Duplicity of the West: demanding the release of Navalny, Assange is ready to jail for 175 years


On January 17, 2021, while passing through passport control at Sheremetyevo airport, the famous blogger Alexei Navalny was detained. He has been on the wanted list since December 29 "for multiple violations of the probationary period", to which he was sentenced in the case of "Yves Rocher Vostok" in 2014, the FSIN reported. The service also explained that he will remain in custody until the court determines a preventive measure for violations of the conditions of the probationary period.


And on the same evening, the heads of EU institutions promptly expressed their concern over the arrest of Alexei Navalny, who was on the wanted list, and called for his immediate release. The corresponding statements were spread on Twitter within half an hour after the arrest, the head of the European Council Charles Michel, the EU High Representative for Foreign Affairs and policy security Josep Borrell, European Parliament President David Sassoli.

And the head of the European Council said that "the detention of Alexei Navalny is unacceptable" and called on the Russian authorities to immediately release him.

Similar statements were made by the Foreign Ministers of Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia. And Joe Biden's national security advisor, Jake Sullivan, believes that Navalny should be "immediately released" and "those responsible for the outrageous attempt on his life should be brought to justice."

In response to these calls from the "collective West", Russian Foreign Ministry spokeswoman Maria Zakharova called on Western politicians to respect international law, not to encroach on national legislation and "deal with problems in their own country."

Now let's take a closer look at the attitude of this “collective West” to another blogger, already in their space. And we will talk about the founder of WikiLeaks Julian Assange. Yes, yes, about the same Assange, who was initially for 7 years in voluntary imprisonment at the Ecuadorian Embassy in London, and since 2019 has been in an English prison. And we do not see any angry statements from the EU leadership or the Baltic and American diplomats in the international media. Here again we see double standards.

On June 19, 2012, Assange, who was under recognizance not to leave (roughly like Alexei Navalny), fearing extradition to the United States, took refuge in the Ecuadorian Embassy in London and asked the leadership of the Latin American country for political asylum. The police considered this a violation of the terms of house arrest and announced that he would be arrested upon leaving the embassy.

After the new President of Ecuador, Lenin Moreno, stripped Assange of political asylum, the British police detained the online journalist on April 11, 2019. Then many were struck by the sight of the founder of WikiLeaks, more like a decrepit old man. 7 years in a confined space is hard to endure! No wonder he compared his stay at the embassy with life on a space station.

As a result, a London court sentenced Assange to 50 weeks in prison for violating the terms of bail.

While Assange sits in English dungeons, a former lawyer, common-law wife of WikiLeaks founder Julian Assange, spoke about the bullying he was subjected to in a British prison. On Twitter, Stella Maurice reported that Assange was woken up at five in the morning, handcuffed, stripped naked and X-rayed.

Meanwhile, in the United States, a federal grand jury (the panel of jurors that determines the validity and appropriateness of formal charges against anyone) issued a second indictment, accusing Julian Assange of crimes related to his alleged role in one of the largest thefts of classified information in history of the United States.

Note that although Julian Assange is not even a US citizen, he faces up to 175 years in prison in this country. He is accused of illegally obtaining and publishing classified data (17 points, up to 10 years in prison for each), as well as conspiracy to hack into a computer (up to 5 years in prison). The charges relate to the publication of classified documents of American intelligence and military forces. These papers dealt with the fighting in Afghanistan and Iraq, including the killings of civilians and the torture of prisoners by the US military. In addition, extensive diplomatic correspondence was in the public domain.

If you believe the documents of WikiLeaks, a significant part of the dead civilians were killed by the US military (in particular, there are new references to cases of shooting civilians from helicopters). At the same time, it was not known about 15 thousand dead before the publication of new documents by WikiLeaks. And according to the materials of the "Afghan dossier", the number of civilian casualties during the six years of the war in Afghanistan amounted to 20 thousand people, that is, three times less than in Iraq.

