How big was the Typhoon? In the USA, Russian and American submarines were visually compared


If you've ever watched the film adaptation of The Hunt for Red October, you're probably familiar with Russia's truly enormous Typhoon-class nuclear submarines. These giant Cold War submarines are still the largest ever built submarine in the world and are more terrifying sea monsters than you might imagine, writes the American magazine Popular Mechanics.


Typhoons are real leviathans. To appreciate how big they are, it is enough to mention that these submarines are more than 1,5 times the length of a standard football field and 3 times the height of the average American home.


In the 1970s, the USSR embarked on a new nuclear weapons program. Heavy missile submarine strategic cruisers of Project 941 "Shark" (NATO codification: "Typhoon"), with a displacement of more than 23 thousand tons, had to accommodate 20 ballistic missiles R-39 (RSM-52). Six such nuclear submarines were built. As of 2020, one TK-208 "Dmitry Donskoy" (launched in 1980) remained in service, two more nuclear submarines, TK-17 and TK-20, were awaiting disposal.

The size of the Typhoons made it possible to get away from the Spartan situation and significantly improve the conditions for the stay of submariners. The engineers of the Rubin Design Bureau even equipped the nuclear submarine with a solarium, a swimming pool and a sauna.


Typhoons are only a few meters longer than Ohio, but they are much wider and taller, and they look so menacing because their wheelhouse is located behind the missile silos, not in front of them.


The fictional "Red October" was supposed to be an even more powerful nuclear submarine, containing 26 ballistic missiles, with a total nuclear firepower of 52 kilotons (a 000 kiloton bomb was dropped on Hiroshima).

The experience of operating Typhoons allowed the Russians to develop new Project 955 Borey submarines of the fourth generation, armed with 16 R-30 Bulava SLBMs. Each nuclear submarine received 7200 kilotons of power, but the missiles became much more accurate and smaller. The newest submarines have turned out to be more compact and the Russian Navy plans to acquire at least 8 units for the Northern and Pacific fleets.

It should be noted that Typhoons were created even before computers and solid-propellant rockets appeared, so they were very large. Probably, such nuclear submarines will never appear in the world, although knowing Russia, you should never say "never", summed up the media from the United States.
  • Photos used: Bellona Foundation / wikimedia.org and http://www.hisutton.com/
7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. amateur Offline amateur
    amateur (Victor) 7 March 2021 19: 28
    +1
    It should be noted that Typhoons were created even before computers and solid-propellant rockets appeared, so they were very large.

    They were big plus they had an excess surface displacement and a fortified wheelhouse, not because someone did not know how to build nuclear submarines and did not know Archimedes' law, but because the excess surface displacement (48000-23200 =) 24800 tons and the fortified wheelhouse allowed the boat to emerge from under the ice by breaking through it practically at any time and in any place of the Arctic Ocean in order to strike at the enemy. Well, it was almost impossible to find this one of the quietest boats under the ice.
    Well, the "klikuha" "Vodovoz" was invented either for conspiracy, or "from a big mind"
    1. Michael I Offline Michael I
      Michael I (Michael I) 8 March 2021 07: 32
      0
      The water carrier because it has a double hull, and carries water between the hulls
      1. amateur Offline amateur
        amateur (Victor) 8 March 2021 08: 22
        0
        The water carrier because it has a double hull, and carries water between the hulls

        They were called "Water carriers" because they had to "carry on board" in ballast tanks ~ 20000 tons of water in order to submerge, and not because they had 5 strong and one lightweight hulls. And why did they need so much water in ballast tanks - see above.
        1. anton hit Offline anton hit
          anton hit (anton hit) 8 May 2021 22: 15
          0
          this was necessary not only for surfacing and breaking through, these tasks are solved by the buoyancy reserve, a decent supply of compressed air and powerful ciscernas. Do not forget that add. inertia is required for the platform itself for launching 84t R39u missiles, to stabilize the axis of the missile cup during launch, provided that an 84 ton blank spits out of the missile cup in which excessive pressure is created, plus the gas generators create a cavity, and this is all at a depth of up to 50 m under water at a certain speed, if not for this inertia, the boat would sink decently in depth at each launch, but we must not forget that the Sharks and others 667 can carry out salvo firing when the missiles go one after the other. This is the point, but the fact that ignoramuses call the Sharks water carriers is all out of ignorance, where general designers do not spit everywhere) and in some cases special propaganda works, which, unfortunately, many are led to. No one else with a nuclear submarine except the USSR has been able to launch an 84t missile and I doubt that they can. These machines did not fit into the American balance sheet and therefore were the first to be eliminated. Because the complex had colossal modernization potential. Butyl rubber fuel was slightly inferior to highly dispersed fuel on 2d5 tridents, but we must not forget that the p39u flew further at maximum load, because the Americans from the Atlantic reach our industrial centers from 7t km, and we need 9-10t km to get the states from the pier ... In general, the formula was then 10tkm x 10x100kt. But in the next modification of R39utth, the scheme was 10x10x250kt and the rocket was worked out (the pilot batch was successfully tested), which is now kept quiet, but with the collapse of the USSR, they lost the production of fuel in Pavlograd for the first stage, it was of excellent quality and the Makeev Design Bureau had to quickly redesign and use the fuel for the first is the same as in the 2nd and 3rd, what was produced in the Russian Federation and then they came to the 10x8x250kt scheme and the rocket began to be called R39utth Bark, an experimental batch of 10 missiles was made, 3 were launched, at the 3rd launch the systems worked normally , but there was a violation in the assembly (I believe that this was done deliberately, if memory serves, the molybdenum washers are not installed https://www.kommersant.ru/doc/1206878), the 4th launch was not allowed, the groundwork from the remaining missiles was hastily destroyed ... The rockets on the R39u Sharks, knowing that there would be no other rockets, was hastily disposed of by air blasting. And Bark was intended for the Boreis, a grouping of Sharks and Boreis was planned. And the Borei were designed for Bark, and then they were hastily redesigned for the Bulava, which flew in, but after 20 years and gobbled up tons of money.
      2. alex5450 Offline alex5450
        alex5450 (Alex L) 10 March 2021 17: 41
        -2
        Because it is a clumsy and oversized project.
  2. Ulysses Offline Ulysses
    Ulysses (Alexey) 8 March 2021 15: 58
    0
    the fortified wheelhouse allowed the boat to emerge from under the ice by breaking through it practically at any time and in any place of the Arctic Ocean in order to strike at the enemy.

