The expert named three reasons why the dollar will collapse by 35% by the end of the year


The US domestic savings rate has dropped to its lowest level on record. Now economy countries have become even more dependent on foreign money, writes the expert of the American agency Bloomberg Stephen S. Roach.


2020 began with the growth of the American currency, but in March, due to the spread of the COVID-19 pandemic, the dollar began to fall. The dollar "lost" by 10-12% against the currencies of the main trading partners of the United States.

Observing the trends, in June 2020 it was predicted that the dollar quotes would collapse by 2021% by the end of 35. If confirmed, it will be an important signal for Joe Biden's first year in office. We are now at an intermediate stage.

There are three main reasons that lead to the depreciation of the dollar. The first is a sharp increase in the current account deficit in the US budget. The second is the growth of euro quotes. Third, the Fed does practically nothing, hoping for the “hand of the market”. With this in mind, the dollar appears to be even weaker than six months ago.

The current account deficit grew, as previously expected, in 2020Q 1,2 from 3,3 p.p. up to 2020 p.p. GDP, and in the III quarter of 0,1 by another 3,4 percentage points. up to 2008 p.p. This is the worst result since XNUMX.

As a result, the net indicator of the savings ratio (of business, citizens and government, taking into account depreciation) fell below zero for the first time in ten years in the second and third quarters. There was a decrease by 3,8 percentage points. domestic savings ratio, it became -0,9%. Moreover, in the first quarter it was + 2,9%. This has never happened before.

This happened thanks to a package of anti-coronavirus measures in the amount of $ 2,2 trillion. Another similar program is planned for $ 2,8 trillion ($ 0,9 trillion has already become law, and $ 1,9 trillion is awaiting presidential approval). The total volume of anti-coronavirus measures will be $ 5 trillion, or 24% of US GDP in 2020.

In this case, the US Federal Reserve behaves as if nothing is happening. The Federal Reserve is not going to solve the issue of the current payments deficit and tighten the monetary policies... The American economy is on the brink of a recession and the pandemic continues. Therefore, a stimulating financial "injection" will be approved, and perhaps more than one. But this will have consequences. The US is really short on savings and that will weaken the dollar.
  • Photos used: https://pixabay.com/
11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Miffer Offline Miffer
    Miffer (Sam Miffers) 26 January 2021 19: 15
    +2
    ... in June 2020, a forecast was made that by the end of 2021, dollar quotes would collapse by 35%. If it is confirmed ...

    Now, if it is confirmed, then we'll talk.
    1. Miffer Offline Miffer
      Miffer (Sam Miffers) 28 January 2021 08: 44
      0
      Stepanova believes that in the event of a short-term fall in the dollar exchange rate, a default in the United States or an unexpected monetary or administrative reform in America, the ruble exchange rate will fall sharply along with the exchange rates of other developing countries. At the same time, the quotes of the reserve currencies (euro, Swiss franc, pound sterling, yen) will skyrocket, and the currencies of developed countries - the Norwegian, Danish and Swedish kronor, Canadian, Singaporean and Australian dollars will also rise. In addition, the demand for precious metals, real estate and business will grow.

      Homegrown couch patriots must learn this quote by heart, realize and try to forget their stupid fantasies: if $$$ grunted, then the ruble would grun 76 times stronger, turning into dust, and Russia would switch to natural exchange, as in the years of the civil war a century ago.
  2. 123 Online 123
    123 (123) 26 January 2021 19: 54
    0
    The expert named three reasons why the dollar will collapse by 35% by the end of the year

