Ankara is waiting for the best conditions to abandon S-400


The Turks will not abandon the Russian S-400 air defense systems until they receive more favorable offers from the Americans, otherwise it makes no sense for them to abandon Russian weapons. So far, according to the program director of the Russian Council on International Affairs Ivan Timofeev, Washington has not voiced such initiatives.


Now the White House is only trying to put pressure on Ankara in an attempt to force it to abandon military cooperation with Moscow. So, recently a telephone conversation took place between the Secretary of State of the United States Anthony Blinken and the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Turkey Mevlut Cavusoglu, during which, according to RIA, “News", The US Secretary of State called on the Turks to abandon the use of missile systems of the Russian Federation. However, no alternative to the Russian S-400 was proposed.

Thus, according to Washington, Ankara should break the agreement with Moscow by paying a penalty to the Russians, and at the same time not be able to protect its borders, since the United States does not sell its Patriot anti-aircraft systems to Turkey.

For Turkey, this is not beneficial either economically or politically, because the United States does not offer anything in return.

- Timofeev considers.

The expert believes that the Turkish leader Recep Erdogan is ready to stand his ground to the end, but the United States may make some "extraordinary efforts" to tip the scales in this issue in favor of the United States. At the same time, Turkey bargains for itself the best conditions for abandoning the Russian S-400.
  • Used photos: msb.gov.tr
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. 123 Offline 123
    123 (123) 16 February 2021 16: 35
    +3
    Enjoy watching the series "USA and the Allies", episode sixteen "Turkey has 3 allies, an army, navy and NATO."

    For a better understanding of the situation, a fresh example of the effectiveness of American air defense. The Erbil base (Iraq) came under rocket fire. One civilian killed, 5 civilians and 1 US soldier injured. Tellingly, the missiles fell on the base in October last year. Feels like the Pentagon has done some serious work on bugs laughing
    1. sgrabik Offline sgrabik
      sgrabik (Sergei) 16 February 2021 18: 02
      +1
      It should be borne in mind that the missiles that attacked the American base in Erbil are semi-handicraft products assembled on the basis of obsolete Soviet SCAD missiles.

Анкара ждет лучшие условия для отказа от С-400


Турки не откажутся от российских комплексов ПВО С-400, пока им не поступят более выгодные предложения от американцев, в противном случае им нет смысла отказываться от российских вооружений. Пока, по словам программного директора Российского совета по международным делам Ивана Тимофеева, Вашингтон таких инициатив не озвучивает.


Сейчас Белый дом пытается лишь надавить на Анкару в попытке заставить ее отказаться от военного сотрудничества с Москвой. Так, недавно состоялся телефонный разговор между государственным секретарем Соединенных Штатов Энтони Блинкеном и министром иностранных дел Турецкой Республики Мевлютом Чавушоглу, в ходе которого, по сообщению РИА «Новости», американский госсекретарь призвал турок отказаться от использования ракетных комплексов РФ. Однако альтернативы российским С-400 предложено не было.

Таким образом, по мнению Вашингтона, Анкара должна разорвать соглашение с Москвой, заплатив россиянам неустойку, и при этом не иметь возможности для защиты своих рубежей, так как США не продают Турции свои противовоздушные системы Patriot.

Для Турции это невыгодно ни экономически, ни политически, потому что США ничего не предлагают взамен

– считает Тимофеев.

Эксперт полагает, что турецкий лидер Реджеп Эрдоган до конца готов стоять на своем, но США могут приложить некие «экстраординарные усилия» для склонения чаши весов в этом вопросе в пользу Штатов. Турция же при этом выторговывает для себя лучшие условия для отказа от российских С-400.
  • Использованы фотографии: msb.gov.tr
2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. 123 Офлайн 123
    123 (123) 16 февраля 2021 16:35
    +3
    Наслаждаемся просмотром сериала "США и союзники", серия шеШнадцатая "У Турции 3 союзника, армия, флот и НАТО".

    Для лучшего понимания ситуации свежий пример эффективности американской ПВО. Ракетному обстрелу подверглась база Эрбиль (Ирак). Убит один гражданский, ранено 5 гражданских и 1 военнослужащий США. Что характерно, ракеты падали на базу в октябре прошлого года. Чувствуется что Пентагон провел серьезную работу над ошибками laughing
    1. sgrabik Офлайн sgrabik
      sgrabik (Сергей) 16 февраля 2021 18:02
      +1
      При этом нужно учитывать что ракеты, атаковавшие американскую базу в Эрбиле, это полукустарные изделия, собранные на базе устаревших советских ракет СКАД.