Nikkei: Rapprochement between the United States and India worries Russia


Russia is gradually losing its influence on India, which is increasingly oriented towards the Americans and their allies, writes Nikkei Asia. The influence of the Russian Federation in this part of Eurasia is under threat.


The article argues that the Kremlin is concerned that its old South Asian partner has become too close to Washington, especially now that New Delhi is stepping up its own participation in the Quadripartite Security Dialogue, also known as Quad, an informal community that also includes Australia, Japan and USA. This community is increasingly referred to as the "Asian NATO".

According to experts, Russia likes to rely on relations with regional powers such as India to maintain room for maneuver and strengthen its position as a Eurasian power. Given that many years of defense, trade and diplomatic ties with India are threatened by new players, Moscow is worried about its own influence and its money.

- noted from the Nikkei Asia publication.

After decades policy Non-Aligned India seems to have begun to flirt with the idea of ​​an alliance with the United States. Among other things, New Delhi entered into a series of intelligence-sharing agreements with Washington, which gave Indians access to information from US military satellites. The agreement was reached at the end of October during the "two plus two" dialogue.

The reversal also affects lucrative arms deals. According to the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute, which tracks the global arms trade, the United States has become the second largest arms supplier to India over the past decade. This irritates Russia, which has been a major arms dealer for the Indian military for decades.

Warmer security ties between Washington and New Delhi are said to have been a response to Beijing's actions. Last June, Chinese and Indian forces clashed along the line of de facto control in the Himalayas. Twenty Indian soldiers were killed, and the PLA took up enemy positions in the highlands.

Although the conflict with China ended in a mutual disengagement of troops, Indian diplomats continue to advocate a closer relationship with the United States. Nevertheless, an alliance with the Americans, apparently, should not mean a complete break with Russia.

It is noted that the Quad community is important for India in terms of the balance of power in relations with China.
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. 123 Offline 123
    123 (123) 7 March 2021 09: 42
    +2
    Meanwhile, the US is worried about India's rapprochement with Russia. But other publications are already writing about this.
  2. Bakht Offline Bakht
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 7 March 2021 10: 46
    +2
    India will be in the Anglo-Saxon camp. She is already in it. So there can be no strategic alliance between Russia and India in principle. There will be some economic projects, but India is NOT Russia's ally.
  3. Michael1950 Offline Michael1950
    Michael1950 (Michael) 7 March 2021 11: 13
    0
    Quite naturally, since Russia is doing all it can to be friends with China, with which India has a long-standing enmity, how else can India treat Russia ?! "The friend of my enemy is my enemy."
    1. Bakht Offline Bakht
      Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 7 March 2021 11: 50
      +1
      Regardless of who Russia is friends with, India is firmly attached to the former metropolis. And will ALWAYS be in the Anglo-Saxon camp. Russia is not friendly with China against India ..
    2. 123 Offline 123
      123 (123) 7 March 2021 22: 03
      +2
      Quite naturally, since Russia is doing all it can to be friends with China, with which India has a long-standing enmity, how else can India treat Russia ?! "The friend of my enemy is my enemy."

      Russia does not offer friendship against anyone, but only equal and mutually beneficial cooperation. She's over the fight. Armenia and Azerbaijan are a vivid example. Iran and Israel, Turkey and Syria. There are many examples. It is possible to negotiate with everyone.
  4. Michael1950 Offline Michael1950
    Michael1950 (Michael) 7 March 2021 11: 58
    -1
    Quote: Bakht
    Russia is not friendly with China against India ..

    - Russia is friends with China against the Anglo-Saxon peace ... wink
    1. isofat Offline isofat
      isofat (isofat) 7 March 2021 12: 03
      +2
      Michael1950, Is Israel afraid that Russia's relations with the United States could improve?
  5. Michael1950 Offline Michael1950
    Michael1950 (Michael) 7 March 2021 12: 18
    -1
    Quote: isofat
    Michael1950, Is Israel afraid that Russia's relations with the United States could improve?

