How the latest Russian frigates are settling in the Mediterranean


Until recently, the NATO navy dominated the Black and Mediterranean Seas. However, after 2014, a lot has changed: Crimea became part of Russia, the Russian Black Sea Fleet began to replenish with new surface ships and submarines, the air defense system and the coastal defense of the peninsula were strengthened. And since 2015, Russian warships and submarines have been permanently registered in the Mediterranean.


All this is very much disliked by the NATO bloc. The area of ​​responsibility of the US Sixth Fleet includes the Mediterranean Sea, the African coast, and access to the Atlantic via Gibraltar. Its flagship is the landing / combined command ship Mount Whitney, but the fleet does not have a permanent composition, ships change on a rotational basis. If necessary, the Americans can send a couple of aircraft carriers, cruisers, destroyers, landing ships and strategic nuclear submarines to the region, as well as marines. The US Sixth Fleet reached its peak in 2003.

It is quite possible that soon a gradual build-up of the group will begin in response to the strengthening of Russia's military presence in the Mediterranean, from which everyone has managed to get out of the habit. Our military contingent is stationed in Syria, and in Tartus, the Russian Defense Ministry has equipped a real naval base. Also, a logistics point was opened for the Russian Navy in Sudan, which is already further across the globe, on the Red Sea. Russian warships periodically visit to the Spanish Ceuta, which is located directly opposite the British Gibraltar across the strait. Recently, our newest frigate Admiral Kasatonov made a friendly visit to Algeria en route from Severomorsk, where it replenished supplies of fuel, water and food.

This is how we are gradually settling down on the Mediterranean Sea. The Russian connection in the region officially has 10 surface ships and 2 diesel-electric submarines. NATO analysts counted other numbers: they had 19 ships, they also suggested that the secret presence of Russian nuclear submarines is possible. This, of course, is not a "Spanish armada", but our fleet in the Eastern Mediterranean still has a certain weight. Mainly thanks to frigates and RTOs equipped with guided missile weapons.

The aforementioned "Admiral Kasatonov" is the second project 22350 frigate of the "Admiral Gorshkov" class. This series should become the basis of the Russian fleet of the far sea zone, but it faced a lot of difficulties. Perhaps the main problem was Ukraine's refusal to supply power plants for frigates to Russia. In reality, "Admiral of the Fleet of the Soviet Union Gorshkov" and "Admiral of the Fleet Kasatonov" are already in service, but six more frigates have been laid down and are being built. "Admiral Golovko" is expected this year, "Admiral Isakov" - another year. It is reportedthat the shipyard began to receive power plants (DGTA) M55R already of Russian production, the first of which is installed on the "Admiral Golovko". This is very good news, because it means overcoming dependence on the Ukrainian military-industrial complex in shipbuilding. There is reason to believe that the entire series of frigates will be completed.

And that's just great. Each such warship is a serious striking force due to the presence of universal launchers that can carry 16 Kalibr-NK cruise missiles or anti-ship Onyxes, and in the future - hypersonic Zircons. From the air, the frigates are covered by the Redut, Broadsword, and electronic warfare systems, and the Packet-NK complex and the Ka-27 anti-submarine helicopter protect them from the threat from submarines. This is a military force to be reckoned with.

These frigates also have "little brothers" of Project 11356, which are more correctly called multipurpose patrol ships. They owe their appearance in the Russian Navy to problems with the 22350 series; the project of the export "Indian" frigate 11356 of the "Talvar" type had to be modernized. Of course, they are inferior to older brothers like "Gorshkov", but they can also perform a number of tasks.

First, their anti-submarine warfare capabilities have been seriously improved. Radar type "Fregat-M2M" provides detection and guidance of targets, on board there are 2 paired 533 mm torpedo tubes DTA-53-11356 and one RBU-6000 rocket launcher, as well as an anti-submarine helicopter Ka-27PL or Ka-31. Secondly, they also carry guided missile weapons, Caliber cruise missiles. Unfortunately, because of the design features, anti-ship Onyxes cannot be installed on modernized patrol boats. However, 8 "Caliber" is still 8 "Caliber", in the Syrian campaign cruise missiles of this type successfully hit ground targets at a distance of up to 1500 kilometers. You can also shoot at the enemy from a frigate from a 100-mm caliber artillery complex.

