Lifting bans, record losses and new accidents - what's happening with Boeing?


Completion for one of the world's leading aircraft manufacturers - Boeing Co. - a long "black stripe", marked by the lifting of bans on flights of the 737 МАХ aircraft, canceled out by two new aircraft accidents at once, which happened almost simultaneously in different parts of the world with aircraft manufactured by this company.


Again investigations and technical expertise, refusal to operate, possible lawsuits and claims ... Bad luck continues to haunt the American corporation. Let's try to figure out what is happening with the aviation giant today and how serious problems it is experiencing.

"He disappeared, having lost the fuel, all fell to pieces ..."


Really, the impression is beginning to appear that some kind of evil fate prevails over Boeing. On February 20 this year, at the cargo side of a Boeing 747-400F, which took off from the Dutch Maastricht airport, one of the four engines suddenly caught fire right in the air. After that, he literally began to fall apart into its component parts, which fell on the heads of the locals and their cars, who were pretty taken aback by such a surprise. A couple of people (an elderly woman and a child) even had to be hospitalized. Fortunately, the pilots managed to reach Liege, located three dozen kilometers away, but already on the territory of neighboring Belgium, and there land quite safely. Much more dramatic events unfolded at the same time on the other side of the planet - in the United States.

There, a United Airlines Boeing 777-200 passenger airliner, performing the most ordinary flight from Denver to Hawaii, managed to fly only half an hour before it started having exactly the same problems as its cargo “brother” in the skies of Europe. The right engine of the plane first started to smoke, then flared up, and then everything went according to the quote from Vysotsky's song given in the subtitle. The liner, on board of which there were 231 passengers and 10 crew members, did not disappear. But then pieces of his engine showered the area from Denver to Bloomfield, Colorado. Thanks to the professionalism of the pilots, it was possible to return the emergency vehicle to the take-off site and land it, so carefully that not a single passenger was injured. Happy ending? Not really - at least for Boeing. Its representatives, who after the tragedies in Indonesia and Ethiopia prefer to reinsure themselves a hundred times in any emergency situation, immediately called for the termination of flights of all 777 models equipped with Pratt & Whitney 4000-112 engines, the same as the one that failed in Denver.


According to experts, today 69 such machines are actively used all over the world, another 59 are in conservation storage, "grounded" by the coronavirus pandemic. In addition to United Airlines themselves, which have 24 such aircraft in their fleet, Boeing's advice was also followed by aviators from Japan and South Korea, who are the main operators of this model outside the United States. In the United States itself, not only the country's Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), but also the National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) joined the investigation as quickly as possible. The specialists of the latter, by the way, have already announced the first preliminary versions of the causes of the accident - most likely, this was caused by the fatigue of the metal in the engine blades, which, self-destructing, pierced its outer skin and "fired" into the surrounding space. What can you do, technique there is a technique - from time to time it fails, fails and breaks down.

Minor incidents with Pratt & Whitney engines have been noted on Boeing liners earlier, however, one of them failed in the air for the first time in the history of use. Fortunately, the company has produced only 128 aircraft equipped with them. Most 777s have GE90 engines from General Electric. Nevertheless, some especially vigilant gentlemen today propose to ban flights of every Boeing 777 and subject them to an intensive check for the serviceability of everything that is possible. As soon as one real incident happens, and here it is not far from the general panic. A few days after the events described above, on February 23 in the United States, a Delta Airlines Boeing 757-200 passenger liner made an emergency landing at Salt Lake City airport. At the same time, the pilots reported an engine breakdown to the ground, but the equipment and firefighters who arrived at the landing site did not find any signs of such. Soon the pilots will start to shy away from just one word Boeing ...

Weren't you in a hurry with the "amnesty"?


