Moscow has made a serious claim to return to Africa


In recent years, Russia has been louder and louder about its foreign policy ambitions, returning to the place where the Soviet Union once played an important role. A striking example of the transformation of the Russian Federation into a superpower is the Crimean events, as well as Moscow's Middle East steps. Now it's Africa's turn. Russia is building its relations with African countries, relying, according to the Global Risk Insights, on three pillars of its influence.


The first of these are private military companies, through which Russia wages hybrid wars and advances its geopolitical interests. Since 2018, PMC Wagner has been operating in Libya, supporting the troops of Khalifa Haftar. "Wagnerians" are present in other countries, for example, in the Central African Republic, having provided support to the incumbent head of state Faustin-Archang Touadere at the end of last year. There are Wagner's servicemen in Sudan, where the Russian Federation has built a naval base, as well as in Eritrea, Egypt, Mozambique, Zimbabwe and South Africa.

The second support of the Kremlin's external aspirations on the "Black Continent" is materialtechnical support provided by PMCs to the population of poor African countries, as well as the extraction of natural resources by Russians. Russian companies are expanding their interests in Africa. Thus, the Russian Federation won a concession for the development of gas fields in Mozambique, Rosatom signed an agreement on the construction of a nuclear power plant in Egypt, RUSAL, the Renova and Lukoil group of companies are also engaged in the extraction of natural resources in Africa - oil, diamonds, manganese and others.

Trade is another tool that has made Moscow's strong claim to return to Africa, although in this area Russia has to face stiff competition from the United States and China. In Africa, relatively inexpensive Russian military equipment is in great demand, sales of which have doubled over the past five years. From 2014 to 2019, Russia accounted for 16 percent of arms deliveries to Africa (excluding Egypt), and Russia signed lucrative arms supply contracts with Equatorial Guinea, Burkina Faso, Mali, Angola and Nigeria.

Russia has made a bid to gain influence on the continent, planning to build even more naval bases, expand trade relations and support autocratic leaders with PMCs

- notes Global Risk Insights.
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Captain stoner Offline Captain stoner
    Captain stoner (Captain Stoner) 9 February 2021 15: 06
    -2
    In recent years, Russia has been louder and louder about its foreign policy ambitions, returning to where the Soviet Union once played an important role.

    Russia is no match for the USSR. This is "by definition".
    And then the question: Why does a poor and "developing" Russia need an equally poor and developing Africa?
    1. Ulysses Offline Ulysses
      Ulysses (Alexey) 9 February 2021 22: 08
      0
      And then the question: Why does a poor and "developing" Russia need an equally poor and developing Africa?

      Business, nothing personal ...

      The Russian Federation won a concession for the development of gas fields in Mozambique, Rosatom signed an agreement on the construction of a nuclear power plant in Egypt, RUSAL, the Renova and Lukoil group of companies are also engaged in the extraction of natural resources in Africa - oil, diamonds, manganese and others.

      In Africa, relatively inexpensive Russian military equipment is in great demand, sales of which have doubled over the past five years. From 2014 to 2019, Russia accounted for 16 percent of arms supplies to Africa (excluding Egypt).

      If you can really make money, why refuse?
    2. 123 Offline 123
      123 (123) 11 February 2021 01: 46
      0
      Russia is no match for the USSR. This is "by definition".

      Another friend of the Americans? The lackeys of transatlantic penguins are no match for us. Would you walk past a good citizen sad

      And then the question: Why does a poor and "developing" Russia need an equally poor and developing Africa?

      Why is the poor, decaying Ukraine Donbass?
  2. Larisa Larisa Offline Larisa Larisa
    Larisa Larisa (Larisa Larisa) 9 February 2021 16: 43
    +2
    Why do you need Africa ?! Come back to Donbass !!!
    1. Captain stoner Offline Captain stoner
      Captain stoner (Captain Stoner) 9 February 2021 23: 07
      -1
      In Africa, sharks, In Africa, gorillas, In Africa, big Angry crocodiles Will bite you, Beat and offend you, - Do not go, children, To walk to Africa.

      Despite the described African horrors, the head chef decided that it was more rich there than in this Donbass.
      1. 123 Offline 123
        123 (123) 11 February 2021 01: 48
        -1
        Despite the described African horrors, the head chef decided that it was more rich there than in this Donbass.

        Your main clown closed all channels, did you come here? Information hunger?
    2. Bitter Offline Bitter
      Bitter (Gleb) 10 February 2021 01: 49
      0
      African natives are not so familiar with the peculiarities of winter fishing, but the situation is different in the Donbas.

Москва сделала серьезную заявку на возвращение в Африку


Последние годы Россия все громче заявляет о своих внешнеполитических амбициях, возвращаясь туда, где в свое время большую роль играл Советский Союз. Ярким примером превращения РФ в сверхдержаву служат крымские события, а также ближневосточные шаги Москвы. Теперь настала очередь и Африки. Россия выстраивает свои отношения с африканскими странами, опираясь, по мнению издания Global Risk Insights, на три столпа своего влияния.


