Defeat Navalny: Europe refused to impose sanctions against Russian billionaires


Next week, the Council of Europe plans to resolve the issue of possible sanctions against Russia in the case of the imprisoned Russian opposition leader Alexei Navalny. Supporters of decisive measures against Moscow insist on sanctions restrictions against representatives of Russian business.


However, according to Bloomberg diplomatic sources, Russian billionaires will most likely not fall under these sanctions, which will be a kind of defeat for Navalny - the restrictive measures of Brussels may affect only some officials who were allegedly directly involved in the events associated with the disgraced Russian blogger.

Earlier, representatives of Navalny's team, in particular the chief of staff Leonid Volkov, called on the European authorities to impose tough sanctions against "Putin's pocket" - Russian billionaires associated with the Kremlin, calling such measures the most effective.

A number of EU representatives do not want to “burn all bridges” in relations with the Kremlin. At the same time, Eastern Europeans are afraid of possible retaliatory measures from Russia, while other members of the European Union do not want the Russian Federation, which suffers from the pressure of the West, to get closer to the PRC. According to the head of the German Foreign Ministry, Heiko Maas, the sanctions should be directed only against those who are directly responsible "for state repression against its citizens."

At the same time, Estonia, Lithuania, Latvia, Poland and Sweden are calling for more firm steps by the European Union towards the Kremlin. Italy and Germany have a more balanced approach to the issue of anti-Russian sanctions, which, according to representatives of these countries, should not interfere with effective cooperation with Russia.

Officially, the sanctions are to be unanimously approved by the 27 EU members by March this year. If an agreement is reached on February 22 on the main points, the parties will begin to form a list of persons subject to the sanctions measures, and they will be banned from entering the EU countries and their assets will be frozen in European banks.
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Gardamir Offline Gardamir
    Gardamir (Leonid) 19 February 2021 12: 19
    +2
    I have such an "intimate" question, where is Navalny now. Here is Zhenechka Vasilyeva, who was taken out of the paddy wagon when they were being taken to the courthouse, despite the fact that she suffered severely under house arrest. Where does Navalny suffer?
    1. Just a cat Offline Just a cat
      Just a cat (Bayun) 19 February 2021 12: 37
      +3
      Vasilyeva was not in opposition. and according to one of the versions, under the guise of corruption schemes, she financed the modernization of calibers in order to surprise the Americans later in Syria. And the bulk of the panties are soiled by the newcomer and in the "wash" ... let him suffer.
  2. Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 19 February 2021 13: 56
    -3
    A terrible defeat ... The unnamed billionaire henchman was amazed that the billionaires would not fall under sanctions and would continue to be almost-residents of England, Italy, Cyprus and others ...

    By the way, the Vasilievs. and the Serdyukovs are now on horseback again.
    Ministry of Defense, Aviation, helicopters, etc. Millionaire. (the very thing, on the calibers that!)
  3. Dmitry S. Offline Dmitry S.
    Dmitry S. (Dmitry Sanin) 20 February 2021 12: 50
    +2
    This is not Navalny's defeat. This is a triumph of reason.
  4. General Black Offline General Black
    General Black (Gennady) 20 February 2021 18: 02
    0
    The taverns and women will bring you to the zugunder.

Поражение Навального: Европа отказалась вводить санкции против российских миллиардеров


На следующей неделе Совет Европы планирует решить вопрос с возможными санкциями против России по делу посаженного в тюрьму российского оппозиционера Алексея Навального. Сторонники решительных мер в отношении Москвы настаивают на санкционных ограничениях против представителей российского бизнеса.


Однако, по мнению дипломатических источников Bloomberg, под эти санкции с большой долей вероятности не попадут российские миллиардеры, что станет своего рода поражением Навального – ограничительные меры Брюсселя могут затронуть лишь некоторых чиновников, якобы принимавших непосредственное участие в связанных с опальным российским блогером событиях.

Ранее представители команды Навального, в частности глава штаба Леонид Волков, призывали европейские власти ввести жесткие санкции против «кармана Путина» – российских миллиардеров, связанных с Кремлем, называя такие меры наиболее действенными.

Ряд представителей ЕС не хотят «сжигать все мосты» в отношениях с Кремлем. Восточноевропейцы при этом опасаются возможных ответных мер России, другие же члены Евросоюза не хотят, чтобы страдающая от давления Запада РФ сблизилась с КНР. По мнению главы германского МИДа Хайко Мааса, санкции должны быть направлены лишь против тех, кто несет прямую ответственность «за репрессии государства против своих граждан».

При этом Эстония, Литва, Латвия, Польша и Швеция призывают к более твердым шагам Евросоюза в отношении Кремля. Италия и Германия более взвешенно подходят к вопросу антироссийских санкций, которые, по мнению представителей этих стран, не должны мешать эффективной кооперации с Россией.

Официально санкции должны быть единодушно утверждены 27 членами ЕС к марту этого года. Если 22 февраля будет достигнуто согласие относительно основных моментов, стороны займутся формированием списка подпадающих под санкционные меры лиц, и им запретят въезд в страны Евросоюза и заморозят их активы в европейских банках.
5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Гардамир Офлайн Гардамир
    Гардамир (Леонид) 19 февраля 2021 12:19
    +2
    У меня такой "интимный" вопрос, а где сейчас сидит Навальный. Вот Женечку Васильеву, ту когда везли в здание суда выводили из автозака, несмотря на то что она тяжко страдала под домашним арестом. Где страдает Навальный?
    1. Просто Кот Офлайн Просто Кот
      Просто Кот (Баюн) 19 февраля 2021 12:37
      +3
      Васильева не состояла в оппозиции. а по одной из версий под видом коррупционных схем финансировала модернизацию калибров, чтобы потом в сирии удивить американцев. А у навального трусы испачканы новичком и в "стирке"... пусть страдает.
  2. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 19 февраля 2021 13:56
    -3
    Ужасное поражение.... Ставленника милиардеров Неназываемого поразили, что милиардеры не попадут под санкции и по прежнему будут почти-резидентами Англии, Италии, Кипра и прочих....

    Кстати, и Васильевы. и Сердюковы сейчас опять на коне.
    МО, Авиация, вертолеты и т.п. Милионер. (самое то, на Калибрах то!)
  3. Дмитрий С. Офлайн Дмитрий С.
    Дмитрий С. (Дмитрий Санин) 20 февраля 2021 12:50
    +2
    Это не поражение Навального. Это - торжество разума.
  4. Женераль Чернота (Геннадий) 20 февраля 2021 18:02
    0
    Кабаки и бабы доведут до цугундера.