The first flight of the new American heavy rocket is postponed to 2022


The first launch of Blue Origin's heavy, partially reusable New Glenn rocket has been postponed to the fourth quarter of 2022. According to the initial plan, the debut launch of the promising carrier was to take place this year. The reason for the delay was the key Pentagon contract lost to SpaceX and United Launch Alliance.


According to Jarrett Jones, Blue Origin's senior vice president of New Glenn, the loss of the aforementioned contract was a painful blow to the company. The fact is that about $ 3 billion has already been spent on the heavy rocket project, and part of this amount was required to adapt the launch vehicle for sending satellites for the Pentagon.

The winner of the tender is guaranteed to receive a multi-billion dollar contract and a share of all space launches in the interests of the US Army from 2022 to 2027. Now Jeff Bezos' company will have to adjust its strategy.

However, Blue Origin is not going to "give up" due to the loss of a lucrative contract and hopes to launch payloads in the future in the interests of the military. In addition, the company is developing a lunar lander, Blue Moon, which could become an important part of the Artemis program if Blue Origin manages to bypass SpaceX.


As for New Glenn, the heavy rocket will have two or three stages. The first will be a VLT reentry and will use seven BE-4 engines. The methane-oxygen mixture is also a Blue Origin development. Ironically, it is at the heart of the Vulcan rocket from the United Launch Alliance, which together with SpaceX won the fight for a key Pentagon contract.
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Cyril Offline Cyril
    Cyril (Kirill) 26 February 2021 12: 53
    -1
    There was nothing to click with his beak. When SpaceX crashed its first stages in test landings after they had taken the payload into orbit, Bezos and his comrades were playing at a particularly unnecessary suborbital New Sheppard for tourists, which is why they lost time.

    However, this situation clearly illustrates the principle of competition - whoever gets up first, God gives him. Well, or the Pentagon.

    Well, in general, I wish Blue Origin the best in developing this rocket. The more competition in this area, the higher the result will be. The space race between the USA and the USSR proved this well.
  2. 123 Offline 123
    123 (123) 28 February 2021 12: 28
    +2
    Nothing in this world changes, they tell both private space and independent investors, in fact it all comes down to a fight for crumbs from the Pentagon table. The state will not give money, nor will there be rockets. You can continue to dream about private space hotels.
    As I understand it, we are talking about contracts concluded in 2018. Quite interesting by the way contracts and not modest amounts.
    https://www.defense.gov/Newsroom/Contracts/Contract/Article/1658771/

    For the fattening of three "piglets" the state "sow" has allocated quite a lot of financial "milk".
    If I'm not confusing Bezes should have received 0,5 billion for development, 255 million received, the rest of the amount should be looked at.

    United Launch Services, as I understand it, is one office with the United Launch Alliance specified in the article
    https://www.ulalaunch.com/launch-services
    In general, it is planned to allocate a modest $ 2024 million to ULA until 967 for the creation of the Vulcan rocket.

    Bezos uses state money to build, the very launch sites about which the company's representatives are happy to talk about.

    With the money, Blue Origin says it will also seek to build a new launch site at Vandenberg Air Force Base in California for New Glenn.

    https://www.theverge.com/2018/10/10/17961832/defense-department-launch-service-agreement-ula-blue-origin-northrop-grumman

    I don’t remember (I don’t want to rummage and search) how much money was allocated for the LSA program. to replace the Russian RD-180, because these terrible Russians invaded Crimea laughing

    The LSA program was created to stop the Defense Department from relying on Russian missile technology. Over the past decade, many national security payloads have flown into space on an Atlas V United Launch Alliance rocket powered by Russian RD-180 engines. But since Russia invaded Crimea in 2014, the Defense Department has been trying to phase out its use of the RD-180. The LSA program aims to end the US government's dependence on the engine and create new systems made by American manufacturers.

    Ironically, wasn't the very engine (which is mentioned in the article) developed with government money?

    As for New Glenn, the heavy rocket will have two or three stages. The first will be a reversible VLT and will use seven BE-4 engines. The methane-oxygen mixture is also a Blue Origin development. Ironically, it is at the heart of the Vulcan rocket from the United Launch Alliance., which, together with SpaceX, won the fight for the key Pentagon contract.
    1. zzdimk Offline zzdimk
      zzdimk April 2 2021 13: 37
      0
      If I understood your comment correctly, then there is no competition in production and development in the field of space in the United States, there is only visibility, and all projects under the guise of private business are the Pentagon's program.
      1. 123 Offline 123
        123 (123) April 2 2021 14: 08
        +2
        If I understood your comment correctly, then there is no competition in production and development in the field of space in the United States, there is only visibility, and all projects under the guise of private business are the Pentagon's program.

