Trade five frigates for one cruiser: is the Nakhimov modernization wrong?


Already in the next 2022, the new flagship of the Russian Navy "Admiral Nakhimov" will be commissioned. Its counterpart in series 1141 "Peter the Great" will then lower the flag and head to Sevmash, where a similar modernization will take place. The heavy nuclear cruiser will seriously increase the striking power and combat stability of the small Russian surface fleet, but despite this, voices are heard calling for spending this money on the construction of the latest frigates. Who is more right in this situation?


Under the USSR, they managed to build only 4 TARKs of the Orlan project, giant “aircraft carrier killers”. Each of the cruisers has tremendous striking power capable of sending the enemy's AUG to the bottom, as well as unlimited cruising range, thanks to the presence of 2 nuclear power plants. The main weapon of the TARK is the Granit anti-ship missiles; it also has a 130 mm AK-130 double-barreled automatic artillery mount with an aiming range of 25 kilometers, two five-tube torpedo tubes and three anti-submarine helicopters. For their time, the "Eagles" were a truly formidable weapon.

However, time and lack of funds did their dirty work. Only "Peter the Great" remained in the ranks. "Kirov", aka "Admiral Ushakov", has been withdrawn from the fleet and is awaiting disposal. "Admiral Lazarev" is incapable of combat, mothballed and stuck in limbo: there is no money for modernization, but they have not yet dared to dispose of it. "Admiral Nakhimov" is doing the best of all. It was formally sent for repairs back in 1999, but the unloading of nuclear fuel began only in 2008. Real modernization work started only in 2012, and the delivery of the cruiser was expected in 2018. As you can see, the deadlines have shifted to the right, skeptics are talking about the 2024-2025 line.

What has been done with "Admiral Nakhimov" as part of the modernization?

First of all, all the missile weapons and air defense systems of the cruiser were subject to replacement, since they were quite outdated, which led to a significant decrease in its combat capability. Instead of 20 Granites, 80 cells of 3S14 universal vertical launch units have been installed, respectively, the number of missiles in ammunition has increased by 4 times. Their nomenclature has also increased: now it can be subsonic "Calibers" designed to destroy sea and ground targets, and supersonic anti-ship "Onyx", and in the future - and hypersonic "Zircons".

The air defense was also strengthened. In the near zone "Pantsir-ME" replaced the outdated "Kortik", in the middle zone at a distance of up to 150 kilometers the sky will be covered by the "Redut" air defense system. SAM "Fort-M" has 92 cells of anti-aircraft missiles to shoot down targets within a radius of 200 kilometers. Experts point out that the TARK will be able to use the 40N6 ultra-long-range anti-aircraft missile, which is capable of hitting a flying object at a distance of up to 400 kilometers. To protect against attacks from submarines, the "Packet-NK" complex was installed, equipped with MTT thermal torpedoes and M-15 jet anti-torpedoes.

All this will make the "Admiral Nakhimov", as well as other cruisers of this project, after their modernization, more stable in the confrontation with the enemy's AUG. Just one TARK at the head of a connection of ships, having such a powerful air defense system, can easily keep reconnaissance and jamming aircraft at a distance and even shoot down an entire attacking wing of carrier-based aircraft. The Eagles are a formidable force to be reckoned with. However, every barrel of honey has its own fly in the ointment. Critics of the modernization of old cruisers make quite sensible arguments against:

At first, it is very expensive. According to preliminary estimates, "Admiral Nakhimov" should have cost the budget 50 billion rubles, but due to delays and the total complexity of the project, the amount has already increased to 80-90 billion, and as a result, it may reach 100. These funds can be used to build 4-5 brand new frigate project 22350 "Admiral Gorshkov". Their armament is inferior to "Admiral Nakhimov", but only quantitatively. However, it is also represented by "Caliber", "Onyx" and in the long term - "Zircon", SAM "Redut" and "Packet-NK". One giant nuclear powered cruiser is good, but 5 deep sea frigates perhaps even better?


Secondly, this is a very long time, the long-term modernization of one TARK takes away the lion's share of the resources of the Sevmash enterprise, which could be used for the construction of submarines of the Yasen series.

