Heavy "Orlan" against the newfangled "Zumwalt": the Americans compared the power of the two ships


The American edition of The National Interest decided to compare the power of the two ships and find out who would have won of them in a hypothetical one-on-one battle. We are talking about the heavy nuclear-powered missile cruiser of the project 1144 "Orlan" and the newfangled destroyer of the "Zumwalt" type with URO.


The giant Orlan-class cruisers, which are more than 30 years old, have, albeit outdated, but generally effective weapons and are still capable of performing their main function - to attack the US AUG. But in this case, a one-on-one fight will be considered. The total displacement of such a cruiser is 28 thousand tons, and the American destroyer - 14 thousand tons.

Both ships are on the high seas at the maximum range of their anti-ship weapons and are furiously looking for each other. Ships use helicopters to explore beyond the horizon.

20 huge anti-ship missiles P-700 "Granit" cruisers can fly at a distance of up to 625 km. Maximum speed is Mach 2,5 at altitude and Mach 1,5 at water. The warhead weighs 750 kg (it can be nuclear - up to 550 kilotons).


The Zumwalt is a stealthy ship with the radar signature of a small fishing boat, with a speed of 30 knots. The Orlan's speed is 32 knots.

In such a situation, the Zumwalt will have the upper hand over the majestic, but less secretive cruiser. There is no doubt that the Orlan will be discovered first. At the same time, if he sees an American carrier-based helicopter, he will still not be able to find out the actual location of the destroyer.

"Zumwalt" is equipped with a multifunctional radar AN / SPY-3, which provides it with excellent search performance and can direct the SM-2 missiles. The destroyer has 80 launchers for launching the SM-2 and Evolved Sea Sparrow missiles, as well as surface-to-surface missiles Tomahawk and ASROS anti-submarine missiles. But the Zumwalt does a poor job of anti-ship warfare. Harpoon missiles do not fit into the launcher, so they must be installed separately on the main deck.


The Orlan is a relic from another era, but it is armed with a generous arsenal of various missiles. 12 S-300F launchers have 96 missiles, and 2 Osa air defense systems have 40 missiles. The ship has solid mine-torpedo, artillery and anti-submarine weapons, as well as three Ka-27PL helicopters.

The publication believes that a hypothetical clash is likely to be a draw. Neither side will be able to target the other and hit accurately. If the Zumwalt is unable to get close enough to the target, and the Orlan fails to detect the American in time, then both ships will interrupt maneuvers, leaving the battle on another day.
  • Photos used: MITSUO SHIBATA / wikimedia.org
10 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. 123 Offline 123
    123 (123) 26 December 2020 14: 51
    +4
    Not everything can be compared with a finger, sometimes it looks indecent.
  2. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 26 December 2020 15: 16
    +1
    As it is indecent in our time to compare the duels of individual ships, this will not happen today because all forces are linked network-centrically and everything is in the "game", that is, in battle ... As for the invisibility of Zumwalt, today there are enough detection means to keep track of the exit from bases and further, because the "eyes" of more than one ship are watching .... Today, the main thing is weapons, ships are only carriers of it, and for sufficient weapons (range, precision), a self-propelled barge with launchers for hundreds of cells will be enough ... And loss barges in no comparison with the loss of Zumwalt ...
    1. alex5450 Offline alex5450
      alex5450 (Alex L) 6 February 2021 14: 20
      -1
      How did you decide that there are enough tracking tools? Who has enough? And what specific sreddtv?
  3. Just a cat Offline Just a cat
    Just a cat (Bayun) 26 December 2020 15: 45
    +5
    They only modestly kept silent that these zumwalts are not on the move .... they only compete with the submarine "Zaporozhye".
  4. boriz Offline boriz
    boriz (boriz) 26 December 2020 16: 02
    +6
    A rare Zumwalt will swim to the place of the duel with Orlan.
    Will break.
  5. amateur Offline amateur
    amateur (Victor) 26 December 2020 16: 57
    +3
    The Zumwalt is a stealthy ship with the radar signature of a small fishing boat,

    Sumvolt most resembles the elusive Joe. He is invisible / elusive because no one is looking for him. he is not needed by anyone, except for the admirals for "cutting the attendants."
  6. It is necessary to update the locator on Orlan.
  7. rusich Offline rusich
    rusich (rusich) 27 December 2020 07: 27
    +1
    And without tugs, Zumwald does not float. I don’t remember a single one of his exits, so I didn’t come back on a tie
  8. shinobi Offline shinobi
    shinobi (Yuri) 28 December 2020 05: 33
    +1
    I’m wondering if they themselves are not jarred by such lies? It is not clear why a non-floating vessel was created with a cardboard armor and a missile cruiser capable, with a certain determination of admirals, to send AUG to the bottom in one helmet? What is it like? In a one-on-one fight, stealth will not help him, because the eagle carries (among other things) a full-fledged decimeter station for which all these "invisibles" are in full view. Fucks with Granite from the extreme range, one anti-ship missile per eye for this aluminum can, and mom won't have time to blather. This is not a hurray for patriotism, you really need to approach the assessments.
  9. The comment was deleted.
  10. The comment was deleted.
  11. al2145133 Offline al2145133
    al2145133 (Alexey Gribalev) 25 January 2021 17: 30
    0
    Zalupvolt cannot swim out of the bay for 10 years

Тяжелый «Орлан» против новомодного «Zumwalt»: американцы сравнили мощь двух кораблей


Американское издание The National Interest решило сравнить мощь двух кораблей и выяснить, кто победил бы из них в гипотетической битве один на один. Речь идет о тяжелом атомном ракетном крейсере проекта 1144 «Орлан» и новомодном эсминце типа «Zumwalt» с УРО.


