Four global challenges Biden will face


On January 20, 2021, Joe Biden will officially become the 46th President of the United States and will lead the executive branch of the country. A variety of internal and external problems will immediately fall on him. The head of state will have to make difficult decisions, using experience and other qualities that his predecessor Donald Trump lacked, writes the French newspaper Le Figaro.


Internal problems of the United States are associated with the "baggage" of socialeconomic and medical and epidemiological manifestations of the coronavirus pandemic. But at least they are predictable and they know how to deal with them.

With external problems, everything is much more complicated. They mean the four global challenges that the new US administration will face on the world stage.

The first is the possibility of Iran having nuclear weapons. The second is North Korea's new ICBMs with nuclear warheads capable of hitting US territory. The third is the defense of the allied Taiwan from the aggressive communist China. Fourth, the Russians dream of rebuilding their lost empire.

Iran is probably on the road to creating a nuclear bomb. In December 2020, the country's parliament ordered the government to end cooperation with the IAEA and start accumulating 120 kg of uranium each year with an enrichment level of 20%. In 2018, Washington pulled out of the nuclear deal with Tehran (2015 JCPOA) and began to actively pressure the Iranians.

It is not known whether Biden will be able to conclude a "grand deal" with the Iranians in exchange for lifting US sanctions. It should include: restrictions on uranium enrichment, a ban on the creation of nuclear weapons and the development of new ballistic missiles, as well as issues of non-interference in the affairs of the Shiite axis countries (Iraq, Syria, Lebanon and Yemen).

In the matter of reintegrating the DPRK into the world community, Trump, to his credit, has achieved some success. He just didn't have the courage to take serious steps. Biden only needs to continue this process. The agenda should be the same as for Iran: denuclearization in exchange for economic and trade benefits.

As for the PRC, the US-China relationship has long turned into a strategic rivalry in all areas. There is no trust between Washington and Beijing, and it is unlikely to emerge. The United States is not at all happy with the prospect that the communist dictatorship will deprive them of world leadership. Therefore, China should never be allowed to take over Taiwan, the model of democracy in Asia.

In relation to Russia policy The United States has always been characterized by a lack of realism and clarity. Biden will have to reaffirm his adherence to Article 5 of the NATO Charter, which guarantees US intervention to save an ally. Only then will the nervous states of Eastern Europe calm down.

At the same time, Washington must admit that the sanctions against Moscow did not work and draw the right conclusions from this. There is no need to expect Russians to adopt a Western lifestyle tomorrow. It makes no sense to force them or lecture them on democracy. Only trade, pragmatism, diplomacy, compromises and common interests (fighting the Islamists, Finlandization of Ukraine and Georgia, disarmament and other issues understandable to Russians) will normalize relations. Clarity and realism - this is what Trump and Obama lacked, perhaps Biden has these qualities, summed up the publication from France.
  • Photos used: Gage Skidmore / https: //www.flickr.com
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. 123 Offline 123
    123 (123) 19 January 2021 18: 14
    +1
    He would have to clean up the house first. There are 25 thousand soldiers in Washington. The National Guard is active in 13 states. Everybody hangs up garlands, inflates balloons and throws candy laughing
    Nonsmoking dictator Lukashenko nervously hiccups on the sidelines, he won't become a democrat, there won't be enough troops laughing
    The new government is extremely unsure of itself, cleaning up and eradicating sedition in the ranks of the security forces, and not only, is inevitable.
  2. Fourth Horseman Offline Fourth Horseman
    Fourth Horseman (Fourth Horseman) 19 January 2021 18: 24
    +2
    With his age, with dementia, one must understand that Biden is a nominal figure. Zits chairman.
    So he doesn't care about these challenges.
    Forget it anyway.
    These challenges will be handled by the "gray eminence".
    Who is he? Not yet manifested.
    1. boriz Offline boriz
      boriz (boriz) 20 January 2021 01: 49
      +4
      Well, the performer is Kamala Harris. That's just what she will do there in the absence of experience in public administration. She, after all, was not even the governor. And her habits ... Aunt frostbitten all over her head.
  3. Hayer31 Offline Hayer31
    Hayer31 (Kashchei) 19 January 2021 18: 55
    +1
    I don't understand why Ameri should go to meet the Russians? In business, the Russians are helping the rival of Europe and China with a cheap sire. A terrorist under the hood of the CIA, as they say where the detonation is there, and the bormalees will snatch. So there will be no peace between America and Russia, Forget it. And if China becomes the first in the world then the 2nd and 3rd will be able to negotiate against the first.
    1. 123 Offline 123
      123 (123) 19 January 2021 19: 01
      +1
      I don't understand why Ameri should go to meet the Russians?