Indeed, there is a great deal of truth in all this. However, additional factors must be considered. The program for the construction of large surface ships has actually been disrupted, and the deadlines are constantly being thwarted to the right. The ships are being built very slowly, a lot of this was facilitated by the breakdown of industrial ties with Ukraine, which refused to supply power plants for them. A promising project of the Leader missile destroyer with a nuclear power plant has been shelved. It is not clear when these 4-5 new frigates will actually appear. But there are already several "Eagles" in stock, one look at which inspires awe.

Under these conditions, a deep modernization of old warships is a fairly rational step, while the domestic shipbuilding industry comes to life and the process of import substitution of key components is underway. As the saying goes, "Eagle" is better in hand than pie in the sky.
11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Afinogen Offline Afinogen
    Afinogen (Afinogen) 20 January 2021 16: 22
    +1
    Already in the next 2022, the new flagship of the Russian Navy "Admiral Nakhimov" will be commissioned.

    It’s very interesting, what the fate of the villain has in store for this "Nakhimov"? I really want it not to be so, but facts are a stubborn thing, there was no ship named Nakhimov, so that nothing happened to it. Well, it's difficult to rename it, say, "Ushakov" Ushakov did not lose a single battle at sea.

    1. Restless Sagittarius (Vladimir) 20 January 2021 21: 36
      +2
      There is no rock. The armored cruiser Admiral Nakhimov that died in the Battle of Tsushima was an outdated, worn-out ship, and the renamed and hastily converted into a passenger ship Admiral Nakhimov, the captured transport ship Berlin, was also neither novelty nor crew-trained. the last flight before writing off the old trough on nails, which became fatal for him because of the curvature of two caps.
  2. zloybond Offline zloybond
    zloybond (steppenwolf) 20 January 2021 16: 33
    +1
    lately everyone has famously started scribbling articles on this ship. But like others, they are all far and wide the same. Suction of the same. In general, nothing new.
  3. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 20 January 2021 16: 49
    -2
    Like yesterday I already read exactly the same, here or not here.
    If you remember the proverb "bad dancer .... get in the way", then everything depends on the goals that are set.
    Maybe the goal is to learn how to modernize large ships?
  4. steelmaker Offline steelmaker
    steelmaker 20 January 2021 17: 03
    -1
    It is not clear when these 4-5 new frigates will actually appear.

    This is the right question. Therefore, they are right to modernize and not only ships. A tank T-72 and MIG-31. And let Putin modernize the galoshes!
    1. 123 Offline 123
      123 (123) 20 January 2021 17: 16
      +3
      Let Putin modernize the galoshes!

      What does the old one do not suit you? Wear it to your health, don't be picky laughing
  5. 123 Offline 123
    123 (123) 20 January 2021 17: 15
    +3
    Quite strange logic belay

    First, it is very expensive. According to preliminary estimates, "Admiral Nakhimov" should have cost the budget 50 billion rubles, but due to delays and the total complexity of the project, the amount has already increased to 80-90 billion, and as a result, it may reach 100. These funds can be used to build 4-5 brand new frigate project 22350 "Admiral Gorshkov".

    Secondly, it is a very long time, the long-term modernization of one TARK takes away the lion's share of the resources of the Sevmash enterprise, which could be used to build submarines of the Yasen series.

    First, you can't go to the supermarket and buy half a dozen frigates. The speed of their construction is due to the capabilities of the shipbuilding industry rather than lack of money. At the time of the beginning of the modernization of the cruiser, the serial production of frigates was not established. By 2022, we would not have received a cruiser or frigates.
    Secondly, this also applies to Sevmash. Borei and Yaseny are new projects, the argument that the modernization of the cruiser is delaying their construction is rather controversial. By the way, they plan to continue to produce 1 boat of each project per year. and "Nakhimov" has nothing to do with it.
    And finally, these are different ships. You yourself write that there are problems with ships of rank 1. And this is it, and the best in the world.
    1. Marzhecki Offline Marzhecki
      Marzhecki (Sergei) 21 January 2021 08: 32
      0
      Quote: 123
      First, you can't go to the supermarket and buy half a dozen frigates. The speed of their construction is due to the capabilities of the shipbuilding industry rather than lack of money. At the time of the beginning of the modernization of the cruiser, the serial production of frigates was not established. By 2022, we would not have received a cruiser or frigates.
      Secondly, this also applies to Sevmash. Borei and Yaseny are new projects, the argument that the modernization of the cruiser is delaying their construction is rather controversial. By the way, they plan to continue to produce 1 boat of each project per year. and "Nakhimov" has nothing to do with it.
      And finally, these are different ships. You yourself write that there are problems with ships of rank 1. And this is it, and the best in the world.

