China's retaliatory sanctions could bring down the US military industry


If Beijing stops supplying rare earth metals to the North American market, it could bring down the US military industry. About this in an interview with the newspaper "Sight" said orientalist, Sinologist, Doctor of Historical Sciences, Professor Alexei Maslov.


Rare earths from China are used in the assembly of an extensive line of American equipment, the same F-35 fighters (up to 417 kg each - ed.). These metals go into the production of microcircuits and microchips

- explained the head of the Institute for the Far East of the Russian Academy of Sciences, commenting on information about possible retaliatory sanctions by China against the United States.

Maslov drew attention to the fact that if the Chinese decide to introduce such counter-sanctions, the Americans will theoretically be able to import some rare earth metals from South Africa. There is also the possibility of deliveries from Russia, but everything depends on Moscow. As for deliveries from Colombia, Chinese business has long and firmly established itself in this country.

Beijing is indeed gradually blocking access to the world market for rare earth metals for the United States.

- explained Maslov.

The expert noted that if China announces an embargo (export ban) in this area, it will lead to a serious increase in prices for rare earth metals in other countries and an increase in the cost of final products. He recalled that China itself imports electronic products from the United States that use rare earth metals.

Therefore, Beijing is extremely careful about discussing such counter-sanctions against Washington.

- summed up the expert.

Note that China's share of the international market for rare earth metals is about 80%. On February 16, 2021, it was hinted from Beijing that they were ready to arrange a similar embargo to the Americans if they did not stop putting pressure on the PRC.
  • Photos used: https://pxhere.com/
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Cyril Offline Cyril
    Cyril (Kirill) 17 February 2021 12: 15
    0
    If the Chinese cut off the supply of rare earths to the United States, they will lose a very large market share, because the American industry is one of the largest buyers of such raw materials. It is unlikely that at the moment China will agree to this, but this lever of pressure cannot be ruled out either, yes
    1. cmonman Offline cmonman
      cmonman (Garik Mokin) 18 February 2021 17: 33
      -1
      Quite right! In addition, the mining and production of RedZemMet are two big and four small differences. The USA, Australia, Japan have reserves of rare earth metals on their territory, but China has the main production. To obtain rare earth metals, a process is required using a huge amount of toxic chemistry, which must be somehow stored and disposed of.
      For China, this process is one piece of cake, they don't bother with security measures. For Australia, USA, Japan, this is an expensive pleasure. Australia, for example, transports its ore to China and brings metal from there. But if China starts to stick around, then production will be opened in the USA, Australia, Japan. Will it be more expensive?
      Yes. But leaving these countries without REM will not work.

Ответные санкции Китая могут обрушить военную отрасль США


Если Пекин прекратит поставки редкоземельных металлов на североамериканский рынок, то это может обрушить военную отрасль США. Об этом в интервью газете «Взгляд» заявил востоковед, китаист, доктор исторических наук, профессор Алексей Маслов.


Редкоземы из Китая применяются в сборке обширной линейки американской техники, тех же истребителей F-35 (до 417 кг в каждом – ред.). Эти металлы идут в производство микросхем и микрочипов

– пояснил глава Института Дальнего Востока РАН, комментируя информацию о возможных ответных санкциях Китая против США.

Маслов обратил внимание, что если китайцы пойдут на введение таких контрсанкций, то американцы теоретически смогут импортировать немного редкоземельных металлов из Южной Африки. Есть также вероятность поставок из России, но тут все зависит от Москвы. Что касается поставок из Колумбии, то китайский бизнес уже давно и прочно обосновался в этой стране.

Пекин действительно постепенно перекрывает Штатам доступ на мировой рынок редкоземельных металлов

– объяснил Маслов.

Эксперт отметил, что если Китай объявит эмбарго (запрет на экспорт) в этой сфере, то это приведет к серьезному повышению цен на редкоземельные металлы в других странах и росту стоимости конечной продукции. Он напомнил, что сам Китай импортирует из США электронную продукцию, в которой используются редкоземельные металлы.

Поэтому в Пекине крайне аккуратно относятся к обсуждению подобных контрсанкций против Вашингтона

– подытожил эксперт.

Заметим, что доля Китая на международном рынке редкоземельных металлов составляет около 80%. 16 февраля 2021 года из Пекина намекнули, что готовы устроить подобное эмбарго американцам, если они не прекратят давить на КНР.
  • Использованы фотографии: https://pxhere.com/
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Cyril Офлайн Cyril
    Cyril (Кирилл) 17 февраля 2021 12:15
    0
    Если китайцы перекроют поставки редкоземельных элементов в США, то лишатся очень большой доли рынка, потому что американская промышленность - один из крупнейших покупателей такого сырья. Вряд ли в данный момент Китай на это пойдет, но исключать этого рычага давления тоже нельзя, да
    1. cmonman Офлайн cmonman
      cmonman (Гарик Мокин) 18 февраля 2021 17:33
      -1
      Совершенно верно! Кроме того добыча и производство РедЗемМет - это две большие и четыре маленькие разницы. США, Австралия, Япония имеют на своей территории запасы РЗМ, но основное производство имеет Китай. Для получения РЗМ требуется процесс с использованием огромного кол-ва ядовитой химии, которую нужно как-то хранить и утилизировать.
      Для Китая этот процесс - раз плюнуть, там не заморачиваются с мерами безопастности. Для Австралии, США, Японии - это дорогое удовольствие. Австралия, например, возит свою руду в Китай и привозит оттуда металл. Но если Китай станет артачиться, то производство откроют и в США, Австралии, Японии. Будет дороже?
      Да. Но оставить эти страны без РЗМ не получиться.