Judging by recent news, English justice, namely the Central Criminal Court of England and Wales, refused to extradite WikiLeaks founder Julian Assange to the US authorities. According to Judge Vanessa Baraitzer, US law enforcement agencies did not provide sufficient convincing guarantees that Assange would not be able to commit suicide after extradition.

In response, the American side will appeal against the court's decision to refuse to extradite the founder of Wikileaks to the United States. At the same time, Washington said that if Assange is transferred to the United States, he will not be sentenced to death, but he will be guaranteed a 175-year term.

Assange's supporters, gathered around the courthouse, greeted the news of the refusal of extradition with applause. At the same time, Reporters Without Borders continues to insist that the online journalist is being persecuted for his professional activities, and demands that the authorities recognize this.

We have cited two cases from the life of bloggers in Russia and in the West. What they have in common, and what are the differences, is up to you, dear reader, to judge. We will recall the well-known question in Russia since the "zero" years - "What is the strength, brother?"
Ad
The publication is looking for authors in the news and analytical departments. Requirements for applicants: literacy, responsibility, efficiency, inexhaustible creative energy, experience in copywriting or journalism, the ability to quickly analyze text and check facts, write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. The work is paid. Contact: [email protected]
17 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Fourth Horseman Offline Fourth Horseman
    Fourth Horseman (Fourth Horseman) 19 January 2021 08: 23
    0
    The morning began on the collective farm.
    How is Aloshenka? Did you poop? Did you eat?
  2. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 19 January 2021 08: 51
    0
    Wah! Right. Article after article on the unnamed ...
  3. Alexzn Offline Alexzn
    Alexzn (Alexander) 19 January 2021 09: 22
    -4
    Assange and Snowden have released state secrets related to security issues. In particular, the names of those who worked for the allies in Afghanistan. In Russia, they are also imprisoned for this and no one is outraged. There is a difference between free speech and betrayal. And Navalny did not disclose anything about missiles, nuclear weapons, etc. Exclusively about palaces, contracts and other "legally acquired" property.
    1. Afinogen Offline Afinogen
      Afinogen (Afinogen) 19 January 2021 09: 43
      0
      That's right, BUT he is thrown in front of him not for freedom of speech, but for his past dark deeds. In the past, as I understand it, he was not a "saint".
      1. Alexzn Offline Alexzn
        Alexzn (Alexander) 19 January 2021 09: 59
        0
        1. The charges are dubious.
        2. The accusations were carried out without the injured party and as a retroactive demonstrative punishment, when judged for one thing and punished for another.
        3. If desired, in Russia, you can put EVERYONE who went into business.
        1. Afinogen Offline Afinogen
          Afinogen (Afinogen) 19 January 2021 10: 13
          +1
          Quote: AlexZN
          1. The charges are dubious.

          Well what is there to guess? Leha's just a squadron of lawyers will figure out whether it's dubious or not. And yet, I used to be neutral towards Navalny. As it was sung in the song "I generally did not like the Jester, I adored his tunes" But after the poisoning, when he miraculously resurrected and began to screech more sanctions from Russia (that is, you and me), I despise him for his hypocrisy. and on my own behalf, let him sit down, not a bit sorry ...
          1. Burmistrov Offline Burmistrov
            Burmistrov (Alexander ) 19 January 2021 11: 57
            -1
            For the wonderful resurrection, I must say thanks exclusively to the captain of the plane and the Omsk doctors, who intervened not according to the script.
            And there is no need to lie about the sanctions against Russia. He talked about sanctions against oligarchs whose accounts are abroad.
            1. Afinogen Offline Afinogen
              Afinogen (Afinogen) 19 January 2021 12: 08
              +2
              Quote: Burmistrov
              For the wonderful resurrection, I must say thanks exclusively to the captain of the plane and the Omsk doctors,

              Well, as far as I know, Omsk doctors said there was no poisoning. And the wonderful doctors in Germany, who recognized the poisoning by "Novichok", did not present any evidence, but just said take our word for it.
            2. vetchinckin.iur Offline vetchinckin.iur
              vetchinckin.iur (yura vetchinkin) 26 January 2021 10: 49
              0
              And these oligarchs have enterprises where ordinary hard workers work, that is, against ordinary people, they require sanctions.
    2. Dear sofa expert. 19 January 2021 14: 29
      +2
      Assange and Snowden have released state secrets related to security issues.

