Oil breaks records amid US climate collapse


Abnormal cold weather that covered a significant part of the United States led to casualties and serious losses. One of the hardest hit was southern Texas, where temperatures were lower than northern Alaska, reaching -19 degrees Celsius.


The authorities of the American region, where housing is not adapted for such temperatures, and people simply do not have suitable clothes, have already warned the population that the cold will not recede in the near future. The bad weather led to a power outage, electricity production fell by 40%, not only pools and palm trees froze, but even wind turbines, pipelines and oil and gas wells. There was a real climate collapse and communal Armageddon.

About 3 million households were left without electricity, more than 12 million people lost water because pumps stopped working. The infrastructure of settlements, not designed for such tests, simply began to fail. The death toll has reached 21, but this is only interim data and the real picture will become known later, after the rounds of dwellings.

Oil breaks records amid US climate collapse

Texas is one of the major hydrocarbon producers in the United States. This situation led to serious disruptions in the operation of refineries and LNG plants, as well as a record increase in the cost of raw materials and electricity. On February 18, 2021, the price of a barrel of Brent oil (produced in the North Sea) with delivery in April reached $ 60 per barrel on the exchanges and, without stopping, rushed upward, exceeding $ 65. Such prices for "black gold" have not been observed since the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic. According to the forecast, oil of this grade will soon cost $ 66,5 per barrel.

At the same time, WTI oil (produced in Texas) has almost doubled in price, breaking the $ 62 per barrel mark. According to Bloomberg data, oil production in the United States fell by 4 million barrels per day, i.e. by 36%. At the same time, the countries of the OPEC + agreement are in no hurry to increase oil production "so as not to kill the goose that lays the golden eggs."
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Just a cat Offline Just a cat
    Just a cat (Bayun) 18 February 2021 20: 44
    +6
    what cynicism ... while American friends freeze their balls, Saudi Arabia earns ... laughing
  2. 123 Offline 123
    123 (123) 18 February 2021 22: 08
    +1
    What sissies. smile I looked at the thermometer, overboard - 33C, turned down the gas for the night, it's hot.
    Good night dear people of Texas hi I'll go before going to bed about green energy and see something.
  3. sharp-lad Offline sharp-lad
    sharp-lad (Oleg) 18 February 2021 22: 22
    +3
    The invisible hand of the market in action!
  4. Xuli (o) Tebenado 19 February 2021 04: 59
    0
    ... the price of a barrel of Brent oil ... reached $ 60 per barrel on the stock exchanges and, without stopping, rushed upward, exceeding $ 65 ... According to the forecast, oil of this grade will soon will cost $ 66,5 a barrel ... breaking the mark of $ 62 a barrel. At the same time, the countries of the OPEC + agreement are in no hurry to increase oil production "in order not to kill the goose that lays the golden eggs."
    1. Xuli (o) Tebenado 19 February 2021 05: 42
      +1
      I admit that the picture of weather cataclysms roughly corresponds to reality. But my bewilderment and skepticism was caused by the last lines of the opus.
      In September-October, oil cost about $ 40 per barrel. Then the covid began to retreat, vaccination began, the world economy revived - oil began to slowly rise in price. I must say that the trend cannot be described with the words "without stopping, rushed" - there are smooth fluctuations, occurring daily and monthly. It reached $ 65, now it is $ 62.26, and oil is in a downtrend, so it is silly to shout "according to the forecast, soon ..." slammed the door (stupid political steps greatly affect the stock exchange), after that the ruble broke through another bottom, and domestic prices in Russia jumped just as briskly.
      Finally, a completely ridiculous nod to the OPEC countries: the United States itself produces oil and gas and has huge reserves of these hydrocarbons, short-term difficulties are possible, but nothing more.
  5. GRF Offline GRF
    GRF 19 February 2021 09: 49
    0
    Do you want to provide yourself with heat without benefitting us? This is apolitical!
    But when, Oh, it is more expensive there - ugh for promises, aid to Europe, we will drive LNG to Asia! Oh, are we feeling cold? In general, we will not sell to anyone, not enough ourselves. A city on a hill in all its "splendor".
    I wonder how long domestic liberals will admire a subject with "temporary difficulties", isn't it time to start another "foresight"?
  6. zloybond Offline zloybond
    zloybond (steppenwolf) 19 February 2021 11: 49
    -2
    when the price of oil was tending to zero, everyone wondered how our fuel began to rise in price. Now oil is getting more expensive, expectations inside the country are terrifying)))
  7. The comment was deleted.
    1. The comment was deleted.
  8. Ulysses Offline Ulysses
    Ulysses (Alexey) 19 February 2021 22: 45
    0
    Greta Tumberg, in solidarity with the Texas victims of global warming, skipped school again today.
    The world breathed a sigh of relief ..

Нефть бьет рекорды на фоне климатического коллапса в США


Аномальные холода, накрывшие значительную часть территории США, привели к человеческим жертвам и серьезным убыткам. Одним из наиболее пострадавших оказался южный штат Техас, где температура оказалась ниже, чем в северном штате Аляска, достигнув -19 градусов по Цельсию.


Власти американского региона, где жилье не приспособлено для таких температур, а у людей попросту нет подходящей одежды, уже предупредили население, что холода не отступят в ближайшее время. Непогода привела к нарушению электроснабжения, выработка электричества сократилась на 40%, замерзли не только бассейны и пальмы, а даже ветряные турбины, трубопроводы и скважины с нефтью и газом. Наступил настоящий климатический коллапс и коммунальный Армагеддон.