All these events are, to put it mildly, very untimely for the corporation, which barely managed to breathe a sigh of relief after the return to the sky of the "outcast" Boeing 737 MAX airliner became reality. The first in this matter were the airlines of the USA, Canada and Brazil, which at the end of last year officially started operating these machines on their lines after many months of their forced downtime. However, a real "breakthrough" for Boeing Co. was the decision of the European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA), announced at the end of January this year, which finally opened the Old World sky for the 737 MAX. According to EASA Executive Director Patrick Kaye, the organization has conducted its own thorough research, "completely independent" from both Boeing itself and the US Federal Aviation Administration. At the same time, its specialists “were not subjected to any pressure as in politicalAnd in economic planes ". In a word, everything is fair and objective. According to the conclusions of the EASA experts, Boeing's "meticulous modifications" of the corresponding software and equipment made the 737 MAX an "absolutely safe" winged aircraft that Europeans can trust with their lives without the slightest doubt.

It must be said that such optimism did not arouse the approval of a very large group of people who are directly related to the issue of the safety of “problem” airliners - relatives of the victims of the plane crashes in Indonesia and Ethiopia, which brought the 737 MAX the sad “glory” of the killer plane. At the end of last year, when the European Aviation Safety Agency announced only preliminary intentions to allow these airliners to fly to the EU, they turned to Patrick Kai with an official letter in which they categorically objected to such a decision.

The document said that it should be accepted only on the basis of ardent assurances from the Americans that all the defects of the machine could not be eliminated in any case. At the same time, the authors of the letter referred to the report of the members of the US Senate, which provided evidence that the collusion of some FAA representatives with the leadership of Boeing Co. in the course of testing the 737 MAX has already occurred at least once. The relatives of the victims categorically demanded that EASA not only independently assess the safety of the “modified” liners, but also specifically explain to potential passengers how the changes made by Boeing would improve their operation. At the same time, I would not like to suspect the authors of the appeal in banal self-interest and a desire to organize another attack on the company's reputation in order to get any more compensation from it. On the one hand, Boeing Co. did not skimp on payments to the families of the victims - only from the special fund of the corporation they were transferred about 50 million dollars. At the same time, the company promised to “spend on education” the same amount of those relatives of the plane crashes who intend to receive it.

On the other hand, since all these compensations do not provide for the refusal to file the corresponding legal claims, things could turn out much worse for Boeing. According to American lawyers, if the cases are tried in the courts of the state of Illinois, where the corporation's headquarters are located, a law may be applied, according to which it will have to pay for every minute of the deaths of the victims. In this case, the amount of claims can easily exceed a billion dollars. Moreover, with a fairly serious chance of their satisfaction.

Be that as it may, according to the official financial report of the Boeing Co., published on January 27 this year, 2020 was not just a disaster, but a disastrous year for one of the world's largest aircraft manufacturing giants. The company's loss reached a record figure for its entire existence - almost $ 12 billion. Revenue fell, in fact, by a quarter - to a volume of over 58 billion dollars. Back in 2019, it exceeded 76 and a half billion, and the losses were estimated at only $ 636 million. In fact, the company is "afloat" solely thanks to the collaboration with the Pentagon and NASA. The earnings of its defense and space divisions were the only positive indicator, increasing by 2020% in 2 to $ 6.8 billion. In everything else - from the sale of commercial liners to service maintenance - there was only one recession and continuous losses. The situation with the 737 MAX played an important role in all this - after all, before the production of aircraft of this model was stopped in January 2020, Boeing managed to “stamp” four hundred such aircraft, which were “hanging” on its balance sheet as a dead weight. Removing all suspicion from this liner and returning it to service is vital to the survival of the corporation. At the same time, even positive decisions of EASA are far from being a final victory.

Do not forget that about 25% of sales of exactly 737 MAX were in China. Today in the Celestial Empire they refuse to buy even previously ordered aircraft of this model - they say, of course, we have a lot of people, but there are no extra people to risk them because of your unreliable machines. We do not believe your assurances of their safety, so we'd better build our own liners. There is no doubt that this position has a fair amount of political overtones due to the "trade war" waged between Washington and Beijing. However, the Chinese comrades are also concerned about saving the lives of their own fellow citizens. They are in no hurry to lift the ban on flights of 737 MAX in India, which also represents a very vast and promising market for the company.

