Why did Egypt buy Russian MiG-29Ms when it already had American F-16s


After the overthrow of the Western-oriented Islamist government in 2013, Egypt has moved to closer cooperation with Russia on defense. At that time, the Egyptian Air Force had about 200 American F-16C fighters. But Cairo bought Russian MiG-29Ms, although at that time they did not have any fundamentally new capabilities compared to American combat vehicles. The reasons for the purchase of the Russian MiG-29M by the Egyptians were examined by the Military Watch experts.


Since the mid-1970s, when Egypt ended its defense partnership with the Soviet Union and turned towards NATO, the country has nevertheless been denied access to advanced fighters such as the F-15 Eagle and F-14 Tomcat. On the other hand, such "privileged" partners of the United States as Japan, Iran, Saudi Arabia and Israel received these combat aircraft, which put Egypt at a clear disadvantage compared to its neighbors. Over time, Cairo managed to acquire F-16 fighters, but the Americans greatly reduced the supply of ammunition for them. Therefore, Egypt has decided to buy Russian MiG-29M.

At the time of Egypt's acquisition of the MiG-29, this aircraft was the oldest and least sophisticated Russian fighter, but it represented a major upgrade from the even more outdated F-16C, given the circumstances in which American aircraft were operated. It is important to note that Russia did not in any way limit the use of the supplied combat vehicles by Cairo and did not cut sales of the necessary components.

Moreover, the Russians gave the Egyptians access to the R-27ER and R-77 long-range air-to-air missiles, which, for the first time in decades, provided Egypt with modern capabilities for air warfare. This was vital to maintain a certain parity with the Israeli F-16 and F-15. In addition, the MiG-29Ms purchased by Egypt were more advanced in technical terms than the MiG-29s of neighboring Syria, Libya and Sudan - they had a larger supply of fuel, more powerful engines and modern electronic filling, as well as electronic warfare systems.

The purchase of the MiG-29M largely laid the foundation for Cairo's future purchases of modern Russian combat aircraft - primarily the MiG-35 fighter of the 4 ++ generation, as well as the more advanced Su-35.
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Michael1950 Offline Michael1950
    Michael1950 (Michael) 22 January 2021 12: 39
    -1
    - As Sisi does not want to "put all eggs in one basket" ...
  2. Barmaley_2 Offline Barmaley_2
    Barmaley_2 (Barmaley) 22 January 2021 13: 27
    +1
    Why not make some money on the Egyptians? Selling is better than the USSR handed out for nothing, and even with zero result. One hell of the Egyptians are no warriors and don't sell them anything, but there will be no sense - at least drive the Death Star.
  3. Cucumbers Offline Cucumbers
    Cucumbers (Cucumbers) 22 January 2021 13: 56
    +2
    Egypt could purchase any Russian fighters. There is a question of price. MiG-29m. Were the cheapest, but well stuffed. Maintenance, operation is cheaper, the car is reliable.
  4. Semyon Semyonov_2 (Semyon Semyonov) 23 January 2021 09: 04
    +2
    Good.))
    And the Bibiptans will not regret it.

Почему Египет купил российские МиГ-29М, когда у него уже были американские F-16


После свержения ориентированного на Запад исламистского правительства в 2013 году Египет перешел к более тесному сотрудничеству с Россией в сфере обороны. На тот момент в египетских ВВС числилось порядка 200 американских истребителей F-16C. Но Каир закупил российские МиГ-29М, хотя в то время они не обладали какими-либо принципиально новыми возможностями по сравнению с американскими боевыми машинами. В причинах покупки египтянами российских МиГ-29М разбирались эксперты Military Watch.


С середины 1970-х годов, когда Египет прекратил свое оборонное партнерство с Советским Союзом и повернулся в сторону НАТО, стране, тем не менее, было отказано в доступе к современным истребителям, таким как F-15 Eagle и F-14 Tomcat. Такие «привилегированные» партнеры США, как Япония, Иран, Саудовская Аравия и Израиль, напротив, получили эти боевые летательные машины, что поставило Египет в явно невыгодное положение по сравнению с соседями. Со временем Каиру удалось приобрести истребители F-16, однако американцы сильно урезали поставки боеприпасов к ним. Поэтому Египет принял решение купить российские МиГ-29М.

На момент приобретения Египтом МиГ-29 этот самолет был самым старым и наименее совершенным российским истребителем, однако он представлял собой серьезную модернизацию по сравнению с еще более устаревшими F-16C, учитывая обстоятельства, в которых эксплуатировались американские самолеты. Важно заметить, что Россия никак не ограничивала использование Каиром поставленных боевых машин и не урезала продажи необходимых комплектующих.

Более того, россияне открыли египтянам доступ к ракетам дальнего действия «воздух-воздух» Р-27ЭР и Р-77, которые впервые за десятилетия предоставили Египту современные возможности для ведения боевых действий в воздухе. Это было жизненно важно для сохранения определенного паритета с израильскими F-16 и F-15. Кроме того, купленные Египтом МиГ-29М были более совершенны в техническом плане, чем МиГ-29 соседних Сирии, Ливии и Судана – они обладали большим запасом топлива, более мощными двигателями и современной электронной начинкой, а также системами радиоэлектронной борьбы.

Покупка МиГ-29М в значительной степени заложила основу для будущих закупок Каиром современных российских боевых самолетов – в первую очередь истребителя МиГ-35 поколения «4 ++», а также более совершенных Су-35.
4 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Michael1950 Офлайн Michael1950
    Michael1950 (Michael) 22 января 2021 12:39
    -1
    - Ас Сиси не хочет "складывать все яйца в одну корзину"...
  2. Barmaley_2 Офлайн Barmaley_2
    Barmaley_2 (Barmaley) 22 января 2021 13:27
    +1
    почему бы на египтянах не подзаработать?Продать - это ж лучше, чем задарма СССР раздавал, да ещё и с нулевым результатом.Один чёрт с египтян никакие вояки и им что не продай, но толку не будет- хоть Звезду Смерти подгони .
  3. Огурцов Офлайн Огурцов
    Огурцов (Огурцов) 22 января 2021 13:56
    +2
    Египет мог закупить любые российские истребители. Тут вопрос цены. Миг-29м .были самые дешёвые, но нафаршированы хорошо. Обслуживание, эксплуатация дешевле, машина надёжная.
  4. Семен Семенов_2 (Семен Семенов) 23 января 2021 09:04
    +2
    Годно.))
    И бибиптяне об этом не пожалеют.