As the fleet saturates, missile frigates of both projects contribute to deterring a potential enemy and strengthening Russia's military presence in the Mediterranean.
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Alexander K_2 Offline Alexander K_2
    Alexander K_2 (Alexander K) 22 January 2021 18: 27
    -3
    Where will all this Armada refuel when the diesel fuel runs out? You can't get dung from Severomorsk.
    1. Ulysses Offline Ulysses
      Ulysses (Alexey) 23 January 2021 22: 50
      +2
      In Tartus.
      Is this news to you?
      1. Alexander K_2 Offline Alexander K_2
        Alexander K_2 (Alexander K) 23 January 2021 23: 10
        -3
        Please read the article carefully:

        As needed, the Americans can send a couple of aircraft carriers, cruisers, destroyers, landing ships and strategic nuclear submarines to the region, as well as marines.

        What weight can the mentioned "Admiral Kasatonov" have in the Mediterranean? I agree with you, maybe in Tartus it will be enough for one refueling, but this frigate is not able to perform any task, except for demonstrating the flag!
  2. stepet Offline stepet
    stepet 27 January 2021 13: 32
    -5
    Until recently, the NATO navy dominated the Black and Mediterranean seas. However, after 2014, a lot has changed: Crimea became part of Russia, the Black Sea Fleet of the Russian Federation began to replenish with new surface ships and submarines, the air defense system and the coastal defense of the peninsula were strengthened.

    It would be a good epilogue for humoresque.
    The RF Armed Forces are powerless against the Armed Forces of NATO countries.
    But there will be no hot war - the West is satisfied with the hybrid war launched in 2014. The result of which is known in advance. The USSR held out in such a war for 12 years.

Как новейшие российские фрегаты обживаются в Средиземном море


До недавнего времени военно-морской флот НАТО доминировал в акватории Черного и Средиземного морей. Однако после 2014 года многое изменилось: Крым перешел в состав России, Черноморский флот РФ начал пополняться новыми надводными кораблями и подводными лодками, укрепилась система ПВО и береговая оборона полуострова. А с 2015 года российские боевые корабли и субмарины на постоянной основе прописались и в Средиземноморье.


Все это очень не нравится блоку НАТО. В зону ответственности Шестого флота США входят Средиземное море, африканское побережье, выход в Атлантику через Гибралтар. Его флагманом является десантный/комбинированный штабной корабль Mount Whitney, но постоянного состава флот не имеет, корабли меняются на ротационной основе. По мере необходимости американцы могут направить в регион пару авианосцев, крейсера, эсминцы, десантные корабли и стратегические АПЛ, а также морскую пехоту. Пика военной мощи Шестой флот США достигал в 2003 году.

Вполне возможно, что в скоро времени начнется постепенное наращивание группировки в ответ на усиление военного присутствия России в Средиземноморье, от которого все успели порядком отвыкнуть. Наш воинский контингент разместился в Сирии, а в Тартусе Минобороны РФ оборудовало настоящую военно-морскую базу. Также открыт пункт материально-технического снабжения для ВМФ РФ в Судане, что уже дальше по глобусу, на Красном море. Российские боевые корабли периодически наведываются в испанскую Сеуту, что находится строго напротив британского Гибралтара через пролив. Недавно наш новейший фрегат «Адмирал Касатонов» зашел с дружественным визитом в Алжир по пути из Североморска, где пополнил запасы топлива, воды и продовольствия.

Этак «тихой сапой» мы постепенно обживаемся на Средиземном море. Российское соединение в регионе официально насчитывает 10 надводных кораблей и 2 ДЭПЛ. Аналитики НАТО насчитали другие цифры: у них вышло 19 кораблей, также они предположили, что возможно скрытное присутствие российских АПЛ. Это, конечно, не «испанская армада», но определенный вес наш флот в Восточном Средиземноморье все же имеет. В основном, благодаря фрегатам и МРК, оснащенным управляемым ракетным оружием.

