническим газом Россию. В долгосрочной переспективе это "пустышка". В Норвегии запасы газа истощаются, Американский из-за перевозок дороже Российского на 25%. Так же сланцевая революция себя не оправдывает. Даже в США бьют тревогу общественные организации считающие что добыча приносит вред природе. Мне кажется, основной поставщик Юго -Восточную Азию газа это США. Там рынок газа всегда был дороже чем в Европе. Но, в последние десять лет Россия "залезает" со своим газом в Юго-Восточную Азию. США это очень не нравится. Вот и решили ответить в Европе. Где Россия в основном продавала газ.
  6. Сергей Дёмин_2 (Сергей Дёмин) 2 января 2021 08:48
    0
    Автор сего опуса в курсе стоимости спг? В Литве терминал по приёму спг построили теперь не знают куда кинуться так как никому газ не нужен ибо ДОРОГ, теперь поляки на эти же грабли наступают.