Shot for $ 1: why the US is working on a laser air defense system


The distant future seems to have already arrived. Laser weapons from science fiction films and books are now routinely adopted by the American military, quickly becoming something commonplace. How can Russia respond to this to the Pentagon?


First you need to decide, why do you need lasers at all? Does the military no longer have enough conventional shells and missiles? In fact, despite the seeming exoticism, laser weapons have a number of advantages over them. Perhaps the main thing is that it is much cheaper and economical using. The main purpose of the designed laser systems is to counter UAVs, shells, mines and even enemy cruise missiles. Mary Miller, Assistant Secretary of Defense for Research and Development, confirmed that their development is a priority for the Pentagon:

One laser shot is relatively inexpensive. And the alternative is a multi-million dollar guided missile.

Indeed, shooting at extremely prolific drones in recent years is an extremely expensive pleasure. The US military is forced to take into account the fact that both China and Russia now have strike and reconnaissance-strike UAVs. In addition, they regularly find themselves under mortar and rocket attacks in Iraq and Afghanistan. An air defense system based on the use of a combat laser is of great interest. It is estimated that the cost of one shot is something like a dollar. Sounds fantastic.

The United States has been developing in this direction for a long time. In 2010, Kratos Defense & Security Solutions began work on a Laser Weapon System (LaWS) project for the US Navy. Already two years later, a combat laser was able to successfully hit an air target. Since 2014, a 30 kW laser system has been tested on the USS Ponce (LPD-15) in the Persian Gulf. Last year, in the Pacific Ocean, a UAV was successfully destroyed from a laser with an estimated power of 150 kW from the USS Portland landing craft. And in 2021, the Lockheed Martin HELIOS laser was installed for testing on the USS Preble.

As you can see, the US Navy is actively developing advanced laser weapons that can be used against drones, missiles and small boats. But the Pentagon does not intend to limit its use only to large sea-based carriers. Also, in parallel, a test of a 5 kW laser air defense system was started on Stryker combat vehicles. In 2017, at the Fort Sill military training ground, the MEHEL (Mobile High-Energy Laser) laser successfully hit an air target. The Americans confirmed that such air defense systems are capable of shooting down small and medium-sized drones. At the same time, MEHEL works silently, and a laser installation and a radar can be installed simultaneously on one armored vehicle for detecting and tracking targets.

Perhaps the only drawback of such an air defense complex can be considered the need to maintain a high power of the installation to destroy the target with laser energy. Its beam works like a blowtorch, melting the surface of a UAV or missile, causing a fuel explosion or destruction of the control system. You also need to keep focus on a specific point for a few seconds, which is not easy with flying targets. To solve this serious problem, the Americans took a slightly different path.

According to Popular Mechanics, a tactical ultrashort pulse laser - USPL (Ultrashort Pulse Lasers) has been developed for the US Army, which is capable of generating an energy pulse with a power of 1 terawatt and a duration of 200 femtoseconds. What will it give them? Unlike conventional long-acting lasers, the novelty can not only physically destroy a flying target and blind its sensors, but also generate local electromagnetic interference. That is, in essence, the USPL will work as a directional electromagnetic bomb, overloading and destroying electronics. Even if the combat laser does not have time to burn the UAV or cruise missile and its control sensors, a local electromagnetic pulse will complete the job.

It is very serious. How can Russia respond to such a threat to its nascent unmanned aircraft?

Since 2017, we have been working on our own combat laser called "Peresvet", and since 2018 they have been on experimental combat duty. Most of the information on this complex is secret, however, it is known that the laser complex consumes a lot of energy and therefore at the moment it is problematic to make it portable. The Combat Laser is most effective in good weather, but fog, snow and rain can negatively affect its performance. In 2020, Peresvet was tested in Syria. Probably, in the future, an air defense system based on the use of combat lasers will protect Russian military bases.

It is obvious that the domestic laser system needs further refinement taking into account the new challenges of the time. UAVs have become a big problem, and it is also necessary to provide reliable protection against other small targets, such as flying mines and shells. Fortunately, Russia still has a solid scientific groundwork in the field of laser of technologies... So, in Sarov, the specialists of this famous nuclear center created and Launched installation UFL-2M, which is also called "king-laser". Of course, these are "civilian" technologies, but the experience gained can and should be applied in the military sphere as well. It's worth speeding up.
7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Cyril Offline Cyril
    Cyril (Kirill) 8 March 2021 13: 07
    -4
    They are also developing a suspended container with a defensive laser installation for their aircraft.
    1. shinobi Offline shinobi
      shinobi (Yuri) 24 March 2021 05: 32
      0
      Yeah, they are developing. 35 years have already been developing.
  2. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 9 March 2021 11: 57
    -1
    Worth speeding up

    Gorbachev has already proclaimed acceleration ...
    And Putin speaks about this almost every year with the same words ...
  3. Binder Online Binder
    Binder (Miron) 9 March 2021 16: 27
    -2
    Accelerate, gentlemen Russians, accelerate, and while you are accelerating, telling each other in detail and pathetic about the successes of acceleration, be proud of its cartoonish results, here in Israel we will modestly, without unnecessary hype, put the Iron Ray on alert, it will become another an effective means of defense against enemy missiles and drones that Iran is trying to threaten us with, your ally in the Syrian conflict ...
  4. Oleg Bratkov Offline Oleg Bratkov
    Oleg Bratkov (Oleg Bratkov) 14 March 2021 11: 07
    0
    Everything is upside down.
    In Russia, laser weapons are already in service.
    I wonder what answer the Americans will have?
  5. shinobi Offline shinobi
    shinobi (Yuri) 24 March 2021 05: 22
    0
    I love this kind of articles. I have been reading them since 1984. They are like with a civilian fusion. And the first experiments on combat lasers are the same age. Here, a little more, and so on! And this song has no end. To shoot down a drone, a cheaper scheme based on semiconductor masers has been worked out, and for a long time, there are even portable versions carried by one soldier.
  6. Netyn Offline Netyn
    Netyn (Netyn) April 8 2021 23: 43
    0
    The United States has been developing in this direction for a long time.

    Yes, for a long time
    Since the 60s of the last century

    It is very serious.

    What are you talking about ?!))) Katz offers to surrender! (FROM)

    Since 2017, we have been working on our own combat laser called "Peresvet"

    But what about stiletto and compression? The same stylet is already 40 years old. Compression is about a dozen younger

    The Combat Laser is most effective in good weather, but fog, snow and rain can negatively affect its performance.

    This problem was solved back in the USSR

    It is obvious that the domestic laser system needs further refinement, taking into account the new challenges of the time.

    Obviously, Evgeny Vaganovich is wrong - not cooperating with the author. That kind of talent is lost

    PS Article on the level of school essay of the fifth grade.
    Without the Chinese LW-30 and the Israeli Iron Beam - not complete and meager

Выстрел за 1 доллар: зачем США работают над лазерной системой ПВО


Далекое будущее, похоже, уже наступило. Лазерное оружие из фантастических фильмов и книг теперь планово переходит на вооружение американских военных, быстро становясь чем-то обыденным. Чем же сможет ответить на это Пентагону Россия?


Сперва надо определиться, а зачем вообще нужны лазеры? Неужели военным уже не хватает обычных снарядов и ракет? На самом деле, несмотря на кажущуюся экзотичность, лазерное оружие имеет перед ними ряд преимуществ. Пожалуй, главное заключается в том, что оно гораздо более дешевое и экономичное при использовании. Основным предназначением проектируемых лазерных систем является противодействие БПЛА, снарядам, минам и даже крылатым ракетам противника. То, что их развитие является приоритетом Пентагона, подтвердила помощник министра обороны США в области исследований и разработок Мэри Миллер:

Один выстрел лазерной установки относительно недорог. А альтернатива — многомиллионная по стоимости управляемая ракета.

И действительно, стрельба по крайне расплодившимся в последнее время беспилотникам – крайне недешевое удовольствие. Американские военные вынуждены учитывать то, что ударные и разведывательно-ударные БПЛА теперь появились и у Китая, и у России. Кроме того, им регулярно приходится оказываться под минометными и ракетными обстрелами в Ираке и Афганистане. Система ПВО, основанная на применении боевого лазера, представляет большой интерес. Подсчитано, что стоимость одного выстрела составляет что-то около доллара. Звучит фантастически.

Разработки в этом направлении США ведут довольно давно. В 2010 году компания Kratos Defense & Security Solutions начала работу над проектом Laser Weapon System (LaWS) для американских ВМС. Уже два года спустя боевой лазер смог успешно поразить воздушную мишень. С 2014 года лазерная установка мощностью 30 кВт испытывалась на корабле ВМС США USS Ponce (LPD-15) в Персидском заливе. В прошлом году в Тихом океане с борта десантного корабля USS Portland из лазера предположительной мощностью в 150 кВт так же был успешно уничтожен БПЛА. А в 2021-м лазер HELIOS производства компании Lockheed Martin был установлен для тестирования на эсминце USS Preble.

Как видим, ВМС США активно осваивают передовое лазерное оружие, которое можно применять против беспилотников, ракет и небольших катеров. Но Пентагон не намерен ограничиваться его использованием только на крупных носителях морского базирования. Также параллельно было начато испытание лазерной системы ПВО мощностью 5 кВт на боевых машинах Stryker. В 2017 году на военном полигоне Форт Силл лазер MEHEL (Mobile High-Energy Laser) успешно поразил воздушную цель. Американцы подтвердили, что таким комплексам ПВО по силам сбивать малые и среднеразмерные беспилотники. При этом MEHEL работает бесшумно, а на одну бронемашину можно установить одновременно и лазерную установку, и РЛС для обнаружения и сопровождения целей.

Пожалуй, единственным недостатком подобного комплекса противовоздушной обороны можно считать необходимость поддержания высокой мощности установки для уничтожения цели энергией лазера. Его луч работает как паяльная лампа, плавя поверхность БПЛА или ракеты, что приводит к взрыву топлива или разрушению системы управления. Также надо удерживать фокус на какой-то конкретной точке в течение нескольких секунд, что непросто с летящими целями. Для решения этой серьезной проблемы американцы пошли несколько иным путем.

По данным издания Popular Mechanics, для Сухопутных войск США разработан тактический ультракороткий импульсный лазер - USPL (Ultrashort Pulse Lasers), который способен вырабатывать энергетический импульс мощностью 1 тераватт и длительностью 200 фемтосекунд. Что же это им даст? В отличие от обычных лазеров длительного действия, новинка сможет не только физически разрушать летящую цель и ослеплять ее датчики, но и генерировать локальные электромагнитные помехи. То есть, по сути, USPL будет работать как электромагнитная бомба направленного действия, перегружая и уничтожая электронику. Даже если боевой лазер не успеет сжечь БПЛА или крылатую ракету и ее управляющие датчики, то локальный электромагнитный импульс довершит дело.

Это очень серьезно. Чем же может ответить Россия на подобную угрозу для своей нарождающейся беспилотной авиации?

С 2017 года у нас ведется работа над собственным боевым лазером под названием «Пересвет», а с 2018-го они поступили на опытно-боевое дежурство. Большая часть информации по данному комплексу является секретной, однако известно, что лазерный комплекс потребляет много энергии и потому на данный момент сделать его портативным проблематично. Боевой лазер максимально эффективен в хорошую погоду, но туман, снег и дождь могут негативно повлиять на его работу. В 2020 году «Пересвет» был испытан в Сирии. Вероятно, в дальнейшем система ПВО, основанная на применении боевых лазеров, будет стоять на защите российских военных баз.

Очевидно, что отечественной лазерной системе нужна дальнейшая доработка с учетом новых вызовов времени. БПЛА стали большой проблемой, также необходимо обеспечить надежную защиту от иных малоразмерных целей, вроде летящих мин и снарядов. По счастью, в России еще есть крепкий научный задел в области лазерных технологий. Так, в Сарове специалисты этого знаменитого ядерного центра создали и запустили установку УФЛ-2М, которую еще именуют «царь-лазер». Разумеется, это «гражданские» технологии, но наработанный опыт может и должен быть применен и в военной сфере. Стоит ускориться.
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
7 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Cyril Офлайн Cyril
    Cyril (Кирилл) 8 марта 2021 13:07
    -4
    Они еще и подвесной контейнер с оборонительной лазерной установкой для своих самолетов разрабатывают.
    1. синоби Офлайн синоби
      синоби (Юрий) 24 марта 2021 05:32
      0
      Ага,разрабатывают.35 лет уже как разрабатывают.
  2. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 9 марта 2021 11:57
    -1
    Стоит ускориться

    Горбачев уже провозглашал ускорение...
    Да и Путин почти каждый год одними и теми же словами об этом говорит....
  3. Биндюжник Офлайн Биндюжник
    Биндюжник (Мирон) 9 марта 2021 16:27
    -2
    Ускоряйтесь, господа россияне, ускоряйтесь, а пока вы будете ускоряться, подробно и пафосно рассказывая друг дружке об успехах ускорения, гордиться его мультяшными результатами, мы тут в Израиле скромно, без лишней шумихи поставим на боевое дежурство "Железный Луч", он станет ещё одним эффективным средством защиты от вражеских ракет и беспилотников, которыми нам пытается угрожать Иран - ваш союзник в сирийском конфликте...
  4. Олег Братков (Олег Братков) 14 марта 2021 11:07
    0
    Всё с ног на голову.
    В России уже стоит на вооружении лазерное оружие.
    Интересно, какой ответ будет у американцев?
  5. синоби Офлайн синоби
    синоби (Юрий) 24 марта 2021 05:22
    0
    Обожаю подобного рода статьи.Читаю их с 1984 года.Тут как с гражданским термоядом.А первые опыты по боевым лазерам ему ровесники.Вот-вот,ещё чуть-чуть и так сразу! И песни этой нет конца. Для сбития дрона отработана,и достаточно давно,более дешёвая схема на полупроводниковых мазерах.Есть даже портативные версии носимые одним солдатом.
  6. Netyn Офлайн Netyn
    Netyn (Netyn) 8 апреля 2021 23:43
    0
    Разработки в этом направлении США ведут довольно давно.

    Да, давно
    С 60-ых годов прошлого века

    Это очень серьезно.

    Да что вы говорите?!))) Кац предлагает сдаться! (С)

    С 2017 года у нас ведется работа над собственным боевым лазером под названием «Пересвет»

    А как же стилет и сжатие? Тому же стилету уже лет 40. Сжатие примерно на десяток моложе

    Боевой лазер максимально эффективен в хорошую погоду, но туман, снег и дождь могут негативно повлиять на его работу.

    Эта проблема была решена ещё в СССР

    Очевидно, что отечественной лазерной системе нужна дальнейшая доработка с учетом новых вызовов времени.

    Очевидно, что Евгений Ваганович не прав - не сотрудничая с автором. Такой талант пропадает

    P. S. Статья на уровня школьного сочинения пятого класса.
    Без китайского LW-30 и израильского Iron Beam - не полна и скудоумна