Politico: Biden's first sanctions against Russia will be serious enough


The administration of the new American President Joseph Biden is preparing a serious sanctions response to the Kremlin for his actions against the leader of the Russian non-systemic opposition, Alexei Navalny, who was sentenced to a real term instead of a suspended sentence. In the coming weeks, the Americans will coordinate their plans on this issue with their European partners.


Suffice it to say that we will not be idle in the face of these human rights violations

- said in an interview with Politico one of the officials of the presidential administration, who, however, refused to name the first concrete steps of the Biden cabinet in this direction.

The United States continues to increase pressure on Russia, which began in January this year, with the Joe Biden administration intending to revise its attitude towards Moscow towards more serious pressure. According to a number of experts, the White House should not hesitate with new sanctions measures, especially after the decision of the Russian court to transfer Navalny from the pre-trial detention center to the colony.

Daniel Fried, a former US assistant secretary of state for European and Eurasian affairs, believes Washington should take swift action against Moscow to make it clear to Putin that the Americans are serious.
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Just a cat Online Just a cat
    Just a cat (Bayun) 23 February 2021 17: 18
    +5
    As all the "snowdrops" in Texas are collected, they will start right away. laughing
  2. Alexander K_2 Offline Alexander K_2
    Alexander K_2 (Alexander K) 23 February 2021 19: 43
    -6
    Russia will have a hard time if the sanctions work.
    1. Pivander Offline Pivander
      Pivander (Alex) 24 February 2021 13: 03
      0
      Yeah. 7 years already so tight ...
      1. Alexander K_2 Offline Alexander K_2
        Alexander K_2 (Alexander K) 27 February 2021 11: 27
        0
        And that Russia did not feel the sanctions and that people healed like in Europe or the United States?

Politico: Первые санкции Байдена против России будут достаточно серьезными


Администрация нового американского президента Джозефа Байдена готовит серьезный санкционный ответ Кремлю на его действия в отношении лидера российской внесистемной оппозиции Алексея Навального, осужденного на реальный срок вместо условного. В ближайшие недели американцы скоординируют свои планы по этому вопросу с европейскими партнерами.


Достаточно сказать, что мы не будем бездействовать перед лицом этих нарушений прав человека

– подчеркнул в интервью Politico один из чиновников президентской администрации, который, впрочем, отказался назвать первые конкретные шаги кабинета Байдена в этом направлении.

Соединенные Штаты продолжают усиливать начатое в январе этого года давление на Россию, причем администрация Джо Байдена намерена пересмотреть свое отношение к Москве в сторону более серьезного прессинга. По мнению ряда экспертов, Белый дом не должен медлить с новыми санкционными мерами, в особенности после решения российского суда о переводе Навального из СИЗО в колонию.

Бывший помощник государственного секретаря США по европейским и евразийским делам Дэниел Фрид считает, что Вашингтон должен предпринять быстрые действия в отношении Москвы, чтобы дать понять Путину серьезность намерений американцев.
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
4 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Просто Кот Офлайн Просто Кот
    Просто Кот (Баюн) 23 февраля 2021 17:18
    +5
    Как все "подснежники" в Техасе соберут, так сразу и начнут. laughing
  2. Александр К_2 (Александр К) 23 февраля 2021 19:43
    -6
    Туго придется России, если санкции заработают.
    1. Пивандер Офлайн Пивандер
      Пивандер (Алекс) 24 февраля 2021 13:03
      0
      Ага. 7 лет уже так туго туго...
      1. Александр К_2 (Александр К) 27 февраля 2021 11:27
        0
        А что Россия не ощутила санкций и люди зажили как в Европе или США ?