From "Zircons" to anti-aircraft missiles: how the North Pole will be dangerous for the USA


Russia has a unique ship that should help consolidate our dominance in the Arctic. But instead of recognizing this achievement, the Western press casually called him "the ugliest in the world." Let's figure out exactly what the Americans were wrong about.


Strictly speaking, the Russian "North Pole" is not so much a ship as a self-propelled Arctic platform of project 00903. With a length of 83,1 meters and a width of 22,5 meters, it has a displacement of over 10 tons. This swimming apparatus has a pronounced egg-shaped shape, which allowed The Drive to comment on it so unflatteringly:

The new Russian Arctic research vessel may be the ugliest ship we've seen.

However, its amazing appearance is dictated solely by considerations of functionality. The platform is designed for autonomous operation in polar ice for two years. Being surrounded by ice, it is able to freeze in them safely, maintaining the integrity of the round sides, which will simply be squeezed up. Today, no one else in the world has anything like it. This gives Russia truly unique opportunities.

The main purpose of the "North Pole" is the peaceful exploration of the Arctic. In addition to the 24 crew members, 34 passengers, including scientists, can accommodate and work on board. The need for such a platform has been long overdue. The polar ice is rapidly melting, and it is no longer possible to organize a safe permanent station on a drifting ice floe. Ice conditions are constantly changing, which interferes with research. And they are needed.

The official customer for the construction of the self-propelled platform is Roshydromet. However, underwater studies of the bottom of the Arctic Ocean are necessary not only for meteorologists, but for the entire state in order to reliably substantiate Russian claims to the Arctic shelf in front of other competitors. Unsurprisingly, there were $ 100 million in the budget to build such a special ship.

But the "North Pole" also has a military purpose. Do not forget that the Arctic is currently being actively militarized. This vessel is already equipped with a helicopter landing area and speedboats. If necessary, it can be used as a carrier of attack and reconnaissance UAVs, as well as underwater drones. Project 00903 in the future can be deeply modernized based on the operating experience of the North Pole. If we seriously increase the size of the platform, on its basis it is possible to develop a unique Arctic helicopter carrier that will perform anti-submarine functions in the Arctic Ocean, looking for American nuclear submarines. So Russia will get its autonomous floating airfields in the Arctic, which our combat icebreakers will be able to cover.

Theoretically, it is also possible to use them otherwise. For example, after finalizing the successors of the North Pole, it can be turned into carriers of the Kalibr cruise missiles or the Zircon hypersonic missiles, as well as anti-missiles, thereby closing the northern direction. Recall that it is through the Far North that the shortest distance between the United States and the Russian Federation passes for the flight of intercontinental ballistic missiles. In combination with other types of weapons and troops, floating Arctic platforms can make a significant contribution to increasing the defense capability of our country.
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Just a cat Offline Just a cat
    Just a cat (Bayun) 26 December 2020 19: 20
    +2
    Well, if we continue the original from RIA Novosti and rewrite the words of Alexander Makarov, director of the Arctic and Antarctic Research Institute (AARI, St. Petersburg), then ...

    In the comments under the article, The Drive users expressed the opposite opinion about the appearance of the platform. Someone admired the floating station, someone compared it to spaceships from science fiction. Many recognized that such a shape is necessary for the vessel for a long drift among the Arctic ice.

    https://ria.ru/20201224/uchenyy-1590661359.html
  2. Volga073 Offline Volga073
    Volga073 (MIKLE) 27 December 2020 05: 33
    +1
    A beautiful ship, space forms!
  3. amateur Offline amateur
    amateur (Victor) 27 December 2020 18: 16
    -1
    But the "North Pole" also has a military purpose. Do not forget that the Arctic is currently being actively militarized. This vessel is already equipped with a helicopter landing area and speedboats. If necessary, it can be used as a carrier of attack and reconnaissance UAVs, as well as underwater drones.

От «Цирконов» до зенитных ракет: чем «Северный полюс» будет опасен для США


У России появился уникальный корабль, который должен помочь закрепить наше доминирование в Арктике. Но вместо того, чтобы признать это достижение, в западной прессе походя обозвали его «самым уродливым в мире». Давайте разбираться, в чем конкретно были неправы американцы.


