Foreign Policy: Russia and Turkey may enter new conflict


In its new article, "10 Conflicts to Watch Out for in 2021," the American Global policy Foreign Policy mentioned, among other things, troubling contradictions between Moscow and Ankara.


The text says that although Russia and Turkey are not at war, they often support opposing sides in various conflicts, both in Syria and Libya, or converge in a power struggle in the Caucasus.

As Turkey's 2015 defeat of a Russian plane, as well as the destruction of dozens of Turkish soldiers in 2020 as a result of airstrikes by Russian-backed Syrian government forces, shows, the risk of unexpected confrontation is high.

While, as the text notes, Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan and his Russian counterpart Vladimir Putin have so far proven their ability to deal with such incidents, any quarrel can exacerbate conflicts in which both leaders are directly involved.

The contradictions in relations between Ankara and Moscow are most clearly manifested in Syria. But in Libya, they also represent opposite sides. Russian contractors support Khalifa Haftar's army, and Turkey supports the government in Tripoli.

Russia and Turkey have also been involved in the recent war over Nagorno-Karabakh. The Russian Federation has a military alliance with Armenia, but it avoided an unambiguous choice of side and, in the end, achieved a ceasefire that ended the hostilities. Turkey has provided diplomatic and military support to Azerbaijan.

Despite all the confrontation in Transcaucasia, this time both powers won. Russia has deployed peacekeepers and dramatically increased its influence in the region. Turkey can claim to have played a significant role in Azerbaijan's victory and will benefit from the trade corridor [through Armenia and Nakhichevan] established by the ceasefire agreement.

Paradoxically, the analysis notes, although Moscow and Ankara are converging on more and more battlefields, bilateral ties are stronger than ever.

Their "hot temper" is a symbol of broader trends - a harbinger of a world in which non-Western powers are increasingly resisting the United States and Western Europe, becoming more assertive

- approved in the text.

By concluding bilateral deals in various conflict zones, both Russia and Turkey see the potential for their own gain. Nevertheless, such connections cannot be called stable.

Cooling relations can create problems for both countries, and simultaneously on several fronts.
  • Used photos: kremlin.ru
Ad
The publication is looking for authors in the news and analytical departments. Requirements for applicants: literacy, responsibility, efficiency, inexhaustible creative energy, experience in copywriting or journalism, the ability to quickly analyze text and check facts, write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. The work is paid. Contact: [email protected]
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 2 January 2021 10: 46
    +1
    So great. They themselves do not fight, but by agreement they train troops on "volunteers" of each other.
  2. steelmaker Offline steelmaker
    steelmaker 2 January 2021 11: 20
    +4
    Our government knows how to create problems for itself. First, they let everyone in a row into their sphere of influence, and then they think how not to enter the conflict. Only Nabiulina has no conflicts - she regularly sends "babos" to the United States and everyone is happy. This is probably the only place where our power has no conflicts !?
  3. Igor Berg Offline Igor Berg
    Igor Berg (Igor Berg) 3 January 2021 14: 31
    -1
    Quote: steel maker
    Our government knows how to create problems for itself. First, they let everyone in a row into their sphere of influence, and then they think how not to enter the conflict. Only Nabiulina has no conflicts - she regularly sends "babos" to the United States and everyone is happy. This is probably the only place where our power has no conflicts !?

    Everyone who is from the GDP family, or just shares, does not rattle, there are no conflicts with the sending of babos ...

Foreign Policy: Россия и Турция могут вступить в новый конфликт


В своей новой статье «10 конфликтов, за которыми стоит следить в 2021 году» американский журнал о глобальной политике Foreign Policy упомянул, помимо прочего, о тревожных противоречиях между Москвой и Анкарой.


В тексте говорится, что хотя Россия и Турция и не находятся в состоянии войны, они часто поддерживают противоположные стороны различных конфликтов, как в Сирии, так и в Ливии, либо сходятся в схватке за власть на Кавказе.

Как показывает поражение Турцией в 2015 году российского самолета, а также уничтожение в 2020 году десятков турецких солдат в результате авиаударов поддерживаемых РФ сирийских правительственных сил, высок риск неожиданной конфронтации.

Хотя, как отмечается в тексте, президент Турции Реджеп Тайип Эрдоган и его российский коллега Владимир Путин до сих пор доказывали свою способность справляться с такими инцидентами, любая ссора может обострить конфликты, в которые оба лидера напрямую вовлечены.

Наиболее ярко противоречия в отношениях Анкары и Москвы проявляются в Сирии. Но и в Ливии они тоже представляют противоположные стороны. Российские подрядчики поддерживают армию Халифы Хафтара, а Турция – правительство в Триполи.

Россия и Турция также были вовлечены в недавнюю войну из-за Нагорного Карабаха. У РФ есть военный союз с Арменией, но она избегала однозначного выбора стороны и, в конце концов, добилась прекращения огня, положившего конец боевым действиям. Турция оказала Азербайджану дипломатическую и военную поддержку.

Несмотря на всю конфронтацию в Закавказье, на этот раз выиграли обе державы. Россия разместила миротворцев и резко усилила свое влияние в регионе. Турция может заявить, что сыграла значительную роль в победе Азербайджана, и получит выгоду от торгового коридора [через Армению и Нахичевань], установленного соглашением о прекращении огня.

Парадоксально, отмечается в анализе, что хотя Москва и Анкара сходятся на все большем числе полей сражений, двусторонние связи крепче, чем когда-либо.

Их «вспыльчивость» является символом более широких тенденций – предвестником мира, в котором незападные державы все больше сопротивляются Соединенным Штатам и Западной Европе, становясь более напористыми

– утверждается в тексте.

Заключая двусторонние сделки в различных конфликтных зонах, и Россия, и Турция видят потенциал для собственной выгоды. Тем не менее такие связи нельзя назвать устойчивыми.

Охлаждение отношений может создать проблемы для обеих стран, причем одновременно на нескольких фронтах.
  • Использованы фотографии: kremlin.ru
3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 2 января 2021 10:46
    +1
    Так молодцы. Сами не воюют, а по договоренности тренируют войска на "добровольцах" друг-друга.
  2. сталевар Офлайн сталевар
    сталевар 2 января 2021 11:20
    +4
    Умеет же наша власть создавать себе проблемы. Сперва пускают всех подряд в сферу своего влияния, а потом думают как в конфликт не вступить.У нас только у Набиулиной конфликтов нет - "бабосы" регулярно в США засылает и все довольны. Это наверное единственное где у нашей власти, конфликтов не намечается!?
  3. Игорь Berg Офлайн Игорь Berg
    Игорь Berg (Игорь Berg) 3 января 2021 14:31
    -1
    Цитата: сталевар
    Умеет же наша власть создавать себе проблемы. Сперва пускают всех подряд в сферу своего влияния, а потом думают как в конфликт не вступить.У нас только у Набиулиной конфликтов нет - "бабосы" регулярно в США засылает и все довольны. Это наверное единственное где у нашей власти, конфликтов не намечается!?

    У всех, кто из семьи ввп, или просто делится, не крысятничает, нет конфликтов с засылом бабосов...