Около 3 млн. домохозяйств остались без электроэнергии, более 12 млн человек лишились воды, поскольку перестали работать насосы. Инфраструктура населенных пунктов, не рассчитанная на подобные испытания, попросту начала выходить из строя. Число погибших достигло 21, но это лишь промежуточные данные и реальная картина станет известна позже, после обходов жилищ.

Нефть бьет рекорды на фоне климатического коллапса в США

Техас является одним из основных добытчиков углеводородов в США. Сложившаяся ситуация привела к серьезным сбоям в работе нефтеперерабатывающих предприятий и СПГ-заводов, а также рекордному росту стоимости сырья и электричества. 18 февраля 2021 года стоимость барреля нефти сорта Brent (добывается в Северном море) с поставкой в апреле достигла на биржах отметки в $60 за баррель и, не останавливаясь, устремилась вверх, превысив $65. Таких цен на «черное золото» не наблюдалось со времени начала пандемии COVID-19. Согласно прогнозу, нефть этого сорта скоро будет стоить $66,5 за баррель.

При этом нефть сорта WTI (добывается в Техасе) подорожала почти в два раза, преодолев отметку в $62 за баррель. Согласно данным Bloomberg, нефтедобыча в США упала на 4 млн баррелей в день, т.е. на 36%. При этом страны соглашения ОПЕК+ не спешат увеличивать добычу нефти, «чтобы не убить курицу, несущую золотые яйца».
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
8 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Просто Кот Офлайн Просто Кот
    Просто Кот (Баюн) 18 февраля 2021 20:44
    +6
    какой цинизм... пока американские друзья отмораживают себе яйца, саудовская аравия зарабатывает... laughing
  2. 123 Офлайн 123
    123 (123) 18 февраля 2021 22:08
    +1
    Неженки какие. smile Посмотрел на градусник, за бортом - 33С, убавил газ на ночь, жарко.
    Спокойной ночи дорогие жители Техаса hi Пойду перед сном про зеленую энергетику что нибудь посмотрю.
  3. sharp-lad Офлайн sharp-lad
    sharp-lad (Олег) 18 февраля 2021 22:22
    +3
    Невидимая рука рынка в действии!
  4. Xuli(o)Tebenado Офлайн Xuli(o)Tebenado
    Xuli(o)Tebenado 19 февраля 2021 04:59
    0
    ... стоимость барреля нефти сорта Brent ... достигла на биржах отметки в $60 за баррель и, не останавливаясь, устремилась вверх, превысив $65 ... Согласно прогнозу, нефть этого сорта скоро будет стоить $66,5 за баррель ... преодолев отметку в $62 за баррель. При этом страны соглашения ОПЕК+ не спешат увеличивать добычу нефти, «чтобы не убить курицу, несущую золотые яйца».
    1. Xuli(o)Tebenado Офлайн Xuli(o)Tebenado
      Xuli(o)Tebenado 19 февраля 2021 05:42
      +1
      Я допускаю, что картина погодных катаклизмов примерно соответствует действительности. Но моё недоумение и скептицизм вызвали последние строки опуса.
      В сентябре-октябре нефть стоила порядка $40 за баррель. Затем ковид стал отступать, началась вакцинация, мировое хозяйство ожило - нефть начала потихоньку дорожать. Надо сказать, что тренд нельзя описывать словами "не останавливаясь, устремилась" - там плавные колебания, происходят ежедневно и ежемесячно. Дошло до $65, сейчас $62.26, и нефть - в нисходящем тренде, поэтому глупо кричать "согласно прогнозу, скоро ..." Резкие рывки вверх бывают, но очень редко, последний на памяти - 6 марта, когда делегация РФ провалила переговоры с саудитами и хлопнула дверью (неумные политические шаги очень влияют на биржу), после этого рубль пробил очередное дно, а внутренние цены в России так же резво подскочили.
      Наконец, совершенно нелеп кивок на страны ОПЕК: США сами добывают нефть и газ и имеют огромные запасы этих углеводородов, возможны кратковременные трудности, но не более того.
  5. GRF Офлайн GRF
    GRF 19 февраля 2021 09:49
    0
    Вы хотите себя обеспечить теплом не принося выгоду нам? Это аполитично!
    Но когда, О, там дороже - тьфу на обещания, помощь Европе, СПГ погоним в Азию! О, у нас похалодало? Вообще не продадим никому, самим мало. Град на холме во всем "великолепии".
    Интересно, как долго отечественные либералы будут восхищаться субъектом с "временными трудностями", не пора ли заняться очередным "предвидением"?
  6. zloybond Офлайн zloybond
    zloybond (steppenwolf) 19 февраля 2021 11:49
    -2
    когда нефть стремилась по цене к нолю, все удивлялся, как у нас начала дорожать горючка. Теперь нефть дорожает, ожидания внутри страны ужасают)))
  7. Комментарий был удален.
    1. Комментарий был удален.
  8. Улисс Онлайн Улисс
    Улисс (Алексей) 19 февраля 2021 22:45
    0
    Грета Тумберг, в знак солидарности с техасскими жертвами глобального потепления, опять прогуляла сегодня школу.
    Мир вздохнул с облегчением..