Gas pipeline SP-2 will be limited even after its transition to hydrogen


EU officials do not yet know how the hydrogen market will function, but they want to completely abandon fossil fuels by 2050. At the same time, they think to maintain the existing restrictions on pipelines even after their transfer from the transportation of natural gas to hydrogen, informs the American agency S&P Global Platts.


Thus, the Nord Stream 2 gas pipeline will be limited after the replacement of the pumped raw materials. It will also hurt European companies that are planning to make large investments in hydrogen production.

Energy companies are looking forward to the end of 2021, when the European Commission will update the EU Energy Directive. It will then become finally clear whether hydrogen has fallen under the current gas regulation or other rules will be created for it.

However, there are not so many hopes for the emergence of separate norms. In October 2020, the Agency for the Interaction of Energy Regulators (ACER) received a letter from the European Commission's Directorate General for Energy (ENER), which clearly stated that the current regulations should apply to all types of gas, including hydrogen and biogas.

This means that even if hydrogen goes through SP-2 instead of natural gas, it will still fall under the Third Energy Package of the Gas Directive. The pipeline will operate at only half of its capacity due to specific restrictions that appeared in 2019 (the owner of the “pipe” and suppliers of raw materials must be different, and capacities must also be reserved for other companies). Changing norms is a difficult process, requiring the consent of all EU countries.

However, such requirements are categorically not satisfied with European companies. For example, Enagas (Spain), Galp (Protugalia) and Snam (Italy), which expect to invest well in their own projects. So, Snam is thinking about producing hydrogen in Algeria and transporting it to Europe via existing pipelines. If the EU does not change the norms for hydrogen, then hardly any of the businessmen will want to risk huge money, because only one electrolyzer with a capacity of 1 GW costs about 1 billion euros, the agency concluded.
  • Photos used: https://pxhere.com/
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Kofesan Offline Kofesan
    Kofesan (Valery) 16 March 2021 21: 14
    0
    Here who would doubt ...
    But to accustom us to the idea of ​​the inevitability of transit through Ukraine, the future round of gas theft and new "squeezing" in European courts of funds of "national assets" in favor of further banderization of non-brothers is complete blasphemy
  2. Sapsan136 Offline Sapsan136
    Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 16 March 2021 23: 19
    +3
    All these show-off until the first cold winter. Not to renew the contract with them taking into account the Ukrainian pipe and will not go anywhere. Norway is not to help here, and LNG from the USA, as practice has shown, goes where they pay more and this is not the EU
  3. Ulysses Offline Ulysses
    Ulysses (Alexey) 16 March 2021 23: 29
    +1
    EU officials do not yet know how the hydrogen market will function, but they want to completely abandon fossil fuels by 2050.

    You don't have to read the rest ..

    PS Hydrogen cannot be pumped through the current oil and gas pipelines.
  4. Vladest Offline Vladest
    Vladest (Vladimir) 17 March 2021 00: 41
    -1
    It's funny to read about something that has not even started doing it yet. This is something that he has not yet started working. and produce hydrogen on an industrial scale. Even the concept of hydrogen energy itself has not yet become defining and leading. Most likely, Hydrogen will be one of several sources of alternative energy. And this energy itself is not very popular in the Russian Federation. She kills RF.
  5. Polente the Wanderer 17 March 2021 16: 04
    0
    Our state-owned companies are always ready to take risks ...
    With luck, they will receive good bonuses, but if it did not work out, then the state (simple taxpayers) will support ...
  6. boriz Offline boriz
    boriz (boriz) 17 March 2021 23: 50
    +2
    A mixture with a hydrogen content of not more than 2% can be pumped through SP and SP20.
    For Yamal-Europe - 10%.
    According to GTSU - 5%, and this will be the last straw on the back of a dying camel.

Газопровод СП-2 будет ограничен даже после его перехода на водород


Чиновники Евросоюза ещё сами не знают как будет функционировать рынок водорода, зато они хотят полностью отказаться от ископаемого топлива к 2050 году. При этом они думают сохранить существующие ограничения к трубопроводам даже после их перевода с транспортировки природного газа на водород, информирует американское агентство S&P Global Platts.