    - Not afraid. He has no hope. Because now President Biden has come to power in the United States, whose son the Chinese gave a bribe of $ 1.5 billion. Now Biden, working out this bribe, instead of a real and extremely dangerous enemy for the United States - China, has highlighted and declared the number 1 enemy for the United States - Russia, which today does not threaten the United States in any way, and all the propagandistic whistle in the Russian media is aimed exclusively at domestic consumption, but in no case to frighten the United States ... Putin would do his best to make friends with America, but with This is unrealistic for the current US president - he will demonstrate hostility - in words, anyway. Biden's moronic actions only "play into the hands" of Russia - he closes his hydrocarbons - a jump in prices on world markets, rubbing their hands in the Kremlin ...
    1. isofat Offline isofat
      isofat (isofat) 7 March 2021 12: 29
      +1
      Michael1950What I can say for sure is that there is a bazaar (market) somewhere in Israel and you are a frequent visitor.
    2. 123 Offline 123
      123 (123) 7 March 2021 22: 06
      +2
      Now Biden, working out this bribe, instead of a real and extremely dangerous enemy for the United States - China, has highlighted and declared the number 1 enemy for the United States - Russia

      Grandpa Biden has officially declared China to be the ugliest.

      https://www.whitehouse.gov/wp-content/uploads/2021/03/NSC-1v2.pdf
  6. Michael1950 Offline Michael1950
    Michael1950 (Michael) 7 March 2021 12: 51
    -1
    Quote: isofat
    Michael1950What I can say for sure is that there is a bazaar (market) somewhere in Israel and you are a frequent visitor.

    -? "What did you want to say?" negative fool

Nikkei: Сближение США и Индии тревожит Россию


Россия постепенно утрачивает своё влияние на Индию, которая всё больше ориентируется на американцев и их союзников, пишет Nikkei Asia. Влияние РФ в этой части Евразии под угрозой.


В статье утверждается, что Кремль обеспокоен тем, что его старый южноазиатский партнер слишком сблизился с Вашингтоном, особенно теперь, когда Нью-Дели активизирует собственное участие в Четырехстороннем диалоге по безопасности, также известном как Quad – неформальном сообществе, куда включены также Австралия, Япония и США. Данное сообщество все чаще именуют «азиатским НАТО».

По мнению экспертов, Россия любит полагаться на отношения с региональными державами, такими как Индия, чтобы сохранить пространство для маневра и укрепить свои позиции в качестве евразийской силы. Учитывая, что многолетним оборонным, торговым и дипломатическим связям с Индией угрожают новые игроки, Москва обеспокоена за собственное влияние и свои деньги

– отмечается с публикации Nikkei Asia.

После десятилетий политики неприсоединения Индия, похоже, стала заигрывать с идеей союза с США. Помимо прочего, Нью-Дели заключил с Вашингтоном ряд соглашений об обмене разведданными, что дало индийцам доступ к информации с американских военных спутников. Соглашение было достигнуто в конце октября в ходе диалога «два плюс два».

Перемена вектора также затрагивает и прибыльные сделки на поставку вооружений. По данным Стокгольмского международного института исследования проблем мира, который отслеживает глобальную торговлю оружием, за последнее десятилетие Соединенные Штаты заняли второе место среди поставщиков оружия в Индию. Это вызывает раздражение у России, которая на протяжении десятилетий являлась основным продавцом оружия для индийских военных.

Более теплые связи Вашингтона и Нью-Дели в сфере безопасности, как утверждается, стали ответом на действия Пекина. В июне прошлого года, китайские и индийские войска столкнулись вдоль линии фактического контроля в Гималаях. Двадцать индийских солдат погибли, а НОАК заняла позиции противника в высокогорных районах.

Хотя конфликт с Китаем закончился в итоге взаимным разведением войск, индийские дипломаты продолжают стоять за более тесные отношения с США. Тем не менее альянс с американцами, по всей видимости, не должен означать полного разрыва с Россией.