Naturally, in such conditions, every accident, in the news about which the aircraft produced by it appear, for the corporation - that a knife is sharp. It seems that she now, like some of her cars, is experiencing a certain "fatigue" of their own foundations and foundations. It is not yet clear whether Boeing will be able to overcome the "turbulence" that has hit it and "get on the wing" again.
8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Just a cat Offline Just a cat
    Just a cat (Bayun) 25 February 2021 09: 49
    +3
    This is not bad fate, but corruption. Boeing chose to bribe and buy a flight permit rather than fix problems.
  2. Cyril Offline Cyril
    Cyril (Kirill) 25 February 2021 11: 13
    -4
    relatives of victims of plane crashes in Indonesia and Ethiopia, which brought the 737 MAX the sad "glory" of the killer aircraft.
    They were back at the end of last year, when only preliminary intentions were voiced in the European Aviation Safety Agency to allow these airliners to fly to the EU, turned to Patrick Kai with an official letter in which they categorically objected to such a decision.

    The document saidthat it should be accepted only on the basis of the warm assurances of the Americans that all the defects of the machine cannot be eliminated in any case. At the same time, the authors of the letter referred to the report of the members of the US Senate, which provided evidence that the collusion of some FAA representatives with the leadership of Boeing Co. the 737 MAX has already occurred at least once during the test. The relatives of the victims categorically demanded that EASA not only independently assess the safety of the "modified" liners, but also specifically explain to potential passengers how the changes made by Boeing would help to improve their operation.

    2 of the question arises:

    1. How, from the point of view of the authors of this letter, can the reliability of the repaired airliners be checked without trusting the manufacturer's assurances and not putting them into operation?

    2. I wonder how the authors of the letter - let me remind you that they are relatives of the passengers, that is, not aircraft design engineers - represent "concrete explanations of what changes were made to the liner design to improve its reliability"?

    UPD: Surprisingly calm, sane and balanced article from A. Neukropny. Without agitation and low-grade propaganda.
  3. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 25 February 2021 12: 39
    -1
    Right. The article is good. It’s strange that amers don’t water.
  4. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 25 February 2021 13: 00
    -1
    Just today, an article appeared about the Aviation of the Russian Armed Forces and the beloved former military minister, now in charge of the sky ...
    "Aviation design bureaus - homeless. Reforms according to Serdyukov"
  5. Michael1950 Offline Michael1950
    Michael1950 (Michael) 26 February 2021 23: 28
    -1
    - Engines are on fire, and planes are accused ...
    1. persimmon ufimtsev (khurmat ufimtsev) 26 February 2021 23: 52
      +1
      then the engines need to be changed.
  6. Alexander Ulyev Offline Alexander Ulyev
    Alexander Ulyev (Alexander Ulyev) 28 February 2021 23: 05
    +1
    It was the Russians who threw nails into the engines.
    1. Pivander Offline Pivander
      Pivander (Alex) 1 March 2021 14: 23
      0
      .. very soon soldier

Снятие запретов, рекордные убытки и новые аварии – что происходит с Boeing?


Завершение для одного из ведущих мировых авиапроизводителей – корпорации Boeing Со. – длительной «черной полосы», ознаменовавшееся снятием запретов на полеты лайнеров модели 737 МАХ, перечеркнуто сразу двумя новыми авиапроисшествиями, случившимися практически одновременно в разных частях света с самолетами, произведенными этой компанией.


Опять расследования и технические экспертизы, отказ от эксплуатации, возможные судебные иски и претензии... Злой рок продолжает преследовать американскую корпорацию. Попробуем разобраться, что сегодня происходит с авиагигантом и насколько серьезные проблемы он переживает.

«Сгинул, топливо утратив, весь распался на куски...»


Право же, начинает складываться впечатление, что над Boeing довлеет какой-то злой рок. 20 февраля нынешнего года у грузового борта Boeing 747-400F, вылетевшего из голландского аэропорта Маастрихт, один из четырех двигателей внезапно загорелся прямо в воздухе. После этого он начал буквально разваливаться на составные части, посыпавшиеся на головы изрядно опешивших от такого сюрприза местных жителей и их автомобили. Пару человек (пожилую женщину и ребенка) пришлось даже госпитализировать. К счастью, пилотам удалось дотянуть до расположенного в трех десятках километров, но уже на территории соседней Бельгии Льежа и там приземлиться вполне благополучно. Гораздо более драматично в это же самое время развивались события на другом конце планеты – в Соединенных Штатах.