    We need to clarify in relation to what it will collapse. If against the ruble, then I doubt the government and the central bank will restrain the growth of the ruble. Its strengthening is not beneficial to them, at least at the moment. And now "the captains of the obvious" will run in and start - you look at the course, see what happens by the end of the year, and so on.
    That the dollar will depreciate is almost a fait accompli, in the sense of the probability is very high, but against this background we will hardly notice the strengthening of the ruble. Rather, it will go down around the dollar level.
  3. Vladest Offline Vladest
    Vladest (Vladimir) 26 January 2021 19: 56
    -3
    This "expert" must be the richest man on Earth if his predictions are so accurate.
    In reality, collect a dozen of them and they will pull out each other's hair in arguments, whose forecast is true.
    The main thing is, let it get cheaper. The United States once experienced the Great Depression. It was real.
  4. zloybond Offline zloybond
    zloybond (steppenwolf) 26 January 2021 20: 02
    +1
    Dolar himself is aware that he will collapse ??? Or we mean the ruble, but we say dolar ????
  5. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 26 January 2021 20: 09
    0
    The old song about the dollar ... Meanwhile, in 2019-20, investments in American stock funds were one of the most profitable in Russian banks
    1. 123 Online 123
      123 (123) 27 January 2021 02: 00
      -1
      Meanwhile, in 2019-20, investments in American stock funds were among the most profitable in Russian banks.

      To say that the "most prestigious" fellow in my opinion an exaggeration. What is the relation of company shares to the exchange rate is not clear request

      The highest ruble yield in 2019 was shown by Russian long-term Eurobonds and federal loan bonds (OFZ), shares of Russian companies, including Surgutneftegaz and Gazprom, and from precious metals

      https://www.rbc.ru/finances/30/12/2019/5e02098b9a7947f08cbd142f

      The highest returns in 2020 could have been received by investors who invested in shares of Russian and American companies from the technology sector, as well as in gold,

      https://www.rbc.ru/finances/30/12/2020/5fe343cf9a794782ea1e0f3c
  6. Peter rybak Offline Peter rybak
    Peter rybak (Patrol) 27 January 2021 00: 42
    0
    Well, it will collapse, what does it matter to us? Will gasoline become cheaper or food?
  7. gorenina91 Offline gorenina91
    gorenina91 (Irina) 27 January 2021 12: 12
    -1
    The expert named three reasons why the dollar will collapse by 35% by the end of the year

    - It seems that yes ... - this is quite possible ...
    - But it may be (most likely) an artificial collapse ... - Why should the Americans themselves be especially afraid of this collapse ... -they will remain stewed in their own juice ... - But Europe, which breaks in (and will soon climb even stronger ) into the American economy ... - it will suffer great ... - And Britain, with its "neyesov pound", will remain on the sidelines ... - But Russia will fly absolutely "in full" .... - And the American "papers", in which "Russian dollars" are invested - they will immediately fall in price several times (and they will not be taken back "for cheap") and investors; who were going to invest in Russia; those. agreements and transactions with them have already been concluded ... - they will invest already devalued dollars in Russia and acquire Russian assets for the "same amount" that has already been agreed and indicated in the concluded contracts ... - So Russia will have to get its Russian gold and again trying to save the American dollar ... - In 2020, Russia is already very much and very ruinous for the Russian economy ... - put up its gold for sale ... and sold it at a great loss for itself ...
    - And today only the worst can be expected from the American Democrats ...
  8. stepet Offline stepet
    stepet 27 January 2021 13: 41
    -8
    The expert named three reasons why the dollar will collapse by 35% by the end of the year

    We know, we know.
    I have heard about the decay and collapse of the United States since the time of Brezhnev.
    Already the USSR is 30 years old, as not.
    And the United States is all preparing to collapse. They just won't get ready.
  9. alex5450 Offline alex5450
    alex5450 (Alex L) 28 January 2021 17: 41
    -1
    The main thing is that the ruble is falling faster than the dollar.

Эксперт назвал три причины, почему доллар обрушится на 35% к концу года


Коэффициент внутренних сбережений в США опустился до самого низкого уровня за всю историю наблюдений. Теперь экономика страны стала еще больше зависеть от иностранных денег, пишет эксперт американского агентства Bloomberg Стивен С. Роуч.


2020 год начался с роста американской валюты, однако уже в марте из-за распространения пандемии COVID-19 курс доллара начал падать. Доллар «похудел» на 10-12% относительно валют главных торговых партнеров США.

