AGM-69 versus S-300: how the USA planned to destroy our air defense


During the Cold War, the United States and its NATO allies faced the problem of overcoming the deeply echeloned air defense system of the Warsaw Pact Organization, which was the most effective in the world on the territory of the USSR, writes the American edition of Military Watch.


The US military spent a lot of money on the development of means to penetrate and deliver tactical and strategic nuclear strikes on Soviet territory. At the same time, the USSR invested heavily in the constant modernization of its defense.

In the late 1970s, the USSR acquired mobile long-range S-300 air defense systems (range up to 200 km), which supplemented the stationary S-200 (range up to 300 km) in service. In the 1980s, the mobile Tor-M1 (tactical) and Buk-M1 medium-range air defense systems were added.

At the start of the Cold War, the United States focused on deploying large numbers of very expensive B-70 bombers, which at high altitude at Mach 3 had a chance to penetrate the Soviet air defense system. However, the USSR developed air defense systems optimized for high-altitude guidance.

Towards the end of the Cold War, the United States changed its strategy. They decided to create a large number of B-1B Lancer supersonic bombers that would carry out their plans at low altitudes, where tracking and neutralization is difficult. But the further strengthening of the Soviet air defense, including the introduction of mobile air defense systems and the deployment of a large number of MANPADS, made it difficult to implement these plans.

The use of stealth aircraft was another niche US opportunity that had potential. However, the crudest American strategy to neutralize Soviet air defenses, but potentially the most effective, was the use of aging B-52s armed with tactical nuclear weapons. They were supposed to destroy the enemy's air defense system with massive and disproportionate attacks.

The B-52 was neither supersonic nor inconspicuous, and it could not fly at ultra-low and ultra-high altitudes. During the Vietnam War, a huge number of B-52s were destroyed. It should be borne in mind that the air defense system there was not dense and did not even approximately resemble the protection of the OVD, and even more so the USSR.

The B-52 was equipped with an AGM-69 Short Range Attack Missile (SRAM) tactical nuclear missile. It is an air-to-surface aeroballistic guided missile, which entered service in 1972. It was worth more than $ 0,5 million at the time. The range of its action was 160 km, it carried a warhead with a capacity of 17 to 210 kilotons. The rocket's weight was 1010 kg, and the speed was Mach 3,5. Thus, it is incorrect to call this ammunition tactical, since the Malysh bomb dropped on Hiroshima in 1945 was 13-18 kilotons, and the Fat Man bomb dropped on Nagasaki was 21-25 kilotons.

The lack of accuracy of the AGM-69 (within 450 m) was more than compensated for by its power. It was planned to deploy an air fleet of improved B-52s. Moreover, each of the bombers would carry 20 such missiles. A blow of unimaginable force was to fall on the Soviet air defense. The B-52G and B-52H bombers were supposed to break through the air defense, despite the losses. After the destruction of the air defense, they had to go to the destruction of Soviet cities. The industrial centers were their main target.


In 1993, the missile was withdrawn from service, in part due to concerns about the questionable workmanship. Suspicions arose that the warheads might become unstable. Cracks were found in various parts of the rockets and their engines. So it is very good that no one dared to use them.

In the 1980s, the capabilities of the USSR air defense increased and it became very risky to attack from any distance closer than 500 km. The main threat was now posed by the MiG-31 interceptors and their missiles. At the same time, post-Soviet Russia, despite an extensive and sharp decline, has retained its defense sector. She modernized the S-300 and further strengthened the air defense system.
  • Photos used: USAF Technical Sgt. Kit thompson
Ad
The publication is looking for authors in the news and analytical departments. Requirements for applicants: literacy, responsibility, efficiency, inexhaustible creative energy, experience in copywriting or journalism, the ability to quickly analyze text and check facts, write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. The work is paid. Contact: [email protected]
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Barmaley_2 Offline Barmaley_2
    Barmaley_2 (Barmaley) 3 January 2021 20: 45
    +1
    So it is very good that no one dared to use them.

    - it would then be complete and universal ... all
  2. The comment was deleted.
  3. Winnie Offline Winnie
    Winnie (Winnie) 6 January 2021 01: 36
    -1
    And what is the problem with overcoming the Russian air defense? There are a lot of options. Here is one of them.

AGM-69 против С-300: как в США планировали уничтожить нашу ПВО


Во время «холодной войны» США и их союзники по НАТО столкнулись с проблемой преодоления глубокоэшелонированной системы ПВО Организации Варшавского договора, которая на территории СССР была самой эффективной в мире, пишет американское издание Military Watch.