      Assange released materials on spy scandals, corruption in the highest echelons of power, war crimes and the secrets of great power diplomacy.

      If these are state secrets, then they are, first of all, secrets from their own people.

      Otherwise, who, in your opinion, if not a journalist, should have done it?
      1. Miffer Offline Miffer
        Miffer (Sam Miffers) 21 January 2021 14: 02
        0
        Journalist Dmitry Kholodov did it in 1994.
        He tried to reveal the secrets hidden "from his own people."
        I can count what year of investigation there is already going on.
    3. Volga073 Online Volga073
      Volga073 (MIKLE) 29 January 2021 03: 15
      0
      Killing civilians is of course the Pentagon's big secret //
  4. steelmaker Offline steelmaker
    steelmaker 19 January 2021 09: 44
    -4
    Why don't our authorities intercede for Assange? Lavrov, would indicate the place where those asking for Navalny should be. Is silent. Journalist Bulanov figured out with whom to compare, and Lavrov thinks? The team of thinkers is serious. Bulk enemy. EBN pointed out privileges, and this one pointed to corruption. Navalny is the new EBN, there is nothing to stand on ceremony with him!
  5. Alexzn Offline Alexzn
    Alexzn (Alexander) 19 January 2021 10: 21
    -1
    Quote: Athenogen
    Quote: AlexZN
    1. The charges are dubious.

    Well what is there to guess? Leha's just a squadron of lawyers will figure out whether it's dubious or not. And yet, I used to be neutral towards Navalny. As it was sung in the song "I generally did not like the Jester, I adored his tunes" But after the poisoning, when he miraculously resurrected and began to screech more sanctions from Russia (that is, you and me), I despise him for his hypocrisy. and on my own behalf, let him sit down, not a bit sorry ...

    If there is something for which it is not scary - let them plant.
  6. Denis radish Offline Denis radish
    Denis radish (Denis Moroz) 19 January 2021 13: 09
    +1
    Has anyone counted how many selfies of Navalny? Have you seen his face? what do you think? even about a dog by its look can be judged - smart, or so, just bullshit.
    just for this alone, you can enroll this "figure" in clowns)
  7. Igor Berg Offline Igor Berg
    Igor Berg (Igor Berg) 20 January 2021 08: 27
    0
    Quote: Athenogen
    That's right, BUT he is thrown in front of him not for freedom of speech, but for his past dark deeds. In the past, as I understand it, he was not a "saint".

    Well, you have compared n1. treason and the issuance of state secrets with n2. theft and financial fraud, if any. In our country, almost everyone in power is engaged in this (see n2). So what?
  8. steelmaker Offline steelmaker
    steelmaker 20 January 2021 17: 21
    0
    Slap Navalny for 175 years and replace him with Assange!

Двуличие Запада: требуя освободить Навального, Ассанжа готовы посадить на 175 лет


17 января 2021 г. во время прохождения паспортного контроля в аэропорту Шереметьево задержали известного блогера Алексея Навального. Он находился в розыске с 29 декабря «за многократные нарушения испытательного срока», к которому его приговорили по делу «Ив Роше Восток» в 2014 году, сообщала ФСИН. В службе также поясняли, что он останется под стражей до тех пор, пока суд не определит меру пресечения за нарушения условий испытательного срока.


