The war in Donbass forced the United States to urgently create a new air defense system


The war in eastern Ukraine forced the United States to urgently create a short-range air defense system based on the Stryker armored vehicle. The main goal of the new complex is the independent detection and destruction of air objects, especially drones, as well as helicopters, aircraft and cruise missiles. On the features of the new military equipment writes Defense Express.


Leonardo DRS Inc. On January 21, announced the delivery of the first sets of equipment to the US troops for 28 self-propelled short-range air defense systems IM-SHORAD (Initial Maneuver Short-Range Air Defense) manufactured by General Dynamics Land Systems for their final integration into the new modification of Stryker combat vehicles.

The central element of the air defense system is a tower with an integrated combat module RIwP (Reconfigurable Integrated-weapons Platform). Its peculiarity, among other things, consists in the abundance of means for destroying both air and ground targets: this is a 7,62-mm M240 machine gun, a 30-mm XM914 cannon, Longbow HELLFIRE missiles for destroying ground and air targets, as well as Stinger anti-aircraft missiles.

The combat module also includes an onboard multifunctional MHR in the form of a hemisphere (Multi-Mission Hemispheric Radar) to provide continuous 360-degree surveillance of the air situation, target recognition and other things, as well as electro-optical sensors.

In 2015, the US Congress Research Service drew certain conclusions from the Russian-Ukrainian confrontation in the Donbas. The US military recognized the gap in the lack of automated short-range air defense systems to defeat, including UAVs. According to analysts, since then the situation in this regard has only worsened.


We see that small countries and rebel armies are well equipped with combat drones. The IM-SHORAD complex should become a highly effective means of combating a small number of drones, but it may collide with numerous UAVs and will be unable to cope with them. Many countries are already working to create swarms of hundreds or even thousands of drones capable of coordinating attacks without direct human control.

- Critics of the American air defense system believe.

IM-SHORAD costs about $ 8 million. The United States plans to purchase 144 such complexes, although this is unlikely to be enough to protect every armored unit, military base or convoy.
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. boriz Online boriz
    boriz (boriz) 25 January 2021 16: 04
    0
    IM-SHORAD costs about $ 8 million.

    Prematurely. Should be worth... This will be more accurate. But life shows otherwise.

    The United States plans to purchase 144 such complexes,

    Which are not yet. And what, in Europe without this going to fight? Oh well ...
  2. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 27 January 2021 11: 41
    0
    Alas. The right approach. Cheap and angry. just for drones
  3. Michael1950 Offline Michael1950
    Michael1950 (Michael) 27 January 2021 12: 20
    0
    Quote: boriz
    IM-SHORAD costs about $ 8 million.

    Prematurely. Should be worth... This will be more accurate. But life shows otherwise.
    The United States plans to purchase 144 such complexes,

    Which are not yet. And what, in Europe without this going to fight? Oh well ...

    - This air defense system is for the smallest trifles, inclusive. For something larger (such as Bayraktar), the Americans have already purchased an Israeli mobile version of the Iron Dome and are going to establish licensed production of these air defense systems.



    For very small drones, the following system is on the way:

    1. boriz Online boriz
      boriz (boriz) 27 January 2021 14: 14
      0
      In general, this IM-SHORAD makes a strange impression. Squalor.
      SAM type Pantsir C1 they do not have close. And how to provide direct cover for the troops?
      The choice of missiles is about nothing. Here is a comparative analysis. https://topwar.ru/154329-smozhet-li-im-shorad-polozhit-na-lopatki-pancir-s1-poka-vremja-igraet-v-nashu-polzu.html
  4. Michael1950 Offline Michael1950
    Michael1950 (Michael) 27 January 2021 23: 49
    -1
    Quote: boriz
    In general, this IM-SHORAD makes a strange impression. Squalor.
    SAM type Pantsir C1 they do not have close. And how to provide direct cover for the troops?
    The choice of missiles is about nothing. Here is a comparative analysis. https://topwar.ru/154329-smozhet-li-im-shorad-polozhit-na-lopatki-pancir-s1-poka-vremja-igraet-v-nashu-polzu.html

    - Actually, the radar station (Israeli) is better there than the "Pantsir":
    https://www.rada.com/products/mhr
    So, there are huge prospects for an upgrade - if instead of the Stinger anti-aircraft missiles, you put something bigger and with a thermal imaging seeker. Or modify the "Stinger" by adding a small booster to it ...

Война на Донбассе заставила США срочно создать новый ЗРК


Война на востоке Украины заставила США срочно создать ЗРК малого радиуса действия на базе бронемашины Stryker. Главная цель нового комплекса – самостоятельное обнаружение и уничтожение воздушных объектов, особенно беспилотников, а также вертолетов, самолетов и крылатых ракет. Об особенностях новой военной техники пишет Defense Express.


