Why does Gazprom itself limit its exports to the European Union?


Gazprom, which has run out of money over the past few years, is now behaving in the European market in a rather unusual way, limiting the sale of “blue fuel” to Europeans on their super-bids. It would seem that an unexpectedly cold winter has come and the demand for gas has increased, it's time to try to fight off the extremely unsuccessful past 2020. Why does the domestic monopolist behave differently?


In fact, the actions of the Russian state corporation have their own logic. The gas exporter expects to increase the volume of its supplies to the European Union in the future. And we must admit that our "national heritage" can succeed.

At first, a significant part of Gazprom's contracts are still price pegged to oil quotes with a time lag of six months. The past 2020 has become a real nightmare for both raw material suppliers and manufacturers. At the same time, several important factors developed at once: the coronavirus pandemic, which brought down the volume of consumer demand, and the extremely unsuccessful six-week "oil war" for Russia, which led to a decrease in quotations of "black gold". Last year, oil set a historic price anti-record, even going into negative territory for a while. Today, prices for hydrocarbon raw materials have grown, but given the fact that the cost of gas is tied to them with a six-month lag in time, it is simply not profitable to sell "blue fuel" to Europeans on extra orders under such conditions.

Secondly, it is now preferable for the Russian monopolist to sell gas to the EU on the spot market, where prices are higher. Two more factors work at the same time for this. The winter turned out to be surprisingly cold, so fuel consumption rose sharply. Moreover, in Asian countries, where it is now also abnormally cold, and economy is recovering at a fairly fast pace, but there is no developed pipeline infrastructure, gas prices are even higher. That is why LNG suppliers immediately drove their tankers there, while Europe goes with them on a leftover basis within the framework of binding contracts. The “invisible hand of the market” as it is.

The result is natural: the heating season is far from over, but European UGS facilities are almost half empty. So, in the largest economy of the Old World, Germany, underground storage facilities are filled only by 40%, in the second - in France - by 37%, in Austria - by 49%. It is also necessary to take into account that they cannot be emptied "to zero", so-called "buffer" volumes of technical gas are required. Today, European consumers are trying to quickly stock up on inexpensive Russian gas for future use, but Gazprom limits them in this.

It is beneficial for the domestic monopolist that the EU countries empty their storages to the maximum and buy up "blue fuel" during the year at prices more attractive to him. So far, this strategy is working, and there are still two months before the end of the heating season. An increase in the volume of purchases of our gas in the European Union should be expected in the period from summer to autumn 2021.
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Just a cat Offline Just a cat
    Just a cat (Bayun) 11 February 2021 18: 24
    0
    The open secret ... And then a week ago we did not know how Gazprom was playing with prices, volumes and directions ...
  2. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 11 February 2021 21: 17
    0
    The authors name it without Gazprom.
    Limited - article.
    Increased - article.
    I thought something - a whole series.
    On a day, 1-2 sometimes comes out.

    You might think that every house has kilograms of their shares ...
  3. oderih Offline oderih
    oderih (Alex) 12 February 2021 10: 47
    +3
    It is storming in the baltic. "Fortune" has suspended work. We are waiting for the next analysis of the "putinslil" type.
  4. Captain stoner Offline Captain stoner
    Captain stoner (Captain Stoner) 12 February 2021 13: 16
    0
    It is much more rich to sell smaller and more expensive, than more and cheaper.
    And let General Moroz of Russia, as usual, help.

Зачем «Газпром» сам ограничивает свой экспорт в Евросоюз?


Порядком поиздержавшийся за последние несколько лет «Газпром» сейчас ведет себя на европейском рынке довольно необычно, ограничивая продажи «голубого топлива» европейцам по их сверхзаявкам. Казалось бы, наступила неожиданно холодная зима и спрос на газ вырос, самое время попытаться отбить крайне неудачный прошедший 2020-й год. Почему же отечественный монополист ведет себя иначе?


На самом деле, в действиях российской госкорпорации имеется своя логика. Газовый экспортер рассчитывает нарастить объемы своих поставок в Европейском союзе на перспективу. И следует признать, что у нашего «национального достояния» это может получиться.

Во-первых, значительная часть контрактов «Газпрома» по-прежнему имеет привязку по цене к нефтяным котировкам с лагом по времени в полгода. Минувший 2020-й стал настоящим кошмаром и для поставщиков сырья, и для производителей. Одновременно сложились сразу несколько важных факторов: и пандемия коронавируса, которая обрушила объемы потребительского спроса, и крайне неудачная для России по своим итогам шестинедельная «нефтяная война», приведшая к снижению котировок «черного золота». Нефть в прошлом году установила исторический ценовой антирекорд, даже уйдя ненадолго «в минус». Сегодня цены на углеводородное сырье подросли, но, с учетом привязки к ним стоимости газа с полугодовым лагом по времени, продавать «голубое топливо» европейцам по сверхзаявкам на таких условиях просто не выгодно.

Во-вторых, российскому монополисту теперь предпочтительно реализовывать газ в ЕС на спотовом рынке, где цены выше. На это работают одновременно еще два фактора. Зима оказалась на удивление холодной, потому резко выросло потребление топлива. При этом в странах Азии, где сейчас тоже аномально холодно, а экономика восстанавливается довольно быстрыми темпами, но нет развитой трубопроводной инфраструктуры, цены на газ еще выше. Именно поэтому поставщики СПГ сразу же погнали свои танкеры туда, Европа же идет у них по остаточному принципу в рамках обязательных контрактов. «Невидимая рука рынка», как она есть.

Результат закономерный: отопительный сезон еще далеко не завершился, однако европейские ПХГ опустели почти наполовину. Так, в крупнейшей экономике Старого света, Германии, подземные хранилища заполнены лишь на 40%, во второй – Франции – на 37%, в Австрии – на 49%. Также необходимо учитывать, что «под ноль» их опустошать нельзя, требуются так называемые «буферные» объемы технического газа. Сегодня европейские потребители стремятся побыстрее затариться впрок недорогим российским газом, однако «Газпром» их в этом ограничивает.

Отечественному монополисту выгодно, чтобы страны ЕС по максимуму опустошили своих хранилища и скупали «голубое топливо» в течение года по более привлекательным для него самого ценам. Пока что эта стратегия работает, а до конца отопительного сезона еще два месяца. Роста объема закупок нашего газа в Евросоюзе стоит ожидать в период с лета по осень 2021 года.
4 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Просто Кот Офлайн Просто Кот
    Просто Кот (Баюн) 11 февраля 2021 18:24
    0
    Секрет полишинеля... А то мы еще неделю назад не знали как Газпром играет с ценами, объемами и направлениями...
  2. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 11 февраля 2021 21:17
    0
    Неймется авторам без газпрома.
    Ограничил - статья.
    Увеличил - статья.
    подумал чтото - целая серия.
    В день по 1-2 иногда выходит.

    Можно подумать, у каждого дома килограммы их акций лежат...
  3. oderih Онлайн oderih
    oderih (Алекс) 12 февраля 2021 10:47
    +3
    На балтике штормит."Фортуна" приостановила работы.Ждем очередного анализа типа "путинслил".
  4. Captain Stoner Офлайн Captain Stoner
    Captain Stoner (Captain Stoner) 12 февраля 2021 13:16
    0
    Гораздо наваристее продать поменьше и подороже, чем побольше и подешевле.
    И пусть генерал Мороз России, как обычно, поможет.