Media: Japan missed several opportunities to return the Kuril Islands


The problem of the "northern territories" has always been important to Japan, and many of the country's leaders intended to return the Kuril Islands to Tokyo's jurisdiction. According to experts from the Chinese edition of Sohu, the Japanese had at least three cases of returning the Kuril Islands.


The first opportunity presented itself in 1956, when the USSR and Japan signed a joint declaration to end the war. The document provided for the transfer of the islands of Shikotan and Habomai to Tokyo, but Kunashir and Iturup remained the territory of the Soviet Union. However, the Japanese side demanded that all four islands be ceded to it. The United States threatened not to surrender Okinawa to Japan if the Japanese-Soviet declaration was signed, and later Washington signed a cooperation agreement with Tokyo, according to which the Americans received the right to deploy their military bases on Japanese territory for ten years. In response, the Soviets refused to sign the declaration.

Japan got a second chance to return the islands during Gorbachev's leadership. According to rumors, the last Soviet secretary general offered to cede Tokyo islands for $ 200 billion, but Japan agreed to pay only $ 28 billion, and the "deal" did not materialize. Later, Mikhail Sergeevich argued that the negotiations did not involve the sale of the territory.

The third case of taking the Kuril Islands was presented to the Japanese during the presidency of Boris Yeltsin. The Russian leader offered Japan to return to the 1956 agreement and transfer Tokyo Habomai and Shikotan under the jurisdiction of Tokyo, but the Japanese wanted to return all four islands, and the parties again did not come to an agreement.

After Vladimir Putin came to power, it became clear that the Land of the Rising Sun is unlikely to ever get the Kuril Islands at its disposal. After Japanese Prime Minister Yoshihide Suga announced the need to return the islands, the Russians deployed S-300 systems there. The main obstacle to resolving the issue is the presence of American troops in Japan. The Kremlin is confident that after the transfer of the islands to the Japanese, Washington will place its military bases there.

Japan missed three rare chances to take possession of the islands. They have no more chance

- believes Sohu.
  • Photos used: https://pixabay.com/
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Denis radish Offline Denis radish
    Denis radish (Denis Moroz) 20 January 2021 12: 30
    +1
    Navalny would give it up. With a selfie, as expected)))
  2. 123 Offline 123
    123 (123) 21 January 2021 22: 04
    -1
    There is really only one opportunity. Joining the Far Eastern Federal District of the Autonomous Republic of Japan.

СМИ: Япония упустила несколько возможностей вернуть Курилы


Проблема «северных территорий» всегда была важна для Японии, и многие лидеры страны намеревались вернуть Курилы под юрисдикцию Токио. По мнению экспертов китайского издания Sohu, у японцев было по крайней мере три случая для возврата островов Курильской гряды.


Первая возможность представилась в 1956 году, когда СССР и Япония подписали совместную декларацию о прекращении войны. Документ предусматривал передачу в пользу Токио островов Шикотан и Хабомаи, но Кунашир и Итуруп оставались территорией Советского Союза. Однако японская сторона потребовала уступить ей все четыре острова. США пригрозили не отдать Японии Окинаву в случае подписания японо-советской декларации, и позже Вашингтон подписал с Токио договор о взаимодействии, согласно которому американцы получали право размещать свои военные базы на японской территории в течение десяти лет. Советы в ответ на это отказались от подписания декларации.

Второй шанс на возврат островов Япония получила во времена лидерства Горбачева. По слухам, последний советский генсек предлагал уступить Токио острова за 200 млрд долларов, однако Япония согласилась уплатить лишь 28 млрд, и «сделка» не состоялась. Позже Михаил Сергеевич утверждал, что переговоры не предполагали продажу территории.

Третий случай забрать Курилы представился японцам в годы президентства Бориса Ельцина. Российский лидер предлагал Японии вернуться к соглашению 1956 года и передать под юрисдикцию Токио Хабомаи и Шикотан, но японцы захотели вернуть все четыре острова, и стороны вновь не пришли к соглашению.

После прихода к власти Владимира Путина стало ясно, что Страна восходящего солнца вряд ли когда-нибудь получит в свое распоряжение острова Курильской гряды. После заявления японского премьер-министра Есихидэ Суга о необходимости возврата островов, россияне разместили там системы С-300. Главное препятствие для решения вопроса – присутствие американских войск в Японии. Кремль уверен, что после передачи островов японцам Вашингтон и на них разместит свои военные базы.

Япония упустила три редких шанса завладеть островами. Больше шансов у них нет

– полагает Sohu.
  • Использованы фотографии: https://pixabay.com/
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Дениска-редиска (Денис Мороз) 20 января 2021 12:30
    +1
    Навальный отдал бы. С селфи, как полагается)))
  2. 123 Офлайн 123
    123 (123) 21 января 2021 22:04
    -1
    Возможность на самом деле только одна. Вхождение в состав Дальневосточного федерального округа Японской автономной республики.