Там пассажирский лайнер Boeing 777-200 компании United Airlines, выполнявший самый обычный рейс из Денвера на Гавайи, успел провести в полете всего полчаса, как у него начались в точности такие же проблемы, как у его грузового «собрата» в небе Европы. Правый двигатель самолета сперва задымился, затем вспыхнул, а далее все пошло по приведенной в подзаголовке цитате из песни Высоцкого. Лайнер, на борту которого находился 231 пассажир и 10 членов экипажа, не сгинул. Но вот куски его двигателя осыпали пространство от Денвера до городка Блумфилд в штате Колорадо. Благодаря профессионализму летчиков аварийную машину удалось вернуть к месту взлета и посадить, да так аккуратно, что не пострадал ни один из пассажиров. Счастливый финал? Не совсем – во всяком случае, для компании Boeing. Ее представители, которые после трагедий в Индонезии и Эфиопии предпочитают сто раз перестраховываться в любой нештатной ситуации, немедленно выступили с призывом прекратить полеты всех до единой 777-х моделей, оснащенных двигателями Pratt & Whitney 4000-112, такими же, как вышедший из строя в Денвере.


По оценкам специалистов, сегодня во всем мире активно эксплуатируется 69 таких машин, еще 59 находятся на консервационном хранении, «приземленные» пандемией коронавируса. Совету Boeing помимо самих United Airlines, имеющих в своем парке 24 таких самолета, также последовали авиаторы Японии и Южной Кореи, являющиеся основными эксплуатантами данной модели за пределами США. В самих Соединенных Штатах к расследованию с максимальной оперативностью подключилось не только Федеральное авиационное управление страны (FAA), но также и Национальный совет по безопасности на транспорте (NTSB). Специалисты последнего, кстати, уже огласили первые предварительные версии причин аварии – скорее всего, к таковой привела усталость металла в лопастях двигателей, которые, саморазрушившись, пробили его внешнюю обшивку и «выстрелили» в окружающее пространство. Что поделаешь, техника есть техника – время от времени она сбоит, подводит и ломается.

Незначительные инциденты с двигателями Pratt & Whitney отмечались на лайнерах Boeing и ранее, правда, в воздухе один из них отказал впервые за всю историю использования. К счастью, компания выпустила всего лишь 128 самолетов, оснащенных ими. Большинство 777-х имеют двигатели GE90 от General Electric. Тем не менее некоторые особо бдительные господа сегодня предлагают запретить полеты всех до единого Boeing 777 и подвергнуть их усиленной проверке на предмет исправности всего, что только можно. Стоит случиться одному реальному инциденту – и тут уж недалеко и до всеобщей паники. Спустя несколько дней после описанных выше происшествий, 23 февраля в США пассажирский лайнер Boeing 757-200 авиакомпании Delta Airlines совершил аварийную посадку в аэропорту Солт-Лейк-Сити. При этом пилоты сообщили на землю о поломке двигателя, однако прибывшие на место приземления техники и пожарные не обнаружили никаких признаков таковой. Эдак скоро летчики начнут шарахаться от одного только слова Boeing...

Не поторопились ли с «амнистией»?


Все эти события являются, мягко говоря, очень несвоевременными для корпорации, в которой едва-едва успели облегченно вздохнуть после того, как реальностью стало возвращение в небо ставшего «изгоем» лайнера Boeing 737 MАХ. Первыми в данном вопросе были авиакомпании США, Канады и Бразилии, в конце прошлого года официально приступившие к эксплуатации на своих линиях этих машин после многих месяцев их вынужденного простоя. Впрочем, настоящим «прорывом» для Boeing Со. стало обнародованное в конце января нынешнего года решение Европейского агентства по безопасности полетов (EASA), окончательно открывшее для 737 МАХ небо Старого Света. По утверждению исполнительного директора EASA Патрика Кая, организация провела собственное тщательное исследование, «совершенно независимое» как от самой Boeing, так и от и Федерального авиационного управления США. При этом на ее специалистов «не было оказано какого-либо давления как в политической, так и в экономической плоскостях». Одним словом – все честно и объективно. В соответствии с выводами экспертов EASA, проведенные Boeing «тщательные доработки» соответствующего программного обеспечения и оборудования, сделали 737 МАХ «абсолютно безопасной» крылатой машиной, которой европейцы могут доверить свои жизни без малейших сомнений.

