"Fight to the end": the FRG media told about the victory of the Polish armored division over the SS troops


During the Second World War, the Poles did not glorify themselves with great successes in tank battles. The most famous is the myth of the Polish cavalry, who attacked German tanks with pikes and sabers in 1939. But there was one battle in 1944 on the Western Front, in which the 1st Polish Panzer Division defeated the SS forces of the Third Reich, writes the German newspaper Die Welt.


A fierce battle unfolded for Hill 262 at the ridge (chain of hills) Mont Ormel, near the city of Falaise in northern France. The Poles took on a powerful blow from two German panzer divisions. During the battle, real tank duels, bayonet and hand-to-hand combat took place.

This episode became a key one during the Normandy Allied operation, when the 7th German army tried not to get encircled under the pressure of the advancing British, Canadian and American units. The Germans made a breakthrough, but the Poles, deprived of contact with the allies, held the height for several days (August 19-21), making a significant contribution to the overall success of the operation. The Poles were commanded by Major General Stanislav Maczek.

The Germans were desperately trying to get out of the "boiler". The 9th SS Panzer Division Hohenstaufen struck at the Allies, cutting off the Poles. She managed to make several corridors in the positions of the allies, but the Poles tried to prevent the Germans. After that, the Germans turned their attention to them.

On August 19, the first to attack the hill was the Führer regiment of the 2nd SS Panzer Division Reich. But the Poles managed to repel the attack of the Germans, although one Panther tank knocked out a whole company of American-made Sherman tanks in a matter of minutes.

After that, the entire power of two SS Panzer divisions, which approached the 353rd Infantry Division and several other Wehrmacht divisions, fell upon the Poles. The Poles held out. Moreover, they forced the Germans to leave part of the captured positions. The Poles had many wounded, they practically ran out of ammunition and only five tanks remained.

My gentlemen, all is lost. I don't think Canadians can save us

- said the commander of the 1st tank regiment Alexander Stefanovich to his subordinates.

It makes no sense to surrender to the SS. Fight to the end! Tonight we will die for Poland and civilization

- he added.

By the morning of August 21, the position of the Poles had improved. The Americans dropped some ammunition from the planes, and Canadian artillery started working from a nearby hill, Hill 240.

During the battle, 10 thousand German soldiers managed to get out of the encirclement through the gaps in the positions of the allies. The Germans lost 14 Panther tanks, 54 armored personnel carriers, 46 guns, 207 trucks and cars.

325 Polish tank crews were killed, 114 were missing, and 1002 were injured, but the height was held, according to media from the Federal Republic of Germany.
  • Used photographs: Donald I. Grant / Canada. Dept. of National Defense
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
9 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Just a cat Offline Just a cat
    Just a cat (Bayun) 7 March 2021 12: 23
    +4
    Those. did the Germans eliminate the threat from the Poles, smashing them dry and just left? Where is the victory?
  2. 123 Offline 123
    123 (123) 7 March 2021 13: 01
    +2
    All clear. Hitler was defeated by the Poles and some Canadians.
    1. Bakht Online Bakht
      Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 7 March 2021 13: 42
      +5
      Hitler was defeated by three Polish tankmen, one Georgian and a dog. Moreover, it is not a fact that without a dog something would have happened.
      1. Just a cat Offline Just a cat
        Just a cat (Bayun) 7 March 2021 14: 34
        0
        Thinking of a translation error? Was it really "psia krew"?
        1. Bakht Online Bakht
          Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 7 March 2021 15: 32
          +2
          In fact, the Poles know how to fight. They held the neck for two days, but could not hold it. 10 Germans emerged from the encirclement. With technology, it seems. Also, the Poles kept Monte Cassino well in Italy. The 000st Parachute Brigade also fought well in Arnhem.
          So they know how to fight. But to fight - no.
  3. Ulysses Offline Ulysses
    Ulysses (Alexey) 7 March 2021 13: 30
    +6
    But there was one battle in 1944 on the Western Front, in which the 1st Polish Panzer Division defeated the SS troops of the Third Reich, writes German newspaper Die Welt.

    The Germans were desperately trying to get out of the "cauldron". The 9th SS Panzer Division Hohenstaufen struck at the Allies, cutting off the Poles.

    And this "material" exactly the Germans wrote ??

    By August 1944, the situation was somewhat different, judging by some materials:
    There was no "division" there, there was a battle group drawn from the remnants of the 9th SS Panzer Division "Hohenstaufen".
    And she acted in rearguard. winked

    In June 1944, she was transferred to the Western Front in France to repel the landing of allied forces in Normandy. At the end of June, the division arrived at the front section between the cities of Vir and Caen. The next day, June 26, the Allies launched the Cannes offensive. The SS divisions managed to keep Kahn and even launched a counteroffensive. In the Cannes sector of the front, the division operated until July 10, 1944. During the fighting, the division suffered heavy losses and was reduced to battle group "Hohenstaufen".