      They can just go to hell, that's enough.

      So there will be no peace between America and Russia, Forget it.

      Well, the flag is in their scruff and a drum on their head.

      And if China becomes the first in the world then the 2nd and 3rd will be able to negotiate against the first.

      But why?
  4. boriz Offline boriz
    boriz (boriz) 20 January 2021 02: 02
    +1
    The main problem of the new administration is that the model of capitalism that worked for 300 years has reached a dead end. There is no reproduction of capital. All other countries endured various restrictions, quirks of the new "morality", restrictions on sovereignty only in exchange for the fact that global financiers guaranteed economic development. Now they do not provide this. The development model is over, in full accordance with the predictions of Adam Smith and Karl Marx. And they cannot offer a way out of this situation. And Biden represents, in fact, global financiers. The new head of the IMF, Kristalina Georgieva, graduated from the Karl Marx Institute in Bulgaria under Soviet rule and had experience in the socialist economy. She enlightened them what was happening. Otherwise, the West stopped studying political economy in the first half of the 1970s, there were no competent people left. But she is not able to develop a new model. Didn't do it. Dead end of development. They realized this over the past year. But that's all. Further - only by typing.
    Everything else is secondary.

Четыре глобальных вызова, с которыми столкнется Байден


20 января 2021 года Джо Байден официально станет 46-м президентом США и возглавит исполнительную власть в стране. На него сразу обрушатся разнообразные внутренние и внешние проблемы. Главе государства придется принимать сложные решения, используя опыт и прочие качества, которых не хватило его предшественнику Дональду Трампу, пишет французская газета Le Figaro.


Внутренние проблемы США связаны с «багажом» социально-экономических и медико-эпидемиологических проявлений пандемии коронавируса. Но они хотя бы предсказуемы и с ними знают, как бороться.

С внешними проблемами все гораздо сложней. Под ними подразумеваются четыре глобальных вызова, с которыми столкнется новая администрация США на мировой арене.

Первый – возможность появления ядерного оружия у Ирана. Второй – новые МБР КНДР с ядерными боеголовками, способными поразить территорию США. Третий – защита союзного Тайваня от агрессивного коммунистического Китая. Четвертый – мечта русских восстановить свою потерянную империю.

Иран, вероятно, встал на путь создания ядерной бомбы. В декабре 2020 года парламент страны обязал правительство прекратить сотрудничество с МАГАТЭ и начать накапливать ежегодно по 120 кг урана с уровнем обогащения 20%. В 2018 году Вашингтон вышел из ядерной сделки с Тегераном (СВПД 2015 года) и начал активно давить на иранцев.

Сможет ли Байден заключить с иранцами «грандиозную сделку» в обмен на отмену американских санкций, неизвестно. В нее должны войти: ограничения на обогащение урана, запрет на создание ядерного оружия и разработку новых баллистических ракет, а также вопросы невмешательства в дела стран шиитской оси (Ирак, Сирия, Ливан и Йемен).

В деле реинтеграции КНДР в мировое сообщество, Трамп, нужно отдать ему должное, добился определенного успеха. Просто ему не хватило смелости на серьезные шаги. Байдену нужно лишь продолжить этот процесс. Повестка дня должна быть такой же, как для Ирана: денуклеаризация в обмен на экономические и торговые выгоды.

Что касается КНР, то американо-китайские отношения уже давно превратились в стратегическое соперничество на всех направлениях. Доверия между Вашингтоном и Пекином нет и оно вряд ли появится. США абсолютно не радует перспектива, что их лишит мирового лидерства коммунистическая диктатура. Поэтому Китаю ни в коем случае нельзя позволить прибрать к рукам Тайвань – образец демократии в Азии.