Таким образом, газопровод «Северный поток-2» будет ограничен и после замены прокачиваемого сырья. Это также навредит европейским компаниям, которые планируют осуществить крупные инвестиции в производство водорода.

Энергетические компании с нетерпением ждут конца 2021 года, когда Еврокомиссия обновит Энергетическую директиву ЕС. Именно тогда станет окончательно ясно, попал водород под действующее газовое регулирование или для него создадут другие правила.

Впрочем, надежд на появление отдельных норм не так много. В октябре 2020 года Агентство по взаимодействию регуляторов энергетики (ACER) получило письмо от Генеральной дирекции по энергетике Еврокомиссии (ENER), в котором было четко сказано, что действующие правила должны применяться ко всем видам газа, включая водород и биогаз.

Это означает, что даже если по СП-2 пойдет водород вместо природного газа, он все равно будет подпадать под Третий энергопакет газовой директивы. Трубопровод будет работать лишь в половину мощности из-за специфических ограничений, появившихся в 2019 году (собственник «трубы» и поставщики сырья должны быть разными, также должны резервироваться мощности для других компаний). Изменение норм – трудный процесс, требующий согласия всех стран ЕС.

Однако такие требования категорически не устраивают европейские компании. Например, Enagas (Испания), Galp (Протугалия) и Snam (Италия), которые рассчитывают хорошо вложиться в собственные проекты. Так, Snam раздумывает над производством водорода в Алжире и транспортировке его в Европу по существующим магистралям. Если ЕС не изменит нормы для водорода, то вряд ли кто-то из бизнесменов захочет рисковать огромными деньгами, ведь только один электролизер мощностью 1 ГВт стоит порядка 1 млрд евро, подытожило агентство.
  • Использованы фотографии: https://pxhere.com/
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
6 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Kofesan Офлайн Kofesan
    Kofesan (Валерий) 16 марта 2021 21:14
    0
    Вот кто бы сомневался...
    Но и приучать нас к мысли о неизбежности транзита через Украину, будущего витка воровства газа и новых "отжимов" в евросудах средств "национальных достояний" в пользу дальнейшей бандеризации небратьев- полное кощунство
  2. Sapsan136 Офлайн Sapsan136
    Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 16 марта 2021 23:19
    +3
    Все эти понты до первой холодной зимы. Не продлевать с ними контракт с учетом украинской трубы и никуда не денутся. Норвегия тут не в помощь,а СПГ из США,как показала практика, идет туда,где больше платят и это не ЕС
  3. Улисс Офлайн Улисс
    Улисс (Алексей) 16 марта 2021 23:29
    +1
    Чиновники Евросоюза ещё сами не знают как будет функционировать рынок водорода, зато они хотят полностью отказаться от ископаемого топлива к 2050 году.

    Остальное можно не читать..

    P.S. Водород невозможно прокачивать по нынешним нефте-газовым магистралям.
  4. Владест Офлайн Владест
    Владест (Владимир) 17 марта 2021 00:41
    -1
    Смешно читать про то что еще даже не начали делать. Это то что он еще и не начал работать. и производить водород в промышленных масштабах. Даже сама концепция водородной энергетики еще не стала определяющей и лидирующей. Скорее всего Водород будет один из нескольких источников альтернативной энергетики. А саму эту энергетику в РФ не очень то любят. Она убивает РФ.
  5. Странник Поленте 17 марта 2021 16:04
    0
    Наши госкомпании всегда готовы рисковать...
    При удаче хорошие премиальные получат,ну а если не получилось, то государство(налогоплательщики простые) поддержит ...
  6. boriz Офлайн boriz
    boriz (boriz) 17 марта 2021 23:50
    +2
    По СП и СП2 можно прокачивать смесь с содержанием водорода не более 20%.
    По "Ямал-Европа" - 10%.
    По ГТСУ - 5%, и это будет последняя соломинка на спину издыхающего верблюда.