What were the Doomsday ships that preceded the planes


At the height of the Cold War, when the world was teetering on the brink of a nuclear confrontation between the USSR and the United States, Washington was concerned about the creation of Doomsday ships for the continuity of operations. This program was officially known as the National Emergency Command Post afloat (NECPA), writes the American online publication The Drive.


If the Cold War had turned into a full-fledged one, the US leadership would have moved to these wonderful "floating White houses" while Soviet missiles destroyed American cities in the course of nuclear exchange. The United States had two such specially equipped vessels. The first was USS Northampton (CLC-1), the second was USS Wright (CVL-49). Converted from obsolete combat units, these amazing ships are the forerunners of the modern Doomsday air command post.

USS Northampton was the Atlantic Fleet's flagship command light cruiser, launched in 1953. In 1962, he began a different life. It was adapted for NECPA tasks. The cruiser was reclassified and codenamed "Naval Ruler". During the Cuban Missile Crisis, the president and his closest aides were evacuated to it by Marine Corps helicopters.


The ship's upgrades to fulfill its upcoming role in a potential Armageddon were extensive as the American government took care of itself while others were destined to die. More than forty tons of special equipment, including sixty transmitters and receivers, allowed him to process 3000 messages a day (which was considered a real breakthrough at the time). The powerful communications system allowed the ship to set a world speed record for sending messages around the world in just eight tenths of a second.

A year later, a second "floating White House" was added to it - USS Wright, codenamed "Zenith". He was also based in Norfolk. This warship was built as a Saipan-class light aircraft carrier, which entered service in 1947. It was decommissioned in 1956 and then converted for NECPA.

The dimensions of the aircraft carrier made it possible to equip it even more seriously. It became the most sophisticated communication platform in the sea at that time. The deck was lined with antennas, the tallest of which was a set of 156-foot masts decorated with tropospheric scatter antennas.

The "voice of command" with USS Wright has been heard on ships, aircraft and stations around the world. The premises of the ship were equipped with the most modern equipment with huge cinema screens. The ship had rooms for various events, briefings, planning, analysis, scheduling and emergency tasks. An entire room was set aside for the ship's teletypes, each of which was capable of receiving incoming messages at a speed of 100 words per minute.


The hangar was filled with operations centers, work areas and living quarters for 200 signalmen. The ship's crew consisted of 1000 people. If necessary, the crew could be increased.

In the event of damage to the antennas, the ship could communicate with three purpose-built facilities on the shore using a unique unmanned helicopter QH-43 Huskie, which had an ultra-low-frequency antenna, which it lifted to a height of several kilometers, providing communication even with submarines around the world. The deck could accommodate three helicopters. For operations in a radioactive environment, the ship was equipped with special air filters, and the decks were flushed with a salt water hydraulic system.

There were also plans to convert another Saipan-class aircraft carrier to NECPA, but this was abandoned. In addition, the military wanted to re-equip the USS Triton nuclear submarine under NECPA, but it did not go beyond research.

The operating principle underlying NECPA was that one of the two ships was constantly at sea, and they were changed every two weeks. Thus, one of them received protection from a surprise attack by the USSR.

How tenacious the ships were in reality remains an open question. They had to avoid any clashes with the Soviet Navy, which at that time was building up its capabilities on the high seas. Both ships had limited armament, so they probably would have become easy prey for Soviet sailors. In this regard, they were accompanied by large warships and nuclear submarines.
  • Photos Used: US Navy
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Dmitry S. Offline Dmitry S.
    Dmitry S. (Dmitry Sanin) 20 February 2021 14: 33
    +2
    It is difficult to answer anything reasonable in response to a crazy idea. Poseidon to help, god like that.
    1. greenchelman Offline greenchelman
      greenchelman (Grigory Tarasenko) 21 February 2021 14: 17
      0
      What's the madness? At that time, the United States had a huge fleet. The use of nuclear weapons at sea makes almost no sense. Swim and command. Technologies did not allow relocating command posts to the sky or space - they proceeded from the available capabilities. By the way, I am sure you are not at all embarrassed by the presence of the USSR ships of the type "Cosmonaut Yuri Gagarin" and you do not consider it insane.

Что представляли собой корабли «Судного дня», которые предшествовали самолетам


В разгар «холодной войны», когда мир балансировал на грани ядерной конфронтации между СССР и США, в Вашингтоне озаботились созданием кораблей «Судного дня» для непрерывности проведения операций. Эта программа была официально известна как Национальный чрезвычайный командный пункт на плаву (NECPA), пишет американское онлайн-издание The Drive.


