Russia faces a direct threat in the North


Norway has never occupied the place of a historical enemy in the Russian public consciousness, which makes it significantly different from Poland, Sweden or, say, Turkey. On the contrary, they often recall that in 1905 the Russian Empire was the first in the world to recognize the independence of the Scandinavian kingdom, and a few decades later the Red Army liberated the territories of the Norwegian Arctic from the troops of Nazi Germany.


However, it was the German invasion in 1940 and the long occupation during the Second World War that subsequently prompted the Norwegian government to abandon formal neutrality and become one of the founding countries of NATO.

The Norwegians feared a Soviet invasion for the same reason that provoked the German invasion earlier - this territory is critically important in the context of control over the North Atlantic. It is no secret that in the event of the outbreak of war in Europe, the task of a significant part of the long-range aviation of the USSR, as well as a fair share of the Northern Fleet, would be the search and destruction of Atlantic convoys and aircraft carrier formations going from the New World to help the Old. The routes of ships, submarines and bombers passed by the coast of Norway, which made the occupation of this country by the Soviet Union almost inevitable.

Understanding this, Oslo became one of the most active members of NATO during the Cold War, and acted as the most loyal allies of the United States on a European and global scale. It is worth giving a couple of examples for clarity. The famous Francis Powers, shot down over the USSR on May 1, 1960, made a reconnaissance flight on a U-2 plane from Peshawar (Pakistan) to Bodø, Norway. In addition, the kingdom has hosted the towers of the American Loran-C radio navigation system.

Taking an initiative in such programs, the Norwegian government apparently believed that it was increasing its importance in the eyes of the allies, accumulating guarantees that in the event of an invasion from the east, they would not be abandoned.

After the well-known events of 2014, the Norwegians returned to the old tried and tested tactics from the era of confrontation between the two systems, willingly sacrificing relatively good-neighborly relations with the Russian Federation in order to demonstrate unity with their allies in Western civilization. This is their choice and must be respected, although it does not in any way negate the military and political consequences.

The recent aggravation of relations caused by the arrival of American strategic bombers B-1B Lancer in the Norwegian part of the High North is only the latest in a series of events where Oslo is willing to raise rates. Earlier, such steps were the training of American servicemen in the northern regions of the country or last year's campaign of the warships of the Scandinavian monarchy together with the Anglo-American squadron to the shores of the Russian Federation.

However, it is believed that by blindly repeating the Cold War pattern, Norwegians sincerely do not understand that circumstances have changed significantly. For example, the Northern Sea Route, the blockade of which was demonstrated by the aforementioned NATO naval exercises, is of much greater importance for the modern Russian Federation than it was even for the USSR.

In the context of the gradual abandonment of hydrocarbons by some states and sanctions against the Nord Stream-2 gas pipeline, the Russian Federation is trying to find its new economic niche. One idea is that Russia should act as an alternative to the traditional trade route from Europe to Asia and vice versa. The one that goes through the Strait of Malacca, the Indian Ocean and the Suez Canal.

The Kremlin has two such projects today. The Northern Sea Route and the North-South International Transport Corridor. Each of them has its own advantages and disadvantages, however, on the whole, both of them can serve as a very good economic and geopolitical asset for Moscow. Russia has already managed to make multi-billion dollar investments in both directions, with plans to invest even more funds.

However, in September 2020, a kind of blow was dealt to each of the transit projects.

First, in the north, the combined forces of the United States, Great Britain, Denmark and, in fact, Norway conducted demonstration naval exercises, coming unnaturally close to the traditional possessions of the Russian Federation.

And then, on the other end of the continent, the second war for Nagorno-Karabakh began, the outcome of which is well known. If earlier Azerbaijan was considered a reliable partner in the North-South corridor for Russia, then in the light of the changed geopolitical situation and the strengthening of Turkish influence, there is no longer the former unconditional confidence in this.

Since long-term uncertainty has arisen in the Transcaucasus, the Northern Sea Route and the accompanying development of the Arctic, presumably, will become a higher priority for Russia. And, therefore, there will be a more urgent need to rebuff any Norwegian attacks.

Thus, the reason for the escalation is objectively the specific interpretation of their own interests both in Oslo and in Moscow, based on the geopolitical realities of each country. The interests of the neighbor, due to the degradation of analytical institutions, each of the opposing sides does not want or cannot see - considering them overt imperialism or dangerous adventurism.

In Norway itself, the authorities and mainstream publications and TV channels are actually promoting the opinion that the worse relations with the Russian Federation are, the better. For this is how the Scandinavian kingdom will receive more help from the United States and Great Britain and other allies. The collapse of relations with the largest neighboring country in this coordinate system is seen as an annoying but necessary sacrifice.

After all, as the Norwegians like to write, these are the "Russians who first started." Our neighbors do not like to remember that six Norwegian F-16s took part in the aggression against Yugoslavia in 1999, and on March 28, 2008 Oslo unilaterally recognized the independence of Kosovo. "Elves" are known to be infallible.

And, judging by the comments of readers on the Internet, this position has some support among the Norwegian population. Although, of course, there are those who understand that such logic is dangerous, because one day with provocations you can go too far and the scenario about the invasion of "bad Russians" is a harsh reality. Just a self-fulfilling prophecy.
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Pivander Offline Pivander
    Pivander (Alex) 11 March 2021 19: 36
    +2
    The Elves run out of oil in the near future. Therefore, the help of NATO partners, like the help from the United States to Israel, they will need.
  2. oracul Offline oracul
    oracul (leonid) 12 March 2021 07: 28
    0
    As you know, the road to hell is paved with good intentions, and the road to heaven is paved with deeds. Russia's vulnerability is its credulity in the words of our rivals. NATO's tactic is to choose a victim, wear it out and attack when it either weakens or does not wait. With them, like predators, lasting peace is not possible. They only understand strength.
  3. oderih Offline oderih
    oderih (Alex) 12 March 2021 18: 11
    0
    Norway has just started to wither. Nedra is no longer a source of prosperity. It is unlikely that we will let them into the Arctic.
  4. well, chick, herring children!
  5. Anton Zaduyveter (Anton Zaduyveter) 13 March 2021 22: 06
    0
    joining NATO, the "herring children" themselves signed their own verdict ... but this is their headache ...
  6. Oleg Golovanov Offline Oleg Golovanov
    Oleg Golovanov (Oleg Golovanov) 15 March 2021 17: 22
    0
    Comments like in kindergarten: the topic is fiery, long-term, sensitive. The author hooked the "anchor" of the Antlantic ends and did not touch the lines of ultra-long-range submarine connections

Россия столкнулась на Севере с прямой угрозой


Норвегия в российском общественном сознании никогда не занимала место исторического врага, чем она существенно отличается от Польши, Швеции или, скажем, Турции. Наоборот, чаще вспоминают о том, что в 1905 году Российская империя первой в мире признала независимость скандинавского королевства, а несколько десятилетий спустя Красная Армия освободила территории норвежского Заполярья от войск нацисткой Германии.


Впрочем, именно немецкое вторжение в 1940 году и долгая оккупация в период второй мировой побудила в последующем норвежское правительство отказаться от формального нейтралитета и стать одной из стран-основательниц НАТО.

Норвежцы опасались советского вторжения по той же причине, что спровоцировала ранее нашествие немецкое – эта территория критически важна в контексте контроля над Северной Атлантикой. Не является секретом, что в случае начала войны в Европе задачей значительной части дальней авиации СССР, а также изрядной доли Северного флота стал бы поиск и уничтожение атлантических конвоев и авианосных соединений, идущих с Нового Света на помощь Старому. Маршруты кораблей, подводных лодок и бомбардировщиков проходили мимо берегов Норвегии, что делало оккупацию этой страны Советским Союзом практически неизбежной.

Понимая это, Осло в период холодной войны стал одним из самых деятельных членов НАТО, и выступал в роли вернейших союзников Соединённых Штатов в европейском и глобальном масштабе. Стоит дать пару примеров для наглядности. Знаменитый Фрэнсис Пауэрс, сбитый над СССР 1 мая 1960 года, совершал разведывательный перелёт на самолете U-2 из Пешавара (Пакистан) в норвежский Будё. Кроме того, королевство приняло у себя вышки американской радионавигационной системы Loran-C.

Инициативно участвуя в подобных программах норвежское правительство, очевидно, верило, что повышает свою значимость в глазах союзников, накапливая гарантии того, что в случае вторжения с востока, их не бросят.

После известных событий 2014 года норвежцы вернулись к давней испытанной тактике из эпохи противостояния двух систем, с готовностью пожертвовав сравнительно добрососедскими отношениями с РФ ради демонстрации единства с союзниками по западной цивилизации. Это их выбор и его нужно уважать, хотя он и никак не отменяет военных и политических последствий.

Недавнее обострение отношений, вызванное прибытием в норвежскую часть Крайнего Севера американских стратегических бомбардировщиков B-1B Lancer, стало только последним в череде событий, где Осло с готовностью идет на повышение ставок. Ранее такими шагами стали тренировки американских военнослужащих в северных районах страны или прошлогодний поход боевых кораблей скандинавской монархии вместе с англо-американской эскадрой к берегам РФ.