    In early August, the group was transferred to the 2nd SS Panzer Corps and sent to the Beni - Bocage area. After that, the group took part in the battles on the northern side of the Falaise cauldron. At the end of August, the Germans began to retreat. The battle group was in the rearguard and participated in the battles of Orbek, Laon and Cambrai. After passing through Belgium, the group entered the Netherlands, and on 9 September entered Arnhem.

    https://www.wikiwand.com

    PS It is not a fact that the Germans of the 1944 model even noticed how the Poles "defeated" them. repeat
  4. amateur Offline amateur
    amateur (Victor) 7 March 2021 14: 57
    +3
    I recently read an interview with an "expert" in InoPress. So he argued that if the allies had not begun the landing on about. Sicily 09.07.1943-17.08.1943, which "diverted significant forces of the Wehrmacht and thus ensured the defeat of the Germans in the Battle of Kursk" (05.07-23.08.1943). That's it - no more and no less.
  5. Xuli (o) Tebenado 8 March 2021 20: 03
    0
    The Germans lost 14 Panther tanks, 54 armored personnel carriers, 46 guns, 207 trucks and cars.
    325 Polish tank crews were killed, 114 were missing, and 1002 were injured, but the height was held, according to media from the Federal Republic of Germany.

    One car was big and the other was red.
    The air temperature in Moscow is -8 degrees Celsius, and in St. Petersburg - 140 degrees Fahrenheit.
    I strongly doubt that the "media from Germany" told us about the battle of the war.
    1. Xuli (o) Tebenado 8 March 2021 21: 03
      0
      The most famous was the myth of the Polish cavalry, who attacked German tanks with pikes and sabers in 1939.

      The same G. Guderian in his "Memoirs" writes:

      the commander of the 2nd motorized division reported after midnight that he was forced to retreat under the onslaught of the Polish cavalry. Hearing this, at first I was speechless, then, pulling myself together, asked the division commander if he had ever heard of the Pomeranian infantry running from the enemy cavalry. He replied in the negative and reassured me. that will hold its position. The next morning I decided to go to this division. Arriving there at 5 o'clock, I saw that the division headquarters still felt somewhat helpless.

«Биться до конца»: в СМИ ФРГ рассказали о победе польской танковой дивизии над войсками СС


В годы Второй мировой войны поляки не прославили себя большими успехами в танковых сражениях. Самым известным оказался миф об польских кавалеристах, которые с пиками и саблями наперевес атаковали немецкие танки в 1939 году. Но была одна битва в 1944 году на Западном фронте, в которой 1-я польская танковая дивизия одержала победу над войсками СС Третьего рейха, пишет немецкая газета Die Welt.


Ожесточенное сражение развернулось за высоту 262 у хребта (цепь холмов) Монт-Ормель, неподалеку от города Фалез на севере Франции. Поляки приняли на себя мощный удар двух танковых дивизий немцев. В ходе битвы развернулись настоящие танковые дуэли, штыковые и рукопашные схватки.

Этот эпизод стал ключевым в ходе Нормандской операции союзников, когда 7 немецкая армия пыталась не попасть в окружение под напором наступающих британских, канадских и американских частей. Немцы пошли на прорыв, но поляки, лишенные связи с союзниками, удерживали высоту несколько дней (19-21 августа), внеся существенный вклад в общий успех операции. Командовал поляками генерал-майор Станислав Мачек.

Немцы отчаянно рвались из «котла». 9-я танковая дивизия СС «Хоэнштауфен» нанесла удар по союзникам, отрезав поляков. Ей удалось сделать несколько коридоров в позициях союзников, но поляки попытались помешать немцам. После этого немцы переключили свое внимание на них.

19 августа первым высоту атаковал полк «Фюрер» 2-й танковой дивизии СС «Райх». Но полякам удалось отбить атаку немцев, хотя один танк «Пантера» за считанные минуты вывел из строя целую роту польских танков «Шерман» американского производства.

После этого на поляков обрушилась вся мощь двух танковых дивизий СС, подошедшей 353-й пехотной дивизии и нескольких других подразделений вермахта. Поляки выстояли. Более того, они вынудили немцев оставить часть захваченных позиций. У поляков было много раненых, практически закончились боеприпасы и осталось всего пять танков.

Мои господа, все потеряно. Не думаю, что канадцам удастся нас спасти

– сообщил командир 1-го танкового полка Александр Стефанович своим подчиненным.

Капитулировать перед СС не имеет смысла. Биться до конца! Сегодня ночью мы умрем за Польшу и цивилизацию

– добавил он.

К утру 21 августа положение поляков улучшилось. Американцы сбросили с самолетов немного боеприпасов, а с соседнего холма, высота 240, заработала артиллерия канадцев.

В ходе сражения 10 тыс. немецких солдат удалось выйти из окружения через прорехи в позициях союзников. Немцы потеряли 14 танков «Пантера», 54 бронетранспортера, 46 орудий, 207 грузовиков и автомобилей.

