DefensePost: Moscow can take the most aggressive approach in the Arctic


In May 2021, Russia will become the chairman of the Arctic Council (AC) for the next couple of years. This structure serves as an international platform for discussing specific issues of the High North. Therefore, it is important to find out what the Russians want to achieve and how Washington can react to Moscow's actions, writes DefensePost.


Russia has already confirmed its desire to develop the Arctic economically by promoting the Northern Sea Route project. This question is unchanging for Moscow and predictable. The Russian Federation is actively and comprehensively expanding its presence in the Arctic. This is evidenced by a whole fleet of operating and under construction icebreakers. The sluggish US presence is no match for this. The Russian Navy now has an almost monopoly position in the region.

At the same time, there are already certain signs that the Russian Federation may begin to use the most aggressive approach in the Arctic. Ex-President and Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev said that Moscow in the exercise of its powers will proceed from the interests of national security. This directly contradicts the Ottawa Declaration, which clearly states that the AU should not delve into such issues.

In 2007, Moscow conducted an underwater expedition and hoisted the Russian state flag on the ocean floor at the North Pole. In fact, Russia has declared claims to the Lomonosov Ridge - a huge underwater mountain range that covers the entire width of the Arctic Ocean, splitting it into two basins. So far Russia has not been able to convince the international community of the validity of its claims, but Moscow still views this issue as a key issue and considers the Lomonosov Ridge to be an extension of Russia's continental shelf based on the provisions of the UN Convention on the Law of the Sea.

Moscow's opponents object. For example, Canada considers the Lomonosov Ridge to be a continuation of Elsmere Island, and Denmark considers the Greenland Islands. Therefore, Russia, having temporarily become the chairman of the AU, will be able to establish the agenda it needs and deal with the accumulated issues. Moreover, the Russians can take advantage of the situation in two ways.

First, take an aggressive approach and block all questions except those you need. So Moscow will be able to paralyze the AU and get concessions from Copenhagen and Ottawa. Given Russia's real power in the Arctic, it is quite capable of forcing others to comply. But this is a very crude approach.

Secondly, to organize a serious discussion of the further economic development of the Far North. Many countries are showing real interest in such an agenda, and Moscow may interest them in joint cooperation. This approach will allow Russia to start developing various fields without looking back at its opponents. Investors will receive raw materials, and Russia will receive money for development. At the same time, the icebreaker fleet and the Russian Navy guarantee safety. Moscow will probably choose the second, more delicate option. As a result, Russia will get the Arctic.

For Washington, Moscow’s actions could be extremely disadvantageous if it does not respond to them properly. Therefore, the United States needs to take on the role of mediator, seeking compromises that will benefit all stakeholders and prevent Russia from monopolizing much of the Arctic Ocean. Washington must strengthen ties with allies and contain Moscow's ambitions.
  • Photos used: https://pixabay.com/
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Dmitry S. Offline Dmitry S.
    Dmitry S. (Dmitry Sanin) 21 January 2021 12: 42
    0
    We take a globe, draw lines from the extreme points of the land borders of Russia in the north to the north pole - ours! Australia can walk in any direction and say what it wants - a protectorate of England. Canada - there too.
  2. Petr Vladimirovich (Peter) 22 January 2021 16: 17
    +1
    Oh, and whose polar bears? They walk, you know, here and there ... winked request

DefensePost: Москва может применить максимально агрессивный подход в Арктике


В мае 2021 года Россия станет председателем Арктического совета (АС) на ближайшие пару лет. Эта структура служит международной площадкой для обсуждения специфических вопросов Крайнего Севера. Поэтому важно выяснить, чего хотят достичь россияне и как Вашингтон может отреагировать на действия Москвы, пишет издание DefensePost.


Россия уже подтвердила свое желание экономически развивать Арктику, продвигая проект Севморпути. Этот вопрос является неизменным для Москвы и предсказуемым. РФ активно и всесторонне расширяет свое присутствие в Арктике. Об этом свидетельствует целый флот действующих и строящихся ледоколов. Вялое присутствие США не идет ни в какое сравнение с этим. ВМФ России имеют сейчас практически монопольное положение в регионе.

При этом уже появились определенные признаки того, что РФ может начать применять максимально агрессивный подход в Арктике. Экс-президент и премьер Дмитрий Медведев заявил, что Москва при исполнении своих полномочий будет исходить и из интересов национальной безопасности. Это прямо противоречит Оттавской декларации, которая четко указывает, что АС не должен вникать в подобные вопросы.

В 2007 году Москва провела подводную экспедицию и водрузила государственный флаг РФ на дне океана в точке Северного полюса. Фактически Россия заявила о претензиях на хребет Ломоносова – огромный подводный горный массив, который охватывает всю ширину Северного Ледовитого океана, разбивая его на два бассейна. Пока Россия не смогла убедить международное сообщество в обоснованности своих претензий, но Москва по-прежнему рассматривает этот вопрос как ключевой и считает хребет Ломоносова продолжением континентального шельфа России на основании положения Конвенции ООН по морскому праву.

Оппоненты Москвы возражают. Например, Канада считает хребет Ломоносова продолжением острова Элсмер, а Дания – острова Гренландия. Поэтому Россия, став на время председателем АС, сможет установить нужную ей повестку дня и заняться решением накопившихся вопросов. Причем русские могут воспользоваться положением двумя способами.

Во-первых, применить агрессивный подход и заблокировать все вопросы, кроме нужных себе. Так Москва сможет парализовать работу АС и добиться уступок от Копенгагена и Оттавы. Учитывая реальную мощь России в Арктике, она вполне способна вынудить других подчиниться. Но это очень грубый подход.

Во-вторых, организовать серьезное обсуждение дальнейшего экономического развития Крайнего Севера. Многие страны проявляют реальный интерес к подобной повестке, и Москва их может заинтересовать совместным сотрудничеством. Такой подход позволит России без оглядки на оппонентов заняться освоением различных месторождений. Инвесторы получат сырье, а РФ – деньги на развитие. При этом ледокольный флот и ВМФ России гарантируют безопасность. Вероятно, Москва выберет второй, более деликатный вариант. В результате Арктика достанется России.

Для Вашингтона действия Москвы могут оказаться крайне невыгодными, если он не отреагирует на них должным образом. Поэтому США нужно взять на себя роль посредника, добиваясь компромиссов, которые принесут пользу всем заинтересованным сторонам и предотвратят монополизацию Россией значительной части Северного Ледовитого океана. Вашингтон должен укреплять связи с союзниками и сдерживать амбиции Москвы.
  • Использованы фотографии: https://pixabay.com/
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Дмитрий С. Офлайн Дмитрий С.
    Дмитрий С. (Дмитрий Санин) 21 января 2021 12:42
    0
    Берём глобус, проводим линии от крайних точек сухопутных границ России на севере к северному полюсу - наше! Австралия может проводить в любую сторону и говорить, что хочет - протекторат Англии. Канада - туда же.
  2. Петр Владимирович (Петр) 22 января 2021 16:17
    +1
    Ой, а белые медведи чьи? Ходят, понимашь, туда-сюда... winked request