      Yes, I, in general, I wrote the same thing. In the article he objected to someone else's opinion.
      1. 123 Offline 123
        123 (123) 21 January 2021 14: 59
        0
        Yes, I actually did not reproach you, I automatically reacted to an error in reasoning. laughing
  6. Tektor Offline Tektor
    Tektor (Tektor) 20 January 2021 23: 06
    +2
    Even if we had not spent funds on Nakhimov, we would not have been able to send them to the construction of the Gorshkovs, because the production of the latter limits the production of components. And having a ship with an air defense range of 400 km is very important, because this completely solves the problem, driving AWACS beyond the horizon. This makes the enemy's actions extremely difficult. To have such a ship means to have a full-fledged KUG.
  7. Cat Offline Cat
    Cat (Sergei) 29 January 2021 00: 05
    +1
    Well no. Everything is correct. All the same, if it were not for his fashion, we would not have built 4-5 frigates. We can mold frigate hulls, but there are no power plants for them yet. We can produce only one set of the power plant every two years. It turns out that we would have been building these frigates for another 10 years ... And so we will get the strongest strike ship in the world. If only I would call him according to the English tradition - "NAKHIMOV"!

Променять пять фрегатов на один крейсер: модернизация «Нахимова» ошибочна?


Уже в следующем 2022 году в строй будет введен новый флагман ВМФ РФ «Адмирал Нахимов». Его собрат по серии 1141 «Петр Великий» тогда спустит флаг и направится на «Севмаш», где пройдет аналогичную модернизацию. Тяжелый атомный крейсер серьезно повысит ударную мощь и боевую устойчивость немногочисленного российского надводного флота, но, несмотря на это, звучат голоса, призывающие потратить эти средства на строительство новейших фрегатов. Кто же более прав в этой ситуации?


При СССР успели построить всего 4 ТАРК проекта «Орлан», гигантских «убийц авианосцев». Каждый из крейсеров имеет огромную ударную мощь, способную отправить на дно АУГ противника, а также неограниченную дальность хода, благодаря наличию 2 ядерных силовых установок. Главным оружием ТАРК являются противокорабельные ракеты «Гранит», также на борту имеется двуствольная автоматическая артиллерийская установка калибра 130 мм АК-130 с прицельной дальностью в 25 километров, два пятитрубных торпедных аппарата и три противолодочных вертолета. Для своего времени «Орланы» были по-настоящему грозным оружием.

Однако время и дефицит финансовых средств сделали свое черное дело. В строю остался только «Петр Великий». «Киров», он же «Адмирал Ушаков», выведен из состава флота и ждет утилизации. «Адмирал Лазарев» небоеспособен, законсервирован и застрял в подвешенном состоянии: денег на модернизацию нет, но и утилизировать его пока не решились. Лучше всех дела обстоят у «Адмирала Нахимова». На ремонт он формально был направлен еще в 1999 году, но выгрузка ядерного топлива началась лишь в 2008-м. Реальные работы по модернизации стартовали только в 2012 году, а сдача крейсера ожидалась в 2018 году. Как видим, сроки сдвинулись вправо, скептики и вовсе говорят про рубеж 2024-2025 годов.

Что же сделано с «Адмиралом Нахимовым» в рамках модернизации?

Прежде всего, замене подлежало все ракетное вооружение и система ПВО крейсера, поскольку они довольно сильно устарели, что привело к существенному снижению его боеспособности. Вместо 20 «Гранитов» установлено 80 ячеек универсальных установок вертикального пуска 3С14, соответственно в 4 раза выросло количество ракет в боезапасе. Увеличилась и их номенклатура: теперь это могут быть и дозвуковые «Калибры», предназначенные для поражения морских и наземных целей, и сверхзвуковые противокорабельные «Ониксы», а в перспективе – и гиперзвуковые «Цирконы».

