FP: It's time to think about a world without Putin


Russian President Vladimir Putin has been the leader of his country in one capacity or another for over 20 years, having come to power at 48. A whole generation of young Russians managed to grow up during this time and become adults. Nevertheless, Putin seems to be aware of his mortality and is taking measures to ensure that the stability he has brought to the Russian Federation lasts longer than him, writes the US Foreign Policy magazine.


In the West, Putin is viewed as a ruthless autocrat whose sole purpose is to secure personal power while enriching himself and his allies. At the same time, the position of Russia, both in its periphery and on an international scale, is considered in the West to be an open aggression aimed at returning the territories of the USSR. There is some truth in these views, but there are also distortions, according to the analysts of the publication.

Of course, Putin has used all the tools at his disposal to consolidate his personal power and amassed a lot of fortune in the process. But at the state level, these actions are a means to an end, not the end itself. Before Putin came to power in the 1990s, Russia was a gangster state dominated by rival oligarchs and criminals. Putin did not end corruption, but put an end to outright lawlessness and declared the supremacy of the state.

Growth changed the lives of Russians in the 2000s economicscaused by high oil prices. After that, Putin became popular with most Russians.

Around this time, Putin came to the conclusion that the main security issues for Russia were access to the Black Sea and hegemony in the Caucasus. This is not Soviet nostalgia, but common sense. At this time, massive calls for the reunification of the Russian people in the Baltic and Central Asian countries are ruthlessly suppressed by the Kremlin.

Putin is not solely responsible for the formation of external and internal policy RF. He leads a collective stakeholder group including business leaders, security officials
and regional tycoons. Putin and his network directly benefit from their position in power, but the wider network of stakeholders also wants to remain in power and maintain access to government resources, whether Putin is in power or not.

Thus, the Russian leadership, in which Putin remains the arbiter, seeks to establish long-term political stability - consensus. It will not allow future leaders to upset the created balance and will not allow Russia to weaken from within.

It is for this that changes in the Constitution of Russia were needed. They are needed not so much to extend Putin's term in power as to ensure and facilitate the transition to the post-Putin era. Putin understands that he is not eternal, therefore, wishing the good of Russia, he wants to create a foundation of stability and change the political culture.

Previous attempts to anonymize and decentralize Russian politics have generally failed, and huge challenges lie ahead that will limit the ability of stakeholders to maintain consensus in the absence of a single leading figure. In addition, in the 2030s, Russia may face demographic problems and questions related to the hydrocarbon "zeroing" of the West.

At the same time, the West does not understand everything that is happening in Russia. Therefore, he needs to start thinking about what the world and Russia will look like without Putin, analyzing the new system and tracking opportunities for the development and support of people in power who can direct the Russian Federation along a course that is more in line with US interests. Moreover, Washington needs to start working not only with Moscow now, but also with the leaders of the future, who may gain power in two decades, the American media summed up.
  • Used photos: http://kremlin.ru/
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
14 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. George W. Bush - medium (George Bush - average) 11 February 2021 18: 33
    +6
    America has never lived as badly as it did under Putin!
  2. amateur Offline amateur
    amateur (Victor) 11 February 2021 18: 47
    0
    Contrary to the opinion of V. Tereshkova, VVP is not at all like the angel she saw during her space flight. Moreover, he does not look like Koshchei the immortal.
    1. Ulysses Offline Ulysses
      Ulysses (Alexey) 12 February 2021 21: 57
      0
      Politics and angels are difficult to reconcile.
      Valentina Tereshkova hardly imagined how the propaganda would spin her after the flight.
      1. Cherry Offline Cherry
        Cherry (Kuzmina Tatyana) 14 February 2021 13: 10
        +1
        Was she the first to fly into space? And, I think, I was aware of what would happen after.
  3. goncharov.62 Offline goncharov.62
    goncharov.62 (Andrei) 11 February 2021 18: 49
    +2
    An article by amateurs. They do not understand anything and, the funniest thing - and to understand and learn to understand - - in principle they do not want.
  4. steelmaker Online steelmaker
    steelmaker 11 February 2021 19: 50
    -5
    Scientists approached Putin about low salaries. Let's see the result. Although, every year he is contacted live, and judging by the results of these appeals, Putin should have left a million times already.
    1. cmonman Offline cmonman
      cmonman (Garik Mokin) 11 February 2021 23: 29
      -3
      Scientists approached Putin about low salaries. Let's see the result.

