Why did the US back down on the Nord Stream 2 issue?


German Handelsblatt announced the desire of the administration of Joseph Biden to agree on Nord Stream 2, promising to lift sanctions from the Russian gas pipeline in exchange for the continuation of Ukrainian transit after 2024, as well as for other concessions to Kiev on the gas issue. Head of the Energy Development Fund Sergei Pikin explained to reporters NSNwhy the US backed down on the SP-2 issue.


New US President Joe Biden wants to make friends with Germany and Europe, so the rhetoric is changing - you need to make some relaxation

- Pikin suggested.

In Washington, according to the analyst, they understand that the gas pipeline will be built in one way or another and will start functioning, and they are trying to "sell the soft option as a relaxation." In fact, Americans care little economic the problems of Ukraine, moreover - the United States is more profitable from a poor Ukraine. European countries are more interested in gas transit through its territory.

The poorer Ukraine, the easier it is to influence it

- the expert believes.

The total capacity of the two branches of Nord Stream 2 will be about 55 billion cubic meters of gas annually. The project is strongly opposed by the United States, which wants to provide a market in Europe for its expensive liquefied gas. The SP-2 is also opposed by Ukraine and several other European countries.
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
12 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Sapsan136 Offline Sapsan136
    Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 3 February 2021 15: 03
    +10
    The United States needs to, so let the rotten Ukrainian pipes themselves be repaired and gas is driven through them, even to the moon. Russia is not obliged to feed the Bandera animals
    1. Just a cat Offline Just a cat
      Just a cat (Bayun) 3 February 2021 15: 46
      +7
      These scribblers from the unavailable think that the United States is interested in something there ... But in reality, Gazprom only maintains the image of a reliable supplier until bypass routes through the Baltic and the Balkans are ready. Under Trump, the United States was only interested in their shale, and not all sorts of Ukrainians on a rusty pipe. Now, in general, millions of Americans from the oil industry will find themselves on the street. Green energy is a priority ... And what kind of creatures there are Bandera, Kiev or Kharkov ANYONE is not interested. The doctor said to the morgue.
  2. Just a cat Offline Just a cat
    Just a cat (Bayun) 3 February 2021 16: 15
    +2
    Gazprom did not book additional Ukrainian transit capacities from April 1 to October 1, 2021. On February 1, the Ukrainian GTS Operator held auctions on the Hungarian RBP platform, at which 15 million cubic meters of gas per day were played through the Sudzha GDS on the Russian-Ukrainian border for the second and third quarters. There were no volunteers, however.

    This is the second time that Gazprom has refused to contract additional Ukrainian transit capacities for a quarter ahead. The company also did the same with deliveries in the first quarter of 2021. She preferred to buy additional transit monthly. Although she was already burned on this one. Thus, under the main contract, Gazprom will supply 2021 billion cubic meters or 40 million cubic meters per day through Ukraine in 110. As of January, the company bought another 41 million cubic meters. However, the actual transit was no more than 125 million per day. At the same time, the company pays for all contracted capacities at the highest tariff among all routes and monthly additional orders cost it with a 20% mark-up - $ 38,1 per thousand cubic meters. As a result, in January, Gazprom overpaid for Ukrainian transit by $ 30 million. And already in February ordered an additional 15 million cubic meters per day. At this level, transit is now being carried out.

    Since 2021, the contracted capacities of the Ukrainian transit are reduced from 65 billion cubic meters to 40 billion and Gazprom may not have enough reserved and own capacities for the next year, even if the export remains at the level of 2020 - 175 billion cubic meters.

    Meanwhile, in January, Russian gas exports to Europe could hit record levels two years ago. Despite the fact that Gazprom did not use all the additionally contracted transit capacities through Ukraine, the company took a lot of gas from its reserves in Europe.

    This policy helps Gazprom to minimize unnecessary transit costs for the time being and demonstrates that the company does not give up hope of launching Nord Stream 2 in the second half of the year.

    http://k-politika.ru/ukrainskij-tranzit-pomesyachno-schitayut/?utm_source=finobzor.ru
  3. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 3 February 2021 18: 32
    -7
    Oh, I'm not tired of the flow there, the flow here ...
    Here recently someone in the article let slip about the planned profits.
    Everything will go into someone's pockets, it will hardly affect life ...
    1. Obama Barack Offline Obama Barack
      Obama Barack (Obama Barack) 5 February 2021 12: 04
      0
      There are no acorns or beads for you.
  4. zenion Offline zenion
    zenion (zinovy) 3 February 2021 21: 25
    0
    Gas was found in Ukraine on the eve of the Carpathians. But they have not known what to do with it since 1987. They hammered a chock into a pipe and threw it. They also found hydrogen sulfide springs and also drowned them out. In general, well done!
    1. Piramidon Offline Piramidon
      Piramidon (Stepan) 4 February 2021 14: 02
      +1
      Quote: zenion
      Gas was found in Ukraine on the eve of the Carpathians.