    It was an extreme case, nevertheless, yes, they could.

  3. alex5450 Offline alex5450
    alex5450 (Alex L) 10 March 2021 17: 44
    -2
    The experience of operating Typhoons allowed the Russians to develop new Project 955 Borey submarines of the fourth generation, armed with 16 R-30 Bulava SLBMs.

    I guess how "Typhoon - Shark" helped the 955 project - it gave a clear understanding that it is not necessary to build submarines in this way and it is necessary to further develop the "Gorbunkov" - project 667, plus slowly adopt the American experience.

Насколько большой был «Тайфун»? В США наглядно сравнили российские и американские подлодки


Если вы когда-нибудь смотрели экранизацию романа «Охота за Красным Октябрем», вы, вероятно, знакомы с поистине огромными атомными подводными лодками России класса «Тайфун». Эти гигантские АПЛ времен «холодной войны» до сих пор остаются крупнейшими из когда-либо построенных субмарин в мире и являются более страшными морскими монстрами, чем вы себе представляете, пишет американский журнал Popular Mechanics.


«Тайфуны» – настоящие левиафаны. Чтобы оценить насколько они большие, достаточно упомянуть, что эти подлодки в более чем 1,5 раза длиннее стандартного футбольного поля и в 3 раза выше среднего американского дома.


В 1970-х годах СССР приступил к реализации новой программы создания ядерного оружия. Тяжелые ракетные подводные крейсеры стратегического назначения проекта 941 «Акула» (по кодификации НАТО: «Тайфун»), водоизмещением более 23 тыс. тонн должны были вместить в себя 20 баллистических ракет Р-39 (РСМ-52). Было построено шесть таких АПЛ. По состоянию на 2020 год в строю оставался один ТК-208 «Дмитрий Донской» (спущен на воду в 1980 году), еще две АПЛ – ТК-17 и ТК-20 ожидали утилизации.

Размеры «Тайфунов» позволили уйти от спартанской обстановки и значительно улучшить условия пребывания подводников. Инженеры КБ «Рубин» оборудовали АПЛ даже солярием, бассейном и сауной.


«Тайфуны» всего на несколько метров длиннее «Огайо», но они значительно шире и выше, а выглядит так грозно, потому что их рубка находится за ракетными шахтами, а не перед ними.


Вымышленный «Красный Октябрь» должен был быть еще более мощной АПЛ, вмещающей 26 баллистических ракет, общей ядерной огневой мощью 52 000 килотонн (на Хиросиму сбросили бомбу 16 килотонн).

Опыт эксплуатации «Тайфунов» позволила россиянам разработать новые подлодки проекта 955 «Борей» четвертого поколения, вооруженных 16 БРПЛ Р-30 «Булава». Каждая АПЛ получила мощность 7200 килотонн, но ракеты стали намного точней и меньше. Новейшие подлодки получились более компактными и ВМФ РФ планирует обзавестись не менее 8 единицами для Северного и Тихоокеанского флотов.

Нужно отметить, что «Тайфуны» были созданы еще до появления компьютеров и твердотопливных ракет, поэтому они были очень большими. Вероятно, в мире больше никогда не появятся подобные АПЛ, хотя зная Россию, никогда не стоит говорить «никогда», подытожило СМИ из США.
  • Использованы фотографии: Bellona Foundation/wikimedia.org и http://www.hisutton.com/
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
7 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. дилетант Офлайн дилетант
    дилетант (Виктор) 7 марта 2021 19:28
    +1
    Нужно отметить, что «Тайфуны» были созданы еще до появления компьютеров и твердотопливных ракет, поэтому они были очень большими.

