Why NATO still fears the cruiser Marshal Ustinov


The missile cruiser of the Northern Fleet "Marshal Ustinov" received the challenge cup of the Commander-in-Chief of the Navy. The combat ship, designed and built back in the USSR, received the nickname "aircraft carrier killer" and, despite its considerable age, still raises concerns among the American Navy.


Initially, the project 1164 Atlant cruisers, to which Marshal Ustinov belongs, were created to counter aircraft carrier strike groups. The carrier-based aircraft of such combat formations provided protection for aircraft carriers at a distance of up to 800 km.

At the same time, "Atlanta" were equipped with 16 P-500 "Basalt" launchers, missiles of which could hit a target at a distance of 1000 km. At the same time, such a projectile developed a speed of Mach 2,56 and had onboard anti-air defense equipment, which ensured almost guaranteed delivery of the warhead to the target.

The aforementioned launchers also had nuclear equipment, which further "complicated the life" of a potential enemy. Project 1164 "Atlant" envisaged the creation of 10 ships, but fate decreed otherwise.

By the time of the collapse of the Soviet Union, only three cruisers were in service: "Moscow", "Varyag" and "Marshal Ustinov". At the same time, warships have not lost their relevance and still remain a serious threat to enemy aircraft carrier groups.

Modern Atlantes have been equipped with more advanced P-1000 Vulcan missiles, and in the future the ships can get Caliber or even Zircon. In addition, the cruisers are equipped with more powerful air defense and anti-submarine weapons, covering depths of up to 500 meters (the maximum depth of a Virginia class nuclear submarine does not exceed 480 meters).

Overall, the cruiser remains an effective weapon of war that NATO feared. This was clearly demonstrated by Marshal Ustinov in the North and Norwegian Seas, from where our ship “politely expelled” a NATO squadron.

  • Photos used: Ministry of Defense of the Russian Federation
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. The comment was deleted.
  2. iv.viktor Offline iv.viktor
    iv.viktor (VICTOR) 3 March 2021 21: 57
    0
    When I read "Warship", I finished reading at once. There is only one question:

    ... NATO still fears the cruiser Marshal Ustinov

    - did they tell you, or did you decide so yourself?

Почему в НАТО до сих пор опасаются крейсера «Маршал Устинов»


Ракетный крейсер Северного флота «Маршал Устинов» получил переходящий кубок Главкома ВМФ. Боевое судно, спроектированное и построенное еще в СССР, получило прозвище «убийца авианосцев» и несмотря на свой солидный возраст до сих пор вызывает опасения у американских ВМС.


Изначально крейсеры проекта 1164 «Атлант» к которому относится «Маршал Устинов» создавались для противодействия авианосным ударным группам. Палубная авиация таких боевых соединений обеспечивала защиту авианосцев на удалении до 800 км.

В то же время, «Атланты» оснащались 16 пусковыми установками П-500 «Базальт», ракеты которых могли поражать цель на расстоянии в 1000 км. При этом такой снаряд развивал скорость в 2,56 Маха и имел бортовую аппаратуру противодействия ПВО, что обеспечивало практически гарантированную доставку боеголовки к цели.

Имелось у вышеупомянутых пусковых установок и ядерное оснащение, что еще больше «усложняло жизнь» потенциальному противнику. Проект 1164 «Атлант» предусматривал создание 10 кораблей, но судьба распорядилась иначе.

К моменту распада Советского Союза в строю оказались лишь три крейсера: «Москва», «Варяг» и «Маршал Устинов». При этом боевые корабли не утратили своей актуальности и по-прежнему остаются серьезной угрозой для вражеских авианосных групп.

Современные «Атланты» оснастили более совершенными ракетами П-1000 «Вулкан», а в дальнейшем корабли могут получить «Калибры» или даже «Цирконы». Кроме того, на крейсеры установлена более мощная ПВО и противолодочное оружие, перекрывающее глубины до 500 метров (максимальная глубина АПЛ класса Virginia не превышает 480 метров).

В целом, крейсер по-прежнему остается эффективным средством борьбы, которого опасаются в НАТО. Это было наглядно продемонстрировано «Маршалом Устиновым» в Северном и Норвежском морях, откуда наш корабль «вежливо выдворил» эскадру НАТО.

  • Использованы фотографии: Минобороны РФ
Объявление
Изданию требуется авторы в новостной и аналитический отделы. Требования к соискателям: грамотность, ответственность, работоспособность, неиссякаемая творческая энергия, опыт в копирайтинге или журналистике, умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Работа оплачивается. Обращаться: editor@topcor.ru
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти