Hypersonic "Gremlin": why the new rocket was named after a mythical creature from England


A few days ago, preliminary tests of a new hypersonic missile began in Russia. The fifth-generation Su-57 fighter with its functional mock-ups took off. Now the possible name of this promising ammunition has become known - "Gremlin". Why did Russian developers choose to give her the name of a mythical creature from the Anglo-Saxon folklore?


The term Gremlin appeared unofficially a century ago in the British Air Force. With him, British and then American combat pilots associated all their problems in the military technology... Allegedly, these mythical creatures actively played dirty tricks on the Anglo-Saxons during the Second World War and after. In our country, these characters became widely known thanks to the 1984 horror film of the same name and its sequel. It can be assumed that by choosing such a name for a promising hypersonic missile, the Ministry of Defense of the Russian Federation wanted to transparently hint to the NATO bloc what problems await it if something happens.

There is no doubt that the need for the appearance of the "Gremlin" was a response to the expansion of the North Atlantic Alliance to the east. Nuclear weapons are, of course, good, but in the modern world, more flexible tools are needed to deter potential Western aggression. For example, military analysts in the United States are considering scenarios for the seizure of the Kaliningrad region, while for some reason they are firmly convinced that Moscow will refrain from using nuclear weapons in Europe. It is possible that this is precisely why the head of the Russian Defense Ministry Sergei Shoigu called the basis of the Russian non-nuclear deterrent forces hypersonic weapons, which are capable of overcoming all existing missile defense systems of the NATO bloc.

So, last year, intercontinental ballistic missiles with the Avangard hypersonic maneuvering units were already on alert. The MiG-31 supersonic interceptor fighters underwent modernization, as a result of which they were converted into carriers of the Kh-47M2 "Dagger" hypersonic missiles. The Zircon sea-based hypersonic missiles, which can hit both enemy ships and ground targets, are being successfully tested. And now the turn has come for, so to speak, the younger brother of "Dagger", "Gremlin".

Not much is known about the newest rocket yet. Work on it started back in 2018, and the first flight tests are scheduled for 2023. Hypersonic speed will be ensured by the "product 70" - a ramjet rocket engine. According to the American specialized edition Jane's Missiles & Rockets, the length of the Gremlin can be 6 meters, and the weight - 1500 kilograms, that is, it will be smaller and lighter than the Dagger. Open sources indicate a speed that is 6 times higher than sound, with a flight range of up to 1,5 thousand kilometers.

And yet why is it the Gremlin? Probably because the main purpose of the latest hypersonic missile will be to destroy command centers and radars. For such a high-tech adversary as the NATO bloc, a momentary loss of communication and the failure of the air defense / missile defense system will lead to the loss of command and control of the troops, which can be tantamount to defeat. Also, one of the priority targets for the Gremlins will be the aircraft carrier strike groups of the US Navy and the entire North Atlantic Alliance.

The big advantage of the new missile over the "Dagger" will be that it will be able to accommodate a much larger number of air carriers. These are not only "strategists" Tu-160 "White Swan", Tu-95 "Bear" and Tu-22M3M, but also the supersonic fighter-interceptor MiG-31, as well as the fifth-generation fighter Su-57, on which the first flight tests with mock-ups. And even that is not all. Well-founded assumptions are being made that in the future, front-line aircraft, in particular, the Su-30SM multipurpose fighter and the super-maneuverable Su-35, can be equipped with hypersonic missiles. Due to this, the Russian Aerospace Forces will be able to deliver a large-scale disarming airstrike, which will lead to the enemy's loss of controllability.

That's why Gremlin.
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Just a cat Offline Just a cat
    Just a cat (Bayun) 21 February 2021 11: 10
    +2
    "Russian Rhapsody" or "Gremlins from the Kremlin". American cartoon from 1944.
  2. Alexander K_2 Online Alexander K_2
    Alexander K_2 (Alexander K) 21 February 2021 13: 03
    -11%
    Gremlin is a mystical creature. Everything is logical and correct, the SU-57, missiles, tanks, the navy, civil aviation, and Russia's space programs have, in fact, recently turned into “gremlins” ie MYTH! So everything is correct!
    1. Marzhecki Offline Marzhecki
      Marzhecki (Sergei) 22 February 2021 06: 39
      +3
      Not able to understand the difference between mythical and mystical? wink
      1. Alexander K_2 Online Alexander K_2
        Alexander K_2 (Alexander K) 22 February 2021 21: 16
        -4
        I think the Russian "swords of the Kladintsy" are so intertwined with fantasy that the one who comes up with such articles already completely loses the line between the concept of Myth and Mystic, because the meaning of analyzing such stuffing moves from the section of Myth to the concept of some kind of Mystic!
  3. amateur Offline amateur
    amateur (Victor) 21 February 2021 13: 13
    0
    In our country, these characters became widely known thanks to the 1984 horror film of the same name.

    Gremlins in the film are Made in China. So there is a double hint at once to the "partners" from NATO. am
  4. Kedrovich Offline Kedrovich
    Kedrovich (Alexa980) 24 February 2021 19: 55
    0
    Nothing without nuclear weapons. And to launch hundreds of missiles with a simple filling on a wide front at once will not be able to stupidly - it is expensive. It would be necessary to bungle a hypersound with a thermobaric ammunition in terms of power "daddy of all bombs." And then only in the form of a bomb. And the bombs are to finish off.

Гиперзвуковой «Гремлин»: почему новой ракете дали имя мифического существа из Англии


Несколько дней назад в России начались предварительные испытания новой гиперзвуковой ракеты. В воздух поднялся истребитель пятого поколения Су-57 с её функциональными макетами. Теперь стало известно возможное название этого перспективного боеприпаса – «Гремлин». Почему же российские разработчики предпочли дать ей имя мифического существа из фольклора англосаксов?


