MiG-31M: why the West was glad of Russia's refusal to create a "Super-MiG"


After the collapse of the USSR, Russia faced economic difficulties, and Moscow had to cut a number of defense programs, including the serial production of the MiG-31M fighter-interceptor.


According to Military Watch Magazine experts, the creation of the MiG-31M could potentially provide Russia with the most combat-ready interceptor in the world, which, despite the lack of fifth-generation capabilities, could pose a serious challenge to the air supremacy of fifth-generation fighters.

The original MiG-31 Foxhound was the first fighter in the USSR with fourth generation capabilities and for two decades remained the only aircraft of its kind equipped with an active phased array radar until the F-2 appeared in 2002 in Japan and the F-22. in 2005 - in the USA.


The MiG-31M would have greatly expanded the capabilities of its predecessor, although full data on its characteristics remain closed. The mass of the MiG-31 was approximately 41 kg, the MiG-000M was heavier and had a take-off weight of about 31 kg.

The MiG-31M was equipped with new, more powerful and more economical engines - the upgraded D-30F-6M. By the way, they were carried to a greater distance from the longitudinal axis of the aircraft. The cockpit canopy underwent changes - the glazing area of ​​the pilot's cockpit was increased. The aircraft also received semi-recessed nests on the lower surface of the fuselage to accommodate long-range missiles.


The MiG-31M was equipped with new avionics and an electronic warfare system.

The increased volume of the fuel tank expanded the combat radius of the aircraft. The R-37 ultra-long-range missiles turned the MiG into a Super MiG. Therefore, it is not surprising that the West was pleased with the Kremlin's refusal to mass-produce this combat aircraft.

The MiG-31M program was curtailed in 1995 after several successful test flights due to lack of funds - due to the crisis, the country's economy contracted by 45% in just four years. This prevented Russia from pursuing ambitious upgrades to its heavy MiG-31 and medium MiG-29 fighter, instead focusing on upgrading the Su-27 Flanker for both its own use and export.
  • Used photographs: http://airwar.ru
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 5 March 2021 14: 35
    0
    The stump is clear, glad.
    Right now, the production of F16, 35, Mirages, Chinese aircraft would be stopped. We would be happy. We will sell their counterparts over the hill.
  2. THRONE Offline THRONE
    THRONE (Andrii Shevchyk) 5 March 2021 15: 53
    0
    According to Military Watch Magazine experts

    No experts exist, this is the blog of one man Abraham Ait from Britain.
  3. Alex Orlov Offline Alex Orlov
    Alex Orlov (Alex Orlov) 28 March 2021 17: 19
    +1
    Well, we are waiting for the MiG-41. I hope that a global war will not start in the coming years and we will be in time.

МиГ-31М: почему Запад был рад отказу России от создания «Супер-МиГа»


После распада СССР Россия столкнулась с экономическими трудностями, и Москве пришлось урезать ряд оборонных программ, в число которых попало и серийное производство истребителя-перехватчика МиГ-31М.


По мнению экспертов Military Watch Magazine, создание МиГ-31М потенциально могло предоставить в распоряжение России самый боеспособный перехватчик в мире, который, несмотря на отсутствие возможностей пятого поколения, мог бросить серьезный вызов господству в воздухе истребителей пятого поколения.

Оригинальный МиГ-31 Foxhound был первым в СССР истребителем с возможностями четвертого поколения и на протяжении двух десятков лет оставался единственным в своем роде самолетом, оснащенным радиолокационной станцией с активной фазированной решеткой, пока не появились F-2 в 2002 году в Японии и F-22 в 2005 году – в США.


МиГ-31М в значительной степени расширил бы возможности предшественника, хотя полные данные о его характеристиках остаются закрытыми. Масса МиГ-31 составляла примерно 41 000 кг, МиГ-31М был тяжелее и имел взлетную массу около 50 000 кг.

На МиГ-31М были установлены новые, более мощные и более экономичные двигатели – модернизированные Д-30Ф-6М. Их, к слову, разнесли на большее расстояние от продольной оси самолета. Изменения претерпел фонарь кабины – площадь остекления кабины летчика была увеличена. Самолет также получил полуутопленные гнёзда на нижней поверхности фюзеляжа для размещения ракет большой дальности.


МиГ-31М оснастили новой авионикой и комплексом РЭБ.

Увеличенный объем топливного бака расширил боевой радиус действия самолета. Ракеты сверхбольшой дальности Р-37 превращали МиГ в «Супер-МиГ». Поэтому неудивительно, что Запад был рад отказу Кремля от серийного производства этой боевой летательной машины.

Программа МиГ-31М была свернута в 1995 году после нескольких успешных тестовых полетов по причине нехватки средств – из-за кризиса экономика страны сократилась на 45% всего за четыре года. Это помешало России осуществить амбициозную модернизацию своего тяжелого МиГ-31 и среднего истребителя МиГ-29, вместо этого страна сосредоточилась на модернизации Су-27 Flanker как для собственных нужд, так и для экспорта.
  • Использованы фотографии: http://airwar.ru
3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 5 марта 2021 14:35
    0
    Ясен пень, рад.
    Щас бы прекратили прооизводство Ф16, 35, Миражей, китайских самолетов. Мы бы радовались. Мы же будем продавать их аналоги за бугор.
  2. ТРОН Офлайн ТРОН
    ТРОН (Andrii Shevchyk) 5 марта 2021 15:53
    0
    По мнению экспертов Military Watch Magazine

    Никаких экспертов не существует, это блог одного человека Абрахама Аита из Британии.
  3. Алекс Орлов Офлайн Алекс Орлов
    Алекс Орлов (Алекс Орлов) 28 марта 2021 17:19
    +1
    Ну, ждем Миг-41. Надеюсь,глобальная война не в ближайшие годы начнется и мы успеем.