По отношению к России политика США всегда отличалась отсутствием реализма и ясности. Байдену придется подтвердить свою приверженность статье 5 устава НАТО, гарантирующей вмешательство США ради спасения союзника. Только тогда успокоятся нервничающие государства Восточной Европы.

При этом Вашингтон должен признать, что санкции в отношении Москвы не сработали и сделать из этого правильные выводы. Не нужно рассчитывать, что русские завтра примут западный образ жизни. Бессмысленно их заставлять или читать им лекции о демократии. Только торговля, прагматизм, дипломатия, компромиссы и общие интересы (борьба с исламистами, финляндизация Украины и Грузии, разоружение и прочие понятные русским вопросы) позволят нормализовать отношения. Ясность и реалистичность – вот чего не хватало Трампу и Обаме, возможно, эти качества имеются у Байдена, подытожило издание из Франции.
  • Использованы фотографии: Gage Skidmore/https://www.flickr.com
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
6 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. 123 Офлайн 123
    123 (123) 19 января 2021 18:14
    +1
    Ему бы дома для начала разгрести. В Вашингтоне 25 тыс солдат. Национальная гвардия задействована в 13 штатах. Все развешивают гирлянды, надувают шарики и разбрасывают конфети laughing
    Некурящий диктатор Лукашенко нервно икает в сторонке, демократом ему не стать, войск не хватит laughing
    Новая власть крайне не уверена в себе, зачистки и искоренение крамолы в рядах силовиков, да и не только, неизбежна.
  2. Четвертый Всадник (Четвертый Всадник) 19 января 2021 18:24
    +2
    С его возврастом, с деменцией, надо понимать, что Байден фигура номинальная. Зиц председатель.
    Так что эти вызовы, ему по барабану.
    Всё равно забудет.
    Разруливать эти вызовы будет "серый кардинал".
    Кто он? Пока не проявился.
    1. boriz Офлайн boriz
      boriz (boriz) 20 января 2021 01:49
      +4
      Ну, исполнитель то Камала Харрис. Вот только, что она там наворотит при отсутствии опыта государственного управления. Она , ведь, даже губернатором не была. Да и замашки у неё .... На всю голову тётка отмороженная.
  3. Hayer31 Офлайн Hayer31
    Hayer31 (Кащей ) 19 января 2021 18:55
    +1
    Я не понимаю почему Амери должны пойти на встречу русским? По бизнесу русские помогают конкуренту Европы и Китая дешовым сирём. А терористи под колпаком ЦРУ, как скажут где взорват там и зарвут бормалеи. Так что не будет ни какого мира между Америки и России, Забудьте . А если Китай станет первым в мире тогда 2-ой и 3-ий смогут договариваться против первого.
    1. 123 Офлайн 123
      123 (123) 19 января 2021 19:01
      +1
      Я не понимаю почему Амери должны пойти на встречу русским?

      Могут просто пойти куда подальше, этого достаточно.

      Так что не будет ни какого мира между Америки и России, Забудьте .

      Ну и флаг им в загривок и барабан на голову.

      А если Китай станет первым в мире тогда 2-ой и 3-ий смогут договариваться против первого.

      А зачем?
  4. boriz Офлайн boriz
    boriz (boriz) 20 января 2021 02:02
    +1
    Главная проблема новой администрации - то, что работавшая 300 лет модель капитализма зашла в тупик. Нет воспроизводства капитала. Все остальные страны терпели разные ограничения, выверты новой "морали", ограничения суверенитета только в обмен на то, что глобальные финансисты гарантировали экономическое развитие. Теперь они этого не обеспечивают. Модель развития кончилась, в полном соответствии с предсказаниями Адама Смита и Карла Маркса. И выхода из этой ситуации они предложить не могут. А Байден представляет, как раз, глобальных финансистов. Новый руководитель МВФ Кристалина Георгиева заканчивала в Болгарии при советской власти институт "Карл Маркс" и имела опыт работы в социалистической экономике. Она их и просветила, что происходит. А то ведь на Западе политэкономию перестали изучать в первой половине 1970-х, компетентных людей не осталось. Но разработать новую модель она на в состоянии. Не занималась этим. Тупик развития. За прошлый год они это осознали. Но и всё. Дальше - только методом тыка.
    Всё остальное - второстепенно.