Если бы «холодная война» перешла в полноценную, то руководство США перебралось бы на эти замечательные «плавающие Белые дома», пока советские ракеты уничтожали американские города в ходе обмена ядерными ударами. У США было два таких специально оборудованных судна. Первым стал USS Northampton (CLC-1), вторым был USS Wright (CVL-49). Эти удивительные корабли, переделанные из устаревших боевых единиц, являются предшественниками современных воздушных командных пунктов – самолетов «Судного дня».

USS Northampton был командирским легким крейсером – флагманом Атлантического флота, спущенным на воду в 1953 году. В 1962 году у него началась другая жизнь. Его адаптировали для задач NECPA. Крейсер был реклассифицирован и получил кодовое имя «Морской правитель». Во время Карибского кризиса президент и его ближайшие помощники были эвакуированы на него вертолетами Корпуса морской пехоты.


Модернизация корабля для выполнения предстоящей роли в потенциальном армагеддоне была обширной, ведь американское правительство заботилось о себе, пока другим было уготовано умереть. Более сорока тонн специального оборудования, включая шестьдесят передатчиков и приемников, позволяло ему обрабатывать 3000 сообщений в день (что в то время считалось настоящим прорывом). Мощная система связи позволила кораблю установить мировой рекорд скорости по отправке сообщений по всему миру, занимавшее всего восемь десятых секунды.

Через год к нему добавился второй «плавучий Белый дом» – USS Wright, получивший кодовое название «Зенит». Он также базировался в Норфолке. Этот военный корабль был построен как легкий авианосец класса Saipan, поступивший на вооружение в 1947 году. В 1956 году его списали, а затем переоборудовали для NECPA.

Размеры авианесущего корабля позволили оборудовать его еще более серьезно. Он стал самой сложной коммуникационной платформой, находившейся в море в те времена. Палуба была утыкана антеннами, самая высокая из которых представляла собой набор 156-футовых мачт, украшенных антеннами тропосферного рассеяния.

«Голос командования» с USS Wright был слышен на кораблях, самолетах и станциях по всему миру. Помещения корабля были оснащены самым современным оборудованием с огромными киноэкранами. На корабле имелись комнаты для проведения разных мероприятий, брифингов, планирования, анализа, построения графиков и решения чрезвычайных задач. Целая комната была отведена под корабельные телетайпы, каждый из которых был способен принимать входящие сообщения со скоростью 100 слов в минуту.


Ангар был заполнен оперативными центрами, рабочими зонами и жилыми помещениями для 200 связистов. Экипаж корабля состоял из 1000 человек. В случае необходимости экипаж можно было увеличить.

В случае повреждения антенн, корабль мог поддерживать связь с тремя специально построенными объектами на берегу при помощи уникального беспилотного вертолета QH-43 Huskie, имевшего сверхнизкочастотную антенну, которую поднимал на высоту в несколько километров, предоставляя связь даже с подлодками по всему миру. На палубе могли разместиться три вертолета. Для операций в радиоактивной среде корабль был оснащен специальными воздушными фильтрами, а палубы промывались гидросистемой с соленой водой.

Были также планы переоборудовать другой авианосец класса Saipan под NECPA, но от этого отказались. Кроме того, военные хотели переоборудовать под NECPA атомную подлодку USS Triton, но дальше исследований дело не пошло.

Принцип работы, лежащий в основе NECPA, предусматривал, чтобы один из двух кораблей постоянно находился в море, и они менялись каждые две недели. Таким образом, один из них получал защиту от внезапного нападения СССР.

Насколько живучи корабли были в реальности, остается открытым вопросом. Они должны были избегать любых столкновений с ВМФ СССР, который в тот период наращивал свои возможности в открытом море. Оба корабля имели ограниченное вооружение, поэтому, вероятно, они стали бы легкой добычей советских военных моряков. В связи с этим, их сопровождали крупные боевые корабли и АПЛ.
  • Использованы фотографии: U.S. Navy
2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Дмитрий С. Офлайн Дмитрий С.
    Дмитрий С. (Дмитрий Санин) 20 февраля 2021 14:33
    +2
    Сложно ответить что-либо разумное,в ответ на безумную идею. Посейдон в помощь, бог такой, типа.
    1. greenchelman Онлайн greenchelman
      greenchelman (Григорий Тарасенко) 21 февраля 2021 14:17
      0
      А в чем безумие? На тот момент у США был огромный флот. Применение ядерного оружия на море почти не имеет смысла. Плавай и командуй. Технологии не позволяли перебазировать пункты управления в небо или космос - они исходили из имеющихся возможностей. К слову, уверен вас абсолютно не смущает наличие у СССР судов типа "Космонавт Юрий Гагарин" и вы не считаете это безумием.