SCMP: China Mocks US Double Standards over Congressional Chaos


On Wednesday January 6, supporters of Donald Trump laid siege to Capitol Hill in Washington to protest the Republican presidential campaign defeat and the victory of Democratic candidate Joseph Biden. In this regard, a wave of ridicule erupted in the Chinese media and social networks about American "democracy" - the media compared the assault on Congress with the anti-government protests in Hong Kong in 2019 and accused Washington of hypocrisy. Writes about this South China Morning Post.


Expressing the views of the Chinese Foreign Ministry on the events in the United States and commenting on the double standards of some statesmen and the United States media in covering the events in Washington and Hong Kong, Chinese Foreign Ministry spokesman Hua Chunying made a statement to the press on January 7.

Chinese people have the right and freedom to express their opinions and comments on the Internet. I believe that many who saw these scenes in the United States have returned to a sense of déjà vu, although these events have generated very different reactions from a number of people in the United States, including some media.

- Chunying noted.

At the same time, she clarified that in Hong Kong, despite the very aggressive actions of the demonstrators, the police showed restraint and professionalism, and not a single protester died. In the American capital, four people have already died in less violent clashes.

In the US, the events in Washington are condemned as a "violent incident," and the people involved are called "rioters", "extremists" and "thugs." Now compare this with what was said about the actions of aggressive demonstrators in Hong Kong: "a beautiful sight", "heroes of democracy." The media and US officials then stressed that "the American people support them."

- the representative of the Chinese Foreign Ministry revealed the overseas double standards.

On the Chinese social network Weibo, posts on "Trump supporters are storming the US Capitol" were viewed 640 million times, with commentators also talking about American bias.

US Vice President Mike Pence argued that peaceful protests are the right of US citizens, but that what happened on Capitol Hill was unacceptable. However, when protesters harm the Hong Kong Legislative Council, they speak differently.

- said one of the commentators.

By using double standards, the United States will end up hurting itself, because by approving violence elsewhere, it actually incites aggression from its own citizens. The hypocrisy of both parties in the United States is evident in this matter.

- said Lu Xiang, a specialist in US affairs at the Academy of Social Sciences of the PRC.
7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. 123 Offline 123
    123 (123) 8 January 2021 13: 25
    +15
    About American vaunted democracy now only the lazy does not wipe his feet. laughing Even here on the site. True, there are some individuals who say that nothing happened there and democracy is above the roof. But it’s even a pity for them, now they are working tirelessly, wiping sweat from their forehead with a long forelock and then their fingers are bloody on the keys.
  2. sharp-lad Offline sharp-lad
    sharp-lad (Oleg) 8 January 2021 14: 29
    +12
    Boomerangs launched all over the world are starting to return! Still, and liberasnyu send to the aid of "democracy"!
    1. Monster_Fat Offline Monster_Fat
      Monster_Fat (What's the difference) 8 January 2021 17: 31
      +4
      If only Russian representatives would speak just as harshly about the double standards of the United States, and with drawing parallels to specific events, and not the way Zakharova usually does it in the notorious "Twitter" with streamlined phrases "nothing", wit ...
      1. sharp-lad Offline sharp-lad
        sharp-lad (Oleg) 8 January 2021 22: 03
        0
        Let's hope it's high time to fight back the presumptuous punks.
      2. Cherry Offline Cherry
        Cherry (Kuzmina Tatyana) 9 January 2021 09: 55
        +3
        They speak out. M. Zakharova, for example. But you are not reading this. You are not interested, but to read from the Chinese is, yes, the very thing.)))
  3. Yuri Nemov Offline Yuri Nemov
    Yuri Nemov (Yuri Nemov) 8 January 2021 22: 06
    +2
    Protesters came out to defend democracy, which was trampled by Biden. The whole world is with you guys! Do not give up! They want to steal your freedom of choice! angry
    1. Cherry Offline Cherry
      Cherry (Kuzmina Tatyana) 9 January 2021 09: 57
      +2
      Yes, there is no democracy there. Lobbyists in Congress are the same corrupt officials. And the elections ... 560 people decide who will be the president for all Americans. And, as it turned out, the dead rise up to elect the president of the most democratic country. They talk to us with their "democracy".

SCMP: Китай издевается над двойными стандартами США из-за хаоса в Конгрессе


В среду 6 января сторонники Дональда Трампа осадили Капитолийский холм в Вашингтоне в знак протеста против поражения в предвыборной кампании за пост главы государства президента-республиканца и победы кандидата от демократов Джозефа Байдена. В связи с этим в китайских масс-медиа и соцсетях разразилась волна насмешек по поводу американской «демократии» – СМИ сравнили штурм Конгресса с антиправительственными протестами в Гонконге в 2019 году и обвинили Вашингтон в лицемерии. Об этом пишет South China Morning Post.