        You misunderstood me a little. I meant a little different. There is competition, so private space is more likely an appearance, conditionally, of course, according to a formal criterion, they are private traders.
        Competition is roughly the same as between different design bureaus in the USSR. The budget allocates funds, they master them. Without this, the development of such companies is not possible. Space requires too much investment and I doubt that some kind of entrepreneur is capable of this. "The lion's share" of all orders from the state and a considerable part from the Pentagon and other government agencies.
        It's like if we privatize space enterprises and the state ordered them to develop rockets, satellites, and so on.
        1. zzdimk Offline zzdimk
          zzdimk April 2 2021 15: 07
          0
          A mixture of meanings in the end customer? So he is alone. A private trader without a government order is an altruist. And I have not seen such.
          1. 123 Offline 123
            123 (123) April 2 2021 15: 20
            +1
            A mixture of meanings in the end customer? So he is alone. A private trader without a government order is an altruist. And I have not seen such.

            I have not met either laughing But you be careful with these words, many are sure that Musk is exactly like that. Dreams of moving human progress, Mars to master, and so on. They'll see you get tired of fighting off the fans yes

Первый полет новой американской тяжелой ракеты перенесен на 2022 год


Первый запуск тяжелой частично многоразовой ракеты New Glenn от компании Blue Origin отложен на четвертый квартал 2022 года. Согласно начальному плану, дебютный пуск перспективного носителя должен был состояться в этом году. Причиной смещения сроков стал проигранный компаниям SpaceX и United Launch Alliance ключевой контракт Пентагона.


Со слов старшего вице-президента Blue Origin по программе New Glenn Джаррета Джонса, потеря вышеупомянутого контракта стала болезненным ударом для компании. Дело в том, что на проект тяжелой ракеты уже было потрачено около 3 млрд. долларов, и часть от этой суммы потребовалась для адаптации носителя под отправку спутников для Пентагона.

Победитель тендера гарантированно получает многомиллиардный контракт и долю всех космических запусков в интересах армии США с 2022 по 2027 год. Теперь компании Джефа Безоса придется скорректировать свою стратегию.

Впрочем, Blue Origin не собирается «опускать руки» из-за потери выгодного контракта и надеется в будущем запускать полезные грузы в интересах военных. Кроме того, компания разрабатывает лунный посадочный модуль Blue Moon, который может стать важной составляющей программы «Артемида», если Blue Origin удастся обойти SpaceX.


Что касается New Glenn, тяжелая ракета будет состоять из двух или трех ступеней. Первая станет возвращаемой с вертикальной реактивной посадкой и будет использовать семь двигателей BE-4. Жидкостный агрегат, функционирующий на смеси метан-кислород, также является разработкой Blue Origin. По иронии именно он лежит в основе ракеты Vulcan от компании United Launch Alliance, которая вместе со SpaceX победила в борьбе за ключевой контракт Пентагона.
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
6 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Cyril Онлайн Cyril
    Cyril (Кирилл) 26 февраля 2021 12:53
    -1
    Нечего было клювом щелкать. Когда SpaceX разбивали в тестовых посадках свои первые ступени после вывоза ими полезной нагрузки на орбиту, Безос с товарищами игрался в особо никому ненужный суборбитальный НьюШеппард для туристов, из-за чего и упустил время.

    Впрочем, эта ситуация наглядно иллюстрирует принцип конкуренции - кто первый встает, тому Бог подает. Ну или Пентагон.

    Ну а вообще желаю Блю Ориджин удачи в разработке этой ракеты. Чем больше конкуренция в этой сфере - тем выше будет результат. Космическая гонка между США и СССР это хорошо доказала.
  2. 123 Офлайн 123
    123 (123) 28 февраля 2021 12:28
    +2
    Ничего в этом мире не меняется, рассказывают и частном космосе и независимых инвесторах, на деле все сводится к драке за крошки со стола Пентагона. Не даст государство денег, ни будет ракеты. Можете дальше мечтать про частные космические отели.
    Я так понимаю речь о контрактах заключенных в 2018 году. Довольно любопытные кстати контракты и не скромные суммы.
    https://www.defense.gov/Newsroom/Contracts/Contract/Article/1658771/

    На откорм трех "поросят" государственная "свиноматка" выделила довольно много финансового "молочка" .
    Если ничего не Путаю Безес должен был получить на разработку 0,5 млрд., 255 миллионов получил, про остальную сумму надо смотреть.