      Result in this article:

      Novosibirsk scientists were convinced of the "merits" of their salaries after Putin was smashed

      https://www.mk.ru/social/2021/02/11/novosibirskikh-uchenykh-posle-raznosa-putina-ubezhdali-v-dostoinstvakh-ikh-zarplat.html
      1. isofat Offline isofat
        isofat (isofat) 12 February 2021 00: 07
        +2
        ... the rate of a junior researcher is only 16 thousand rubles. If you want to increase it to 78 thousand, you have to win a lot of grants.

        cmonmanlet them work, win grants. And they will be paid. If there is no talent, then you can try to become a foreign agent, but I do not advise, it seems that this source of income, for those unable to work, is blocked!
        1. A.Lex Offline A.Lex
          A.Lex (Secret information) 12 February 2021 07: 28
          +3
          isofat, and Garik is not a citizen of the Russian Federation. He is an emigrant. And therefore shit here - his job. He was not given another in his new homeland. laughing
        2. Cherry Offline Cherry
          Cherry (Kuzmina Tatyana) 14 February 2021 13: 13
          +1
          Yeah. They want to sit for days and get tens of thousands. When I was young, I rested in a boarding house with a couple of young scientists from the Novosibirsk Academic Town. They told without hiding that they were just driving dust, and on Friday no one worked at all, they had a creative trip to nature.
  5. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 11 February 2021 21: 15
    -1
    I wonder if this translation is so empty, or is the article so empty? List of well-known facts ...
  6. oracul Offline oracul
    oracul (leonid) 12 February 2021 07: 35
    +3
    The message is not correct, we need to prepare to live without a world hegemon. Putin did the main thing - he saved an independent Russia for posterity. There is only one criterion for a successor - to love Russia and its people and to protect themselves without sparing themselves.
  7. Sasha71 Offline Sasha71
    Sasha71 (Alex Bryn) 12 February 2021 21: 51
    +1
    The impudent Saxons talk about Russia as their colony, which suddenly had the audacity to fight off the hands. At the same time, reality is distorted in a disgusting light convenient for themselves so that it suggests that such articles are written by them by order of the scribblers of fantasy novels. This is how I define the genre of Western political analytics about Russia - fantasy for their inhabitants and ours.
  8. Peter rybak Offline Peter rybak
    Peter rybak (Patrol) 12 February 2021 22: 03
    -1
    What is Foreign Policy? This is definitely not the Russian press published in English?

FP: Пришло время подумать о мире без Путина


Президент России Владимир Путин является лидером своей страны в том или ином качестве более 20 лет, придя к власти в 48 лет. Целое поколение молодых россиян успело вырасти за это время и стать совершеннолетними. Тем не менее Путин, похоже, осознает свою смертность и принимает меры, чтобы стабильность, которую он принес РФ, продлилась дольше его, пишет журнал Foreign Policy из США.


На Западе Путина воспринимают как безжалостного автократа, единственной целью которого является обеспечение личной власти при одновременном обогащении себя и своих союзников. При этом позицию России, как у себя на периферии, так и в международном масштабе, на Западе считают неприкрытой агрессией, направленной на возвращение территорий СССР. В этих представлениях есть доля правды, но также присутствуют и искажения, считают аналитики издания.

Конечно, Путин применил все имеющиеся в его распоряжении инструменты, чтобы закрепить свою личную власть, и в процессе накопил большое состояние. Но на государственном уровне эти действия являются средством для достижения цели, а не самой целью. До прихода к власти Путина в 1990-е годы Россия была гангстерским государством, где всё контролировали конкурировавшие между собой олигархи и криминальные дельцы. Путин не покончил с коррупцией, но положил конец откровенному беспределу и заявил о верховенстве государства.

В 2000-х годах жизнь россиян изменилась благодаря росту экономики, вызванному высокими ценами на нефть. После этого Путин стал популярен среди большинства россиян.

Приблизительно в это время Путин пришел к выводу, что основными вопросами безопасности России является доступ к Черному морю и гегемония на Кавказе. Это не советская ностальгия, а здравый расчет. В это время массовые призывы к воссоединению русского народа в странах Балтии и Средней Азии безжалостно подавляются Кремлем.

Путин не несет исключительной ответственности за формирование внешней и внутренней политики РФ. Он возглавляет коллективную группу заинтересованных сторон, включая лидеров бизнеса, силовиков
и региональных магнатов. Путин и его сеть напрямую извлекают выгоду из своего положения во власти, но более широкая сеть заинтересованных сторон также хочет оставаться у власти и поддерживать доступ к государственным ресурсам независимо от того, находится ли Путин у власти или нет.

Таким образом, российское руководство, в котором Путин по-прежнему является третейским судьей, стремится к установлению долгосрочной политической стабильности – консенсусу. Он не позволит будущим лидерам нарушить созданный баланс и не даст ослабить Россию изнутри.

Именно для этого и понадобились изменения в Конституции России. Они нужны не столько для продления срока Путина во власти, сколько для обеспечения и облегчения перехода к постпутинской эпохе. Путин понимает, что он не вечен, поэтому желая добра России, он хочет создать фундамент стабильности и изменить политическую культуру.

Предыдущие попытки обезличить и децентрализовать российскую политику, как правило, терпели неудачу, и впереди стоят огромные проблемы, которые ограничат способность заинтересованных сторон поддерживать консенсус в отсутствие единственной ведущей фигуры. Кроме того, в 2030-х годах у России могут возникнуть демографические проблемы и вопросы, связанные с углеводородным «обнулением» Запада.

