The media called the difference in the supply of Russian S-300 to Greece and S-400 to Turkey


Greece acquired Russian S-300 air defense systems in the late 90s of the last century amid the conflict between the Republic of Cyprus and Turkey. The first S-400s were delivered to Turkey in July 2019. The Greek resource Pentapostagma writes about the difference in the supply of Russian anti-aircraft systems.


Ankara ordered the S-400 back in 2017 and has repeatedly insisted on using the systems, despite warnings from the United States and NATO about the incompatibility of this complex with Western standards. NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg warned that the Turkish S-400 "could endanger Allied aircraft."

However, similar concerns were expressed about the Greek S-300. In 1999, Western diplomats pointed out that the S-300, originally designed to counter NATO and Western military aircraft, may not be able to recognize the F-16 fighters of the Greek Air Force as "friendly" and will try to destroy them. The same consideration can be comprehended by Turkish combat aircraft flying within the reach of the complexes.

Ankara threatened to destroy the Greek S-300s if deployed in Cyprus. This led to a military-political impasse, which was overcome only after Nicosia agreed to return the air defense system to Greece. In the end, they ended up in Crete, where they remain to this day.

Meanwhile, the officials of the Turkish Republic speak in this case about the double standards of Washington, which opposes the purchases of the S-400 by Ankara and is loyal to the supply of the S-300 to Greece. Ankara continues to believe that it has good reason to accuse the Alliance of hypocrisy - unlike Greece, Turkey has repeatedly stressed that its S-400 will not be integrated into NATO or other Turkish air defense systems and that it is open to discuss possible interaction problems between the S-400 and F-35.

But the difference is that the supply of S-400s to Turkey was carried out in an era of tense relations between Washington and Moscow. Greece's acquisition of the S-300s intended for Cyprus took place at a time of close cooperation between the United States and Russia.

Washington is currently concerned about the general foreign policy Turkey, while he largely trusts Greece as a pillar of stability in the Eastern Mediterranean ... US-Turkey relations are strained, and Greco-American relations have risen to their highest levels in history, including defense cooperation

- said a researcher at the Begin Sadat Center for Strategic Studies (BESA) George Tsogopoulos, explaining the difference in the supply of Russian complexes to Greece and Turkey.
Ad
The publication is looking for authors in the news and analytical departments. Requirements for applicants: literacy, responsibility, efficiency, inexhaustible creative energy, experience in copywriting or journalism, the ability to quickly analyze text and check facts, write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. The work is paid. Contact: [email protected]
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. gorenina91 Offline gorenina91
    gorenina91 (Irina) 14 January 2021 19: 26
    0
    The media called the difference in the supply of Russian S-300 to Greece and S-400 to Turkey

    - Yes - what's the difference ... - Is that the fact that Russia supplies the S-400 to "Erdogans"; and Russia supplies S-300s to "popandopoulos" ... - Hahah ...

СМИ назвали разницу в поставках российских С-300 в Грецию и С-400 в Турцию


Греция приобрела российские комплексы ПВО С-300 в конце 90-х годов прошлого века на фоне конфликта между Республикой Кипр и Турцией. Первые С-400 были доставлены в Турцию в июле 2019 года. О разнице в поставках российских противовоздушных систем пишет греческий ресурс Pentapostagma.


Анкара заказала С-400 еще в 2017 году и неоднократно настаивала на использовании систем, несмотря на предупреждения со стороны США и НАТО о несовместимости данного комплекса с западными стандартами. Генеральный секретарь НАТО Йенс Столтенберг предупреждал о том, что турецкие С-400 «могут поставить под угрозу авиацию союзников».

Впрочем, похожие опасения высказывались и по поводу греческих С-300. В 1999 году западные дипломаты указывали на то, что изначально разработанные для противодействия военной авиации НАТО и западных стран С-300, возможно, не смогут распознать истребители F-16 ВВС Греции как «дружественные» и попытаются их уничтожить. Такая же учесть может постигнуть и турецкие боевые самолеты, летающие в пределах досягаемости комплексов.

Анкара угрожала уничтожить греческие С-300, если они будут размещены на Кипре. Это привело к военно-политическому тупику, преодоленному лишь после согласия Никосии на возвращение ЗРК в Грецию. В конце концов они оказались на Крите, где остаются до сегодняшнего дня.

Между тем, официальные лица Турецкой Республики говорят в данном случае о двойных стандартах Вашингтона, противодействующего покупкам С-400 Анкарой и лояльно относящегося к поставкам С-300 в Грецию. Анкара по-прежнему считает, что у нее есть веские основания обвинять Альянс в лицемерии – в отличие от Греции, Турция неоднократно подчеркивала, что ее С-400 не будут интегрированы в НАТО или другие турецкие системы ПВО и что она открыта для обсуждения возможных проблем взаимодействия между С-400 и F-35.

Но разница в том, что поставки С-400 в Турцию осуществлялись в эпоху напряженных отношений Вашингтона и Москвы. Приобретение же Грецией предназначенных для Кипра С-300 имело место во времена близкого сотрудничества между США и Россией.

Вашингтон в настоящее время обеспокоен общими мотивами внешней политики Турции, в то время как он в значительной степени доверяет Греции как опоре стабильности в Восточном Средиземноморье... Отношения между США и Турцией натянуты, а греко-американские отношения поднялись до самого высокого уровня в своей истории, включая сотрудничество в области обороны

– отметил научный сотрудник Центра стратегических исследований имени Бегина Садата (BESA) Джордж Цогопулос, объясняя разницу в поставках российских комплексов в Грецию и Турцию.
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
1 комментарий
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. gorenina91 Офлайн gorenina91
    gorenina91 (Ирина) 14 января 2021 19:26
    0
    СМИ назвали разницу в поставках российских С-300 в Грецию и С-400 в Турцию

    - Да - какая разница... - Разве что в том , что С-400 Россия поставляет "эрдоганам" ; а С-300 Россия поставляет "попандопулосам" ... - Хахах...