Упомянутый «Адмирал Касатонов» представляет собой второй фрегат проекта 22350 типа «Адмирал Горшков». Данная серия должна стать основой российского флота дальней морской зоны, но она столкнулась с массой трудностей. Пожалуй, главной проблемой стал отказ Украины от поставок в Россию силовых установок для фрегатов. Реально в строю стоят уже «Адмирал флота Советского Союза Горшков» и «Адмирал флота Касатонов», но заложены и строятся еще шесть фрегатов. «Адмирал Головко» ожидается в этом году, «Адмирал Исаков» - еще через год. Сообщается, что на верфи начали поступать силовые установки (ДГТА) М55Р уже российского производства, первая из которых устанавливается на «Адмирале Головко». Это очень хорошая новость, поскольку означает преодоление зависимости от украинского ВПК в судостроении. Есть основания полагать, что вся серия фрегатов будет достроена.

И это просто замечательно. Каждый такой боевой корабль представляет собой серьезную ударную силу благодаря наличию универсальных пусковых установок, позволяющих нести 16 крылатых ракет «Калибр-НК» или противокорабельных «Ониксов», а в перспективе – гиперзвуковых «Цирконов». С воздуха фрегаты прикрывает ЗРК «Редут», «Палаш» и система РЭБ, от угрозы со стороны субмарин их защищают комплекс «Пакет-НК» и противолодочный вертолёт Ка-27. Это та военная сила, с которой придется считаться.

Есть у этих фрегатов и «младшие братья» проекта 11356, которые правильнее называть многоцелевыми сторожевыми кораблями. Своим появлением в составе ВМФ РФ они обязаны проблемам с серией 22350, пришлось модернизировать проект экспортного «индийского» фрегата 11356 типа «Тальвар». Конечно, они уступают старшим братьям вроде «Горшкова», но тоже могут выполнять ряд задач.

Во-первых, серьезно улучшены их возможности по противолодочной борьбе. РЛС типа «Фрегат-М2М» обеспечивает обнаружение и ведение целей, на борту имеются 2 спаренных 533 мм торпедных аппарата ДТА-53-11356 и одна реактивная бомбометная установка РБУ-6000, а также противолодочный вертолет Ка-27ПЛ или Ка-31. Во-вторых, они также несут управляемое ракетное оружие, крылатые ракеты «Калибр». К сожалению, из-за особенностей конструкции противокорабельные «Ониксы» на модернизированных сторожевиках не поставишь. Однако 8 «Калибров» - это все же 8 «Калибров», в сирийской кампании крылатые ракеты этого типа успешно поражали наземные цели на расстоянии до 1500 километров. Также пострелять по противнику с фрегата можно из артиллерийского комплекса 100-мм калибра.

По мере насыщения флота ракетные фрегаты обоих проектов вносят свой вклад в сдерживание потенциального противника и усиление военного присутствия России в Средиземноморье.
4 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Александр К_2 (Александр К) 22 января 2021 18:27
    -3
    Где будет заправляться вся эта Армада, когда закончится солярка? С Североморска не навозишься.
    1. Улисс Онлайн Улисс
      Улисс (Алексей) 23 января 2021 22:50
      +2
      В Тартусе.
      Это для вас новость?
      1. Александр К_2 (Александр К) 23 января 2021 23:10
        -3
        Пожалуйста читайте внимательно статью:

        По мере необходимости американцы могут направить в регион пару авианосцев, крейсера, эсминцы, десантные корабли и стратегические АПЛ, а также морскую пехоту.

        Какой вес может иметь в Средиземном море упомянутый «Адмирал Касатонов»? Соглашусь с Вами может в Тартусе и хватит на одну заправку, но никакой задачи, кроме как демонстрации флага, выполнить этот фрегат не в состоянии!
  2. stepet Офлайн stepet
    stepet 27 января 2021 13:32
    -5
    До недавнего времени военно-морской флот НАТО доминировал в акватории Черного и Средиземного морей. Однако после 2014 года многое изменилось: Крым перешел в состав России, Черноморский флот РФ начал пополняться новыми надводными кораблями и подводными лодками, укрепилась система ПВО и береговая оборона полуострова.

    Хороший был бы эпилог для юморески.
    ВС РФ бессильны против ВС стран НАТО.
    Но никакогой горячей войны не будет - Западу достаточно и начатой в 2014 г. гибридной войны. Результат которой известен заранее. СССР в такой войне продержался 12 лет.