Наблюдая за тенденциями, в июне 2020 года был сделан прогноз, что до конца 2021 года котировки доллара обрушатся на 35%. Если он подтвердится, это будет важным сигналом в первый год каденции Джо Байдена. Сейчас мы находимся на промежуточном этапе.

Существует три основные причины, которые приводят к снижению курса доллара. Первая – резкий рост дефицита текущих платежей бюджета США. Вторая – рост котировок евро. Третье – ФРС практически ничего не делает, надеясь на «руку рынка». Учитывая это, доллар кажется еще более слабым, чем полгода назад.

Дефицит по текущим операциям вырос, как и ожидалось ранее, во II квартале 2020 года с 1,2 п.п. до 3,3 п.п. ВВП, а в III квартале 2020 года еще на 0,1 п.п. до 3,4 п.п. Это худший результат с 2008 года.

В итоге чистый показатель коэффициента сбережений (бизнеса, граждан и правительства с учетом амортизации) впервые за десять лет опустился ниже нулевой отметки во II и III кварталах. Произошло сокращение на 3,8 п.п. коэффициента внутренних сбережений, он стал -0,9%. При этом в I квартале он был +2,9%. Такого никогда еще не было.

Произошло это благодаря пакету антикоронавирусных мер в объеме $2,2 трлн. Запланирована еще одна похожая программа на $2,8 трлн ($0,9 трлн уже стали законом, а $1,9 трлн ожидают одобрения президентом). Общий объем антикоронавирусных мер составит $5 трлн или 24% от ВВП США в 2020 году.

При этом ФРС США ведет себя так, словно ничего не происходит. Федрезерв не собирается решать вопрос с дефицитом текущих платежей и ужесточать монетарную политику. Американская экономика находится на грани рецессии и пандемия не прекращается. Поэтому стимулирующая финансовая «инъекция» будет одобрена и возможно не одна. Но это будет иметь последствия. США реально не хватает сбережений и это ослабит доллар.
  • Использованы фотографии: https://pixabay.com/
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
11 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Miffer Офлайн Miffer
    Miffer (Sam Miffers) 26 января 2021 19:15
    +2
    ... в июне 2020 года был сделан прогноз, что до конца 2021 года котировки доллара обрушатся на 35%. Если он подтвердится ...

    Вот если он таки подтвердится, тогда и поговорим.
    1. Miffer Офлайн Miffer
      Miffer (Sam Miffers) 28 января 2021 08:44
      0
      Степанова считает, что при краткосрочном падении курса доллара, дефолте в США или неожиданной денежной или административной реформе в Америке, то курс рубля резко упадет вместе с курсами валют других развивающихся стран. В то же время резко взлетят котировки резервных валют (евро, швейцарского франка, фунта стерлингов, йены), а также вырастут в цене валюты развитых стран — норвежской, датской и шведской кроны, канадского, сингапурского и австралийского доллара. Кроме того, вырастет спрос на драгоценные металлы, недвижимость и бизнес.

      Доморощенные диванные патриоты эту цитату должны выучить наизусть, осознать и постараться позабыть свои глупые фантазии: если $$$ крякнет, то рубль крякнет в 76 раз сильнее, превратившись в пыль, а Россия перейдёт к натуральному обмену, как в годы гражданской войны столетней давности.
  2. 123 Офлайн 123
    123 (123) 26 января 2021 19:54
    0
    Эксперт назвал три причины, почему доллар обрушится на 35% к концу года