Строго говоря, российский «Северный полюс» является не столько кораблем, сколько самодвижущейся арктической платформой проекта 00903. При длине 83,1 метра и ширине 22,5 метра он имеет водоизмещение свыше 10 000 тонн. Данный плавательный аппарат имеет выраженную яйцевидную форму, которая и позволила изданию The Drive столь нелестно о нем отозваться:

Новое российское арктическое исследовательское судно может стать самым уродливым кораблем из всех, что мы видели.

Однако его удивительный внешний вид продиктован исключительно соображениями функциональности. Платформа предназначена для автономного функционирования в полярных льдах на протяжении двух лет. Будучи окружена льдами, она способна в них безопасно для себя вмерзнуть, сохранив целостность круглых бортов, которые будут просто выдавливаться вверх. На сегодняшний день ничего подобного нет ни у кого в мире. Это дает России поистине уникальные возможности.

Основное назначение «Северного полюса» - это мирное исследование Арктики. Помимо 24 членов экипажа, на его борту могут разместиться и работать 34 пассажира, среди которых будут ученые. Необходимость в подобной платформе назрела уже давно. Полярные льды стремительно тают, больше уже нет возможности организовать безопасную постоянную станцию на дрейфующей льдине. Ледовая обстановка меняется непрерывно, что мешает проведению исследований. А они нужны.

Официально заказчиком строительства самодвижущейся платформы является Росгидромет. Однако подводные исследования дна Северного Ледовитого океана необходимы не только метеорологам, но и всему государству для того, чтобы надежно обосновать российские претензии на арктический шельф перед другими конкурентами. Неудивительно, что в бюджете нашлись 100 миллионов долларов для строительства такого особенного корабля.

Но есть у «Северного полюса» и военное назначение. Не стоит забывать, что Арктика в настоящее время активно милитаризируется. Данное судно уже оснащено площадкой для приема вертолета и быстроходными катерами. При необходимости оно может быть использовано в качестве носителя ударных и разведывательных БПЛА, а также подводных беспилотников. Проект 00903 в перспективе может быть глубоко модернизирован на основе опыта эксплуатации «Северного полюса». Если серьезно увеличить размеры платформы, на ее базе можно разработать уникальный арктический вертолетоносец, который будет выполнять в Северном Ледовитом океане противолодочные функции, выискивая американские АПЛ. Так Россия получит в Арктике свои автономные плавучие аэродромы, прикрывать которые смогут наши боевые ледоколы.

Теоретически возможно и иное им применение. Например, после доработки преемников «Северного полюса» можно превратить в носителей крылатых ракет «Калибр» или гиперзвуковых «Цирконов», а также противоракет, закрыв тем самым северное направление. Напомним, что именно через Крайний Север проходит кратчайшее расстояние между США и РФ для полета межконтинентальных баллистических ракет. В сочетании с другими видами вооружений и войск плавучие арктические платформы могут внести существенный вклад в повышение обороноспособности нашей страны.
3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Просто Кот Офлайн Просто Кот
    Просто Кот (Баюн) 26 декабря 2020 19:20
    +2
    Ну если продолжать оригинал из РИА новости и переделывать слова директора ФГБУ "Арктический и антарктический научно-исследовательский институт" (ААНИИ, Санкт-Петербург) Александра Макарова, то...

    В комментариях под статьей пользователи The Drive высказали противоположное мнение насчет внешнего вида платформы. Кого-то плавучая станция восхитила, кто-то сравнивал ее с космическими кораблями из научной фантастики. Многие признавали, что судну такая форма необходима для продолжительного дрейфа среди арктических льдов.

    https://ria.ru/20201224/uchenyy-1590661359.html
  2. Volga073 Офлайн Volga073
    Volga073 (MIKLE) 27 декабря 2020 05:33
    +1
    Красивый корабль, космические формы!
  3. дилетант Офлайн дилетант
    дилетант (Виктор) 27 декабря 2020 18:16
    -1
    Но есть у «Северного полюса» и военное назначение. Не стоит забывать, что Арктика в настоящее время активно милитаризируется. Данное судно уже оснащено площадкой для приема вертолета и быстроходными катерами. При необходимости оно может быть использовано в качестве носителя ударных и разведывательных БПЛА, а также подводных беспилотников.