И в этот же вечер руководители институтов Евросоюза оперативно выразили свою озабоченность в связи с задержанием находившегося в розыске Алексея Навального и призвали к его немедленному освобождению. Соответствующие заявления распространили в Twitter в течение получаса после задержания глава Евросовета Шарль Мишель, верховный представитель ЕС по иностранным делам и политике безопасности Жозеп Боррель, председатель Европарламента Давид Сассоли.

А глава Евросовета заявил, что «задержание Алексея Навального недопустимо» и призвал российские власти немедленно освободить его.

Подобные высказывания были озвучены министрами иностранных дел Литвы, Латвии и Эстонии. А советник Джо Байдена по нацбезопасности Джейк Салливан считает, что Навального следует «немедленно освободить», а «виновных в возмутительном покушении на его жизнь – привлечь к ответственности».

В ответ на эти призывы с «коллективного Запада» Официальный представитель МИД России Мария Захарова призвала западных политиков уважать международное право, не посягать на национальное законодательство и «заниматься проблемами в собственной стране».

А вот теперь поподробнее разберем отношение этого «коллективного Запада» к другому блогеру, уже в их пространстве. И речь пойдет об основателе WikiLeaks Джулиане Ассанже. Да-да, о том самом Ассанже, который находился сначала в течение 7 лет в добровольном заключении в эквадорском посольстве Лондона, а с 2019 г. сидит в английской тюрьме. И никаких гневных заявлений со стороны руководства ЕС или прибалтийских и американских дипломатов мы в международных СМИ не наблюдаем. И здесь мы вновь видим двойные стандарты.

19 июня 2012 г. Ассанж, находившийся под подпиской о невыезде (примерно, как Алексей Навальный), опасаясь выдачи в США, укрылся в посольстве Эквадора в Лондоне и попросил у руководства латиноамериканской страны политического убежища. Полиция сочла это нарушением условий домашнего ареста и сообщила, что в момент выхода из посольства он будет арестован.

После того как новый президент Эквадора Ленин Морено лишил Ассанжа политического убежища, британская полиция задержала интернет-журналиста 11 апреля 2019 года. Тогда многих поразил вид основателя WikiLeaks, больше похожего на одряхлевшего старика. 7 лет в замкнутом пространстве тяжело выдержать! Не зря своё пребывание в посольстве он сравнил с жизнью на космической станции.

В итоге суд Лондона приговорил Ассанжа к 50 неделям тюрьмы за нарушение условий выхода под залог.

Пока Ассанж сидит в английских застенках, бывший адвокат, гражданская жена основателя WikiLeaks Джулиана Ассанжа, рассказала об издевательствах, которым он подвергается в британской тюрьме. В Twitter Стелла Морис сообщила, что Ассанжа будят в пять утра, заковывают в наручники, раздевают догола и подвергают рентгеновскому облучению.

А в это время в США Федеральное большое жюри (Коллегия присяжных заседателей, которая определяет обоснованность и целесообразность предъявления кому-либо официальных обвинений) вынесло второе обвинительное заключение, обвинив Джулиана Ассанжа в преступлениях, связанных с предполагаемой его ролью в одном из крупнейших хищений секретной информации в истории США.

Заметим, что хотя Джулиан Ассанж даже не является гражданином США, однако в этой стране ему грозит до 175 лет тюрьмы. Его обвиняют в незаконном получении и публикации секретных данных (17 пунктов, до 10 лет лишения свободы по каждому), а также в сговоре с целью компьютерного взлома (до 5 лет тюрьмы). Обвинения связаны с публикацией секретных документов американской разведки и вооруженных сил. Эти бумаги касались боевых действий в Афганистане и Ираке, в том числе убийств мирных жителей и пыток над заключенными, совершенных американскими военными. Кроме того, в открытом доступе оказалась обширная дипломатическая переписка.