Укрепилась и противовоздушная оборона. В ближней зоне «Панцирь-МЕ» заменил собой устаревший «Кортик», в средней зоне на расстоянии до 150 километров небо прикроет ЗРК «Редут». ЗРС «Форт-М» располагает 92 ячейками зенитных ракет, чтобы сбивать цели в радиусе до 200 километров. Специалисты указывают, что ТАРК сможет применять сверхдальнобойную зенитную ракету 40Н6, которой по силам поразить летящий объект на расстоянии до 400 километров. Для защиты от атак со стороны субмарин установлен комплекс «Пакет-НК», имеющий на оснащении тепловые торпеды МТТ и реактивные противоторпеды М-15.

Все это сделает «Адмирала Нахимова», а также другие крейсера данного проекта после их модернизации, более устойчивыми в противостоянии с АУГ противника. Всего один ТАРК во главе соединения судов, имея столь мощную систему ПВО, сможет легко держать в отдалении самолеты-разведчики и самолеты-помехопостановщики и даже сбить целое атакующее крыло палубной авиации. «Орланы» - это грозная сила, с которой придется считаться. Однако в каждой бочке меда есть своя ложка дегтя. Критики модернизации старых крейсеров высказывают вполне здравые аргументы против:

Во-первых, это очень дорого. «Адмирал Нахимов» по предварительным оценкам должен был обойтись бюджету в 50 миллиардов рублей, но из-за задержек и общей сложности проекта сумма уже возросла до 80-90 миллиардов, а в итоге может составить все 100. На эти средства можно построить 4-5 новеньких фрегата проекта 22350 «Адмирал Горшков». Их вооружение уступает «Адмиралу Нахимову», но лишь количественно. Однако оно тоже представлено «Калибрами», «Ониксами» и в перспективе – «Цирконами», ЗРК «Редут» и «Пакет-НК». Один гигантский крейсер с ядерной силовой установкой – это хорошо, но 5 фрегатов дальней морской зоны – возможно, еще лучше?


Во-вторых, это очень долго, многолетняя модернизация одного ТАРК отнимает львиную долю ресурсов предприятия «Севмаш», которые могли бы пойти на строительство подлодок серии «Ясень».

Действительно, большая доля правды во всем этом есть. Однако надо учитывать дополнительные факторы. Программа строительства больших надводных кораблей у нас фактически сорвана, а сроки постоянно срываются вправо. Корабли строятся очень медленно, немало этому поспособствовал разрыв промышленных связей с Украиной, которая отказалась поставлять для них силовые установки. Перспективный проект ракетного эсминца «Лидер» с ядерной силовой установкой положен под сукно. Когда реально появятся эти 4-5 новых фрегатов, непонятно. Зато уже есть в наличии несколько «Орланов», один взгляд на которые внушает трепет.

В этих условиях глубокая модернизация старых боевых кораблей является достаточно рациональным шагом, пока отечественное судостроение приходит в себя и проходит процесс импортозамещения ключевых компонентов. Как говорится, лучше «Орлан» в руке, чем журавль в небе.
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
11 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Афиноген Офлайн Афиноген
    Афиноген (Афиноген) 20 января 2021 16:22
    +1
    Уже в следующем 2022 году в строй будет введен новый флагман ВМФ РФ «Адмирал Нахимов».

    Очень интересно, чего судьба злодейка уготовила этому "Нахимову" ? Я очень хочу чтоб это было не так, но факты упрямая вещь, не было корабля с именем Нахимов, чтоб с ним ничего не случилось. Ну что трудно его переименовать скажем в "Ушаков" Ушаков не проиграл ни одного сражения на море.

    1. Стрелец неприкаянный (Владимир) 20 января 2021 21:36
      +2
      Нет никакого рока. Броненосный крейсер ,,Адмирал Нахимов'' погибший в Цусимском сражении был устаревшим изношенным кораблем, а переименованный и наскоро переделанный в пассажирский корабль ,,Адмирал Нахимов'' трофейный транспортный корабль ,,Берлин'' тоже ни новизной ни выучкой экипажа не отличался, это был последний рейс перед списанием старого корыта на гвозди, ставший для него роковым из за криворукости двух кепов.
  2. zloybond Офлайн zloybond
    zloybond (steppenwolf) 20 января 2021 16:33
    +1
    в последне время все лихо начали строчить статьи на тему этого корабля. Но как и другие все они вдоль и поперек одно и тоже. ОБсасывание одного и того же. В общем ничего нового.
  3. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 20 января 2021 16:49
    -2
    Вроде вчера уже читал точно такое же, здесь или не здесь.
    Если вспомнить пословицу "плохому танцору .... мешают", то все зависит от целей, что ставятся.
    Может, цель - научится модернизировать крупные корабли?
  4. сталевар Офлайн сталевар
    сталевар 20 января 2021 17:03
    -1
    Когда реально появятся эти 4-5 новых фрегатов, непонятно.