      Oil was also found in Ukraine, but its production is complicated by the fact that oil is in tanks and is rapidly moving towards the Polish border. laughing
  5. Cucumbers Offline Cucumbers
    Cucumbers (Cucumbers) 3 February 2021 21: 27
    0
    I do not see any relief in the US intentions. On the contrary, with the constructed bypass pipe SP-2, they force Gazprom to drive gas through Ukraine. From what they left, they came to that. In fact, they want to shift the financing of the forest brothers to Russia. The Jew began to cry somewhere nearby ...
  6. Jacques sekavar Offline Jacques sekavar
    Jacques sekavar (Jacques Sekavar) 4 February 2021 00: 08
    +3
    Why did the US back down on the Nord Stream 2 issue?

    Backtrack in what?
    Transit through Ukraine equates to Belarus for $ 100, while in the EU it is sold for $ 300. The difference of $ 200 dollars from every thousand cubic meters will go to the budget of Ukraine, i.e. The Russian Federation is offered to take Ukraine for maintenance, and this despite the fact that not all sanctions are lifted from the northern stream and not unconditionally - the third energy package remains in force, like many other nuances that greatly complicate the work.
    As a result, the Russian Federation will have a dependent on the content and vague prospects with the Nord Stream.
  7. boriz Offline boriz
    boriz (boriz) 4 February 2021 00: 49
    +2
    The project is strongly opposed by the United States, which wants to provide a market in Europe for its expensive liquefied gas.

    Pikin was wrong in timing. Under Biden, there will be no American LNG.
    It's just that the United States realized that their sanctions would be sent to a well-known Russian address and decided not to lose face completely right now. Like, okay, we'll pity you ...
  8. Obama Barack Offline Obama Barack
    Obama Barack (Obama Barack) 5 February 2021 12: 02
    0
    Blinked, so you don't need to give in.
  9. duchy Offline duchy
    duchy (Salih) 8 February 2021 17: 36
    +1
    Hello!! This was expected, remember at the beginning of the "Ukrainian revolution" and for the rest of the way, the sweet couple, dad and son, lived so rapidly and participated in the privatization of enterprises and various infrastructures ??? It is not without reason that Biden sets the conditions for the continuation of the construction of the SP-2, the preservation of gas transit through the square. They decided to profit at our expense, they are counting on freebies. This is where Trump will put a pig on him - using his position for personal gain. etc. etc. laughing

Почему США пошли на попятную в вопросе «Северного потока-2»


Немецкая Handelsblatt сообщила о желании администрации Джозефа Байдена договориться по «Северному потоку-2», пообещав снять санкции с российского газопровода в обмен на продолжение украинского транзита после 2024 года, а также на прочие послабления Киеву в газовом вопросе. Руководитель Фонда энергетического развития Сергей Пикин объяснил корреспондентам НСН, почему США пошли на попятную в вопросе СП-2.


Новый президент США Джо Байден хочет сдружиться с Германией и Европой, поэтому риторика и меняется – нужно сделать какое-то послабление

– высказал предположение Пикин.

В Вашингтоне, по мнению аналитика, понимают, что газопровод так или иначе будет построен и начнет функционировать, и пытаются «продать мягкий вариант в качестве послабления». На самом же деле американцев мало волнуют экономические проблемы Украины, более того – Соединенным Штатам выгоднее нищая Украина. В газовом же транзите через ее территорию больше заинтересованы страны Европы.

Чем беднее Украина, тем проще на нее влиять

– полагает эксперт.

Общая мощность двух ответвлений «Северного потока-2» составит порядка 55 млрд кубометров газа ежегодно. Реализации проекта решительно противятся США, желающие обеспечить в Европе рынок сбыта для своего дорогого сжиженного газа. Против СП-2 выступает также Украина и еще несколько европейских стран.
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
12 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Sapsan136 Офлайн Sapsan136
    Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 3 февраля 2021 15:03
    +10
    США надо,вот пусть сами гнилые украинские трубы и ремонтируют и газ по ним гонят,хоть на Луну.Россия не обязана кормить бандеровских зверей
    1. Просто Кот Офлайн Просто Кот
      Просто Кот (Баюн) 3 февраля 2021 15:46
      +7
      Это писаки с незавалявшейся думают, что США что-то там интересно... А на деле Газпром лишь поддерживает имидж надежного поставщика, пока не готовы обходные пути через балтику и балканы. При Трампе США интересовал лишь их сланец, а не всякие хохлы на ржавой трубе. Сейчас вообще миллионы американцев из нефтянки на улице окажутся. Зеленая энергетика в приоритете... А какие там твари бандеровские, киевские или харьковские НИКОМУ не интересно. Доктор сказал в морг.
  2. Просто Кот Офлайн Просто Кот
    Просто Кот (Баюн) 3 февраля 2021 16:15
    +2
    «Газпром» не стал бронировать дополнительные мощности украинского транзита с 1 апреля по 1 октября 2021 года. 1 февраля «Оператор ГТС Украины» провел на венгерской платформе RBP аукционы, на которых разыгрывались поставки 15 млн кубометров газа в сутки через ГРС «Суджа» на российско-украинской границе на второй и третий кварталы. Желающих, однако, не нашлось.