Если верить документам WikiLeaks, значительная часть погибших мирных жителей были убиты американскими военными (в частности, появились новые упоминания о случаях расстрела гражданских с вертолетов). При этом о 15 тысячах погибших до публикации новых документов WikiLeaks известно не было. А согласно материалам «афганского досье», количество жертв среди гражданского населения за шесть лет войны в Афганистане составило 20 тысяч человек, то есть втрое меньше, чем в Ираке.

Судя по недавним новостям, английское правосудие, а именно Центральный уголовный суд Англии и Уэльса, отказал американским властям в выдаче основателя WikiLeaks Джулиана Ассанжа. По мнению судьи Ванессы Барайтзер, правоохранительные органы США не представили достаточно убедительных гарантий того, что после экстрадиции Ассанж не сможет покончить с собой.

В ответ на это американская сторона подаст апелляцию на решение суда об отказе в экстрадиции основателя Wikileaks в США. При этом в Вашингтоне заявили, что в случае передачи Ассанжа Соединенным Штатам, он не будет приговорен к смертной казни, но 175 летний срок ему гарантирован.

Сторонники Ассанжа, собравшиеся вокруг здания суда, встретили новость об отказе в экстрадиции аплодисментами. В то же время «Репортеры без границ» продолжают настаивать на том, что интернет-журналиста преследуют за его профессиональную деятельность, и требуют, чтобы власти это признали.

Мы привели два случая из жизни блогеров в России и на Западе. Что в них общего, а в чём различия, судить Вам, уважаемый читатель. Мы же вспомним известный с «нулевых» годов в России вопрос – «В чем сила, брат?».
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
17 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Четвертый Всадник (Четвертый Всадник) 19 января 2021 08:23
    0
    Началось в колхозе утро.
    Как там Альошенька? Покакал ли? Покушал ли?
  2. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 19 января 2021 08:51
    0
    Вах! Верно. Статья за статьей о неназываемом...
  3. AlexZN Офлайн AlexZN
    AlexZN (Александр) 19 января 2021 09:22
    -4
    Ассанж и Сноуден выдали государственные секреты, связаные с вопросами безопасности. В частности имена тех кто работал на союзников в Афганистане. В России за это тоже сажают и никто не возмущается. Есть разница между свободой слова и предательством. А Навальный ничего о ракетах, ядерном оружие и т.д никаких секретов не сообщал. Исключительно о дворцах, контрактах и прочих" законно нажитых" имуществах.
    1. Афиноген Офлайн Афиноген
      Афиноген (Афиноген) 19 января 2021 09:43
      0
      Все верно, НО ему предьяву кидают не за свободу слова, а за его прошлые темные делишки. В прошлые времена я так понял он "святым" не был.
      1. AlexZN Офлайн AlexZN
        AlexZN (Александр) 19 января 2021 09:59
        0
        1.Обвинения носят сомнительный характер.
        2. Обвинения проведены без пострадавшей стороны и как ретроактивное показательное наказание, когда судят за одно, а наказывают за другое.
        3. При желании в России можно посадить ВСЕХ кто занялся бизнесом.
        1. Афиноген Офлайн Афиноген
          Афиноген (Афиноген) 19 января 2021 10:13
          +1
          Цитата: AlexZN
          1.Обвинения носят сомнительный характер.

          Ну что тут гадать? У Лехи просто эскадра из адвокатов разберутся, сомнительный или нет. И еще, раньше я к Навальному относился нейтрально. Как пелось в песне "Шута я в общем не любил, я обожал его напевы" Но после отравления, когда он чудесным образом воскрес и стал верещать больше санкций России (это то есть нам с вами) я его презираю за лицемерие. и от себя скажу пусть его садят, ни капли не жалко...
          1. Бурмистров Офлайн Бурмистров
            Бурмистров (Александр ) 19 января 2021 11:57
            -1
            За чудесное воскрешение надо сказать спасибо исключительно капитану самолета и омским врачам, вмешавшимся не по сценарию.
            А про санкции против России не надо врать. Он говорил о санкциях против олигархов, чьи счета за границей.
            1. Афиноген Офлайн Афиноген
              Афиноген (Афиноген) 19 января 2021 12:08
              +2
              Цитата: Бурмистров
              За чудесное воскрешение надо сказать спасибо исключительно капитану самолета и омским врачам,

              Ну насколько я знаю омские врачи сказали никакого отравления не было. И чудные врачи германии признавшие отравление "Новичком" никаких доказательств не представили, а лишь сказали верьте нам на слово.
            2. vetchinckin.iur Офлайн vetchinckin.iur
              vetchinckin.iur (юра ветчинкин) 26 января 2021 10:49
              0
              А у этих олигархов предприятия где простые работяги работают то есть против простых людей требует санкции.
    2. Ассанж и Сноуден выдали государственные секреты, связаные с вопросами безопасности.

      Ассанж обнародовал материалы о шпионских скандалах, коррупции в высших эшелонах власти, военных преступлениях и тайнах дипломатии великих держав.

      Если это и государственные секреты, то они в первую очередь - секреты от своего же народа.

      А иначе кто, по вашему как не журналист, должен был это сделать?
      1. Miffer Офлайн Miffer
        Miffer (Sam Miffers) 21 января 2021 14:02
        0
        Журналист Дмитрий Холодов в 1994 году сделал.
        Пытался раскрыть секреты, спрятанные "от своего же народа".
        Могу посчитать, какой там уже идёт год расследования.
    3. Volga073 Офлайн Volga073
      Volga073 (MIKLE) 29 января 2021 03:15
      0
      Убивать мирных граждан - это конечно большой секрет Пентагона//
  4. сталевар Офлайн сталевар
    сталевар 19 января 2021 09:44
    -4
    А почему наши власти за Ассанжа не заступятся? Лавров, указал бы место где должны находиться просящие за Навального. Молчит. Журналист Буланов сообразил с кем сравнить, а Лавров думает? Команда думальщиков серьёзная подобралась. Навальный враг. ЕБН на привилегии указывал, а этот на коррупцию. Навальный это новый ЕБН, с ним нечего церемониться!
  5. AlexZN Офлайн AlexZN
    AlexZN (Александр) 19 января 2021 10:21
    -1
    Цитата: Афиноген
    Цитата: AlexZN
    1.Обвинения носят сомнительный характер.

    Ну что тут гадать? У Лехи просто эскадра из адвокатов разберутся, сомнительный или нет. И еще, раньше я к Навальному относился нейтрально. Как пелось в песне "Шута я в общем не любил, я обожал его напевы" Но после отравления, когда он чудесным образом воскрес и стал верещать больше санкций России (это то есть нам с вами) я его презираю за лицемерие. и от себя скажу пусть его садят, ни капли не жалко...

    Если есть за что и не страшно - пускай сажают.
  6. Дениска-редиска (Денис Мороз) 19 января 2021 13:09
    +1
    кто-нибудь считал, сколько селфи Навального? а физиономию его видали? что скажете? даже о собаке по ее взгляду можно судить - умная, или так, брехать только.
    только за одно это вот можно в клоуны зачислять этого "деятеля")
  7. Игорь Berg Офлайн Игорь Berg
    Игорь Berg (Игорь Berg) 20 января 2021 08:27
    0
    Цитата: Афиноген
    Все верно, НО ему предьяву кидают не за свободу слова, а за его прошлые темные делишки. В прошлые времена я так понял он "святым" не был.

    Ну Вы сравнили п1. измену Родине и выдачу гостайны с п2.воровством и финансовыми махинациями, если такие были. У нас почти все у власти этим занимаются (см. п2). И что?
  8. сталевар Офлайн сталевар
    сталевар 20 января 2021 17:21
    0
    Влупить Навальному 175 лет и поменять его на Ассанжа!