ABC: There is a crisis in North Korea, executions of currency dealers began


In an effort to stave off the outbreak of COVID-19, North Korea has almost completely cut itself off from its most important trading partner, China, causing economic difficulties in the country, writes the website of the Australian broadcasting corporation ABC.


Due to the sharp rise in food prices, Pyongyang is trying to maintain the weakening exchange rate of the national currency, without hesitation and extreme measures. The ABC report notes that several "currency dealers" who illegally exchanged North Korean won for US dollars have been arrested. And at least one of them was shot.

Earlier, the world media wrote about the extreme measures taken by the country's authorities to prevent the penetration of a pandemic. In particular, cross-border trade has been severely curtailed. First of all - with the PRC, which accounts for 90 to 95% of the total trade turnover of the North Korean economy.

It was argued that it was through the Sino-North Korean border, 1420 km long (for comparison with the Russian Federation, the DPRK shares only 39,4 km of common borders) there were flows of smuggled items, including US dollars, which are in demand among the wealthy part of the country's population. This class emerged in the course of the limited market reforms of the past decade, which allowed small-scale private enterprise and a partial departure from the planned economy.

In addition, American banknotes enter the country legally. In particular, with foreign tourists who visit the DPRK from time to time.

Although, according to eyewitnesses, the most popular and widespread foreign currency in the DPRK is still not the dollar, but the Chinese yuan, American banknotes are no longer something incredible, although they are still strictly prohibited by the authorities.

Earlier, foreign experts expressed doubt that any country, including such as the DPRK, can be completely closed from the coronavirus pandemic. In particular, it was pointed out that party officials, diplomats, seamen of the merchant fleet and other categories of citizens, one way or another, will be forced to cross the border, which carries certain risks.

In addition, there is such a large group as North Korean workers who work overseas. During the market reforms, businessmen from the DPRK have established extensive business and personal contacts with their colleagues from the Yanbian-Korean Autonomous Region of China.
  • Photos used: US National Archives
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Fourth Horseman Offline Fourth Horseman
    Fourth Horseman (Fourth Horseman) 29 December 2020 08: 48
    +1
    I hope the currency dealer did not suffer.
    And he, as always, was shot from an anti-aircraft gun.
    1. bobba94 Offline bobba94
      bobba94 (Vladimir) 29 December 2020 10: 35
      0
      He was shot with a 14,5 mm KPVT (Vladimirov's large-caliber tank machine gun). It's cheaper ...
  2. Bulanov Offline Bulanov
    Bulanov (Vladimir) 29 December 2020 09: 56
    0
    Maybe the DPRK should develop kibbutzim?
    1. bobba94 Offline bobba94
      bobba94 (Vladimir) 29 December 2020 10: 37
      0
      About the kibbutz did not understand .... Why kibbutz?
  3. steelmaker Offline steelmaker
    steelmaker 29 December 2020 11: 07
    +1
    Why is Russia not helping North Korea? This is our neighbor and resource-rich country.

    Mining in the DPRK is one of the important sectors of the North Korean economy. The DPRK is rich in resources such as magnesite, zinc, tungsten and iron. Magnesite deposits are estimated at 6 billion tons - the second largest in the world, in particular, it is abundant in provinces such as Hamgyondo and Chagando.

    https://ru.wikipedia.org/wiki

    In 2019, trade between Russia and the DPRK (North Korea) amounted to USD 47, an increase of 902% (USD 329) compared to 40,62.

    One guile in my head.
  4. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 29 December 2020 16: 31
    +1
    The article is a standard lie.
    And now from life. 80s, they invited us to go to the DPRK embassy on Mosfilmovskaya. At the entrance there is a huge hall, along the perimeter of a chandelier with crystal trimmings. The whole wall is a picture, namely a picture, an excellent landscape of the country. The menu is unpretentious, beef brooches, donuts, fish, there weren't even crabs, well, what else? Normal vodka, very good beer ...
    And you will laugh. The years are the same. Algeria. Exhibition. A young guy comes to Merin, he worked at the DPRK embassy in France, now acting. ambassador to Algeria. The three of us sat down, Algerian dry, he, our deputy for personnel, gee gee, like colleagues, and I as an interpreter. Word for word, the Korean proposes a toast to the health of comrade Chernenko, how is the health of comrade Chernenko? Ours - but it can't be better. In the morning we arrive at the exhibition, the flag on the flagpole is at half-mast ... I'm torturing the local security, what's up? So your Chernenko died in the morning ...

ABC: В Северной Корее кризис, начались расстрелы валютчиков


Стремясь предотвратить вспышку COVID-19, Северная Корея почти полностью отрезала себя от своего важнейшего торгового партнера – Китая, что вызвало экономические трудности в стране, пишет сайт австралийской вещательной корпорации ABC.