Однако, существует мнение, что слепо повторяя шаблон холодной войны, норвежцы искреннее не понимают, что обстоятельства существенно изменились. Например, Северный морской путь, демонстрацией по блокаде которого стали упомянутые выше военно-морские учения НАТО, имеет для современной РФ значение куда большее, чем это было даже для СССР.

В условиях постепенного отказа некоторых государств от углеводородного сырья и санкций против газопровода «Северный Поток – 2» РФ пытается найти свою новую экономическую нишу. Одна из идей состоит в том, что Россия должна выступить в качестве альтернативы традиционному торговому пути из Европы в Азию и наоборот. Того самого, что идёт через Малаккский пролив, Индийский океан и Суэцкий канал.

Таких проектов у Кремля сегодня два. Севморпуть и Международный транспортный коридор «Север-Юг». Каждый из них имеет свои преимущества и недостатки, однако, в целом они оба могут послужить для Москвы очень хорошим экономическим и геополитическим активом. В оба направления Россия уже успела сделать многомиллиардные инвестиции, с планами вложения ещё больших средств.

Однако в сентябре 2020 года по каждому из транзитных проектов был нанесён своеобразный удар.

Сперва на севере объединенные силы США, Великобритании, Дании и, собственно, Норвегии провели показательные военно-морские учения, подойдя неестественно близко к традиционным владениям РФ.

А затем на другом конце континента началась вторая война за Нагорный Карабах, исход которой общеизвестен. Если ранее Азербайджан считался надёжным партнёром в коридоре «Север-Юг» для России, то в свете изменившейся геополитической ситуации и усиления турецкого влияния в этом уже нет былой безоговорочной уверенности.

Поскольку в Закавказье возникла долговременная неопределенность, то Северный морской путь и сопутствующее развитие Арктики, надо полагать, станут для России более приоритетным направлением. А, следовательно, возникнет более насущная необходимость давать отпор любым норвежским выпадам.

Таким образом, причиной эскалации объективно становится специфическое толкование своих собственных интересов и в Осло и в Москве, исходя из геополитических реалий каждой страны. Интересы соседа же, в силу деградации аналитических институтов, каждая из противоборствующих сторон не хочет или не может увидеть – считая их откровенным империализмом или опасным авантюризмом.

В самой Норвегии властями и мейнстримными изданиями и телеканалами пока фактически продвигается мнение, что чем хуже отношения с РФ – тем лучше. Ибо так скандинавское королевство получит больше помощи от США и Великобритании и других союзников. Крах отношений с крупнейшей соседней страной в этой системе координат рассматривается в качестве досадной, но необходимой жертвы.

В конце концов, как любят писать норвежцы, это ведь «русские первые начали». О том, что шесть норвежских F-16 приняли участие в агрессии против Югославии в 1999 году, а 28 марта 2008 года Осло односторонне признал независимость Косово, наши соседи вспоминать не любят. «Эльфы», как известно, непогрешимы.

А, судя по комментариям читателей в Интернете, у этой позиции существует определенная поддержка среди норвежского населения. Хотя, конечно, есть и те, кто понимает, что такая логика опасна, так как однажды с провокациями можно перегнуть палку и сценарий о вторжении «плохих русских» суровой реальностью. Просто по принципу самосбывающегося пророчества.
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
6 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Пивандер Офлайн Пивандер
    Пивандер (Алекс) 11 марта 2021 19:36
    +2
    У Эльфов нефть заканчивается в недалеком будущем. Поэтому помощь партнеров по НАТе, на подобие помощи от США Израилю, им будет нужна.
  2. oracul Офлайн oracul
    oracul (леонид) 12 марта 2021 07:28
    0
    Как известно, благими намерения выстлана дорога в ад, а делами - в рай. Уязвимое место России - доверчивость к словам наших соперников. Тактика же НАТО состоит в выборе жертвы, её изматывании и нападении, когда она либо ослабеет либо не ждёт. С ними, как и хищниками, прочный мир не возможен. Понимают только силу.
  3. oderih Офлайн oderih
    oderih (Алекс) 12 марта 2021 18:11
    0
    Норвегия просто начала хиреть.Недра перестают быть источником благосостояния.Вряд ли их в Арктику мы пустим
  4. а ну, цыц, селедкины дети!
  5. Anton Zaduyveter Офлайн Anton Zaduyveter
    Anton Zaduyveter (Anton Zaduyveter) 13 марта 2021 22:06
    0
    вступив в НАТО "селедкины дети" сами подписали себе приговор...но это их головняк...
  6. Олег Голованов (Oleg Golovanov) 15 марта 2021 17:22
    0
    Комментарии как в детском саду: тема огненная, долговременная, щепитильная. Автор зацепил "якорь ⚓ антлантических концов и не затронул линии сверхдальних подводных связей