Термин Гремлин (Gremlin) неофициально появился сто лет назад в британских ВВС. С ним английские, а потом и американские боевые летчики связывали все свои проблемы в военной технике. Якобы эти мифические существа всячески активно пакостили англосаксам во время Второй мировой войны и после. В нашей стране эти персонажи стали широко известны благодаря одноименному фильму-ужастику 1984 года и его продолжению. Можно предположить, что выбором такого названия для перспективной гиперзвуковой ракеты Минобороны РФ хотело прозрачно намекнуть блоку НАТО, какие проблемы его в случае чего ожидают.

Несомненно, что необходимость появления «Гремлина» стала ответом на расширение Североатлантического альянса на восток. Ядерное оружие – это, конечно, хорошо, но в современном мире нужен более гибкий инструментарий для сдерживания потенциальной западной агрессии. Так, например, военные аналитики в США рассматривают сценарии захвата Калининградской области, при этом они почему-то стойко убеждены, что Москва воздержится от применения ЯО в Европе. Не исключено, что именно поэтому глава Минобороны РФ Сергей Шойгу назвал основой российских сил неядерного сдерживания гиперзвуковое вооружение, которое способно преодолевать все существующие системы ПРО блока НАТО.

Так, в прошлом году на боевое дежурство уже встали межконтинентальные баллистические ракеты с гиперзвуковыми маневрирующими блоками «Авангард». Сверхзвуковые истребители-перехватчики МиГ-31 прошли модернизацию, в результате которой были превращены в носителей гиперзвуковых ракет Х-47М2 «Кинжал». Успешно проходят испытания гиперзвуковые ракеты морского базирования «Циркон», которые смогут поражать как корабли противника, так и наземные цели. И вот теперь пришла очередь для, если можно так выразиться, младшего брата «Кинжала», «Гремлина».

О новейшей ракете пока известно не очень много. Работы над ней стартовали еще в 2018 году, а первые полетные испытания запланированы на 2023 год. Гиперзвуковая скорость будет обеспечена за счет «изделия 70» – прямоточного ракетного двигателя. По оценкам американского специализированного издания Jane's Missiles & Rockets, длина «Гремлина» может составить 6 метров, а вес – 1500 килограммов, то есть, он будет меньше и легче «Кинжала». В открытых источниках указывается скорость, превышающая звуковую в 6 раз, при дальности полета до 1,5 тысячи километров.

И все-таки почему это именно «Гремлин»? Наверное, потому, что основным предназначением новейшей гиперзвуковой ракеты будет поражение командных центров и радиолокаторов. Для такого высокотехнологичного противника, как блок НАТО, одномоментные потеря связи и выход из строя системы ПВО/ПРО приведут к утрате управляемости войсками, что может быть равносильно поражению. Также одной из первоочередных целей для «Гремлинов» будут авианосные ударные группы ВМС США и всего Североатлантического альянса.

Большим преимуществом новой ракеты перед «Кинжалом» станет то, что она сможет разместиться на гораздо большем количестве воздушных носителей. Это не только «стратеги» Ту-160 «Белый лебедь», Ту-95 «Медведь» и Ту-22М3М, но и сверхзвуковой истребитель-перехватчик МиГ-31, а также истребитель пятого поколения Су-57, на котором и прошли первые летные испытания с макетами. И даже это далеко не все. Высказываются вполне обоснованные предположения, что гиперзвуковыми ракетами в дальнейшем могут быть оснащены и самолеты фронтовой авиации, в частности, многоцелевой истребитель Су-30СМ и сверхманевренный Су-35. За счет этого ВКС РФ получат возможность для нанесения масштабного обезоруживающего авиаудара, который приведет к потере противником управляемости.

Вот поэтому и «Гремлин».
6 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Просто Кот Офлайн Просто Кот
    Просто Кот (Баюн) 21 февраля 2021 11:10
    +2
    "Русская рапсодия" или "Гремлины из Кремля". американский мульт от 1944 года.
  2. Александр К_2 (Александр К) 21 февраля 2021 13:03
    -11
    Гремлин- это мистическое существо. Все закономерно и правильно, СУ-57, ракеты, танки, флот, гражданская авиация, космические программы России по сути в последнее время превратились в ,,гремлинов" т.е. МИФ! Так что все правильно!
    1. Маржецкий Офлайн Маржецкий
      Маржецкий (Сергей) 22 февраля 2021 06:39
      +3
      Не в состоянии понять разницу между мифическим и мистическим? wink
      1. Александр К_2 (Александр К) 22 февраля 2021 21:16
        -4
        Думаю российские ,,мечи кладинцы" так переплетаются с фантастикой, что уже тот кто придумывает такие статьи уже напрочь теряет грань между понятием Миф и Мистика, т.к. уже смысл анализировать такие вбросы переходит из раздела Мифа в понятие какой-то Мистики!
  3. дилетант Офлайн дилетант
    дилетант (Виктор) 21 февраля 2021 13:13
    0
    В нашей стране эти персонажи стали широко известны благодаря одноименному фильму-ужастику 1984 года

    В фильме гремлины - Made in China. Так что сразу двойной намек "партнерам" из НАТО. am
  4. Kedrovich Офлайн Kedrovich
    Kedrovich (Alexa980) 24 февраля 2021 19:55
    0
    Без ядерного боеприпаса ниочем. А запустить разом сотни ракет с простой начинкой по широкому фронту тупо не смогут - дорого. Надо бы сварганить гиперзвук с термобарическим боеприпасом по мощности "папа всех бомб". А то только в виде бомбы. А бомбы это уже чтобы добивать.