Из-за резкого роста цен на продукты питания Пхеньян пытается удержать слабеющий курс национальной валюты, не стесняясь и крайних мер. В сообщении ABC отмечается, что несколько «валютчиков», которые нелегально обменивали северокорейские воны на доллары США, были арестованы. А по крайней мере один из них – расстрелян.

Ранее мировые СМИ писали о крайних мерах, на которые пошли власти страны для недопущения проникновения пандемии. В частности, была сильно сокращена трансграничная торговля. В первую очередь – с КНР, на которую у северокорейской экономики приходится от 90 до 95% всего товарооборота.

Утверждалось, что именно через китайско-северокорейскую границу, протяженностью 1420 км (для сравнения с РФ КНДР делит только 39,4 км общих рубежей) шли потоки предметов контрабанды, включая и доллары США, которые пользуются спросом у зажиточной части населения страны. Этот класс возник в ходе ограниченных рыночных реформ миновавшего десятилетия, которые допустили мелкое частное предпринимательство и частичный отход от плановой экономики.

Кроме того, американские денежные знаки попадают в страну и легально. В частности, с иностранными туристами, которые время от времени посещают КНДР.

Хотя, по свидетельству очевидцев, самой популярной и распространенной иностранной валютой в КНДР является все же не доллар, а китайский юань, американские денежные знаки уже не являются чем-то невероятным, хотя всё ещё строго запрещены властями.

Ранее зарубежные эксперты выражали сомнение в том, что любую страну, включая и такую, как КНДР, можно полностью закрыть от пандемии коронавируса. В частности, указывалось на то, что партийные чиновники, дипломаты, моряки торгового флота и другие категории граждан, так или иначе, будут вынуждены пересекать границу, что несёт определенные риски.

Кроме того, есть такая многочисленная группа, как северокорейские рабочие, что трудятся за границей. А у бизнесменов из КНДР за время рыночных реформ были налажены обширные деловые и личные контакты с коллегами из Яньбянь-Корейского автономного округа Китая.
  • Использованы фотографии: U.S. National Archives
Объявление
Изданию требуется авторы в новостной и аналитический отделы. Требования к соискателям: грамотность, ответственность, работоспособность, неиссякаемая творческая энергия, опыт в копирайтинге или журналистике, умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Работа оплачивается. Обращаться: editor@topcor.ru
6 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Четвертый Всадник (Четвертый Всадник) 29 декабря 2020 08:48
    +1
    Надеюсь валютчик не мучался.
    И его, как всегда, расстреляли из зенитки.
    1. bobba94 Офлайн bobba94
      bobba94 (владимир) 29 декабря 2020 10:35
      0
      Его расстреляли из 14,5 мм КПВТ (крупнокалиберный пулемет Владимирова танковый). Так дешевле....
  2. Буланов Офлайн Буланов
    Буланов (Владимир) 29 декабря 2020 09:56
    0
    А может в КНДР следует развивать кибуцы?
    1. bobba94 Офлайн bobba94
      bobba94 (владимир) 29 декабря 2020 10:37
      0
      Про кибуцы не понял....Почему именно кибуцы ?
  3. сталевар Офлайн сталевар
    сталевар 29 декабря 2020 11:07
    +1
    А почему Россия не помогает КНДР? Это же наш сосед и богатая ресурсами страна.

    Добыча полезных ископаемых в КНДР — одна из важных отраслей северокорейской экономики. КНДР богата такими ресурсами, как магнезит, цинк, вольфрам и железо. Месторождения магнезита оцениваются в 6 миллиардов тонн — второе место в мире, в частности, его много содержится в таких провинциях, как Хамгёндо и Чагандо.

    https://ru.wikipedia.org/wiki

    В 2019 году товарооборот России с КНДР (Северной Кореей) составил 47 902 329 долл. США, увеличившись на 40,62% (13 836 685 долл. США) по сравнению с 2018 годом.

    Одно лукавство в голове.
  4. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 29 декабря 2020 16:31
    +1
    Статья - стандартное враньё.
    А теперь из жизни. 80-е, пригласили нас отланчевать в посольстве КНДР на Мосфильмовской. На входе огромный зал, по периметру люстра с подвесками из хрусталя. Во всю стену картина, именно картина, отличный пейзаж страны. Меню незатейливое, говяжьи брошетики, пампушки, рыба, даже крабов не было, ну чё ещё? Нормальная водочка, очень хорошее пиво...
    А ща уржётесь. Годы те же. Алжир. Выставка. Приезжает на Мерине молодой парень, работал в посольстве КНДР во Франции, теперь и.о. посла в Алжире. Сели втроём, алжирское сухое, он, наш зам.по кадрам, гы гы, точно коллеги, и я в качестве толмача. Слово за слово, кореец предлагает тост за здоровье товарища Черненко, как здоровье товарища Черненко? Наш - да лучше не бывает. Утром приезжаем на выставку, флаг на флагштоке приспущен...Пытаю местного секьюрити, что за дела? Так ваш Черненко утром скончался...