    United Launch Services, насколько понимаю это одна контора с указанной в статье United Launch Alliance
    https://www.ulalaunch.com/launch-services
    В общем предусмотрено выделение ULA до 2024 года скромных 967 млн долларов на создание ракеты Vulcan.

    На государственные деньги Безос строит, те самые стартовые площадки о которых потом с удовольствием рассказывают представители компании.

    На эти деньги Blue Origin заявляет, что также будет стремиться построить новую стартовую площадку на базе ВВС Ванденберг в Калифорнии для New Glenn.

    https://www.theverge.com/2018/10/10/17961832/defense-department-launch-service-agreement-ula-blue-origin-northrop-grumman

    Не помню (не хочется рыться и искать) сколько было выделено денег на программу LSA. для замены российским РД-180, потому что эти ужасные русские вторглись в Крым laughing

    Программа LSA была создана для того, чтобы министерство обороны перестало полагаться на российские ракетные технологии. За последнее десятилетие многие полезные нагрузки для обеспечения национальной безопасности полетели в космос на ракете Atlas V United Launch Alliance, которая оснащена российскими двигателями РД-180. Но с тех пор, как Россия вторглась в Крым в 2014 году, министерство обороны пытается постепенно отказаться от использования РД-180. Программа LSA призвана положить конец зависимости правительства США от двигателя и создать новые системы, сделанные американскими производителями.

    По иронии, не тот ли самый самый двигатель (о котором говорится в статье) разрабатывали на деньги государства?

    Что касается New Glenn, тяжелая ракета будет состоять из двух или трех ступеней. Первая станет возвращаемой с вертикальной реактивной посадкой и будет использовать семь двигателей BE-4. Жидкостный агрегат, функционирующий на смеси метан-кислород, также является разработкой Blue Origin. По иронии именно он лежит в основе ракеты Vulcan от компании United Launch Alliance, которая вместе со SpaceX победила в борьбе за ключевой контракт Пентагона.
    1. zzdimk Офлайн zzdimk
      zzdimk 2 апреля 2021 13:37
      0
      Если я правильно понял Ваш комментарий, то никакой конкуренции в производстве и разработке в сфере космоса на территории США не существует, есть только видимость, а все проекты под ширмой частного бизнеса - программа Пентагона.
      1. 123 Офлайн 123
        123 (123) 2 апреля 2021 14:08
        +2
        Если я правильно понял Ваш комментарий, то никакой конкуренции в производстве и разработке в сфере космоса на территории США не существует, есть только видимость, а все проекты под ширмой частного бизнеса - программа Пентагона.

        Вы немного не правильно меня поняли. Я имел ввиду немного другое. Конкуренция есть, вот частный космос это скорее видимость, условно конечно, по формальному признаку они именно частники.
        Конкуренция примерно как между разными КБ в СССР. Бюджет выделяет средства, они их осваивают. Без этого развитие подобных компаний не возможно. Космос требует слишком больших вложений и сомневаюсь что какой то предприниматель на это способен. "Львиная доля" всех заказов от государства и немалая часть от Пентагона и прочих госструктур.
        Это примерно как если бы у нас приватизировали предприятия космической отрасли и государство заказывало им разработку ракет, спутников и так далее.
        1. zzdimk Офлайн zzdimk
          zzdimk 2 апреля 2021 15:07
          0
          Смесь смыслов в конечном заказчике? Так он - один. Частник без госзаказа - альтруист. А таких я не видел.
          1. 123 Офлайн 123
            123 (123) 2 апреля 2021 15:20
            +1
            Смесь смыслов в конечном заказчике? Так он - один. Частник без госзаказа - альтруист. А таких я не видел.

            Я тоже не встречал laughing Но вы поосторожнее с такими словами, многие уверены что Маск именно такой. Мечтает за свои кровные человеческий прогресс двигать, Марс осваивать и так далее. Увидят, устанете отбиваться от фанатов yes