Фирма Leonardo DRS Inc. 21 января объявила о поставках в американские войска первых комплектов оборудования для 28 самоходных зенитно-ракетных комплексов малой дальности IM-SHORAD (Initial Maneuver Short-Range Air Defense) производства General Dynamics Land Systems для их окончательной интеграции в боевые машины Stryker новой модификации.

Центральный элемент ЗРК – башня с интегрированным боевым модулем RIwP (Reconfigurable Integrated-weapons Platform). Ее особенность, среди прочего, состоит в обилии средств уничтожения как воздушных, так и наземных целей: это 7,62-мм пулемет M240, 30-мм пушка XM914, ракеты Longbow HELLFIRE для поражения наземных и воздушных объектов, а также зенитные ракеты Stinger.

Боевой модуль также включает бортовой многофункциональный радар MHR в форме полусферы (Multi-Mission Hemispheric Radar) для обеспечения постоянного 360-градусного наблюдения за воздушной обстановкой, распознавания целей и прочего, а также электронно-оптические сенсоры.

В 2015 году Исследовательская служба Конгресса США сделала определенные выводы из российско-украинского противостояния на Донбассе. Американские военные осознали пробел в отсутствии автоматизированных систем ПВО ближнего радиуса действия для поражения, в том числе, БПЛА. По мнению аналитиков, с тех пор ситуация в этом плане лишь ухудшилась.


Мы наблюдаем неплохую оснащенность малых стран и повстанческих армий боевыми дронами. Комплекс IM-SHORAD должен стать высокоэффективным средством борьбы с небольшим числом беспилотников, однако он может столкнуться с многочисленными БПЛА и будет не способен с ними справиться. Многие страны уже работают над созданием роев из сотен или даже тысяч дронов, способных координировать свои атаки без прямого человеческого контроля

– полагают критики американского ЗРК.

IM-SHORAD стоит порядка 8 млн долларов. США планируют закупить 144 таких комплекса, хотя этого вряд ли будет достаточно для защиты каждого бронетанкового подразделения, военной базы или конвоя.
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. boriz Офлайн boriz
    boriz (boriz) 25 января 2021 16:04
    0
    IM-SHORAD стоит порядка 8 млн долларов.

    Преждевременно. Должен стоить. Так будет точнее. Но жизнь показывает иное.

    США планируют закупить 144 таких комплекса,

    Которых ещё нет. И что, в Европе без этого собрались воевать? Ну-ну ...
  2. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 27 января 2021 11:41
    0
    Увы. Верный подход. Дешего и сердито. как раз для дронов
  3. Michael1950 Офлайн Michael1950
    Michael1950 (Michael) 27 января 2021 12:20
    0
    Цитата: boriz
    IM-SHORAD стоит порядка 8 млн долларов.

    Преждевременно. Должен стоить. Так будет точнее. Но жизнь показывает иное.
    США планируют закупить 144 таких комплекса,

    Которых ещё нет. И что, в Европе без этого собрались воевать? Ну-ну ...

    - Этот ЗРК для самой мелкой мелочи включительно. Для чего-то покрупнее (типа "Байрактар") американцы уже закупили израильский мобильный вариант "Железного купола" и собираются наладить лицензионный выпуск этих ЗРК.



    Для совсем маленьких дронов на подходе вот такая система:

    1. boriz Офлайн boriz
      boriz (boriz) 27 января 2021 14:14
      0
      Да вообще эта IM-SHORAD производит странное впечатление. Убожество.
      ЗРК типа Панцирь С1 у них близко нет. А чем обеспечивать непосредственное прикрытие войск?
      Выбор ракет - ни о чём. Вот сравнительный анализ. https://topwar.ru/154329-smozhet-li-im-shorad-polozhit-na-lopatki-pancir-s1-poka-vremja-igraet-v-nashu-polzu.html
  4. Michael1950 Офлайн Michael1950
    Michael1950 (Michael) 27 января 2021 23:49
    -1
    Цитата: boriz
    Да вообще эта IM-SHORAD производит странное впечатление. Убожество.
    ЗРК типа Панцирь С1 у них близко нет. А чем обеспечивать непосредственное прикрытие войск?
    Выбор ракет - ни о чём. Вот сравнительный анализ. https://topwar.ru/154329-smozhet-li-im-shorad-polozhit-na-lopatki-pancir-s1-poka-vremja-igraet-v-nashu-polzu.html

    - Вообще-то, РЛС (израильская) там получше, чем у "Панциря":
    https://www.rada.com/products/mhr
    Так что, там есть огромные перспективы для апгрейда - если вместо зенитных ракет "Стингер" поставить что-то побольше и с тепловизионной ГСН. Или "Стингер" модифицировать, добавив к нему небольшой бустерок...