Brazilian president may find himself in the dock in the Hague


The incumbent President of Brazil, Jair Bolsonaro, may appear before an international criminal court and find himself in the dock of the tribunal in The Hague on charges of crimes against humanity, writes the British newspaper The Guardian.


On January 22, 2021, a renowned French lawyer from Paris, William Bourdon, filed a petition in the Netherlands on behalf of indigenous peoples and human rights organizations in Brazil.

The applicants want the ICC to investigate Bolsonalu's activities. They claim that he violated the guaranteed rights of indigenous peoples (residents) by eliminating the country's environmental policiesthan put people on the brink of survival. Human rights activists do not hesitate to compare this with environmental genocide and demand that the president be punished.

Now ICC Attorney General Fatou Bensouda of The Gambia will have to determine whether there are grounds for an investigation into the Brazilian leader.

It should be noted that the ICC is not limited by the terms of consideration of such documents. However, the lawyer insists that "this is a very urgent matter" on which people's lives depend and therefore he asks the ICC to speed up the process.

We're racing, considering the destruction of the Amazon

- emphasized the lawyer.

Bolsonaro is known for his extreme right-wing views and scandalous statements. He came to power in Brazil in 2019, defeating Fernando Addada in elections. Since then, according to the claimants, gigantic tracts of rainforest have been destroyed and the existence of traditional communities has been threatened.

In two years, 50% more forests were cut down than in the previous decade. Environmental pollution has led to an increase in invasion (human infection with various parasites) by 135%. In 2020, at least 18 people were killed as a result of conflicts over land. At the same time, the Brazilian federal authorities in 2019 reduced the fines for environmental crimes in the Amazon by 42%, and in 2020 reduced the allocation of money from the budget to support the ecology and indigenous peoples of the vast region by 27,4%.
  • Photos used: Senado Federal / https: //www.flickr.com
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Uneven Offline Uneven
    Uneven (VADIM STOLBOV) 24 January 2021 13: 27
    -4
    For such trifles to The Hague ?! I suppose that the Kremlin fell into a stupor from this information ...
    1. oderih Offline oderih
      oderih (Alex) 24 January 2021 19: 14
      0
      So this is your syavka, heh heh, you can eat

Бразильский президент может оказаться на скамье подсудимых в Гааге


Действующий президент Бразилии Жаир Болсонару может предстать перед международным уголовным судом и оказаться на скамье подсудимых трибунала в Гааге по обвинению в преступлениях против человечности, пишет британская газета The Guardian.


22 января 2021 года известный французский адвокат из Парижа Уильям Бурдон подал в Нидерландах соответствующее ходатайство от имени коренных народов и правозащитных организаций Бразилии.

Заявители хотят, чтобы МУС провел расследование деятельности Болсоналу. Они утверждают, что он нарушил гарантированные права коренных народов (жителей), ликвидировав существовавшую в стране экологическую политику, чем поставил людей на грань выживания. Правозащитники не стесняясь сравнили это с экологическим геноцидом и требуют наказать президента.

Теперь главный прокурор МУС Фату Бенсуда из Гамбии должна будет определить, имеются ли основания для проведения расследования в отношении руководителя бразильского государства.

Нужно отметить, что МУС не ограничен сроками рассмотрения подобных документов. Однако адвокат настаивает, что «это очень срочный вопрос», от которого зависят жизни людей и поэтому он просит МУС ускорить процесс.

Мы бежим наперегонки, учитывая разрушение Амазонки

– подчеркнул адвокат.

Болсонару известен своими крайне правыми взглядами и скандальными заявлениями. Он пришел к власти в Бразилии в 2019 году, победив на выборах Фернанду Аддада. С тех пор, как утверждают заявители, гигантские массивы тропических лесов были уничтожены, а существование традиционных общин оказались под угрозой.

За два года было вырублено на 50% леса больше, чем в предыдущее десятилетие. Загрязнение окружающей среды привело к росту инвазии (заражению человека различными паразитами) на 135%. В 2020 году в результате конфликтов за землю было убито как минимум 18 человек. При этом федеральные власти Бразилии в 2019 году уменьшили на 42% штрафы за экологические преступления в бассейне Амазонки, а в 2020 году сократили выделение денег из бюджета на поддержку экологии и коренных народов обширного региона на 27,4%.
  • Использованы фотографии: Senado Federal/https://www.flickr.com
2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Uneven Офлайн Uneven
    Uneven (ВАДИМ СТОЛБОВ) 24 января 2021 13:27
    -4
    За такие мелочи в Гаагу?! Предполагаю что в Кремле от этой информации впали в ступор...
    1. oderih Онлайн oderih
      oderih (Алекс) 24 января 2021 19:14
      0
      Так это ваша сявка.Хе хе.Можете скушать