Американские военные потратили большие деньги на разработку средств для проникновения и нанесения тактических и стратегических ядерных ударов по советской территории. При этом СССР инвестировал серьезные средства в постоянную модернизацию своей обороны.

В конце 1970-х годов у СССР появились мобильные дальнобойные ЗРК С-300 (дальность до 200 км), которые дополнили стоящие на вооружении стационарные С-200 (дальность до 300 км). В 1980-х добавились мобильные ЗРК «Тор-М1» (тактический) и «Бук-М1» средней дальности.

В начале «холодной войны» США делали упор на развертывание большого количества очень дорогих бомбардировщиков B-70, которые на большой высоте на скорости в 3 Маха имели шанс преодолеть советскую систему ПВО. Однако СССР разработал средства ПВО, оптимизированные для наведения на большую высоту.

К концу «холодной войны» США поменяли стратегию. Они решили создать большое количество сверхзвуковых бомбардировщиков B-1B Lancer, которые бы осуществили задуманное на малых высотах, где отслеживание и нейтрализация затруднены. Но дальнейшее укрепление советской ПВО, включая внедрение мобильных ЗРК и развертывание большого количества ПЗРК, затруднило реализацию и этих планов.

Использование самолетов-«невидимок» было еще одной нишевой возможностью США, у которой был потенциал. Однако самой грубой американской стратегией по нейтрализации советской ПВО, но потенциально наиболее эффективной, было использование стареющих B-52, вооруженных тактическим ядерным оружием. Они должны были уничтожить систему ПВО противника массированными и непропорциональными атаками.

B-52 не был ни сверхзвуковым, ни малозаметным, да и летать он не мог на сверхмалых и сверхбольших высотах. Во время войны во Вьетнаме было уничтожено огромное количество B-52. Нужно учесть, что система ПВО там была не плотной и даже приблизительно не напоминала защиту ОВД, а тем более СССР.

На B-52 была установлена тактическая ядерная ракета AGM-69 Short Range Attack Missile (SRAM). Это аэробаллистическая управляемая ракета класса «воздух-поверхность», принятая на вооружение в 1972 году. Она стоила больше 0,5 млн долларов того времени. Дальность её действия составляла 160 км, она несла боеголовку мощностью от 17 до 210 килотонн. Вес ракеты составлял 1010 кг, а скорость 3,5 Маха. Таким образом, этот боеприпас некорректно называть тактическим, так как бомба «Малыш», сброшенная на Хиросиму в 1945 году, была 13-18 килотонн, а бомба «Толстяк», сброшенная на Нагасаки – 21-25 килотонн.

Недостаток точности AGM-69 (в пределах 450 м) с лихвой компенсировался ее мощностью. Планировалось развернуть воздушный флот усовершенствованных B-52. При этом каждый из бомбардировщиков нес бы 20 таких ракет. На советскую ПВО должен был обрушиться удар невообразимой силы. Бомбардировщики B-52G и B-52H должны были прорваться через ПВО, невзирая на потери. После уничтожения ПВО они должны были направиться на уничтожение советских городов. Промышленные центры были их главной целью.


В 1993 году ракета была снята с вооружения, отчасти из-за опасений по поводу сомнительного качества изготовления. Возникли подозрения, что боеголовки могли стать нестабильными. Были обнаружены трещины в различных частях ракет и их двигателях. Так что очень хорошо, что никто не решился на их применение.

В 1980-х годах возможности ПВО СССР возросли и нападать с любого расстояния ближе 500 км стало очень рискованно. Главную угрозу теперь представляли перехватчики МиГ-31 и их ракеты. При этом постсоветская Россия, несмотря на обширный и резкий спад, сохранила свой оборонный сектор. Она модернизировала С-300 и еще больше укрепила систему ПВО.
  • Использованы фотографии: USAF Technical Sgt. Kit Thompson
2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Barmaley_2 Офлайн Barmaley_2
    Barmaley_2 (Barmaley) 3 января 2021 20:45
    +1
    Так что очень хорошо, что никто не решился на их применение.

    - это был бы тогда полный и всеобщий ... всем
  2. Комментарий был удален.
  3. Винни Офлайн Винни
    Винни (Винни) 6 января 2021 01:36
    -1
    А в чём проблема с преодолением российского ПВО? Вариантов масса. Вот один из них.