    Они были большими плюс имели избыточное надводное водоизмещение и укрепленнную рубку не потому, что кто-то не умел строить АПЛ и не знал закона Архимеда, а потому, что избыток надводного водоизмещения (48000-23200=) 24800 т и укрепленная рубка позволял лодке всплывать из подо льда путем его проламывания практически в любое время и в любом месте Северного ледовитого океана дла нанесения удара по врагу. Ну а найти эту, одну из самых тихих, лодку подо льдами было практически невозможно.
    Ну а "кликуху" "Водовоз" придумали либо для конспирации, либо "от большого ума"
    1. Михаил Я Офлайн Михаил Я
      Михаил Я (Михаил Я) 8 марта 2021 07:32
      0
      Водовоз потому что имеет двойной корпус, и между корпусами возит воду
      1. дилетант Офлайн дилетант
        дилетант (Виктор) 8 марта 2021 08:22
        0
        Водовоз потому что имеет двойной корпус, и между корпусами возит воду

        Их называли "Водовозами" потому, что им приходилось "возить на борту" в балластных цистернах ~ 20000 тонн воды для того, что бы погрузиться, а не потому, что имели 5 прочных и один легкий корпуса. А зачем им надо было столько воды в балластных цистернах - см выше.
        1. anton hit Офлайн anton hit
          anton hit (anton hit) 8 мая 2021 22:15
          0
          это нужно было не только для всплытия и проламывания, эти задачи решаются запасом плавучести, приличным запасом сжатого воздуха и мощными цисцернами. Не стоит забывать, что доп. инертность требуется для самой платформы для запуска 84т ракет р39у, для стабиллизации оси ракетного стакана при пуске при условии, что 84 тонная болванка выплевыется из ракетного стакана в котором создается избыточное давление, плюс газогенераторы создают каверну и это все на глубине до 50м под водой на определенной скорости, не будь этой инертности лодка бы при каждом пуске прилично проваливалась бы по глубине, а нужно не забывать о том, что Акулы и пр.667 могут осуществлять залповую стрельбу, когда ракеты идут одна за другой. В этом то и смысл, а то, что неучи обзывают Акулы водовозами, так это все по незнанию, куда не плюнь везде генеральные конструкторы) а в некоторых случаях работает специальная пропаганда, на которую к сожелению многие ведутся. Никто еще с АПЛ кроме СССР не смог запустить 84т ракету и я сомневаюсь, что сможет. Эти машины не укладывались в американский баланс и поэтому первыми были ликвидированы. Потому что модернизационный потенциал у комлекса был колоссальный. Бутилкаучуковое топливо уступало немного высокодисперсионному топливу на трайдентах 2д5, но надо не забывать, что р39у летела при максимальной нагрузке дальше, потому что америкацы из атлантике прекрасно достают до наших промышленных центоров с 7т км, а нам чтоб от пирса достать штаты нужно 9-10т км. А вообще формула была тогда 10ткм x 10x100кт. А вот в следующих модификация Р39уттх схема была 10х10х250кт и ракета была отработана (опытная партия была успешно испытана) о чем сейчас помалкивают, а вот при развале СССР, потеряли производство топлива в Павлограде для первой ступени, оно было отличного качества и пришлось КБ Макеева быстро перепроектировать и использовать топливо для первой такое же как и во 2й и 3й, то что в РФ производилось и тогда пришли к схеме 10х8x250кт и ракета стала называться Р39уттх Барк, была изготовлена опытная партия из 10 ракет, 3 дали запустить, на 3м пуске системы отработали штатно, но было нарушение в сборке (я считаю что это было сделано преднамерено, если память не изменяет не установлены молибденовые шайбы https://www.kommersant.ru/doc/1206878), 4й пуск сделать не дали, задел из оставшихся ракет спешно уничтожили. Ракеты на Акулах Р39у, зная что других ракет не будет, спешно утилизировали методом подрыва в воздухе. А Барк предназначался то для Бореев, планировалась группировка из Акул и Бореев. И Бореи проектировались под Барк, а потом их спешно перепроектировали под Булаву, которая залетала, но через 20лет и сожрала тонны денег.
      2. alex5450 Офлайн alex5450
        alex5450 (Alex L) 10 марта 2021 17:41
        -2
        Потому что неповоротливый и переразмеренный проект.
  2. Улисс Офлайн Улисс
    Улисс (Алексей) 8 марта 2021 15:58
    0
    укрепленная рубка позволял лодке всплывать из подо льда путем его проламывания практически в любое время и в любом месте Северного ледовитого океана дла нанесения удара по врагу.

    Это был крайний случай, тем не менее да, могли.

  3. alex5450 Офлайн alex5450
    alex5450 (Alex L) 10 марта 2021 17:44
    -2
    Опыт эксплуатации «Тайфунов» позволила россиянам разработать новые подлодки проекта 955 «Борей» четвертого поколения, вооруженных 16 БРПЛ Р-30 «Булава».

    Я догадываюсь чем "Тайфун - Акула" помог 955 проекту - дал чёткое осознание того, что так строить подлодки не нужно и надо далее развивать "Горбунков" - 667 проект, плюс потихоньку перенимать американский опыт.