Гигантские крейсера класса «Орлан», которым уже более 30 лет, имеют пусть и устаревшее, но в целом эффективное вооружение и все ещё способны выполнять свою основную функцию – атаковать АУГ США. Но в данном случае будет рассматриваться бой один на один. Полное водоизмещение такого крейсера составляет 28 тыс. тонн, а американского эсминца – 14 тыс. тонн.

Оба корабля находятся в открытом море на максимальной дальности действия своих противокорабельных средств и яростно ищут друг друга. Корабли задействуют вертолеты, чтобы изучать пространство за горизонтом.

20 огромных ПКР П-700 «Гранит» крейсера могут летать на дальность до 625 км. Максимальная скорость составляет 2,5 Маха на высоте и 1,5 Маха у воды. Боевая часть весит 750 кг (может быть ядерной – до 550 килотонн).


«Zumwalt» – это малозаметный корабль с радиолокационной сигнатурой небольшой рыбацкой лодки, развивающий скорость в 30 узлов. Скорость хода «Орлана» составляет 32 узла.

В такой ситуации «Zumwalt» будет иметь преимущество перед величественным, но менее скрытным крейсером. Без сомнения, что «Орлан» будет обнаружен первым. При этом, если он заметит американский палубный вертолет, то всё равно не сможет узнать фактическое местонахождение эсминца.

«Zumwalt» оснащен многофункциональным радаром AN/SPY-3, который обеспечивает ему превосходные характеристики поиска и может наводить ЗУР SM-2. У эсминца 80 ПУ для запуска ЗУР SM-2 и «Evolved Sea Sparrow», а также ракет класса «поверхность-поверхность» Tomahawk и противолодочных ASROS. Но «Zumwalt» плохо справляется с задачей противокорабельной борьбы. Ракеты «Harpoon» не помещаются в ПУ, поэтому их надо устанавливать отдельно на главной палубе.


«Орлан» – пережиток другой эпохи, но он вооружен щедрым арсеналом разнообразных ракет. 12 пусковых установок С-300Ф имеют 96 ракет, а 2 ЗРК «Оса» – 40 ракет. Корабль обладает солидным минно-торпедным, артиллерийским и противолодочным вооружением, а также тремя вертолетами Ка-27ПЛ.

Издание полагает, что в гипотетическом столкновении скорее всего будет ничья. Ни одна из сторон не сможет взять на прицел другую и точно поразить. Если «Zumwalt» окажется неспособным подобраться достаточно близко к цели, а «Орлан» не сможет своевременно обнаружить «американца», то оба корабля прервут манёвры, оставив сражение в другой день.
  • Использованы фотографии: MITSUO SHIBATA/wikimedia.org
10 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. 123 Офлайн 123
    123 (123) 26 декабря 2020 14:51
    +4
    Не все можно сравнивать с пальцем, иногда это выглядит неприлично.
  2. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 26 декабря 2020 15:16
    +1
    Как то неприлично в наше время сравнивать дуэли отдельных кораблей, такого сегодня не будет ибо всё силы увязаны сетецентрически и все в "игре", то есть в бою... Что до невидимости Зумвальта, так сегодня средств обнаружения достаточно, чтоб следить от выхода из базы и далее, ибо "глаза" не одного корабля следят.... Сегодня главным является оружие, корабли только носители его, и для достаточного оружия (дальнобойность, высокоточность) достаточно будет и самоходной баржи с пусковыми на сотни ячеек... И потеря баржи ни в какие сравнения с потерей Зумвальта ...
    1. alex5450 Офлайн alex5450
      alex5450 (Alex L) 6 февраля 2021 14:20
      -1
      А с чего вы решили, что средств слежения достаточно? Достаточно у кого? И каких конкретно сресдтв?
  3. Просто Кот Офлайн Просто Кот
    Просто Кот (Баюн) 26 декабря 2020 15:45
    +5
    Только скромно умолчали что эти зумвалты не на ходу.... им только с подлодкой "запорожье" соревноваться.
  4. boriz Офлайн boriz
    boriz (boriz) 26 декабря 2020 16:02
    +6
    Редкий Zumwalt доплывёт до места дуэли с Орланом.
    Сломается.
  5. дилетант Офлайн дилетант
    дилетант (Виктор) 26 декабря 2020 16:57
    +3
    «Zumwalt» – это малозаметный корабль с радиолокационной сигнатурой небольшой рыбацкой лодки,

    Зумвольт больше всего напоминает неуловимого Джо. Он невидемый/неуловимый потому, что его никто не ищет, т.к. он никому не нужен, разве кроме адмиралов для "распила бабок".
  6. Надо на Орлане локатор обновить.
  7. rusich Офлайн rusich
    rusich (rusich) 27 декабря 2020 07:27
    +1
    А без буксиров Зумвалд разве плавает. Не припоминаю ни одного его выхода, чтоб не вернулся на галстуке
  8. синоби Офлайн синоби
    синоби (Юрий) 28 декабря 2020 05:33
    +1
    Вот мне интересно, их самих то не коробит от такого вранья? Сравнивать неплавающее судно непонятно для чего созданное с картонной бронькой и ракетный крейсер способный при определённой решимости адмиралов отправить на дно АУГ в одну каску? Это как? В схватке один на один стелс ему не поможет, ибо орлан таскает в себе (помимо всего прочего) полноценную дециметровую станцию для которой все эти "невидимки" как на ладони. Долбанёт Гранитом с предельной дальности, одной ПКР за глаза для этой аллюминиевой банки, и мама вякнуть не успеют. Это не ура патриотизм, реально надо подходить к оценкам.
  9. Комментарий был удален.
  10. Комментарий был удален.
  11. al2145133 Офлайн al2145133
    al2145133 (Алексей Грибалев) 25 января 2021 17:30
    0
    залупвольт из бухты выплыть не может 10 лет