Выражая мнение внешнеполитического ведомства Китая на события в США и комментируя двойные стандарты некоторых государственных деятелей и СМИ Соединенных Штатов в освещении произошедшего в Вашингтоне и Гонконге, официальный представитель МИДа Китая Хуа Чуньин сделала 7 января соответствующее заявление для прессы.

Китайцы имеют право и свободу высказывать свое мнение и комментарии в Интернете. Я считаю, что ко многим увидевшим эти сцены в Соединенных Штатах вернулось чувство дежавю, хотя эти события вызвали совершенно разные реакции со стороны ряда лиц в США, в том числе некоторых СМИ

– отметила Чуньин.

При этом она уточнила, что в Гонконге, несмотря на весьма агрессивные действия демонстрантов, полиция проявила выдержку и профессионализм, и ни один протестующий не умер. В американской же столице в менее жестких столкновениях уже погибли четыре человека.

В США события в Вашингтоне осуждают как «инцидент с применением насилия», а вовлеченных людей называют «бунтовщиками», «экстремистами» и «головорезами». А теперь сравните это с тем, что говорили о действиях агрессивных демонстрантов в Гонконге: «красивое зрелище», «герои демократии». СМИ и официальные лица США тогда подчеркивали, что «американский народ их поддерживает»

– раскрыла представитель МИДа Китая заокеанские двойные стандарты.

В китайской социальной сети Weibo сообщения на тему «Сторонники Трампа штурмуют Капитолий США» были просмотрены 640 миллионов раз, при этом комментаторы также говорят о необъективности американцев.

Американский вице-президент Майк Пенс утверждал, что мирные протесты – право граждан США, но произошедшее на Капитолийском холме недопустимо. Однако когда протестующие наносят ущерб Законодательному совету Гонконга, они говорят по-другому

– заметил один из комментаторов.

Используя двойные стандарты, США в конечном итоге навредят сами себе, поскольку при одобрении насилия в других местах, они фактически разжигают агрессию у собственных граждан. В этом вопросе очевидно лицемерие обеих партий Соединенных Штатов

– полагает специалист по делам США в Академии общественных наук КНР Лу Сян.
7 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. 123 Офлайн 123
    123 (123) 8 января 2021 13:25
    +15
    Об американскую хваленную демократию сейчас только ленивый ноги не вытирает. laughing Даже здесь на сайте. Правда встречаются отдельные индивидумы, вещающие что там ничего не произошло и демократии там выше крыши. Но их даже жалко, сейчас работают не покладая рук, смахнут со лба пот длинным чубом и дальше пальцы кровавят о клавиши.
  2. sharp-lad Офлайн sharp-lad
    sharp-lad (Олег) 8 января 2021 14:29
    +12
    Бумеранги, запущенные по всему миру, начинают возвращаться! Ещё бы и либерасню выслать на помощь "демократии"!
    1. Monster_Fat Офлайн Monster_Fat
      Monster_Fat (Да Какая Разница) 8 января 2021 17:31
      +4
      Вот бы российские представители так же резко отзывались бы о двойных стандартах США, причем с приведением параллелей к конкретным событиям, а не так, как это обычно Захарова это делает в пресловутом "твиттере" обтекаемыми фразами "ниочем", или Лавров упражняется в никому не понятном остроумии ...
      1. sharp-lad Офлайн sharp-lad
        sharp-lad (Олег) 8 января 2021 22:03
        0
        Будем надеяться, давно пора дать отпор зарвавшейся шпане.
      2. Cherry Офлайн Cherry
        Cherry (Кузьмина Татьяна) 9 января 2021 09:55
        +3
        Они и высказываются. М.Захарова, например. Но вы это не читаете. Вам неинтересно, а вот от китайцев прочесть - это, да, самое то.)))
  3. Юрий Немов Офлайн Юрий Немов
    Юрий Немов (Юрий Немов) 8 января 2021 22:06
    +2
    Протестующие вышли на защиту демократии, которую растоптал Байден. Весь мир с вами ребята! Не сдавайтесь! У вас хотят украсть свободу выбора! angry
    1. Cherry Офлайн Cherry
      Cherry (Кузьмина Татьяна) 9 января 2021 09:57
      +2
      Да нет там никакой демократии. В конгрессе лоббисты- те же коррупционеры. А выборы...560 человек решают, кто будет президентом за всех американцев. И, как оказалось, мертвые восстают, чтобы президента самой демократической страны избрать. Мусолят нам мозги своей "демократией".