Погибло 325 польских танкиста, 114 пропали без вести, а 1002 получили ранения, но высота была удержана, рассказало СМИ из ФРГ.
  • Использованы фотографии: Donald I. Grant/Canada. Dept. of National Defence
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
9 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Просто Кот Офлайн Просто Кот
    Просто Кот (Баюн) 7 марта 2021 12:23
    +4
    Т.е. немцы ликвидировали угрозу со стороны поляков, разбив их в сухую и просто ушли? А где победа?
  2. 123 Офлайн 123
    123 (123) 7 марта 2021 13:01
    +2
    Все понятно. Гитлера победили поляки и немного канадцы.
    1. Bakht Офлайн Bakht
      Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 7 марта 2021 13:42
      +5
      Гитлера победили три польских танкиста, один грузин и собака. Причем не факт, что без собаки что-нибудь вышло бы.
      1. Просто Кот Офлайн Просто Кот
        Просто Кот (Баюн) 7 марта 2021 14:34
        0
        Думаете ошибка перевода? А на самом деле было «psia krew»?
        1. Bakht Офлайн Bakht
          Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 7 марта 2021 15:32
          +2
          Вообще-то поляки драться умеют. Два дня держали горловину, но удержать не смогли. 10 000 немцев вышли из окружения. С техникой, кажется. Также поляки хорошо держали Монте-Кассино в Италии. Также неплохо сражалась в Арнеме 1-я парашютная бригада.
          Так что драться они умеют. Но воевать - нет.
  3. Улисс Офлайн Улисс
    Улисс (Алексей) 7 марта 2021 13:30
    +6
    Но была одна битва в 1944 году на Западном фронте, в которой 1-я польская танковая дивизия одержала победу над войсками СС Третьего рейха, пишет немецкая газета Die Welt.

    Немцы отчаянно рвались из «котла». 9-я танковая дивизия СС «Хоэнштауфен» нанесла удар по союзникам, отрезав поляков.

    А этот "материал" точно немцы написали??

    К августу 1944 года ситуация была несколько иная, судя по некоторым материалам:
    Не было там никакой "дивизии", была боевая группа , сведённая из остатков 9-й танковой дивизии СС «Хоэнштауфен» .
    И действовала она в арьергарде. winked

    В июне 1944 года переброшена на Западный фронт во Францию для отражения высадки союзных войск в Нормандии. В конце июня дивизия прибыла на участок фронта между городами Вир и Кан. На следующий день 26 июня, союзники начали Каннское наступление. Дивизиям СС удалось удержать Кан и даже перейти в контрнаступление. На Каннском участке фронта дивизия оперировала до 10 июля 1944 года. В ходе боёв дивизия понесла тяжёлые потери и была сведена в боевую группу «Хоэнштауфен».

    В начале августа группа была передана во 2-й танковый корпус СС и отправлена в район Бени — Бокаж. После этого группа участвовала в боях на северной стороне Фалезского котла. В конце августа немцы начали отступление. Боевая группа шла в арьергарде и участвовала в боях у Орбека, Лаона и Камбре. Пройдя через Бельгию, группа вступила в Нидерланды, а 9 сентября вошла в Арнем.

    https://www.wikiwand.com

    P.S.Не факт , что немцы образца 1944-го вообще заметили, как их поляки "разгромили". feel
  4. дилетант Офлайн дилетант
    дилетант (Виктор) 7 марта 2021 14:57
    +3
    Я тут недавно прочитал в ИноПрессе интервью одного "эксперта". Так вот он утверждал, что если бы союзники не начали высадку на о. Сицилия 09.07.1943-17.08.1943 г., чем "отвлекли значительные силы Вермахта и тем обеспечили поражение немцев в Курской битве" (05.07-23.08.1943 г.). Вот так - не больше и не меньше.
  5. Xuli(o)Tebenado Офлайн Xuli(o)Tebenado
    Xuli(o)Tebenado 8 марта 2021 20:03
    0
    Немцы потеряли 14 танков «Пантера», 54 бронетранспортера, 46 орудий, 207 грузовиков и автомобилей.
    Погибло 325 польских танкиста, 114 пропали без вести, а 1002 получили ранения, но высота была удержана, рассказало СМИ из ФРГ.

    Одна машина была большая, а другая - красная.
    Температура воздуха в Москве - -8 градусов по Цельсию, а в Петербурге - 140 градусов по Фаренгейту.
    Я сильно сомневаюсь, что о битве времён войны нам рассказало "СМИ из ФРГ".
    1. Xuli(o)Tebenado Офлайн Xuli(o)Tebenado
      Xuli(o)Tebenado 8 марта 2021 21:03
      0
      Самым известным оказался миф об польских кавалеристах, которые с пиками и саблями наперевес атаковали немецкие танки в 1939 году.

      Тот же Г. Гудериан в своих "Воспоминаниях" пишет:

      командир 2-й мотодивизии доложил после полуночи, что он был вынужден отступить под натиском польской кавалерии. Услышав это, я сначала потерял дар речи, затем, взяв себя в руки, спросил командира дивизии, слышал ли он когда-нибудь, чтобы померанская пехота бегала от кавалерии противника. Он ответил отрицательно и заверил меня. что удержит свои позиции. На следующее утро я решил все же съездить в эту дивизию. Прибыв туда в 5 час., я увидел, что штаб дивизии все еще чувствует себя до некоторой степени беспомощно.