Надо сказать, что подобный оптимизм не вызвал одобрения со стороны весьма значительной группы людей, имеющих самое непосредственное отношение к вопросу о безопасности «проблемных» лайнеров – родственников жертв авиакатастроф в Индонезии и Эфиопии, принесших 737 МАХ печальную «славу» самолета-убийцы. Они еще в конце прошлого года, когда в Европейском агентстве по безопасности полетов озвучивались лишь предварительные намерения допустить эти лайнеры до полетов в ЕС, обратились к Патрику Каю с официальным письмом, в котором категорически возражали против такого решения.

В документе было сказано, что принимать его лишь на основании горячих заверений американцев в том, что все недостатки машины устранены нельзя ни в коем случае. При этом авторы письма ссылались на доклад членов Сената США, в котором приводились доказательства того, что сговор некоторых представителей FAA с руководством Boeing Со. в процессе испытаний 737 MAX уже имел место, как минимум, один раз. Родственники жертв категорически требовали, чтобы EASA не просто самостоятельно оценивала степень безопасности «доработанных» лайнеров, но и конкретно объяснила их потенциальным пассажирам – как именно способствуют повышению их эксплуатации те изменения, которые были внесены Boeing. Не хотелось бы при этом заподозрить авторов обращения в банальной корысти и желании организовать очередную атаку на репутацию компании с целью получить от нее еще какие-либо компенсации. С одной стороны, Boeing Со. не поскупилась на выплаты семьям погибших – только из специального фонда корпорации им было передано около 50 миллионов долларов. При этом еще такую же сумму компания пообещала «потратить на образование» тех родственников авиакатастроф, которые намерены его получить.

С другой стороны, поскольку все эти компенсации не предусматривают отказа от подачи соответствующих судебных исков, все может обернуться для Boeing намного плачевнее. По оценкам американских юристов, в случае если дела будут рассматриваться в судах штата Иллинойс, где расположена штаб-квартира корпорации, может быть применен закон, в соответствии с которым ей придется платить за каждую минуту предсмертных страданий погибших. В таком случае сумма исковых претензий легко может превысить и миллиард долларов. Причем с достаточно серьезными шансами на их удовлетворение.

Как бы то ни было, согласно официальному финансовому отчету корпорации Boeing Со., опубликованному 27 января нынешнего года, 2020 год стал для одного из крупнейших мировых авиастроительных гигантов не просто провальным, а катастрофическим. Убыток компании достиг цифры, рекордной для всего времени ее существования – почти 12 миллиардов долларов. Выручка снизилась, фактически, на четверть – до объема в 58 с небольшим миллиардов долларов. Еще в 2019 году она превышала 76 с половиной миллиардов, а убытки исчислялись всего лишь 636 миллионами долларов. Фактически, компания «держится на плаву» исключительно благодаря сотрудничеству с Пентагоном и НАСА. Заработок ее подразделений, работающих в оборонной и космической сферах, стал единственным позитивным показателем, увеличившись в 2020 году на 2%, до 6.8 миллиардов долларов. Во всем остальном – от продажи коммерческих лайнеров до сервисного обслуживания – один лишь спад и сплошные убытки. Ситуация с 737 МАХ сыграла во всем этом далеко не последнюю роль – ведь до остановки производства самолетов этой модели в январе 2020 года Boeing успел «наштамповать» четыре сотни таких машин, «повисших» на его балансе мертвым грузом. Снятие с этого лайнера всех подозрений и возвращение его в эксплуатацию жизненно важны для выживания корпорации. При этом даже положительные решения EASA – это еще далеко не окончательная победа.