    Это уже второй раз, как «Газпром» отказывается от контрактования дополнительных мощностей украинского транзита на квартал вперед. Также компания поступила и с поставками в первом квартале 2021 года. Она предпочла докупать транзит помесячно. Хотя и обожглась уже и на этом. Так, по основному контракту, «Газпром» поставит в 2021 году через Украину 40 млрд кубометров или 110 млн кубометров в сутки. На январь же компания докупила еще 41 млн кубометров. Однако реальный транзит составил не более 125 млн в сутки. Компания при этом оплачивает все законтрактованные мощности по самому высокому среди всех машрутов тарифу и месячные дозаказы обходятся ей с наценкой в 20% — $ 38,1 за тысячу кубометров. В результате в январе «Газпром» переплатил за украинский транзит $ 30 млн. И уже на февраль заказал дополнительно лишь 15 млн кубометров в сутки. На этом уровне сейчас и осуществляется транзит.

    C 2021 года законтрактованные мощности украинского транзита снижаются с 65 млрд кубометров до 40 млрд и «Газпрому» может не хватить забронированных и собственных мощностей на следующий год даже при сохранении экспорта на уровне 2020 года — 175 млрд кубометров.

    Тем временем в январе экспорт российского газа в Европу мог побить рекордные показатели двухлетней давности. Несмотря на то, что «Газпром» не использовал все дополнительно законтрактованные мощности транзита через Украину, компания много отбирала газа из своих запасов в Европе.

    Такая политика помогает «Газпрому» пока минимизировать лишние траты на транзит и демонстрирует, что компания не оставляет надежды запустить во второй половине года «Северный поток — 2».

    http://k-politika.ru/ukrainskij-tranzit-pomesyachno-schitayut/?utm_source=finobzor.ru
  3. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 3 февраля 2021 18:32
    -7
    А, не надоел еще поток туда- поток сюда...
    Тут недавно ктото в статье проговорился о планируемых прибылях.
    Все пойдет в чьито карманы, на жизнь почти не скажется...
    1. Обама Бараков (Обама Бараков) 5 февраля 2021 12:04
      0
      Ни желудей, ни бисера для тебя нет.
  4. zenion Офлайн zenion
    zenion (zinovy) 3 февраля 2021 21:25
    0
    На Украине нашли газ в преддверии Карпат. Но, что с ним делать не знают с 1987 года. Забили чурку в трубу и бросили. Также нашли сероводородные источники и тоже заглушили. В общем молодцы!
    1. Piramidon Офлайн Piramidon
      Piramidon (Степан) 4 февраля 2021 14:02
      +1
      Цитата: zenion
      На Украине нашли газ в преддверии Карпат.

      На Украине нашли и нефть, но её добыча осложняется тем, что нефть находится в цистернах и быстро движется в сторону польской границы. laughing
  5. Огурцов Офлайн Огурцов
    Огурцов (Огурцов) 3 февраля 2021 21:27
    0
    Я не вижу в намерениях США послаблений. Наоборот при построенной обходной трубе СП-2 они вынуждают Газпром гнать газ через Украину. От чего ушли, к тому пришли. По сути финансирование лесных братьев хотят переложить на Россию. Еврей заплакал где то рядом.....
  6. Jacques Sekavar Офлайн Jacques Sekavar
    Jacques Sekavar (Jacques Sekavar) 4 февраля 2021 00:08
    +3
    Почему США пошли на попятную в вопросе «Северного потока-2»

    На попятную в чём ?
    Транзит через Украину приравнять к Беларуси по $100, в то время как в ЕС продаётся по $300. Разница в $200 баксов с каждой тысячи кубов пойдёт в бюджет Украины, т.е. РФ предлагают взять Украину на содержание и это при том, что санкции с северного потока снимаются не все и не безоговорочно – третий энергопакет остаётся в силе, как и множество других нюансов которые сильно осложняют работу.
    В итоге РФ поимеет иждивенца на содержании и туманные перспективы с северным потоком.
  7. boriz Офлайн boriz
    boriz (boriz) 4 февраля 2021 00:49
    +2
    Реализации проекта решительно противятся США, желающие обеспечить в Европе рынок сбыта для своего дорогого сжиженного газа.

    Пикин ошибся во времени. При Байдене никакого американского СПГ не будет.
    Просто США поняли, что их санкции пошлют по известному русскому адресу и решили не терять лицо окончательно прямо сейчас. Типа, ну ладно, мы вас пожалеем ...
  8. Обама Бараков (Обама Бараков) 5 февраля 2021 12:02
    0
    Моргнули, значит уступать ни в коем случае не надо.
  9. duche Офлайн duche
    duche (Salih) 8 февраля 2021 17:36
    +1
    Всем привет!! Это было ожидаемо, помните в начале "украинской революции" да и на остальном протяжении, сладкая парочка, папа с сыном, прямо так бурно жили и участвовали в прихватизации предприятий и разной инфраструктур??? Недаром Байден ставит условия для продолжения строительства СП-2, сохранение транзита газа через незалежней. Решили поживиться за наш счет, на халяву рассчитывают. Вот тут ему Трамп подложит, свинью, -- использование своего положения в личных целях. и т.д. и т.п. laughing