    Надо уточнять по отношению к чему он обрушится. Если к рублю, то сомневаюсь, правительство и центробанк будут сдерживать рост рубля. Его укрепление им не выгодно, во всяком случае на текущий момент. А то сейчас набегут "капитаны очевидность" и начнут - вы посмотрите на курс, посмотрим что к концу года будет и так далее.
    Что доллар обесценится это почти свершившийся факт, в смысле вероятность очень высока, но укрепление рубля на этом фоне мы вряд ли заметим. Скорее он будет понижаться примерно на уровне доллара.
  3. Владест Офлайн Владест
    Владест (Владимир) 26 января 2021 19:56
    -3
    Это "эксперт" должен быть богатейшим человеком на Земле, если его прогнозы обладают такой точностью.
    В реальности собери их с десяток и они друг другу волосы повыдирают в спорах , чей прогноз правда.
    Главное что с того , пусть дешевеет . США пережили когда то Большую депрессию. Это было реально.
  4. zloybond Офлайн zloybond
    zloybond (steppenwolf) 26 января 2021 20:02
    +1
    Сам то долар в курсе, что он обрушиться??? Или подразумеваем рубыль, а говорим долар????
  5. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 26 января 2021 20:09
    0
    Старая песня о баксе.... А тем временем в 2019-20 вложения в фонды американских акций были одни из ниболее доходных в банках РФ
    1. 123 Офлайн 123
      123 (123) 27 января 2021 02:00
      -1
      А тем временем в 2019-20 вложения в фонды американских акций были одни из ниболее доходных в банках РФ

      Сказать что прям "самые-пресамые" fellow по моему преувеличение. Какое отношение имеют акции компаний к курсу валюты не понятно request

      Самую высокую рублевую доходность в 2019 году показали российские долгосрочные еврооблигации и облигации федерального займа (ОФЗ), акции российских компаний, в том числе «Сургутнефтегаза» и «Газпрома», а из драгоценных металлов

      https://www.rbc.ru/finances/30/12/2019/5e02098b9a7947f08cbd142f

      Самую высокую доходность в 2020 году могли получить инвесторы, вложившиеся в акции российских и американских компаний из технологического сектора, а также в золото,

      https://www.rbc.ru/finances/30/12/2020/5fe343cf9a794782ea1e0f3c
  6. Peter Rybak Офлайн Peter Rybak
    Peter Rybak (Патрульный) 27 января 2021 00:42
    0
    Ну и обрушится, нам-то что с этого? Бензин подешевеет или продукты?
  7. gorenina91 Офлайн gorenina91
    gorenina91 (Ирина) 27 января 2021 12:12
    -1
    Эксперт назвал три причины, почему доллар обрушится на 35% к концу года

    - Похоже , что да ... -такое вполне возможно...
    - Но это может быть (скорее всего) искусственное обрушение... - Чего самим американам особо бояться этого обрушения... -они так и останутся вариться в собственном соку... - А вот Европа , которая влезает (а скоро ещё сильнее влезет) в американовскую экономику ... - пострадает здорово ... - А Британия , со своим "нееесовским фунтом" останется в стороне... - А вот Россия влетит абсолютно "по полной" .... - И американовские "бумаги" , в которые вложены "русские доллары" - сразу подешевеют в разы (и их "по дешёвке" не заберёшь назад) и инвесторы ; которые собирались вложиться в Россию ; т.е. договора и сделки с ними уже были заключены ... - вложат в Россию уже обесцененные доллары и приобретут российские активы на "ту же сумму" , которая уже была оговорена и указана в заключённых контрактах... - Вот и придётся России доставать опять своё российское золото и опять пытаться спасать американовский доллар... - В 2020 году Россия уже очень много и весьма разорительно для российской экономики ... - выставила своё золото на продажу ... и продала его с величайшим убытком для себя...
    - А сегодня от американовских демократов можно ожидать только самое худшее...
  8. stepet Офлайн stepet
    stepet 27 января 2021 13:41
    -8
    Эксперт назвал три причины, почему доллар обрушится на 35% к концу года

    Знаем-знаем.
    Про загнивание и крах США я слышу еще со времен Брежнева.
    Уж и СССР 30 лет, как нет.
    А США все готовятся рухнуть. Никак только не приготовятся.
  9. alex5450 Офлайн alex5450
    alex5450 (Alex L) 28 января 2021 17:41
    -1
    Главное то, что рубль падает быстрее доллара.