Не стоит забывать, что примерно 25% продаж как раз именно 737 МАХ в свое время приходилось на Китай. Сегодня в Поднебесной отказываются покупать даже ранее заказанные самолеты этой модели – мол, народу у нас, конечно, много, но лишних людей, чтобы рисковать ими из-за ваших ненадежных машин нет. Вашим заверениям в их безопасности мы не верим, так что лучше построим свои лайнеры. Можно не сомневаться – у такой позиции есть изрядный политический подтекст, обусловленный ведущейся между Вашингтоном и Пекином «торговой войной». Однако и о сохранении жизней собственных сограждан китайские товарищи тоже пекутся. Не спешат снимать запрет на полеты 737 МАХ и в Индии, также представляющей для компании весьма обширный и перспективный рынок.

Естественно, в подобных условиях каждое авиапроисшествие, в новостях о котором фигурируют произведенные ею самолеты, для корпорации – что нож острый. Похоже, она сейчас, как и некоторые ее машины, переживает определенную «усталость» собственных устоев и основ. Удастся ли Boeing преодолеть обрушившуюся на нее «турбулентность» и снова «встать на крыло» – пока неясно.
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
8 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Просто Кот Офлайн Просто Кот
    Просто Кот (Баюн) 25 февраля 2021 09:49
    +3
    Это не злой рок, а коррупция. Боинг предпочел дать взятку и купить разрешение на полеты, чем устранять проблемы.
  2. Cyril Офлайн Cyril
    Cyril (Кирилл) 25 февраля 2021 11:13
    -4
    родственников жертв авиакатастроф в Индонезии и Эфиопии, принесших 737 МАХ печальную «славу» самолета-убийцы.
    Они еще в конце прошлого года, когда в Европейском агентстве по безопасности полетов озвучивались лишь предварительные намерения допустить эти лайнеры до полетов в ЕС, обратились к Патрику Каю с официальным письмом, в котором категорически возражали против такого решения.

    В документе было сказано, что принимать его лишь на основании горячих заверений американцев в том, что все недостатки машины устранены нельзя ни в коем случае. При этом авторы письма ссылались на доклад членов Сената США, в котором приводились доказательства того, что сговор некоторых представителей FAA с руководством Boeing Со. в процессе испытаний 737 MAX уже имел место, как минимум, один раз. Родственники жертв категорически требовали, чтобы EASA не просто самостоятельно оценивала степень безопасности «доработанных» лайнеров, но и конкретно объяснила их потенциальным пассажирам – как именно способствуют повышению их эксплуатации те изменения, которые были внесены Boeing.

    Возникает 2 вопроса:

    1. Как, с точки зрения авторов этого письма, можно проверить надежность исправленных авиалайнеров, не доверившись заверениям производителя и не пуская их в эксплуатацию?

    2. Интересно, как авторы письма - напомню, они родственники пассажиров, то есть не инженеры-авиаконструкторы - представляют собой "конкретные объяснения того, какие изменения были внесены в конструкцию лайнера для повышения его надежности"?

    UPD: На удивление спокойная, здравая и взвешенная статья от А. Неукропного. Без агиток и низкосортной пропаганды.
  3. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 25 февраля 2021 12:39
    -1
    Верно. Статья хорошая. Аж странно, что амеров не поливает.
  4. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 25 февраля 2021 13:00
    -1
    Как раз сегодня статья появилась про Авиацию ВС РФ и любимого бывшего воен-министра, заведующего теперь небом....
    "Авиационные КБ – в бомжи. Реформы по Сердюкову"
  5. Michael1950 Офлайн Michael1950
    Michael1950 (Michael) 26 февраля 2021 23:28
    -1
    - Горят - двигатели, а обвиняют - самолёты...
    1. хурмат уфимцев (хурмат уфимцев) 26 февраля 2021 23:52
      +1
      значит двигатели надо менять.
  6. Александр Ульев (Александр Ульев) 28 февраля 2021 23:05
    +1
    Это русские гвоздей в движки накидали.
    1. Пивандер Офлайн Пивандер
      Пивандер (Алекс) 1 марта 2021 14:23
      0
      ..авна скорее soldier