При этом Запад не понимает всего происходящего в России. Поэтому ему необходимо начать думать о том, как будет выглядеть мир и Россия без Путина, анализируя новую систему и отслеживая возможности для развития и поддержки людей во власти, которые могут направить РФ по курсу, более отвечающему интересам США. Причем Вашингтону нужно уже сейчас начать работать не только с Москвой, но и с лидерами будущего, которые могут через два десятилетия получить власть, подытожило американское СМИ.
  • Использованы фотографии: http://kremlin.ru/
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
14 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Джордж Буш - средний (Джордж Буш - средний) 11 февраля 2021 18:33
    +6
    Америка никогда не жила так плохо, как при Путине!
  2. дилетант Офлайн дилетант
    дилетант (Виктор) 11 февраля 2021 18:47
    0
    Вопреки мнению В.Терешковой ВВП совсем не похож на ангелочка, которого она видела во время своего космического полета. Тем более он не похож на Кощея бессмертного.
    1. Улисс Офлайн Улисс
      Улисс (Алексей) 12 февраля 2021 21:57
      0
      Политика и ангелы , понятия трудно совместимые.
      Валентина Терешкова вряд-ли предполагала как её будет раскручивать пропаганда после полёта.
      1. Cherry Офлайн Cherry
        Cherry (Кузьмина Татьяна) 14 февраля 2021 13:10
        +1
        А она первая что ли в космос полетела? И,думаю,давала себе отчет в том,что будет после.
  3. goncharov.62 Офлайн goncharov.62
    goncharov.62 (Андрей) 11 февраля 2021 18:49
    +2
    Статья дилетантов. Ничего не понимают и, самое смешное - и понимать и учиться понимать - -в принципе не хотят.
  4. сталевар Офлайн сталевар
    сталевар 11 февраля 2021 19:50
    -5
    К Путину обратились учёные, по поводу низкой зарплаты. Посмотрим на результат. Хотя, каждый год к нему обращаются в прямом эфире, и если судить по результатам этих обращений, то Путин уже миллион раз должен был уйти.
    1. cmonman Офлайн cmonman
      cmonman (Гарик Мокин) 11 февраля 2021 23:29
      -3
      К Путину обратились учёные, по поводу низкой зарплаты. Посмотрим на результат.

      Результат в этой статье:

      Новосибирских ученых после разноса Путина убеждали в "достоинствах" их зарплат

      https://www.mk.ru/social/2021/02/11/novosibirskikh-uchenykh-posle-raznosa-putina-ubezhdali-v-dostoinstvakh-ikh-zarplat.html
      1. isofat Офлайн isofat
        isofat (isofat) 12 февраля 2021 00:07
        +2
        ...ставка младшего научного сотрудника - всего 16 тысяч рублей. Если вы захотите ее довести до 78 тысяч, надо выиграть много грантов.

        cmonman, пусть работают, выигрывают гранты. И им будут платить. Если таланта нет, то можно попробовать стать иностранным агентом, но я не советую, похоже, что этот источник заработка, для неспособных трудиться, перекрыт!
        1. A.Lex Офлайн A.Lex
          A.Lex (Секретная информация) 12 февраля 2021 07:28
          +3
          isofat, а Гарик не гражданин РФ. Он эмигрант. А потому гадить тут - его работа. Другой ему на новой родине не дали. laughing
        2. Cherry Офлайн Cherry
          Cherry (Кузьмина Татьяна) 14 февраля 2021 13:13
          +1
          Ага.Хотят сидеть днями и получать десятки тысяч.Я в молодости отдыхала в пансионате с парой молодых ученых из Новосибирского академгородка..Не скрывая рассказывали,что просто пыль гоняют,а в пятницу вообще никто не работает- у них на природу творческий выезд.
  5. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 11 февраля 2021 21:15
    -1
    Интересно, это перевод такой пустой, или статья такая пустая? Перечисление общеизвестных фактов...
  6. oracul Офлайн oracul
    oracul (леонид) 12 февраля 2021 07:35
    +3
    Посыл не верен, нам надо готовиться жить без мирового гегемона. Путин сделал главное - сохранил независимую Россию для потомков. Критерий для преемника один - любить Россию, её народ и защищать не щадя себя.
  7. Саша71 Офлайн Саша71
    Саша71 (Alex Bryn) 12 февраля 2021 21:51
    +1
    Нагло-саксы рассуждают о России как о своей колонии, вдруг имевшей наглости отбиться от рук. При этом реальность искажают в удобном для себя мерзком свете так, что наводит на мысль: подобные статейки у них пишут по заказу писаки романов жанра фэнтези. Так и определяю жанр политической аналитики Запада о России - фэнтези для их обывателей и наших навальнят.
  8. Peter Rybak Офлайн Peter Rybak
    Peter Rybak (Патрульный) 12 февраля 2021 22:03
    -1
    Что за Foreign Policy? Это точно не российская пресса, издаваемая на английском языке?