Russia has made Kaliningrad less vulnerable to the West


Last week, Rostelecom completed the laying of the Kingisepp - Kaliningrad submarine fiber-optic communication line, taking another step towards ensuring information sovereignty. The length of the highway running along the bottom of the Baltic Sea is 1115 km, and its capacity is 100 Gbit / s with the possibility of 80 times expansion.


Now the Kaliningrad region is provided with the Internet thanks to lines passing through the Baltic states or through hubs in Germany and Sweden. The new highway will make it possible to abandon foreign suppliers as soon as the corresponding contracts expire, and to obtain full digital independence of the region.

It should be noted that the case is not limited to Kaliningrad. Recently, our country has been spending billions on creating its own Internet infrastructure. After all, the global network plays an increasing role in our life and becomes a factor of national security.

At the same time, in fact, the modern Internet is almost completely at the disposal of American transatlantic corporations, which should be alarming. In this regard, Russia at the beginning of this year invited the International Telecommunication Union to discuss this issue at the UN. However, our initiative was predictably ignored.

However, this did not affect our country's plans to ensure the autonomy of the Russian Internet. We continue to build our own independent infrastructure. At the same time, Russian government agencies and businesses began to realize the risks and transfer important information to the territory of the country. This has already caused a shortage of data centers, which are now being built at an urgent pace everywhere.

2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. steelmaker Offline steelmaker
    steelmaker 24 February 2021 15: 47
    0
    China has already built it. And as usual, it comes to our government with a delay. Let's rejoice, all is not lost!
    1. 123 Offline 123
      123 (123) 24 February 2021 17: 10
      +1
      China has already built it. And as usual, it comes to our government with a delay. Let's rejoice, all is not lost!

      China has a slightly different scale and population density. Fiber and 4G are available in 98% of townships across the country. In 2020, the number of telephone users is 1,776 billion (-16,4 million), 113,9 phones per 100 people. The number of fixed broadband Internet users is 484 million (+34,27 million), in rural areas 142 million (+7,12 million). The number of "agrarians" is comparable to the population of Russia. It all pays off much faster. hi

      http://www.gov.cn/xinwen/2021-01/26/content_5582523.htm

Россия сделала Калининград менее уязвимым для Запада


На прошлой неделе «Ростелеком» завершил прокладку подводной оптоволоконной линии связи «Кингисепп – Калининград», сделав еще один шаг к обеспечению информационного суверенитета. Протяженность магистрали, проходящей по дну Балтийского моря, составляет 1115 км, а ее пропускная способность – 100 Гбит/сек с возможностью расширения в 80 раз.


Сейчас Калининградская область обеспечивается интернетом благодаря линиям, проходящим по территории Прибалтики или через хабы в Германии и Швеции. Новая магистраль позволит отказаться от иностранных поставщиков, как только истекут соответствующие контракты, и получить полную цифровую независимость региона.

Стоит отметить, что дело Калининградом не ограничивается. В последнее время наша страна тратит миллиарды на создание собственной интернет-инфраструктуры. Ведь глобальная сеть играет все большую роль в нашей жизни и становится фактором национальной безопасности.

При этом по факту современный интернет находится практически в полном распоряжении американских трансатлантических корпораций, что должно настораживать. В связи с этим Россия в начале текущего года предложила Международному союзу электросвязи обсудить данный вопрос в ООН. Однако нашу инициативу предсказуемо проигнорировали.

Впрочем, на планы нашей страны по обеспечению автономности российского интернета это не повлияло. Мы продолжаем строить собственную независимую инфраструктуру. При этом российские государственные учреждения и бизнес стали осознавать риски и переносить важную информацию на территорию страны. Это уже вызвало дефицит ЦОД, которые теперь в авральном темпе строятся повсеместно.

Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. сталевар Офлайн сталевар
    сталевар 24 февраля 2021 15:47
    0
    Китай давно это уже построил. А до нашей власти, как обычно, с задержкой доходит. Давайте порадуемся, не всё ещё потеряно!
    1. 123 Офлайн 123
      123 (123) 24 февраля 2021 17:10
      +1
      Китай давно это уже построил. А до нашей власти, как обычно, с задержкой доходит. Давайте порадуемся, не всё ещё потеряно!

      У Китая немного другие масштабы и плотность населения. Оптоволокно и 4G доступны в 98% административных поселков по всей стране. За 2020 год число пользователей телефонов 1,776 млрд. (-16,4 млн.), 113,9 телефонов на 100 человек. Количество пользователей фиксированного широкополосного интернета 484 млн. (+34,27 млн.), в сельской местности 142 млн. (+7,12 млн.). Количество "аграриев" сопоставимо с населением России. Это все окупается гораздо быстрее. hi

      http://www.gov.cn/xinwen/2021-01/26/content_5582523.htm