Отмечается, что сообщество Quad важно для Индии в плане баланса сил в отношениях с Китаем.
11 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. 123 Офлайн 123
    123 (123) 7 марта 2021 09:42
    +2
    А тем временем США обеспокоены сближением Индии с Россией. Но об этом уже пишут другие издания.
  2. Bakht Онлайн Bakht
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 7 марта 2021 10:46
    +2
    Индия будет в англо-саксонском лагере. Она и так в нем находится. Так что стратегического союза Россия-Индия быть не может принципиально. Какието экономические проекты будут, но Индия НЕ союзник России.
  3. Michael1950 Офлайн Michael1950
    Michael1950 (Michael) 7 марта 2021 11:13
    0
    Совершенно естественно, раз Россия изо всех сил дружит с Китаем, с которым у Индии давнишняя вражда, как иначе может относится Индия к России?! "Друг моего врага - мой враг".
    1. Bakht Онлайн Bakht
      Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 7 марта 2021 11:50
      +1
      Независимо от того с кем дружит Россия, Индия накрепко привязана к бывшей метрополии. И ВСЕГДА будет в англо-саксонском лагере. Россия же не дружит с Китаем против Индии..
    2. 123 Офлайн 123
      123 (123) 7 марта 2021 22:03
      +2
      Совершенно естественно, раз Россия изо всех сил дружит с Китаем, с которым у Индии давнишняя вражда, как иначе может относится Индия к России?! "Друг моего врага - мой враг".

      Россия не предлагает дружбу против кого либо, а только равноправное и взаимовыгодное сотрудничество. Она над схваткой. Армения и Азербайджан яркий пример. Иран и Израиль, Турция и Сирия. Примеров можно привести много. Со всеми сохраняется возможность договариваться.
  4. Michael1950 Офлайн Michael1950
    Michael1950 (Michael) 7 марта 2021 11:58
    -1
    Цитата: Bakht
    Россия же не дружит с Китаем против Индии..

    - Россия дружит с Китаем против англо-саксонского мира... wink
    1. isofat Офлайн isofat
      isofat (isofat) 7 марта 2021 12:03
      +2
      Michael1950, Израиль боится, что отношения России с США могут улучшиться?
  5. Michael1950 Офлайн Michael1950
    Michael1950 (Michael) 7 марта 2021 12:18
    -1
    Цитата: isofat
    Michael1950, Израиль боится, что отношения России с США могут улучшиться?

    - Не боится. Он не надеется. Потому, что сейчас в США пришёл к власти президент Байден, сыну которого китайцы дали взятку в 1.5 миллиарда долларов. Теперь Байден, эту взятку отрабатывая, вместо реального и чрезвычайно опасного для США противника - Китая, выдвинул на первый план и объявил противником №1 для США - Россию, которая сегодня США ни каким боком не угрожает, а вся пропагандонская свистопляска в российских СМИ направлена исключительно на внутреннее потребление, но ни в коем случае ни на то, чтобы зашугать США... С Америкой Путин изо всех сил хотел бы подружиться, но при нынешнем президенте США это нереально - тот будет демонстрировать враждебность, - на словах во всяком случае. Дебильные действия Байдена только "на руку" России - он закрывает свои углеводороды - скачок цен на мировых рынках, в Кремле потирают ладошки...
    1. isofat Офлайн isofat
      isofat (isofat) 7 марта 2021 12:29
      +1
      Michael1950, что я точно могу утверждать так это то, что в Израиле где-то есть базар (рынок) и вы его частый посетитель.
    2. 123 Офлайн 123
      123 (123) 7 марта 2021 22:06
      +2
      Теперь Байден, эту взятку отрабатывая, вместо реального и чрезвычайно опасного для США противника - Китая, выдвинул на первый план и объявил противником №1 для США - Россию

      Дедушка Байден официально объявил самым гадким Китай.

      https://www.whitehouse.gov/wp-content/uploads/2021/03/NSC-1v2.pdf
  6. Michael1950 Офлайн Michael1950
    Michael1950 (Michael) 7 марта 2021 12:51
    -1
    Цитата: isofat
    Michael1950, что я точно могу утверждать так это то, что в Израиле где-то есть базар (рынок) и вы его частый посетитель.

    - ?? "Что сказать-то хотел?" negative fool