The National: Russia demonstrates its power in the Middle East


The frigate "Admiral Essen" in the Syrian port of Tartus


The newspaper The National (UAE) discusses the prospects for the presence of the Russian Federation in Syria and the scale of this geopolitical factor.

Russia views the situation in Syria as a geostrategic opportunity created by changes in the regional balance of power. [...] Russia's powerful role in the Syrian conflict shows its effectiveness in establishing its own position in the world arena

- quotes the publication of the words of Gazi Dahman (Ghazi Dahman), an analyst on Middle East affairs.

The text notes that the Russian Federation has invested $ 500 million in the modernization of the port in Tartus.

Analysts say access to the port of Tartus, the last Russian military base outside the former Soviet Union, is key to Moscow's continued involvement in the conflict.

- writes The National.

Obviously, when signing a treaty of friendship and cooperation in 1971, the Syrian leader Hafez al-Assad could hardly imagine what role this would play in the future. In that historical period, it was rather a symbol of mutual respect and a similar worldview.

But in 2017, Russia increased its influence in the region by signing an agreement with official Damascus to extend the lease of Tartus for 49 years. The agreement allowed Moscow to expand its naval base, where it now has the right to keep up to 11 warships, including those equipped with nuclear power plants.

The Tartous base is the most visible symbol of Russian influence because it gives control over a vast territory [...] thanks to the capabilities of strategic bombers. In addition, it gives Russia a good margin of maneuver, which balances NATO, which seeks to establish control over it from the west [...] and from the south

- suggests Mr. Dahman.

The Assad family, in power since 1971, continues to carefully maintain their friendship with Russia. Moscow's military campaign in Syria helped consolidate Bashar al-Assad's power and allowed him to regain control over much of the country.

For the Russian Federation, the campaign in Syria was beneficial from the standpoint of its regional interests, since it participated in hostilities without any serious consequences.

In addition, the article indicates that the Russian Federation "used Israel's fear" of a possible Syrian-Iranian coalition, acting as an intermediary between Jerusalem and Damascus to reduce hostility between the two countries. Also, Russia is able to act as the organizer of the peace process, which will put an end to the protracted civil war.
  • Photos used: Ministry of Defense of the Russian Federation
7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Vladest Offline Vladest
    Vladest (Vladimir) 18 March 2021 11: 52
    -3
    This "Power" was rejected last year in both Syria and Libya. Ha ha !!!!
    1. oderih Offline oderih
      oderih (Alex) 18 March 2021 12: 12
      +3
      You have left a third of the population. There are no railways. There is no cargo turnover. The ports are 30% standing. You are dying out in the Baltic states. Your subsidies have already been cut. As far as the Scandinavians are concerned, you are like Moscow.
      1. Vladest Offline Vladest
        Vladest (Vladimir) 18 March 2021 13: 28
        -1
        Quote: oderih
        A third of the population has left you

        We have had a stable population growth since 2015. Last year, you only had minus 700 of the extinct, and how many left ... In Estonia, I know two doctors from the Russian Federation. People are running away from you.
        In Estonia, the average salary is 1400 euros. Who will run from this? Or from your couple hundred dollars ...
      2. bobba94 Offline bobba94
        bobba94 (Vladimir) 19 March 2021 23: 25
        0
        In 1991 there were 7,93 million people. In 2020, there were 6,01 million people. I'm talking about the three Baltic countries. The forecast for 2045 is 5,4 million people. There are about 500 million people in the EU ...... Can't 500 million people feed 5 million people ..... of course they will! Therefore, these countries will continue to live in satiety and this will continue for a long time ... So I am writing a comment about demography, about social policy, but I myself have the feeling that I am writing about the rules of feeding and keeping pets ... ...
    2. oderih Offline oderih
      oderih (Alex) 18 March 2021 12: 20
      +2
      Remember, the power of a submarine is not its size. And not even a diesel engine (the atom is blocked in the Baltic Sea). It is valued for its inaudibility and invisibility. So for technology you are at our door.
  2. oderih Offline oderih
    oderih (Alex) 18 March 2021 12: 08
    +1
    We want to take it out off the coast of California or Estonia. So just wave a pen to you - We are here!
  3. Binder Online Binder
    Binder (Miron) 18 March 2021 17: 49
    0
    Specifically laughed about the "fear of Israel" before the coalition of Iran and Syria. The Israelis are so afraid of the Persians and Syrians that they fuck up their objects regularly and send the soldiers of Allah on an erotic journey to the Hurias. bully

The National: Россия демонстрирует свою мощь на Ближнем Востоке


Фрегат «Адмирал Эссен» в сирийском порту Тартус


О перспективах присутствия РФ в Сирии и масштабах этого геополитического фактора рассуждает газета The National (ОАЭ).

