Ukraine has failed plans to become a gas power


There are vast gas fields in Ukraine, and the authorities know this. Kiev seeks to turn Naftogaz into a monopoly on the energy market, while weakening competition and interest in its mining sector. Oil Price writes about whether Ukraine is going the way to become a gas power.


Although Ukraine officially stopped buying natural gas from Gazprom in December 2015, most of the gas it imports is of Russian origin, traditionally referred to as “reverse gas flows” from Poland, Slovakia and Hungary. Thus, the goal of importing as little gas as possible is also political signal - Kiev understands the reputational consequences of such gas purchases and still intends to stop them at some point.

It was assumed that the stage of licensing gas production in Ukraine in 2019 would be a breakthrough that would mark the beginning of offshore drilling, but nothing came of it. The combination of several factors - inappropriate haste with the organization, lingering concerns about Ukraine's political stability, fears of possible corruption during the licensing process itself - scared off major Western companies. The Dolphin field was transferred to a completely unknown company, Trident Acquisitions, which is possibly affiliated with Russia. Caught off guard by this turn of events, the Ukrainian government canceled the results of the licensing round 4 months after it closed.

Be that as it may, the cancellation of the offshore licensing round in 2019 revived hopes in Kiev that, perhaps, large Western companies might be interested in acquiring Dolphin.

Less than a year later, the government decided to change this issue, and in December 2020, an agreement was adopted to transfer Dolphin to the national oil and gas company Naftogaz. This was done without using open tenders, i.e. in stark contrast to the government's goal of making licensing as competitive as possible.

Naftogaz was also allowed to buy Nadra Yuzovskaya, a company that owns exploration rights for the country's largest shale gas field, Yuzovskaya. It is located along Ukraine's massive coal deposits in eastern Donetsk and Kharkiv, with some areas dangerously close to the self-proclaimed eastern people's republics.

The start of shale development was very promising when Shell signed a production sharing agreement in 2013. However, the happiness lasted only 2 years, since in 2015 Shell left the project, depriving it of the necessary expertise.

Thus, Naftogaz now operates two of the most promising gas production areas in Ukraine, but in both cases it will need assistance, preferably from a large Western company, which could facilitate the adoption of complex technological decisions. Ukraine failed to become a gas power.
  • Photos used: https://www.gazprom.com/
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. 123 Offline 123
    123 (123) 18 January 2021 15: 06
    +1
    Did you have such plans? There is only one field worthy of attention - the Gazprom pipe.
  2. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 18 January 2021 17: 03
    -1
    So they wrote for 5 years, the gas is about to run out there.
    And suddenly, "did not", it "does not end" already ...
    Honduras may have become
  3. Japan Offline Japan
    Japan 19 January 2021 13: 31
    0
    Politicians scolded the peoples back in 2014, what else is needed from this Ukraine?
    Ukraine has not written or announced anything like this, and drunken politicians don't count the whole world!

Украина провалила планы по становлению газовой державой


На Украине есть обширные газовые месторождения, и власти это знают. Киев стремится сделать из «Нафтогаза» монополиста на энергетическом рыке, одновременно ослабляя конкуренцию и интерес к своему добывающему сектору. О том, тем ли путем идет Украина для того, чтобы стать газовой державой, пишет Oil Price.


Хотя Украина официально прекратила закупку природного газа у «Газпрома» в декабре 2015 года, большая часть импортируемого ею газового топлива имеет российское происхождение, что традиционно именуется «обратными потоками газа» из Польши, Словакии и Венгрии. Таким образом, цель импорта как можно меньшего количества газа несет также политический сигнал – Киев понимает репутационные последствия таких закупок газа и по-прежнему намерен в какой-то момент остановить их.

Предполагалось, что этап лицензирования газовой добычи на Украине в 2019 году станет прорывом, который положит начало морскому бурению, но из этого ничего не вышло. Комбинация нескольких факторов – неуместная поспешность с организацией, сохраняющаяся озабоченность по поводу политической стабильности Украины, опасения возможной коррупции во время самого процесса лицензирования – отпугнула крупные западные компании. Месторождение «Дельфин» было передано совершенно неизвестной компании Trident Acquisitions, которая, возможно, аффилирована с Россией. Пойманное таким поворотом событий врасплох украинское правительство отменило результаты лицензионного раунда через 4 месяца после его закрытия.

Как бы то ни было, отмена раунда офшорного лицензирования в 2019 году возродила в Киеве надежды на то, что, возможно, крупные западные компании могут быть заинтересованы в приобретении «Дельфина».

Менее чем через год правительство решило изменить этот вопрос, и в декабре 2020 года было принято соглашение о передаче «Дельфина» национальной нефтегазовой компании «Нафтогаз.» Это было сделано без использования открытых торгов, т.е. в резком противоречии с целью правительства сделать лицензирование максимально конкурентоспособным.

«Нафтогазу» также разрешили купить «Надру Юзовскую» – компанию, владеющую правами на разведку крупнейшего в стране месторождения сланцевого газа – Юзовского. Оно расположено вдоль массивных угольных месторождений Украины в восточных районах Донецка и Харькова, при этом некоторые участки находятся в опасной близости от самопровозглашенных восточных народных республик.

Начало разработки сланцевых пластов было очень многообещающим, когда Shell подписала соглашение о разделе продукции в 2013 году. Однако счастье длилось всего 2 года, поскольку в 2015 году Shell покинула проект, лишив его необходимых экспертиз.

Таким образом, «Нафтогаз» сейчас управляет двумя наиболее перспективными участками по добыче газа на Украине, но в обоих случаях ему потребуется помощь предпочтительно от крупной западной компании, которая могла бы способствовать принятию сложных технологических решений. Украина же так не смогла стать газовой державой.
  • Использованы фотографии: https://www.gazprom.com/
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. 123 Офлайн 123
    123 (123) 18 января 2021 15:06
    +1
    А такие планы были? Там только одно месторождение достойное внимание - труба Газпрома.
  2. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 18 января 2021 17:03
    -1
    Так 5 лет писали, там газ вот-вот кончится.
    И вдруг, "не стала", уже "не кончится"...
    Гондурас зато может стал
  3. Japan Офлайн Japan
    Japan 19 января 2021 13:31
    0
    Политики разругали народы ещё 2014г., что ещё надо от этой Украины?
    Ничего подобного Украина не писала и не заявляла официально, а бухие политики - всего мира не в счёт!