Первым из них являются частные военные компании, при помощи которых Россия ведет гибридные войны и продвигает свои геополитические интересы. С 2018 года ЧВК Вагнера действует в Ливии, поддерживая войска Халифы Хафтара. «Вагнеровцы» присутствуют и в других странах – например, в ЦАР, оказав в конце прошлого года поддержку действующему главе государства Фостену-Арканжу Туадере. Есть военнослужащие Вагнера и в Судане, где РФ построила военно-морскую базу, а также в Эритрее, Египте, Мозамбике, Зимбабве и ЮАР.

Вторая опора внешних устремлений Кремля на «Черном континенте» – материально-техническая поддержка, оказываемая ЧВК населению бедных африканских стран, а также добыча россиянами природных ресурсов. Российские компании расширяют деятельность своих интересов в Африке. Так, РФ выиграла концессию на разработку газовых месторождений в Мозамбике, Росатом подписал соглашение о строительстве атомной станции в Египте, РУСАЛ, группа компаний «Ренова» и «Лукойл» также занимаются в Африке добычей природных ресурсов – нефти, алмазов, марганца и других.

Еще одним инструментом, при помощи которого Москва сделала серьезную заявку на возвращение в Африку, является торговля, хотя в этой сфере России приходится сталкиваться с жесткой конкуренцией со стороны США и Китая. В Африке большим спросом пользуется относительно недорогая российская военная техника, продажи которой за последние пять лет выросли в два раза. С 2014 по 2019 год на РФ приходилось 16 процентов оружейных поставок в Африку (без учета Египта), и Россия подписала выгодные контракты на поставку вооружений с Экваториальной Гвинеей, Буркина-Фасо, Мали, Анголой и Нигерией.

Россия сделала заявку на завоевание влияния на континенте, планируя строительство ещё большего числа военно-морских баз, расширение торговых отношений и поддержку автократических лидеров с помощью ЧВК

– отмечает Global Risk Insights.
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
7 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Captain Stoner Офлайн Captain Stoner
    Captain Stoner (Captain Stoner) 9 февраля 2021 15:06
    -2
    Последние годы Россия все громче заявляет о своих внешнеполитических амбициях, возвращаясь туда, где в свое время большую роль играл Советский Союз

    Россия - СССР не ровня. Это "по определению".
    И тогда вопрос: А зачем небогатой и "развивающейся" России нужна такая же небогатая и развивающаяся Африка?
    1. Улисс Офлайн Улисс
      Улисс (Алексей) 9 февраля 2021 22:08
      0
      И тогда вопрос: А зачем небогатой и "развивающейся" России нужна такая же небогатая и развивающаяся Африка?

      Бизнес, ничего личного...

      РФ выиграла концессию на разработку газовых месторождений в Мозамбике, Росатом подписал соглашение о строительстве атомной станции в Египте, РУСАЛ, группа компаний «Ренова» и «Лукойл» также занимаются в Африке добычей природных ресурсов – нефти, алмазов, марганца и других.

      В Африке большим спросом пользуется относительно недорогая российская военная техника, продажи которой за последние пять лет выросли в два раза. С 2014 по 2019 год на РФ приходилось 16 процентов оружейных поставок в Африку (без учета Египта).

      Если можно реально заработать, почему бы отказываться ??
    2. 123 Офлайн 123
      123 (123) 11 февраля 2021 01:46
      0
      Россия - СССР не ровня. Это "по определению".

      Очередной друг американцев? Холуи заокеанских пингвинов нам не ровня. Шли бы вы мимо гражданин хороший sad

      И тогда вопрос: А зачем небогатой и "развивающейся" России нужна такая же небогатая и развивающаяся Африка?

      Зачем нищей загнивающей Украине Донбасс?
  2. Лариса Лариса (Лариса Лариса) 9 февраля 2021 16:43
    +2
    Зачем вам Африка?! Вернитесь в Донбасс!!!
    1. Captain Stoner Офлайн Captain Stoner
      Captain Stoner (Captain Stoner) 9 февраля 2021 23:07
      -1
      В Африке акулы, В Африке гориллы, В Африке большие Злые крокодилы Будут вас кусать, Бить и обижать,- Не ходите, дети, В Африку гулять.

      Не смотря на описанные африканские ужасы, главный повар решил, что там всё же наваристее, чем в этом Донбассе.
      1. 123 Офлайн 123
        123 (123) 11 февраля 2021 01:48
        -1
        Не смотря на описанные африканские ужасы, главный повар решил, что там всё же наваристее, чем в этом Донбассе.

        Ваш главный клоун все каналы закрыл, вы сюда пришли? Информационный голод?
    2. Bitter Офлайн Bitter
      Bitter (Глеб) 10 февраля 2021 01:49
      0
      Африканские аборигены не настолько знакомы с особенностями зимней рыбалки, а на Донбассе ситуация иная.