Россия рассматривает ситуацию в Сирии как геостратегическую возможность, возникшую в результате перемен в региональном балансе сил. […] Мощная роль России в сирийском конфликте показывает ее эффективность в утверждении собственного положения на мировой арене

– приводит издание слова Гази Дахмана (Ghazi Dahman), аналитика по ближневосточным делам.

В тексте отмечается, что РФ вложила 500 млн. долларов в модернизацию порта в Тартусе.

Аналитики говорят, что доступ к порту Тартуса, последней российской военной базе за пределами бывшего Советского Союза, является ключевым фактором дальнейшего участия Москвы в конфликте

– пишет The National.

Очевидно, что подписывая договор о дружбе и сотрудничестве в 1971 году, сирийский лидер Хафез Асад едва ли мог предполагать, какую роль это сыграет в будущем. В тот исторический период это был скорее символ взаимного уважения и схожего мировоззрения.

Но в 2017 году Россия усилила свое влияние в этом регионе, заключив договор с официальным Дамаском о продлении аренды Тартуса на 49 лет. Соглашение позволило Москве расширить военно-морскую базу, где она теперь получила право держать до 11 боевых кораблей, включая и оснащенные атомными силовыми установками.

База в Тартусе является наиболее заметным символом влияния России, потому что она дает контроль над обширной территорией […] благодаря возможностям стратегических бомбардировщиков. Кроме того, это дает России хороший запас маневра, что уравновешивает НАТО, которое стремится установить контроль над ней с запада […] и с юга

– предполагает г-н Дахман.

Семья Асада, находящаяся у власти с 1971 года, продолжает тщательно сохранять свою дружбу с Россией. Военная кампания Москвы в Сирии помогла консолидировать власть Башара Асада и позволила ему восстановить контроль над большей частью страны.

Для РФ кампания в Сирии была выгодна с позиции ее региональных интересов, так как она участвовала в боевых действиях без каких-либо серьезных последствий.

Кроме того, в статье указывается, что РФ «использовала страх Израиля» перед возможной сирийско-иранской коалицией, выступая посредником между Иерусалимом и Дамаском для снижения враждебности между двумя странами. Также Россия способна выступить организатором мирного процесса, что положит конец затянувшейся гражданской войне.
  • Использованы фотографии: Минобороны РФ
7 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Владест Офлайн Владест
    Владест (Владимир) 18 марта 2021 11:52
    -3
    Эту " Мощь" в прошлом году мощили и в Сирии и в Ливии. Ха ха !!!!
    1. oderih Офлайн oderih
      oderih (Алекс) 18 марта 2021 12:12
      +3
      От вас треть населения сьехало.Жд дороги стали.Грузооборота нет.Порты на 30 % стоят.Вы вымираты прибалтики.Вам уже дотации урезали.До скандинавов вам как мне до Москвы.
      1. Владест Офлайн Владест
        Владест (Владимир) 18 марта 2021 13:28
        -1
        Цитата: oderih
        От вас треть населения сьехало

        У нас с 2015 стабильный прирост населения идет. У вас же в прошлом году минус 700 000 только вымерших, а сколько уехало... В Эстонии знаю двух врачей из РФ . Бегут от вас люди.
        В Эстонии средняя ЗП 1400 евро. Кто от такого побежит ? Или от ваших пару сотен долларов....
      2. bobba94 Офлайн bobba94
        bobba94 (владимир) 19 марта 2021 23:25
        0
        В 1991 году было 7,93 млн. человек. В 2020 году стало 6,01 млн. человек. Я говорю о трех странах Прибалтики. Прогноз на 2045 год - 5,4 млн. человек. В ЕС примерно 500 млн. человек......Неужели 500 млн. человек не прокормят 5 млн. человек.....конечно прокормят ! Поэтому жить эти страны будут по прежнему в сытости и будет это продолжаться долго.....Вот пишу коммент как бы о демографии, о социальной политике, а у самого такое чувство, будто пишу о правилах кормления и содержания домашних питомцев.....
    2. oderih Офлайн oderih
      oderih (Алекс) 18 марта 2021 12:20
      +2
      Запомни, Мощь подлодки не ее размер.И даже не дизель(атом запр.в балтике).Она ценится неслышимостью и невидимостью.Так что за технологиями вы у нас у двери стоите.
  2. oderih Офлайн oderih
    oderih (Алекс) 18 марта 2021 12:08
    +1
    Хотим и вынернем у берегов Калифорнии или Эстонии.Так просто помахать вам ручкой - Мы тут!
  3. Биндюжник Офлайн Биндюжник
    Биндюжник (Мирон) 18 марта 2021 17:49
    0
    Конкретно посмеяло про "страх Израиля" перед коалицией Ирана и Сирии. Израильтяне прямо так боятся персов и сирийцев что хреначат их объекты регулярно и отправляют воинов Аллаха в эротическое путешествие к гуриям. bully