NI: As in the US, Russian tanks now fire depleted uranium shells


The US military has assured that its depleted uranium munitions are mostly safe. At the same time, in Russia, as in the United States, tanks are now firing shells with a similar filling, writes the American magazine The National Interest.


Moscow is equipping its MBTs with similar ammunition. Depleted uranium is incredibly dense and can penetrate the thick armor of a tank. At the same time, many experts are confident that such projectiles emit small doses of radiation, like miniature neutron bombs.

Washington has used similar shells in Iraq, Afghanistan and Syria. The bulletin of the Russian Defense Ministry says that now the Russian modernized T-80BV tanks will also be armed with these powerful ammunition.

T-80BVM (M - modernized) has an improved weapon stabilizer and loading mechanism for 3BM59 "Lead-1" and 3BM60 "Lead-2" ammunition

- TASS quotes from the document.

In 2016, Dutch experts from Below The Turret Ring informed that Lead-1 has a tungsten carbide core, while Lead-2 uses depleted uranium. Moreover, Russia could produce these special rounds for several years as a replacement for existing tank ammunition.

It was specified that the shells "use an aluminum shoe with three points of contact." It was noted that this is unique, since most of these ammunition use two points of contact. But how this affects accuracy is unknown.

Experts explained that Lead-2 is not the first shell in Moscow's arsenal to use depleted uranium. The 3BM-32 "Vant" armor-piercing feathered subcaliber (arrow-shaped) projectile, designed for the Soviet 125-mm tank gun, also contained depleted uranium. But the new Russian shells are 79-84 percent longer than the Soviet ones, which should lead to a significant increase in armor penetration.

Steel is less effective at penetrating armor than high density heavy metal alloy. This explains the attractiveness of depleted uranium. Ironically, the American Abrams tank now uses depleted uranium in its armor to protect against anti-tank shells.

Several international organizations are campaigning to ban depleted uranium shells. Another question is whether the Russian government will listen to them, summed up the publication from the United States.
Ad
The publication is looking for authors in the news and analytical departments. Requirements for applicants: literacy, responsibility, efficiency, inexhaustible creative energy, experience in copywriting or journalism, the ability to quickly analyze text and check facts, write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. The work is paid. Contact: [email protected]
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. 123 Online 123
    123 (123) 26 December 2020 19: 56
    +3
    Washington has used similar shells in Iraq, Afghanistan and Syria.

    I suppose the list is not complete. Serbia was forgotten for some reason.



    Several international organizations are campaigning to ban depleted uranium shells. Another question is whether the Russian government will listen to them, summed up the publication from the United States.

    Let the "international organizations" first try to ban the use of US uranium. And we'll see how they do it. winked It will be funny to see how American money is being fought to ban American weapons. laughing

    As for the shells themselves, if it comes to them all the same, it is better to use them on the banks of the English Channel.
  2. Kuramori Reika Offline Kuramori Reika
    Kuramori Reika (Kuramori Reika) 28 December 2020 13: 54
    +1
    It would be fair to bombard US cities with such shells. This is exactly what they did to several countries, poisoning entire nations.

NI: Как и в США, российские танки теперь стреляют снарядами из обедненного урана


Американские военные заверяют, что их боеприпасы с обедненным ураном по большей части безопасны. При этом в России, как и в США, танки теперь стреляют снарядами с подобной начинкой, пишет американский журнал The National Interest.


Москва вооружает свои ОБТ подобными боеприпасами. Обедненный уран невероятно плотен и может пробивать толстую броню танка. При этом многие эксперты уверены, что такие снаряды испускают небольшие дозы радиации, как миниатюрные нейтронные бомбы.

Вашингтон применял аналогичные снаряды в Ираке, Афганистане и Сирии. В бюллетене Минобороны РФ сказано, что теперь российские модернизированные танки Т-80БВ также будут вооружены этими мощными боеприпасами.

Т-80БВМ (М – модернизированный) имеет улучшенный стабилизатор вооружения и механизм заряжания для боеприпасов 3БМ59 «Свинец-1» и 3БМ60 «Свинец-2»

– приводит ТАСС цитату из документа.

В 2016 году голландские эксперты с сайта Below The Turret Ring проинформировали, что «Свинец-1» имеет сердечник из карбида вольфрама, а «Свинец-2» использует обедненный уран. Причем Россия могла производить эти спецснаряды в течение нескольких лет в качестве замены существующих танковых боеприпасов.

Уточнялось, что в снарядах «используется алюминиевый башмак с тремя точками контакта». Отмечалось, что это уникально, так как большинство подобных боеприпасов используют две точки контакта. Но как это влияет на точность, неизвестно.

Эксперты объяснили, что «Свинец-2» – не первый снаряд на вооружении Москвы, в котором используется обедненный уран. Бронебойный оперенный подкалиберный снаряд (стреловидный) 3БМ-32 «Вант», спроектированный для советской 125-миллиметровой танковой пушки, также содержал обедненный уран. Но новые российские снаряды на 79-84 процента длиннее советских, что должно привести к значительному увеличению бронепробиваемости.

Сталь менее эффективно пробивает броню, чем сплав тяжелых металлов высокой плотности. Этим объясняется привлекательность обедненного урана. По иронии судьбы, американский танк Abrams теперь использует обедненный уран в своей броне для защиты от противотанковых снарядов.

Несколько международных организаций проводят кампании за запрещение снарядов с обедненным ураном. Другой вопрос, прислушается ли к ним российское правительство, подытожило издание из США.
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. 123 Онлайн 123
    123 (123) 26 декабря 2020 19:56
    +3
    Вашингтон применял аналогичные снаряды в Ираке, Афганистане и Сирии.

    Я так полагаю список не полный. Сербию почему то забыли.



    Несколько международных организаций проводят кампании за запрещение снарядов с обедненным ураном. Другой вопрос, прислушается ли к ним российское правительство, подытожило издание из США.

    Пускай "международные организации" сначала добьются запрещения использования урана США. А мы посмотрим как это у них получится. winked Забавно будет посмотреть как на американские деньги борются за запрещение американского оружия. laughing

    Что касается собственно самих снарядов, если дело до них все таки дойдет, лучше применять на берегах Ла-Манша.
  2. Kuramori Reika Офлайн Kuramori Reika
    Kuramori Reika (Kuramori Reika) 28 декабря 2020 13:54
    +1
    Засыпать такими снарядами города США будет справедливо. Именно так они поступили с несколькими странами, отравив целые народы.