    Вот это правильный вопрос. Поэтому правильно делают, что модернизируют и не только корабли. А танк Т-72 и МИГ-31. А Путин пусть калоши модернизирует!
    1. 123 Онлайн 123
      123 (123) 20 января 2021 17:16
      +3
      Путин пусть калоши модернизирует!

      Чем вас старые не устраивают? Носите на здоровье, не привередничайте laughing
  5. 123 Онлайн 123
    123 (123) 20 января 2021 17:15
    +3
    Довольно странная логика belay

    Во-первых, это очень дорого. «Адмирал Нахимов» по предварительным оценкам должен был обойтись бюджету в 50 миллиардов рублей, но из-за задержек и общей сложности проекта сумма уже возросла до 80-90 миллиардов, а в итоге может составить все 100. На эти средства можно построить 4-5 новеньких фрегата проекта 22350 «Адмирал Горшков».

    Во-вторых, это очень долго, многолетняя модернизация одного ТАРК отнимает львиную долю ресурсов предприятия «Севмаш», которые могли бы пойти на строительство подлодок серии «Ясень».

    Во первых, нельзя пойти в супермаркет и купить пол десятка фрегатов. Скорость их строительства обусловлена скорее возможностями судостроительной отрасли а не отсутствием денег. На момент начала модернизации крейсера серийное производство фрегатов не было налажено. К 2022-му году мы бы не получили ни крейсер ни фрегаты.
    Во вторых, тоже касается и "Севмаша". Бореи и Ясени новые проекты, довод что модернизация крейсера затягивает их строительство довольно спорный. Кстати, их и дальше планируют выпускать по 1 лодке каждого проекта в год. и "Нахимов" здесь не причем.
    Ну и наконец это разные корабли. Вы же сами пишите что с кораблями 1 ранга проблемы. А это оно и есть, причем лучший в мире.
    1. Маржецкий Онлайн Маржецкий
      Маржецкий (Сергей) 21 января 2021 08:32
      0
      Цитата: 123
      Во первых, нельзя пойти в супермаркет и купить пол десятка фрегатов. Скорость их строительства обусловлена скорее возможностями судостроительной отрасли а не отсутствием денег. На момент начала модернизации крейсера серийное производство фрегатов не было налажено. К 2022-му году мы бы не получили ни крейсер ни фрегаты.
      Во вторых, тоже касается и "Севмаша". Бореи и Ясени новые проекты, довод что модернизация крейсера затягивает их строительство довольно спорный. Кстати, их и дальше планируют выпускать по 1 лодке каждого проекта в год. и "Нахимов" здесь не причем.
      Ну и наконец это разные корабли. Вы же сами пишите что с кораблями 1 ранга проблемы. А это оно и есть, причем лучший в мире.

      Да я, я общем, это же самое и написал. В статье возразил чужому мнению.
      1. 123 Онлайн 123
        123 (123) 21 января 2021 14:59
        0
        Да я собственно не вам в укор, на автомате на ошибку в рассуждениях среагировал. laughing
  6. Tektor Офлайн Tektor
    Tektor (Tektor) 20 января 2021 23:06
    +2
    Даже если бы мы не потратили средства на Нахимова, мы не смогли бы их направить на строительство Горшковых, т.к. производство последних ограничивает производство комплектующих. А иметь корабль с дальностью ПВО в 400 км очень важно, т.к. это полностью решает задачу, отгоняя за горизонт АВАКСы. Это крайне затрудняет действия противника. Иметь такой корабль означает иметь полноценную КУГ.
  7. Кошка Офлайн Кошка
    Кошка (Сергей) 29 января 2021 00:05
    +1
    Да нет. Все правильно. Все равно, если бы не занимались бы его модой, 4-5 фрегатов мы бы не построили. Корпуса фрегатов мы лепить можем, а вот силовые установки для них пока нет. Можем выпускать всего один комплект силовой установки, раз в два года. Получается, что эти фрегаты мы бы строили еще 10 лет...А так получим самый сильный ударный корабль в мире. Только бы я его назвал по английской традиции - "НАХИМОВ"!